Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Jan 28, 2018
    95
    While most Metroidvanias find themselves struggling with their pace, Iconoclasts never lets up. It’s one of the best of its kind and definitely needs to be played.
  2. Jan 22, 2018
    95
    It’s a delightful surprise, the kind that doesn’t come around often enough.
  3. Jan 21, 2018
    95
    If you like Metroidvania style games with compelling storytelling, satisfyingly challenging boss battles, and music to match the feel of the game, Iconoclasts is worth playing through again and again. I am so glad that solo developer Joakim “Konjak” Sandberg has given us this masterful piece of art to consider. It was definitely worth the wait.
  4. PC PowerPlay
    Apr 5, 2018
    90
    A retro game that delivers more wonderful gameplay than nostalgia. [Issue#270, p.58]
  5. Mar 29, 2018
    90
    Don't let first impressions fool you. Beneath the bright colours and initially sunny disposition of Iconoclasts lies a game that is going to challenge you in a variety of ways. It will force the best from your quick-twitch-skills, with fast-paced and frenetic combat. This is an experience that cannot be missed by fans of both 2D action platformers, or by those seeking a greater level of mental and ideological engagement.
  6. Feb 5, 2018
    90
    Even if Iconoclasts is not the definition of perfection in gameplay mechanisms and it is not the best Metroidvania game ever, its overall quality and mainly its soul leave no room for further questions. It is a game you ought to try.
  7. Feb 1, 2018
    90
    With its Metroid trappings, Iconoclasts began as a familiar experience, but by the end I was left thinking more about the impactful character and narrative moments. Despite its bright and colorful aesthetic, Iconoclasts' world is a dark one, and the journey across it is one I did not expect to be so affected by. Couple that with design that would excel even without the narrative hooks, and you have a game that stands above its peers.
  8. Feb 1, 2018
    90
    Iconoclasts is an amazingly well-done game that never settles down for more than a minute, effortlessly switching from one challenge to another and never letting the player get too caught up on an area. As good as the gameplay is, though, the part that sticks in my head is the story, and the terrible price Robin and her friends and enemies all pay on the way to salvation. It’s a long, difficult journey with a large cast of characters to meet, befriend, fight, and sometimes lose along the way, creating a memorable world that will stick in your head long after the final boss is defeated.
  9. Jan 29, 2018
    90
    Iconoclasts is a work full of love and creativity.
  10. Jan 29, 2018
    90
    A master lessor in design, inspired by the classics platform/adventure 2D but with a very personal touch and impressive beautiful pixelart. An authentic jewel.
  11. Jan 25, 2018
    90
    Iconoclasts is a pretty fantastic game. The story is fun and interesting, the controls are tight and near perfect, the art and animation is beautiful, and many of the puzzles and traversal are both fun and challenging at the same time. If you’re into the Metroidvania style games and don’t mind a bit of backtracking, this is the game for you. I can’t suggest it enough to fans of the classic SNES side scrolling shooters and action puzzle fans.
  12. Jan 23, 2018
    90
    Iconoclasts is a kind of game that no AAA studio could ever have made. It has all the mechanics, visuals and other easily judged elements that a video game needs, and nailed down really well too, but it also has a less tangible feel to it that just endears it to the player. Even among other nostalgic pixel-art metroidvania games, this one stands out, and ought to be remembered as one of the indie greats.
  13. Feb 26, 2018
    84
    Multi-faceted 2D pixel platformer that balances its confusing narrative with great level design, tricky puzzles & neat action.
  14. Feb 1, 2018
    84
    This is a strange, complex game that – refreshingly – doesn't play quite like any other work in the genre. Iconoclasts offers a welcome reminder that they don't all have to play the same way.
  15. Feb 25, 2018
    80
    Iconoclasts is a near-constant delight, offering story that can be charming or silly or insightful, combat that is involved, puzzles that challenge the mind, and a feeling of endless excitement and adventure.
  16. Feb 2, 2018
    80
    While the action could have been a little more challenging, this nonetheless is a fascinating and surprisingly story-rich trip into a bizarre fantasy world.
  17. Feb 2, 2018
    80
    Sandberg should be proud for delivering such a complete metroidvania game on his own. It may be a bit rough around the edges, but this doesn’t stop it from having competent platforming mechanics but, more importantly, an engrossing story with characters oozing with personality, something of a rarity for the genre.
  18. Jan 30, 2018
    80
    Iconoclasts is a gorgeous pixel art metroidvania with some great ideas. Action, platform and puzzles are fun. And the narrative and characters are really compelling. A total success.
  19. Jan 30, 2018
    80
    Iconoclasts is a great action platform game with an interesting plot and beautiful art style.
  20. Jan 29, 2018
    79
    The fact that it’s a casual game allows Iconoclasts’ story to unfold at a good pace. It is without a doubt a story-driven action-adventure game, and as such you should take your time thinking about what it all means as you go along. For those who experienced Super Nintendo games in their prime, this game may be reminiscent of some of your best childhood memories.
  21. Jan 23, 2018
    78
    Slick platforming, well-designed puzzles, and a huge, connected world, with occasional moments of frustration.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Jan 24, 2018
    The wonderfully well-tuned bosses alone might be worth your while. But in a currently crowded pantheon of exploration-heavy 2D platformers, Iconoclasts is one that doesn’t fire on every cylinder. That alone might be an excuse to check out your other options.
  2. Unless you plan on speedrunning the game, Iconoclasts has relatively limited replay value. Still, in the end Iconoclasts wasn’t quite what I expected, but I greatly enjoyed my time with it, and would recommend it to any platformer fan.
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 90 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 90
  2. Negative: 10 out of 90
  1. Sep 19, 2018
    4
    Yes, yes, I know everyone praises this game for being developed by one person. That is cool and all, however I, unlike many other reviewers,Yes, yes, I know everyone praises this game for being developed by one person. That is cool and all, however I, unlike many other reviewers, will not use kid gloves to rate this game. Moving on:

