User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 263 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 263

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 15, 2021
    10
    By far the best puzzle game of 2021 . This game has shown some new ideas and great atmosphere that cannot be find in any other game .Deserved a meta score between 87 and 92
  2. Nov 5, 2021
    10
    It's just great. I love the soundtrack, the very diverse gameplay mechanics and the ''story'' if you can call it that. I also like the combination between Rogue-like, card game and ''escape room''. I really recommend it.
  3. Oct 28, 2021
    10
    Mind-blowingly good. I went in bind to this and was instantly captivated. Cards. Horror. Narrative. Cards. Play!
  4. Dec 12, 2021
    10
    one of the most unique games I have played. Keep in mind that it's best to get into this game without knowing anything about it.
  5. Jan 5, 2022
    10
    Очень уникальная карточная игра. Лучшая игра 2021 года. Залип на 12 часов и прошел залпом за ночь без перерывов на туалет.
  6. Jan 30, 2022
    9
    A fantastic game overall. I managed to stay engaged the whole way trough, but post Act 1 my girlfriend gave up on the game. I guess you could say it has varying quality levels, but all in all very enjoyable. In short I'd call this game "aesthetic the game". Stylistically one of the coolest games I have played.
  7. Oct 30, 2021
    10
    Отличные картишки как не посмотри.

    Для инди игры это просто ВАУ, высочайший уровень исполнения во всех аспектах. Гейм-дизайн просто 1 000 000 / 10. В плане механик просто огромнейший респект, низкий поклон человеку, который это делал/придумывал, да, много идей явно не оригинальных, но их реализация это просто нечто. Сеттинг просто бомбический, всё сделано в лучшем виде, нет халтуры,
    Отличные картишки как не посмотри.

    Для инди игры это просто ВАУ, высочайший уровень исполнения во всех аспектах. Гейм-дизайн просто 1 000 000 / 10. В плане механик просто огромнейший респект, низкий поклон человеку, который это делал/придумывал, да, много идей явно не оригинальных, но их реализация это просто нечто. Сеттинг просто бомбический, всё сделано в лучшем виде, нет халтуры, явно продумывали полный концепт, дыр не замечено. В сюжетном плане тоже приятно удивила, чего не ожидалось. Хоррором это не назовёшь, но его элементы присутствуют, это скорее немножко жесткости просто. В сюжетном плане очень приятно удивился, не ожидал от карточной игры такого, прям экстраординарного ничего нет, но очень и очень неплохо, явно не слабый аспект игры. (хотя вряд ли у неё есть слабые аспекты).

    Вкратце: mustplay, явно займёт своё место в рейтингах и сердечках) Играется шустро, свежо, красочно, не затянуто. Ну и ещё раз похвалю часть гейм механик, они просто шикарны. После гнилого хартстоуна 100 из 10 игра. Эти 2 вечера беспрерывной Inscryption запомнятся надолго. Однозначно рекомендую.
    Expand
  8. Dec 9, 2021
    10
    Гениальная игра с классными механиками и гейм решениями. Офигенный сюжет и лучший хоррор. Всем обязательна к прохождению
  9. Dec 29, 2021
    10
    Absolute original and creative in so many ways. Don't even watch the Trailer. Just buy and enjoy
  10. Jan 12, 2022
    10
    I think there are 2 types of "perfect" games. Those that refine an idea and elevate to create something new and refreshing like Breath of the Wild or Super Mario Odyssey. And those that turn an idea on its head to create exciting and novel experiences like Portal 2 or Undertale. Inscryption definitely fits into the second category because it turns a rogue-like card game into something veryI think there are 2 types of "perfect" games. Those that refine an idea and elevate to create something new and refreshing like Breath of the Wild or Super Mario Odyssey. And those that turn an idea on its head to create exciting and novel experiences like Portal 2 or Undertale. Inscryption definitely fits into the second category because it turns a rogue-like card game into something very special. Expand
  11. Oct 29, 2021
    10
    I have never played a game so original before.. don't spoil yourself anything and buy it!!
  12. Oct 29, 2021
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Part ominous masterpiece and part - something else - Inscryption is an easy game to recommend for anyone who enjoys deckbuilding games and occult settings. It just can't sustain its greatness for its entire play time.

