Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Aug 31, 2022
    100
    I have never seen – or played – anything like it. It’s not a game that everyone will love, but I do think it’s one that everyone should play.
  2. Aug 30, 2022
    100
    A true achievement in game design and interactive fiction, Immortality is a gorgeous and haunting magic trick that sets a new standard for the medium.
  3. Aug 30, 2022
    100
    Immortality is a game that will haunt you. Its sinister atmosphere is exceptionally powerful. Its layered narrative about art and artists will leave you with more thoughts, ideas, and questions than answers. It will have you clambering for someone to seek solace with afterwards. It may very well see you diving back in, hunting for closure with any clues you may have missed – just a few more hints. Something, anything. Immortality is a remarkable piece of work, and an outstanding example of the potency interactive storytelling can have.
  4. 100
    When I began this review, I wondered if Immortality would live up to the hype I had created in my mind. Luckily, it did. The characters, the narrative, and the completely unique experience that it odders… this game is special. Visual. Intuitive. Genius. Half Mermaid (and Barlow in particular) has upped its own ante, and I legitimately have no idea what the studio could do next. This studio is one of the rare true artists in our little industry.
  5. Aug 30, 2022
    100
    Somehow, Immortality does the impossible. From its extraordinary cast to the tremendous writing and elegant systems that enable us to interact with every frame of this stunning creation, it really couldn’t have been executed any better. Go in unspoiled, let the interactive story sweep you away, and enjoy all the twists and turns of this masterfully designed game.
  6. Aug 30, 2022
    100
    Immortality is Sam Barlow’s magnum opus and the best FMV game ever made. Manon Gage is a riotous force of an actor, accompanied by just as capable a cast, all capable of blowing up. Deep and rewarding investigation mechanics mean you too are rewarded by more of these very performances. Forty years ago at the genre’s start, ideas this broad, sweeping and memorable were inconceivable. Now they’ve arrived, serving as the mastering of technology, writing and acting, all wrapped up in a momentous and moving package. Immortality is a game-changer, utterly needing to forever be immortalised in gaming and art history.
  7. Aug 30, 2022
    100
    Immortality is a story of a girl who became a tour de force of a woman. Throughout all the submissive moments where she stood at the mercy of lovers and filmmakers, she became stronger than anyone could have expected. The acting by everyone involved is sublime, and the way everything connects is masterful. Her Story was great, but this is on another level. I was captivated from the beginning, and left with my jaw on the floor by the end. There’re are secrets everywhere, and if you’re willing to spend time finding them, the rewards come in abundance.
  8. Aug 30, 2022
    100
    Even days after seeing the credits roll, I can’t quit IMMORTALITY. I want to understand more, dig deeper, and find more clips. There’s so much to see here and so many mysteries hidden inside this game, seemingly just one moment of intuition away. I enjoyed Sam Barlow’s past work, particularly Her Story, but I was unprepared for the depth of feeling I found within IMMORTALITY. What he and his team have created is nothing short of a masterpiece.
  9. Edge Magazine
    Aug 11, 2022
    100
    For all the delicious brain food it serves up, this astonishing game - a new high bar for creator and genre - never stops reminding you of the human beings at the heart of the moviemaking process, and the very real cost of their art. [Issue#375, p.106]
  10. Aug 30, 2022
    95
    Immortality is Sam Barlow's most ambitious project. It presents an engrossing narrative, with numerous moments that will amaze you as you discover them. The only downside is that you can end up with repetitive scenes without knowing what to do next.
  11. Aug 30, 2022
    95
    Immortality is Sam Barlow’s best, most thought-provoking game yet, and a barnstorming debut for Half Mermaid.
  12. Aug 30, 2022
    95
    Immortality is a masterpiece capable of involving and upsetting the player in more than one moment. It is a strong video game, full of surprises and interesting themes, capable of overturning at the right moment to drag you into a successful positive spiral of research and discovery, which brings the brain and emotions into play. It is also one of the works that best manages to play with the filmed sequences, transforming the player into an editor / investigator through a simple and natural interface, very comfortable both using a mouse and keyboard, and with a controller. The conclusion is: what are you still doing here?
  13. Aug 30, 2022
    94
    I think it’s no exaggeration to say that Immortality is often brilliant. The acting, writing, editing and videography are meticulously intentional and if the path through the woods isn’t always clear, the trees are unfailingly interesting to study. While it isn’t perfect, I’m glad that games like Immortality exist. There are so many games that are sequels, copycats, reboots, remakes and retreads that you forget what originality actually looks like. All of Barlow’s games have been excellent but Immortality is probably the richest and most thought-provoking of the three.
  14. Sep 13, 2022
    90
    IMMORTALITY is a complex and fascinating story that draws inspiration from many different film genres. It’s a fantastic game with a lot to offer, even if the limited influence over the story and the random order in which the game’s events are experienced could reduce the story’s impact.
