Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. 95
    I Was a Teenage Exocolonist is a storm of punches that hits straight in the stomach. It’s a video game that monopolized my free time and that I'll continue to dissect well beyond my (current) fourth playthrough. It’s a game that has crept between my mind and my heart, something that I’ll hardly be able to chase away from there. Not that I’d want to, to be honest. Northway Games has managed to create something that transcends genres, a video game that I’d like to be enjoyed by as many people as humanly possible.
  2. Sep 8, 2022
    90
    I loved I Was a Teenage Exocolonist. I assumed it would be something you could play in small bursts to completion, like Growing Up, but each lifetime requires significant time investment. But with how good the story and characters are, I actually like it better this way. The challenges are tough, but fair, the characters are engaging and relatable, and despite being set on an alien planet with a literal dog-boy as one of your potential friends, I can’t help but be dragged back to my high school days as I play. For better or for worse.
  3. Aug 26, 2022
    90
    Live as many lives as it takes to be happy in I Was a Teenage Exocolonist. The addition of a little roguelike side to this narrative and progressive Sci-Fi life simulator gives it all its charm and makes it addictive.
  4. Aug 25, 2022
    90
    Not often do we see a narrative RPG with so much squeezed inside a relatively small package. I Was a Teenage Exocolonist will leave you thinking, laughing, crying, and even blushing. With beautiful character illustrations and a story that feels genuine from start to finish, this is a must-play for anyone who enjoys narrative games. Though one playthrough will run you around 5-10 hours, the things you missed will have you coming back for one more playthrough every time.
  5. Aug 25, 2022
    90
    Northway Games has crafted one of my highlights of the year with this narrative adventure. It’s wonderfully engrossing and hiding so many worthwhile character moments and gorgeous secrets well worth uncovering. I’ve already spent so many hours with the game and feel like I have barely scratched the surface, prepared to dive back in and live out this life over and over again until I settle on an imperfect resolution that feels well and truly my own.
  6. Aug 25, 2022
    87
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. Sep 7, 2022
    85
    Life as an exoloconist is one the most authentic sci-fi works you can find in videogames.
  8. Sep 5, 2022
    85
    A deep and immersive narrative experience with a gameplay that shortly falls into a repetitive loop.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Sep 19, 2022
    A rare experimental game that gives a huge importance to the player's choices, and that 's not bad at all.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Sep 2, 2022
    10
    This game is incredible and offers a unique and new experience that you must play to appreciate. A beautiful game that you will find yourselfThis game is incredible and offers a unique and new experience that you must play to appreciate. A beautiful game that you will find yourself obsessed with and thinking about even when you’re not playing, it has been a completely unexpected joy since I picked it up shortly after release on a whim. The characters are incredible. If you’ve found yourself playing an RPG, gotten bored with repetitive gameplay elements that descend into tedium, and wished you could move on to getting to know well-developed characters and making story-impacting decisions, this is the game for you. Don’t let the “teenage” in the title fool you, this game has an emotional maturity games typically lack. Full Review »
  2. Sep 24, 2022
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Surprised me however it was a bit slow to start and I found parts of it confusing. If you persist through your first play through it gets much better. I recommend it Full Review »
  3. Sep 2, 2022
    10
    One of the best games I have ever played. So good I can't even express it in a review. Don't expect this game to be a dating sim tho, it isn't a one.