    Imagine being forced to play a deckbuilder in a gloomy, claustrophobic cabin where your life is on the line if you lose. Your mysterious adversary is torn between espousing his contempt for you and showing off his skills as the consummate DM. Your opponent enjoys the game, even if he is convinced you will lose. Your captor's enthusiasm and love of gaming itself is one of Inscryption's best features.

    The deckbuilding aspect of Inscryption is excellent. You will die several times, but you will learn, improve your tactics, and find ways to overcome challenges that first seem impossible. Victory is exciting and rewarding.

    Problems begin after you achieve that victory. There's much more to the game, but all of it is a dramatic step down from the battles in the cabin. The remaining content is too easy, too unfocused, and too uninteresting, especially coming off some of the most memorable gaming I've ever experienced.

    I recommend Inscryption but wish all of it was as well-designed, challenging, and atmospheric as the fight to survive in the cabin.
    Expand
  13. Oct 25, 2021
    10
    Лучшая игра года! Сюжет,игровые механики поразили. Браво разработчикам! Жду продолжения,очень жду!)
  14. Dec 14, 2021
    5
    Inscryption's first arc is 10/10. It's the best gameplay that the genre has ever seen delivered alongside a story with plenty of momentum and mystery. The ensuing arcs drop the ball so hard that almost all the goodwill built up over the first arc is lost. What went wrong? The best-in-class gameplay was pretty much completely sacrificed in service of a story that went off the rails in aInscryption's first arc is 10/10. It's the best gameplay that the genre has ever seen delivered alongside a story with plenty of momentum and mystery. The ensuing arcs drop the ball so hard that almost all the goodwill built up over the first arc is lost. What went wrong? The best-in-class gameplay was pretty much completely sacrificed in service of a story that went off the rails in a painfully predictable Daniel-Mullins-navel-gazing fashion. Daniel Mullins is clearly capable of making a good game, but not quite capable of making a good game ABOUT games. Expand
  15. Oct 27, 2021
    6
    I can only describe this as too many similar ideas crammed into a relatively short game and a pretentious developer who feels the need to cram really bad and unnecessary "meta" nonsense into the game. It constantly detracts from the good core concepts at every turn.

    It feels like a bait-and-switch from how severe it contrasts with itself and it's identity crisis.
  16. Oct 21, 2021
    10
    Inscryption is pretty darn incredible. It's both a rock solid roguelite and an extremely tight narrative adventure with barely a single misstep. Sure, the inclusion of live-action found footage segments undercut the overall carefully-curated tone of the game. Yes, the pixel art portion in the middle of the game is too long and no, the late game mechanics are not as rewarding as the earlyInscryption is pretty darn incredible. It's both a rock solid roguelite and an extremely tight narrative adventure with barely a single misstep. Sure, the inclusion of live-action found footage segments undercut the overall carefully-curated tone of the game. Yes, the pixel art portion in the middle of the game is too long and no, the late game mechanics are not as rewarding as the early game mechanics. But Inscryption is too bold to fault it for a few misstep; after all, it's wading deeper into uncharted territory than any other game in recent memory. It's far too tight and polished for the occasional moment of clunkiness to distract from the overall awe-inducing experience. Expand
  17. Oct 23, 2021
    9
    ¡Así se hace un juego, ostias! Posiblemente uno de los mejores indies del año (review sin spoilers).

    Un deckbuilder PvE muy diferente con una historia atractiva, de la que poco se puede hablar, ya que fastidiaría la experiencia y sobre todo , no verse mas de una hora de gameplay ajeno, si te entra por los ojos ve a por el juego o te arrepentirás. Muy recomendado ha todo tipo de
    ¡Así se hace un juego, ostias! Posiblemente uno de los mejores indies del año (review sin spoilers).