  15. Sep 3, 2022
    90
    Immortality is extraordinary and insanely polished, but because of its unique nature and not very engaging gameplay not everyone will be taken with it. However, if you want to feel like a detective analyzing David Lynch’s lost movie, you’re in for a treat. I hope this one-of-a-kind experience gets the spotlight it deserves.
  16. Aug 30, 2022
    90
    Immortality is an impressively layered work, filled with conflicted thoughts on the concept of the auteur, the collaborative process of art, and the prospect of going too deep in the service of expression.
  17. Aug 30, 2022
    90
    If you like narrative-based games and, in particular, Sam Barlow’s previous projects, don’t miss it.
  18. Aug 30, 2022
    90
    An intense and raw experience, Immortality marks an excellent return to the scene for Sam Barlow, in an adventure to be lived strictly with headphones and controllers. Preferably during a rainy night, in a dimly lit room.
  19. Aug 30, 2022
    90
    Sam Barlow builds a fascinating puzzle mixing game design and cinema by weaving a unique, complex storytelling that deeply explores Marissa Marcel’s life. A mind blowing experience.
  20. Aug 30, 2022
    90
    As a game, Immortality is tailor-made for those who like to call movies "films" because it makes them feel superior. Those who exit the theatre and step into the bright light of the halls, instantly initiating a one-sided discussion of how they expected more from that actor given his pedigree, failing to notice crusty popcorn stuck to the back of their trousers. It's for the know-it-alls that realise, diving into these three lost films from Marissa Marcel, they might not know that much about cinema after all.
  21. Aug 30, 2022
    90
    Immortality feels like a logical endpoint for the last seven years of Barlow's work. Though his cast has expanded to include a full Smash Bros. roster's worth of characters, and the script has expanded to include three full movies with contributions from several writers, it feels like he has ended up, basically, where he started. Like Her Story, Immortality is really about one woman. As in Her Story, she may not be who you think she is.
  22. Aug 30, 2022
    90
    The most ambitious and intense Sam Barlow's game is a brilliant interactive mockumentary about movies and our relationship with the sense o narration. Thanks to a sleek and precise game mechanic and a clever management of a very thin fourth wall, Immortality plays with both cinema and video game languages, using them both to deliver a deep story with different layers. If you like FMV adventures and Sam Barlow's games, it's definitely a groundbreaking game.
  23. Aug 30, 2022
    90
    Immortality is an astonishing work of interactive fiction that's every bit as unsettling and unforgettable as the films that inspired it.
  24. Aug 30, 2022
    90
    Immortality is one beautiful headf**k. Once again Barlow has surpassed himself, with this game surpassing anything else that's come before it in the genre.
  25. Aug 30, 2022
    90
    Immortality is another great entry to the collection of FMV puzzle-boxes that Barlow and co. have been producing for years now. I don’t quite know that I’ve played anything like it. From big revelations to little moments that just build on the life and times of Marissa Marcel, these scenes are going to stick with me for a while, living on. Immortalized.
  26. Aug 30, 2022
    90
    Immortality is a story of art and authority and the humans responsible for all the best and worst aspects of moviemaking, and it's also a step forward in the way stories can be told through the interactive movie genre. A hidden mystery under the initial intrigue of trying to find out what happened to missing actress Marissa Marcel, and the way it's discovered, is the gem at the heart of this beautifully shot, acted, and scored production.
  27. Sep 5, 2022
    89
    Immortality is Sam Barlow's masterpiece, a great drama that revolves around life meaning and the real role of art.
  28. Sep 16, 2022
    85
    Immortality is a love letter to a certain way of making and intending cinema, but it’s also an almost perfect experiment that aims to blend the languages of cinema and video game into a single one.
  29. Some writers have described “Immortality” as being about burnout or auteurism (the final few scenes can be read as evidence for that theory). But that’s not quite right, akin to saying Star Wars is about space. Artistry does not grant privileged access to decency or good nature. That is what the game is, not what it is about. It’s text, not subtext. For so long as “Immortality” uses that as a starting point to probe further, it is a high water mark for gaming in 2022. When the characters are allowed to be people — not vampires nor aliens nor angels but people who are tired, embarrassed, horny, funny, naive, voyeuristic, creepy and more — each frame’s richness is its own reward.
  30. Aug 28, 2022
    85
    Immortality is a new demonstration of the art of Sam Barlow. Mystical, captivating, Marissa is the main subject of a work of absolutely remarkable screenplay consistency, with polished shots and whose non-chronological grouping makes the whole experience gripping. And if it is true that the redundancy of the gameplay based on a simple click mechanism can prove to be heavy at the end of the experience, the adventure is nonetheless incredibly striking and controlled.
  31. Sep 7, 2022
    80
    Sam Barlow’s latest creation tries to improve on his previous work “Her Story”, and the result is an adventure full of interesting puzzles and beautiful tales that will keep you fully engaged until the very end.