    Story: 4/10
    This is a reasonably complex narrative that honestly reeks of pretentiousness or a lack of understanding in what makes a good narrative. It is pretty obvious that only one person made this, as the characters have no depth. The overall story regarding the One Concern, Mother, the characters, and overall lore is just not interesting or told well at all. Loads of dialog that is very, very boring. I can read logs in Metroid Prime, Axiom Verge, or other games all day. These other games have no voice acting also, but have a strong narrative. I feel like this person should have gotten a volunteer friend or family member to help with the story to ensure that it made sense before release. The game would honestly probably be way better if the game play elements existed without any of the story being included. It is really that bad. For readers, this is an honest review, not a "favor" to the creator like so many others have posted to support the developer. The story should be better or removed period.

    Graphics: 7/10
    The graphics are retro style 8-16 bit-ish. Overall, pretty good. It is animated very well. I like many of the character designs. I will note that some of them are pretty bland, but some aren't. Particularly, the main two characters are my favorite of the entire game and have the overall best designs and art. The overall art style of the game is kind of bland and not very creative looking. No area will look impressive to you, even compared to previous games of a similar style. Due to being the most consistent part of the game, I gave it a decent score.

    Sound/Music: 3/10
    I love good music and sound. This game has neither. The is one or two areas where the music is kind of catchy, but not because it is that good, so much as how it loops very quickly and is easy to remember as such. After I stop playing for a few days, I won't be remembering or looking to purchase or download the soundtrack. I feel like this could have been done much better even if only by a single person.

    Gameplay: 3/10

    The 3 is for the fact that some of the bosses are pretty fun, challenging, and unique. Otherwise, the entire game is a giant chore. The powers and abilities are very infrequent. Collectibles in the game can be very challenging to get and sometimes involve fun puzzles, but amount to nothing. They are typically just pieces used to buy and equip tweaks. Tweaks allows all sorts of different abilities, but there are only a handful of them in the entire game. I spend the whole game collecting everything possible and was only able to buy a few tweaks. There are many more items to build tweaks, and puzzles surrounding those items, then actual tweaks to build. When I realized this, I was not happy to say the least and it really feels like a completely wasted opportunity.

    All abilities usually involve your wrench or a few other weapons. Eventually you kind of start looking for more movement options or weapon powerups. Move movement options never come like they do in Metroid and Castlevania games, but instead a few weapon mods come and most do very little besides one in particular that is received near the end of the long, meaningless dialog fest. There are one or two little mini-games that are included. One in particular involving boxes was pretty fun and definitely should have been expanded on more later, but nope. Two minutes and it's never to be seen again. Combat outside of bosses is tragic, kind of like Super Metroid, until you reach actual Metroids. Enemies typically just **** there and do nothing or move very slowly. A few shoot projectiles or get aggressive towards the very end game, but are never close to being a threat even on the hardest difficulty. Platforming is sometimes a bit addicting, but not fun, as there is nary a challenge to be had in the jumping around. Don't expect any crazy moving platforms like Mario, or difficult jumps at all. The primary gameplay involves dropping bombs to open doors or finding a way to go up or down. Most puzzles feel exactly the same as the last, so the game gets boring very quickly. I was excited to see how the puzzles would progress as I got new abilities, but it seems the the developer lacked creativity or time to execute.

    Lumping in controls here, they are solid and there are no bugs, but a few minor frustrations with how you move in the are or when shooting. You can run and shoot, but not use your wrench for some reason. Another character cannot run and attack at all. The game is not buggy in my experience, so another plus I suppose.

    Overall: 4.25

    Iconoclasts can be fun sometimes, but overall is a missed opportunity. Compared to another similar,solo developed game, Axiom Verge, this is very underwhelming. Don't believe the hype.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 12, 2018
    10
    This game remind me why i'm playing video game
    so clean and neat and enjoyable game
  3. Jan 27, 2018
    9
    iconoclast is one my favorite metroidvania
    Game duration approximately 16 hours , each boss has his way of defeating exquisite level design
    iconoclast is one my favorite metroidvania
    Game duration approximately 16 hours , each boss has his way of defeating exquisite level design and a well-balanced difficulty .
    beautiful pixel art design and an incredible story and very well achieved.
    although it is linear, it is quite enjoyable to explore "of course if you are one of those who want to obtain 100%"

    delight for maniacal metroidvania fans
    Full Review »