    Un deckbuilder PvE muy diferente con una historia atractiva, de la que poco se puede hablar, ya que fastidiaría la experiencia y sobre todo , no verse mas de una hora de gameplay ajeno, si te entra por los ojos ve a por el juego o te arrepentirás.

    Muy recomendado ha todo tipo de público, que el genero de deckbuilder no os eche para atrás, ya que el juego tiene sus mecánicas para hacer que avances si o si en la historia, además de ser muy fáciles y de las que siempre tienes el "manual" a mano por si se te olvida algún efecto. Además y poco he oído hablar de ello, sus reglas se van masticando poco a poco, primero empezaras con un tipo de mazo "easy peasy" y luego, o continuas con ese estilo de mazo o pruebas los nuevos mazos que te va ofreciendo el juego (todos muy fáciles de entender en mecánica).

    En la historia/narrativa es magnifico, poco se puede hablar de este apartado, si te gustan los juegos con giros inesperados este te encantara. Nada mas que decir que "Daniel Mullins Game" han cogido la senda de Toby Fox (Undertale) y se inspiran en hacer juegos de los que la historia siempre tiene un punto que te engancha y sorprende, sacando una sonrisa al jugador en los momentos locos que toma el juego. Creativos y muy inspirados estaban los desarrolladores.

    De lo poco que negativo que se puede sacar es la linealidad cuando se acaba la historia no hay un endgame como tal y no tiene modos extra para que sigas jugando con tus mazos (este defecto yo creo que lo solucionaran con algún dlc/expansión) pero que la duración es muy aceptable, unas 10 horas sin prisas (seguramente menos a los cracks de los deckbuilders) y tiene bastante rejugabilidad (muchos puzles que pasas por alto en tu primera partida, probar nuevas combinaciones de mazo, etc.).

    En resumen, un juego de muy buena calidad, con un balance de precio/horas muy aceptable, de los mejores indies del año. No tiene el 10 porque tiene unas taras que pulir para convertirse en unos de los indies que se recordaran en años y asentarse como referente en el genero (junto a Undertale) para el resto de indies.

    Y acabando como hemos empezado.... ¡Así se hace un juego, ostias!
    Expand
  18. Oct 25, 2021
    10
    INCREDIBLY GOOD. Not sure how to explain what's incredible without going into at least some spoiler of story or mechanic, but it's 20 buckets on Steam so just give it a try and experience yourself -- you won't be disappointed.
  19. Oct 21, 2021
    10
    No spoiler review (except game length)

    Just finished this last night and has quickly become one of my favourite deck-builders along with Slay The Spire/Monster Train. Don't expect to play this for hundreds of hours, the game took me about 15 hours to beat and there's not a huge amount of room for replayability. It is so well designed though- there are few encounters that you just
    No spoiler review (except game length)

    Just finished this last night and has quickly become one of my favourite deck-builders along with Slay The Spire/Monster Train. Don't expect to play this for hundreds of hours, the game took me about 15 hours to beat and there's not a huge amount of room for replayability.

    It is so well designed though- there are few encounters that you just steam-roll through, the variety of cards is exceptional and the underlying story is dark and interesting where you can unlock powerful tools to help you in your runs. Well worth your time if you are all interested in rougue-lite deck-builders this is a must play.
    Expand
  20. Oct 25, 2021
    10
    Make yourself a favour and stop reading reviews, if you are at least a little interested in this game/genre: BUY IT!
  21. Nov 6, 2021
    10
    Masterpiece.
    Honestly i'm blown, one of the best indie game I've played in this decade.
    One of a kind, super original, felt in love with the story.
    I've "finished" the game in 10.2h
    Not sure what I missed, but i'm defintly going to start over to check that.

