Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Mar 14, 2019
    100
    The game is a monumental achievement, not just for its detailed rendering of another place and time but for the observed humanity of its writing and the things it has to say about the intersection of capitalism and art.
  2. May 13, 2019
    90
    Hilarious, intricate, and touching, Hypnospace Outlaw is a surreal, loving tribute to a younger, more innocent Internet as well as a compelling detective game.
  3. Mar 25, 2019
    90
    Hypnospace Outlaw is a perfect recreation of what the internet once was, and in some ways still is: a glorious mess of friendship and anarchy. It’s probably good we don’t have auto-playing music anymore, though.
  4. Apr 9, 2019
    85
    Hypnospace Outlaw’s 90’s tinted internet exploration is spot on, but may be too specific for players who were not around to experience that particular time.
  5. Apr 8, 2019
    85
    Hypnospace Outlaw is a great ride, even though you’re the one checking tickets and enforcing the rules.
  6. Mar 28, 2019
    85
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. Mar 18, 2019
    85
    Hypnospace Outlaw presents a precise simulation of the apex of 90’s internet culture. Separating anarchic innocence from hubristic malice is the objective while soaking in the garish spectacle of a lost time is its gratuity. Twenty years removed, Hypnospace Outlaw exposes the dividing line between the internet as a digital frontier and its current status as a corporate hellscape.
  8. Mar 17, 2019
    85
    Hypnospace Outlaw is a retro-trip into the wild web of the '90 and it is also a great detective game.
  9. Mar 19, 2019
    84
    Hypnospace Outlaw successfully captures the spirit of late ‘90s internet by creating its own robust and varied and equally strange version of it. One part late ‘90s internet simulator, one part engaging detective story, Hypnospace Outlaw’s hit counter is strong. Zane rocks.
  10. Mar 27, 2019
    82
    Hypnospace Outlaw is a witty, retro-styled point and click puzzle game that brings you into the depths of the ‘90s internet while testing your solving skills. While it can be suitable for all ages, it would be better catered to an older audience with its jokes that only someone who has lived through that time would understand. It may take a few sittings in order to complete the game but just make sure you remember about it in order to play it. If you are looking for a puzzle game riddled with an assortment of jokes and retro nostalgia look no further!
  11. Mar 12, 2019
    81
    A satisfying detective adventure based around a weird and wonderfully imaginative retro internet.
  12. Mar 30, 2019
    80
    Unlike Strafe, Hypnospace Outlaw delivers on exactly what it sets out to do right out of the gate. It’s got some issues but most of them stem from wanting more, which is a good sign.
  13. Edge Magazine
    Mar 28, 2019
    80
    This clever, funny, hallucinatory head trip may leave you frazzled, but Tholen's wonderfully singular vision will be burned into your brain for a long time. [Issue#331, p.120]
  14. Mar 19, 2019
    80
    As an exploration of early-ish internet culture, Hypnospace Outlaw demonstrates how far we've travelled online over the past 20 years while at the same time asking whether we've gone anywhere at all. The bandwidth may have improved since 1999 but the content can look all too familiar today.
  15. Mar 14, 2019
    80
    As I sat late into the night, clicking through strange websites, discovering secret pages and file-sharing boards, reading about online fallouts between made-up strangers, I was reminded so strongly of my teenage late nights on the weird internet that I felt temporarily unmoored. It is an extraordinary feat of scene-setting, and totally unlike anything I’ve ever played before.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Mar 21, 2019
    A witty and smitten recreation of a time gone by, which you'll forgive tedium if you share in the nostalgia. [Eurogamer Recommended]
  2. Mar 13, 2019
    Hypnospace Outlaw is one of those games that deserves not merely to be played, but also to be treated as an opportunity to think about our digital lives, now and then. It’s a perplexing, clever piece of work. As they might have said back in the ’90s, it’s totally dope.
  3. I’ve had such a time with this. I’ve been bemused, entranced, confused and delighted. I’ve laughed a lot, been slightly creeped out, and constantly astonished at the level of detail in every element of this. There is just SO much to do, to explore, so many secrets I know I’ve missed, and bits I want to return to. This is completely splendid. [RPS Bestest Bests]
  4. Mar 27, 2019
    It's an authentic, intriguing game of detective work, and I quite like it!
User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 29
  2. Negative: 11 out of 29
  1. Mar 27, 2019
    10
    A beautiful love letter to a bygone era. Clever puzzles, good writing, and characters you can really connect to through their websites.
  2. Mar 26, 2019
    9
    Fantastic. Gamifying an operating system is the best possible way to bring back those specific types of experiences that many of us had backFantastic. Gamifying an operating system is the best possible way to bring back those specific types of experiences that many of us had back in our halcyon days of old. I love what No More Robots is trying to do here, and I'd love to see this to continue to expand as far as it can be taken. Full Review »
  3. Mar 25, 2019
    10
    Absolutely fantastic game. Not only is it nostalgic and all that, but it's so well crafted. There were multiple moments when I felt genuineAbsolutely fantastic game. Not only is it nostalgic and all that, but it's so well crafted. There were multiple moments when I felt genuine emotions for the characters you see on the site. It's tongue in cheek, but it always feels genuine. I can already tell that this is going to be one of my all time favorites. Full Review »