I Hate Running Backwards Image
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 12 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: I Hate Running Backwards is a never-ending adrenaline packed shoot’em down roguelite that puts the emphasis on destruction and fighting never ending waves of enemies while time traveling through procedurally generated, fully destructible worlds.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. May 22, 2018
    80
    I Hate Running Backwards is a much needed and refreshing tribute to the classic arcade shoot ‘em up, that, in spite of a few odd difficulty spikes, is highly addictive and absolutely worth the time spent—and at times lost—to it.
  2. Jun 29, 2018
    80
    I Hate Running Backwards is a fairly good game, but I can also understand people’s mixed feelings about it. The game is basically a thirty minute top-down shooter (if you can survive that long), but the further you progress, the more difficult you can make it if you wish. Add in a dozen characters to choose from across Digital Devolver’s games and there are plenty of ways to have fun taking down Mental’s minions.
  3. May 24, 2018
    80
    The game is really quite brutal, but individual runs quite short. It’s a perfect palate-cleaner game – quick to load, easy to switch to from other applications, and over pretty fast. Unless you’re good at it, which, you know… I’m pretty much not. But it’s also just wonderfully silly fun. Bright, chaotic in the all the best ways, and always surprising.
  4. 80
    I Hate Running Backwards doesn’t pretend to be more than it is: a fantastic, engaging arcade shooter. Its replay value is massive, and it can be enjoyed by gamers of all ages.
  5. May 24, 2018
    60
    I Hate Running Backwards is a challenging shoot 'em up with roguelike elements that will keep you up late into the night with it's one more round gameplay. Although the game is fun, there could be several changes to the special weapons and perk system to make each round feel more unique and enhance the replayability. If you are a fan of the Serious Sam series, you will enjoy playing with familiar characters in the same chaotic environment Serious Sam is known for.
  6. May 22, 2018
    50
    Personally, I want to like this game, but I Hate Running Backwards just wore out its welcome far too early.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Jun 11, 2018
    10
    I had some issues with this game at first, but they kept updating it, listening to feedback and implementing new features. Baby Mode let's meI had some issues with this game at first, but they kept updating it, listening to feedback and implementing new features. Baby Mode let's me enjoy the game while learning new bosses, much needed balance tweaks improved the gameplay experience. As for the game itself, it's shmup with a twist so it should be called shmdown, lol. Enemies are coming from the bottom and you're running backwards (I Hate Running Backwards is Serious Sam quote) trying to survive and learn something each time you die. It also has a really fun Twitch mode which gives watchers the opportunity to spawn enemies on streamer and try to kill him. Hilarious!
    This is a game you can play alone, with a friend, against others in Daily mode, trying to get to top of the leaderboard, in Twitch mode... One thing the game missed on release were tutorials. I didn't know how to fight, and how powerful the hammer is, but they published not only tutorial now, but you also have tons of guides available on Steam (walkthroughs, boss tactics, achievement tips, character unlocks). Get it and have fun!!!
    Collapse
  2. Jun 11, 2018
    10
    First time I heard about Serious Sam was almost 25 years ago, if I remember correctly. Having so many enemies running towards you was scary,First time I heard about Serious Sam was almost 25 years ago, if I remember correctly. Having so many enemies running towards you was scary, amazing and fun! It was a mindless shooter, to be honest, but it was fun and action packed. Now I tried this small game that has music similar to Serious Sam, it has Serious Sam character and it has iconic enemies like Gnaars and Kamikaze. It also has some famous characters from other games like Richard from Hotline Miami, Crystal from Nuclear Throne, Bullet from Enter the Gungeon, Lo Wang from Shadow Warrior, you name it! Each character has it's own unique set of abilities and weapons so it adds replayability.

    Top down view shooter with fantastic music (both normal and hardcore soundtracks) that can frustrate you when you fail but also keeps you coming back for more. Thumbs up!
    Expand
  3. Jun 11, 2018
    9
    Much hurt, much fun!!! And I just can't stop running backwards, ffs!!!!!

    IF you love streaming, then this is the game for you. Watched some
    Much hurt, much fun!!! And I just can't stop running backwards, ffs!!!!!

    IF you love streaming, then this is the game for you. Watched some streams and Twitch integration is sick with watchers spamming enemies for streamers.Co-Op is also fun af since you can play with people online via Parsec. Some streamers even played Twitch mode with Parsec with no visible lag or problems.

    Very fun game with some of iconic Serious Sam enemies and also iconic characters from other games like Lo Wang from Shadow Warrior! You no mess with Lo Wang!!!

    Highly recommended for casual players (baby mode), hardcore players but also streamers! Kudos to dev team for improving the game further, with regular updates and balance tweaks suggested by players.
    Expand
  4. Aug 18, 2018
    7
    Solid 7. Graphics + Gameplay + Music + Story Irrelevant. But nothing new. Good product, but I don't know why people give it 9 or 10. It's notSolid 7. Graphics + Gameplay + Music + Story Irrelevant. But nothing new. Good product, but I don't know why people give it 9 or 10. It's not a unique game. You can get it if you are very bored, but there are better ones on the indie market right now. Expand