    Thanks a lot to the dev team. You guys are exactly what this industry need :)
  22. Oct 22, 2021
    10
    inscryption is a masterfully crafted card game with balanced, interesting gameplay and mechanics that stay fresh; a perfect blend of well made pixel art and perfectly made 3d models (its is crazy to look at an object through pixels and then see a 3d model of it); great character designs, not just in models but in written personalities; extremely satisfying sounds design and a grippinginscryption is a masterfully crafted card game with balanced, interesting gameplay and mechanics that stay fresh; a perfect blend of well made pixel art and perfectly made 3d models (its is crazy to look at an object through pixels and then see a 3d model of it); great character designs, not just in models but in written personalities; extremely satisfying sounds design and a gripping story the likes of which i dont believe i will ever forget. if you have even a smidge, a sliver and inkling of a liking for card games and storytelling, this is nothing less than a must play. i literally finished the game tonight at 1 am and made a metacritic profile just so i could write this review. you may only play the game for around 18 hours (my play time) but you will be enjoying every second of it. Expand
  23. Oct 29, 2021
    4
    THIS IS NOT A ROGUELIKE!
    Don't get scammed and anticipate the next Slay the Spire!
    What it is, is fine, but nothing groundbreaking.
  24. Jul 11, 2022
    1
    Garbage game that doesn't have a clue what it's supposed to be (roguelike ? nope. Escape game ? Nope. Horror narrative ? Nope again) and that is nowhere as smart as it thinks it is. Act 1 is meh, act 2 and 3 are utter garbage. Yet another overhyped and overrated game given exaggerated praises because it's an indy game that tries and fails to do something a teenier different. Mullins isGarbage game that doesn't have a clue what it's supposed to be (roguelike ? nope. Escape game ? Nope. Horror narrative ? Nope again) and that is nowhere as smart as it thinks it is. Act 1 is meh, act 2 and 3 are utter garbage. Yet another overhyped and overrated game given exaggerated praises because it's an indy game that tries and fails to do something a teenier different. Mullins is ANOTHER pretentious pseudo intellectual geek that is oblivious to the fact that DEVS AREN'T WRITERS and IT SHOWS. Stick to making games and stop thinking you're Truman Capote, you fraud. Just another hollow concept masquarading as a thought piece, filled to the brim with pseudo meta BS and navel gazing. Expand
  25. Feb 4, 2022
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Everybody tell me to play this game because there is a game behind the game. Correct but the main game only is interesting. After first act the game become less interesting.

