Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 28
  2. Negative: 2 out of 28
Buy On
  1. The implementation of controllable sea battles and the interactive environments certainly develops the gameplay of the combat RTS sub-genre and it’s sure to be a feature that a certain developer called Creative Assembly will be looking out for.
  2. PC Gamer
    90
    Truly epic historical strategy. It's a good pick for RTS fans. [Aug 2005, p.60]
  3. The next best thing to attending a real world military college.
  4. 85
    The campaign's tedious start is a significant obstacle to gamers who want to "get to the good stuff" without going through the motions of developing a massive resource base and drafting an army from scratch.
  5. Don’t expect to complete Imperial Glory anytime soon; like a good book, you’ll have to invest your time, but you’re repaid with a great reward.
  6. The graphics, gameplay, and concept are all well done. There is a bit of a learning curve, but players ease into the complex areas of the game.
  7. 80
    The empire-building gameplay is surprisingly compelling and fast-paced, while the battles themselves give you a taste of, well, glory. Hugo be damned; this empire building is fun stuff.
  8. If anything, Imperial Glory does look exciting and does permit a good degree of strategizing.
  9. PC Format
    79
    It puts up a brave fight, but can't quite defeat the champion of war games ("Rome: Total War"). After all, Rome wasn't beat in a day. [July 2005, p.96]
  10. Pelit (Finland)
    78
    A great concept, but the game suffers from its poor AI. Also, the balance between diplomacy and war should have been improved. [Aug. 05]
  11. 75
    This one is not for the impatient. The campaign mode does drag out for a long time and loading times are on the lengthy side, but should you be patient enough to overlook these details, you’ll definitely have a good time.
  12. The encouraging thing about IG's niggles is that they're patchable. In a few months players should be positioning troops with confidence and dispensing orders on a far more regular basis. Without these improvements, however, IG will remain annoying and silly. [PC Gamer UK]
  13. Imperial Glory feels like a giant step forward for Pyro Studios. Its scope and complexity is far greater than any of the previous strategy titles I’ve seen from them.
  14. 70
    As it is, it still has much to commend, but its peculiar design choices make it difficult to enjoy to its full potential.
  15. The campaign mode is good fun for a while, but the unsatisfying battle element will leave strategy buffs begging for more.
  16. In copying the formula of Total War, Pyros Studios, the designers of Imperial Glory, have missed the small nuances and details that made the Total War games, in particular Medieval and Rome, something special.
  17. 65
    Above average. Minor errors corrupt what may have been a good game.
  18. PC Gamer UK
    64
    When half a battalion decides to leave your borders undefended while they wage their own private suicide-o-war, it's more than a little galling. [May 2006, p.96]
  19. There's really something fundamentally wrong in a game where I start keeping a book beside the table to read while my armies trudge into battle.
  20. 60
    One frustrating game. It gets so many things right and it certainly looks the part, but fans of the genre -- especially those interested in Napoleon-era fighting -- will have a tough time getting around the game's lighthearted attempt at modeling combat.
  21. The graphics are slick and I can tell a lot of historical research went into making this game, but I can’t shake the feeling that the Pyro designers are still using muskets while the competition has moved on to assault rifles.
  22. 60
    It might even be considered a pretty decent RTS of usual sort, but taken as a historically accurate simulation; it's utterly disappointing and comes nowhere close to challenging the Total War series.
  23. While it attempts to be a strong contender against the Total War series, it doesn't make it, even with the unique addition of naval combat.
  24. If I had to describe this game in one word, I'd say it's... decent. Then I'd add that it's at times illogical, unnerving, dull, and painfully slow-paced.
  25. A great-looking game with a few good ideas, but it just gets too many things wrong. Despite the initial promise, the result is a pale imitation of "Total War" and a poor attempt at simulating history.
  26. Computer Games Magazine
    50
    Invading Russia in the winter was never this hard. [Sept 2005, p.54]
  27. Pelaaja (Finland)
    40
    Even if the worst mistakes and bugs would be fixed via patches, Imperial Glory would still only be mediocre. [July 2005, p.71]
  28. For if I would not play the game more than ten seconds if I didn’t have to review the game, why would I recommend any voluntarily play this game?
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 80 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 80
  2. Negative: 11 out of 80
  1. Vladimir
    May 31, 2005
    10
    I love it. The graphics are great. You've got 3 games in one (management, RTS and naval battles) and it makes me feel like a real I love it. The graphics are great. You've got 3 games in one (management, RTS and naval battles) and it makes me feel like a real general of that age. Great work. Full Review »
  2. JamieS.
    May 29, 2005
    9
    A very pretty game. Both better AND worse than Rome total war. The province overview is not quite as good; there's less you can do and A very pretty game. Both better AND worse than Rome total war. The province overview is not quite as good; there's less you can do and it's too abstracted; it jars with the realism of the battle view. However, the battles are BETTER than total war. Whereas total wars' terrain is flat and uninteresting, glory's is just plain beautiful - in fact the best I've seen, it's fun just to look at the trees and windmills etc. Overall, I rate it slightly higher than Total war. Don't miss it. Ignore the naysayers - a lot of them seem to already be total war converts; but I don't see any reason why there should just be ONE good RTS (One to rule them all???) This one's a peach ! Full Review »
  3. FGM
    Dec 30, 2017
    5
    I write this quick review in in 2017.

    Imperial Glory was a decent game, when it came out in 2005. Unfortunately (2009) Empire & (2010)
    I write this quick review in in 2017.

    Imperial Glory was a decent game, when it came out in 2005.
    Unfortunately (2009) Empire & (2010) Napoleon Total War outshine it in every aspect.
    Battles are small short and tedious, mostly because of awkward UI and control choices.

    Biggest downturn for me was lack of free camera movement. Sure you can move it left, right, up and down, but the height it reaches is really low. So I found myself looking for hilltops etc. just to elevate my camera higher and overview the battle from a better angle that way (not to be funny Napoleon used a balloon to command and overview battles - apparently lack of it, was one of factors leading to his loss at Waterloo). To top that up you can't change the cameras fixed angle so your're stuck with whatever it's set to by the devs, it's a huge pain.

    Another problem is lack of default line formation when selecting and moving multiple regiments. They'll just move in whatever mess they are in, when you click them to move. So because of this you end up with a lot of tedious battle micromanagement, where sometimes unit's won't acknowledge orders and you'll have to order them multiple times to make them follow your command, or they'll stop executing the order midway as well from time to time.

    Battlefields themselves can be much more interesting than the ones you encounter today in Total War titles (love these small hills). Unfortunately simple and aged graphics, as well as lack of fortifications, or some form of decent cover, take away most of the charm.

    Surprisingly I was able to run the game on Windows 10 without issues on nVidia card.

    Fiddling with "config.sb" file allows you to play in 1920x1080 but with 4:3 ratio so edges are black.
    4
    Change these lines in config.sb in game folder if you want to play windowed or high resolution.
    [
    .FULLSCREEN TRUE (or FALSE your choice..... don't copy that)
    .SX 1920
    .SY 1080
    ]
    Full Review »