  32. Sep 2, 2022
    80
    I’m not sure I’ll ever stop wondering about the snakes, the apples, and every other prop laced with subtext. I think that’s what Immortality set out to do; transform how many of us think about, and approach, all forms of media – as well as the people who play a part in shaping it, and shaping our lives in the process.
  33. Aug 30, 2022
    80
    Immortality is an unusual adventure game with strong David Lynch vibes, and a non-linear narrative style that leaves you clueless in the face of deep and mysterious thriller drama.
  34. Aug 30, 2022
    80
    Despite some shallow search tools, Immortality is a thoroughly mesmerizing mystery and one of the most surprising video game stories of 2022.
  35. Aug 30, 2022
    80
    There are moments in this game about which I can't go into detail, but they are the main reason I've given this game the high score you see below. The first time I came upon an example of a particular game mechanic, I jumped out of my seat with excitement, alerting my wife that what I thought Immortality was going to be had dramatically changed in an instant. Even once I learned how Immortality works, it continued to surprise me with what it would show me, what it would tell me, and best of all, what it would refuse to tell me, leaving me to dwell on it long after I finally discovered Marissa's fate.
  36. Aug 30, 2022
    70
    It surprises just as often as it confounds, and that in itself makes this a rather extraordinary experience. It’s also perhaps one of the purest examples of video games as art we’ve seen to date: a piece of art about artists. Does that make for an enjoyable experience? Not always. At times it’s drawn-out, boring, a chore, even, as you obsess over every bit of footage available to you. But are we glad we’ve played it? Absolutely.
  37. Sep 6, 2022
    60
    For creator Sam Barlow and his studio Half Mermaid Productions, the push to eccentric cinematography continues with Immortality, as the video game elements fade further into the background. Some may find this odd collection of indie flicks enticing, but many will be disappointed by the lackluster interactivity.
  38. Aug 30, 2022
    60
    Immortality lacks the satisfying detective work found in Her Story and Telling Lies, instead opting for randomness and an almost complete lack of control as to what part of the game you're wanting to explore. The story itself is enjoyable to piece together, but finding each piece is a frustrating and deeply repetitive process.
  39. Sep 1, 2022
    50
    Immortality is the antithesis of the belief that games are an art form, as its lofty attempts to establish prestige are built upon the language of another medium entirely (cinema). It relies on the spectacle of the project alone and not the substance, leaving an empty shell confident in but not convinced of its own self-importance.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Sep 19, 2022
    Despite its ups and downs, the whole mystery surrounding Marissa Marcel is fascinating and deserves to be discovered in order to understand how video games, even supported by cinematic techniques, remain the best plastic material to mold unique ideas, stories and sensations. [Recommended]
  2. Aug 30, 2022
    Sam Barlow's epic mystery of self-reference and cinema is an elaborate, ingenious enigma - one that would be even better if it didn't want to be solved.
  3. Aug 30, 2022
    Immortality, the latest from Her Story creator Sam Barlow, is a game that functions like a movie. Its excitement lies within clever or opulent shots, lines delivered with pleasurable believability, and an alluring plot. But it has a real bad attitude about art.
  4. Aug 30, 2022
    The only way to fully appreciate the scope of this project, flaws and all, is to throw all expectations of story and structure out the window, and realize that the simplistic divide between film and games is holding us back from doing so much more with either medium. [Polygon Recommends]
  5. You can like it for the formidable performances and the unbelievable replications of different periods of cinema, for the sets, the artistry, the surprises, the big thinking and the weirdness hiding just the other side of the curtain, for the attention to detail and the vaulting ambition, for the way it's thoughtful in how it stages certain things. But, for me, Immortality wasn't as thoughtful about other things. Perhaps I've just had enough of Sam Barlow's ideas about women on camera for a little bit. I'd quite like him to have ideas about something else next time.
  6. Aug 30, 2022
    Immortality gets under your skin; flickers subliminally in your head. It becomes a part of you, whether you want it to, or not.
User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 51
  2. Negative: 14 out of 51
  1. Sep 6, 2022
    10
    I love this game. The mistery, the movies, the characters, everything absorbed me and obsessed me. Recording 3 full movies, extremelyI love this game. The mistery, the movies, the characters, everything absorbed me and obsessed me. Recording 3 full movies, extremely well-acted and with a great plot, just as the backdrop of a bigger mistery is mindblowing. Full Review »
  2. Aug 31, 2022
    10
    Took awhile to get into but this game is amazing. Really enjoying it as a good chill game.
  3. Aug 31, 2022
    10
    a masterpiece of a game from the legendary FMV games studio. I still remember all of their games and I will remember this game forever thea masterpiece of a game from the legendary FMV games studio. I still remember all of their games and I will remember this game forever the mystery is just incredible and unexpected Full Review »