    Also, the game is driven by luck. No need to be a good player, you just need luck. And I hate game driven by luck. I have the same problem with all RPG style game.
    Expand
  26. Dec 29, 2021
    10
    Great game, thank you very much! I get so many great emotions, your company make great games!
  27. Oct 24, 2021
    10
    Honestly it is a good contender for indie game of the year. It is bug free after 12 hours of playing time and runs very smoothly. The graphics suit the game incredibly well and the sound design keeps you engaged with the story. I would recommend going into the game without doing much research to get the best experience. I loved the strange and twisted story. This game is a wonderfulHonestly it is a good contender for indie game of the year. It is bug free after 12 hours of playing time and runs very smoothly. The graphics suit the game incredibly well and the sound design keeps you engaged with the story. I would recommend going into the game without doing much research to get the best experience. I loved the strange and twisted story. This game is a wonderful deck-builder/roguelite and I could not recommend it enough. Expand
  28. Jan 1, 2022
    0
    So confusing I couldn't even get past the first level. Also why is it marketed as a roguelike if it's not a roguelike?
  29. Aug 11, 2022
    5
    unique game mechanics made this game super interesting, i loved the first part of the game, it was fun and nice to explore. the story was also awesome and i was expecting to see more of the same thing... however, after you defeat the first boss, the second stage turns into a 16bit game, the game gets cryptic, adds bunch of new game mechanics and explains almost nothing. it was already hardunique game mechanics made this game super interesting, i loved the first part of the game, it was fun and nice to explore. the story was also awesome and i was expecting to see more of the same thing... however, after you defeat the first boss, the second stage turns into a 16bit game, the game gets cryptic, adds bunch of new game mechanics and explains almost nothing. it was already hard enough for me to enjoy an indie game, and they seriously dropped the quality by 95% and turned the whole game into Pokemon red/blue from the 90s. i have also looked a bit on the net and it looks like it gets even worse after the 2nd part is done. i was trying to get a refund but was already over the 2h playtime mark.
    i would suggest that everyone should first check a quick review of the full game before buying it, dont expect anything big.
    Expand
  30. Nov 19, 2021
    6
    mechanics are not very unique, the atmosphere is maintained normally, but it gets boring quickly
  31. Jan 15, 2022
    7
    My deck was really strong but I lost to the final boss and had to redo again. Might drop this game, as I don't want to build my deck from the start again (I might never get a deck as good as the old one, as I was very lucky). Sadge.
  32. Oct 25, 2021
    10
    Прекрасный карточный рогалик, равных ему нет, как они до такого догадались, жду на консолях
  33. Jan 5, 2022
    3
    First part is great, but second part is scam for players, because you don't know what you are buying.
  34. Jan 12, 2022
    7
    I never leave reviews for games on this website but my god does this game make me feel the need to say something. Absolutely one of the most overrated game I have ever played. Reading the reviews you would think this game is the second coming of Christ himself. Ignoring the fact the game is a blatant bait and switch going by anything on the steam page, it actually ends up being a worseI never leave reviews for games on this website but my god does this game make me feel the need to say something. Absolutely one of the most overrated game I have ever played. Reading the reviews you would think this game is the second coming of Christ himself. Ignoring the fact the game is a blatant bait and switch going by anything on the steam page, it actually ends up being a worse game than whats shown at face value. I'm not going to spoil anything but between the cringy porn acting and LOL SO DEEP AND META narrative, you can practically hear this guy jerking himself off about how unique his game is as you play.

    If you go into this expecting a pretty short puzzle game with not much replayability instead of a roguelike deckbuilder that it's been made out to be im sure theres much more enjoyment to get but seriously come on it's not that groundbreaking for a video game lmao
    Expand
  35. Jan 3, 2022
    10
    This game is amazing.
    Give it a try. I was super sceptic in the beginning, it didn't seem my kind of game, but it's unbelievable. Try the demo at least. Really refreshing after all the crappy AAA releases in 2021.
  36. Jan 10, 2022
    9
    Inscryption is an excellent example of taking a genre I hate (roguelikes) and making it more than just the genre. For most roguelikes, its a simple case of play - die - rinse - repeat. What this game achieves is truly magical.

    By breaking the typical roguelike cycle, imbuing the game with addictive, fun gameplay loops, and folding in a twisting, diabolical story, Inscryption captured
    Inscryption is an excellent example of taking a genre I hate (roguelikes) and making it more than just the genre. For most roguelikes, its a simple case of play - die - rinse - repeat. What this game achieves is truly magical.

    By breaking the typical roguelike cycle, imbuing the game with addictive, fun gameplay loops, and folding in a twisting, diabolical story, Inscryption captured my attention like few other games this year. Without wishing to spoil, there is a truly dark and exciting story to be had here. It's not always obvious what's going to happen next, but every segment flows seamlessly into the next, and the deeper you go...the stranger things become. The lore, the atmosphere, and the subtle but sequence-defining music all come together to create an amazing experience.

    The game is hard. Not too hard that it can't be beaten in a few sittings, but very challenging. The only point I dock for the 9/10 is for some truly bizarre and unfair RNG that plagued me in the First Act. Not a dealbreaker, but I felt a lot of cruel and unfair punishment from a game that just did not want me to win in the first section.

    If you like a good story or Magic The Gathering, definitely give this game a shot.
    Expand
  37. Nov 29, 2022
    10
    This is probably my game of the year for 2021, barely being out Cruelty Squad.
  38. Sep 25, 2022
    7
    This one took me a little while to get into. It feels like a bland card battler at first but eventually it morphs into something else. Definitely worth it.
  39. Oct 31, 2021
    10
    This game is sooo sick. I'm no horror man but I love the aesthetics of this game and especially the gameplay. The plot is very cool and neat too.
  40. Feb 7, 2022
    10
    Very unique and innovative. Everything you do feels super important. The atmosphere is simple yet magnificent. Creepy vibes. The tactical gameplay is a lot of fun. Progression feels great. Best of all, when you lose, you get to create a “death card” out of the cards you obtained during your run, which is added to the game and can potentially be picked up during future runs. It’s hard toVery unique and innovative. Everything you do feels super important. The atmosphere is simple yet magnificent. Creepy vibes. The tactical gameplay is a lot of fun. Progression feels great. Best of all, when you lose, you get to create a “death card” out of the cards you obtained during your run, which is added to the game and can potentially be picked up during future runs. It’s hard to sum this game up but it really is a game that everyone needs to play. Shed your expectations and just jump in. Seriously, you’ve never played a deckbuilder like this before. This is a gaming experience unlike any other. Expand
  41. Dec 14, 2021
    9
    how this didn't win best indie on TGA is out of my mind.....................
  42. Oct 15, 2022
    9
    A must play. Amazing setting and addictive gameplay. There are some cliche moments and there are some minor design flaws so it's not perfect but very close.
  43. Nov 18, 2021
    10
    It is often very hard to make a cursed and found footage game but as far as it goes this is probably one of the best examples on how to do it right. Everything from the initial mystery, story buildup and climatic ending was done very well which keeps you guessing and theorizing as to what the **** actually happened in the end long after you have finished playing the game. The game play atIt is often very hard to make a cursed and found footage game but as far as it goes this is probably one of the best examples on how to do it right. Everything from the initial mystery, story buildup and climatic ending was done very well which keeps you guessing and theorizing as to what the **** actually happened in the end long after you have finished playing the game. The game play at the start was pretty hard I must admit due to your lack of cards but once you get the hang out of it and build a good deck it becomes really fun and still challenging (but fairer? ). The bosses were one of the things that stole the show for me, every one of them is unique and has an interesting and often unfair advantage against you which makes you in some parts think out of the box, I won't spoil the boss mechanics since it's one of the things that you need to play against in order to appreciate it. The aesthetics of the game were haunting spooky and pretty unnerving at the beginning but after that it became a bit cartoonish and not that great. The soundtrack for me was fine but nothing really that memorable or special. I would suggest buying this at full price since its definitely worth it, hopefully they will release a physical deck some of these days so that I can start collecting and building a real life deck to own my Yu-Gi-Oh loving friend nerds. Expand
  44. May 22, 2022
    9
    This game was super close to being one of my favorites of all time. The plot is super unique and able to repeatedly subvert your expectations, which is something I absolutely love.

    The only thing holding it back (in my opinion) is the very end of the game. Narrative-wise, it ties things up pretty well, but it just felt super abrupt to me.
  45. Nov 15, 2021
    10
    Очень интересная концепция в сумме с завораживающим визуалом и необычным переворотом игры
  46. Oct 24, 2021
    10
    A 10/10 stone cold classic. I’m a little bit in awe of what I just played. Don’t read anything more, just play it! Stay away from spoilers! This game goes to some wild places. :)
  47. Nov 1, 2022
    7
    The first few hours of Inscryption are amazing, easily one of the best deckbuilding card games Iv ever played. Everything after those initial moments is mediocre at best and **** stuck to a wall at its worst,. Without trying to spoil much there are different levels in the game that have completely different art styles and game mechanics that center around cards and the results are not veryThe first few hours of Inscryption are amazing, easily one of the best deckbuilding card games Iv ever played. Everything after those initial moments is mediocre at best and **** stuck to a wall at its worst,. Without trying to spoil much there are different levels in the game that have completely different art styles and game mechanics that center around cards and the results are not very consistent past the first level. I also didnt like the self insert videos that bordered on creepypasta levels of cringe, I feel like it took me out of the experience for no real benefit. Expand
  48. Feb 12, 2022
    10
    Best indie game of 2021. Such an artistic game that kept me hooked for days.
  49. Jan 6, 2022
    6
    Inscryption es sin duda un juego interesante, aunque no perfecto. El comienzo es probablemente lo mejor del juego, luego tiene un bache para mi gusto en un acto 2 flojo y luego recupera fuelle en el acto 3. A nivel de jugabilidad, es un juego de cartas y puzzles que tiene algunas ideas muy interesantes en muchos puntos pero que, al mismo tiempo, hay unas cuantas de ellas que no acaba deInscryption es sin duda un juego interesante, aunque no perfecto. El comienzo es probablemente lo mejor del juego, luego tiene un bache para mi gusto en un acto 2 flojo y luego recupera fuelle en el acto 3. A nivel de jugabilidad, es un juego de cartas y puzzles que tiene algunas ideas muy interesantes en muchos puntos pero que, al mismo tiempo, hay unas cuantas de ellas que no acaba de desarrollar tanto como podría. Y es un juego tirando a corto.

    Gráficamente es un juego discreto, y lo mismo se puede decir de su apartado sonoro. Y, al menos en mi experiencia, no me he topado con ningún bug.

    Así que, sin duda, es un juego interesante aunque no alcanza el potencial que inicialmente muestra que tiene. Un 6,5.
    Expand
  50. Mar 14, 2022
    10
    An exceptionally well-developed game that never gets boring.
    (Doesn't have a lot of replayability though)
    Might be the best "card game".
  51. Jan 6, 2022
    10
    As a deck-building game, the mechanics are utterly entertaining and very well thought. But the story, the narrative, and how the game twists itself over and over in such innovative ways, is just mind blowing. It is a great card game, buy it is much more. One of my 2021 favorites.
  52. Nov 8, 2021
    10
    Very satisfactory experience. One of the best games I've ever played. Game design is unique. Gameplay is very diverse, it has so many different mechanics so you don't get bored throughout the game. Jokes are also decent not in a way that will make you laugh your ass off, but still chuckle-able.
  53. Nov 21, 2021
    10
    Masterpiece and delirium.
    Daniel Mullins is a genius.
    That's all I need to say.
  54. Dec 3, 2021
    8
    The game is nice if a bit easy at times and the story is a bit cliche at times, especially towards the end, but it still works.
    The art direction is amazing and the soundtrack is superb, this game is amazing at setting up the atmosphere and creating the sense of tension and sometimes horror without any jumpscares or other cheap mechanics like that.
    Mechanically the card game is fun, even
    The game is nice if a bit easy at times and the story is a bit cliche at times, especially towards the end, but it still works.
    The art direction is amazing and the soundtrack is superb, this game is amazing at setting up the atmosphere and creating the sense of tension and sometimes horror without any jumpscares or other cheap mechanics like that.
    Mechanically the card game is fun, even if most ideas aren't new the game still implements them very well. It's a shame you can't really play around with them with ease after finishing the game without tampering with your save file to edit your deck...
    Overall, even though theree were some clear negative parts I can point at, I really enjoyed my 13-ish hours with the game.
    Expand
  55. Mar 25, 2022
    7
    Very pleasant card game for few hours. Gets very easy very quickly, thus repetitive and boring. But the first coupe hours were pretty neat.
  56. Jul 18, 2022
    7
    The deck-building game with the various card mechanics and unusual ARG narrative.
  57. Jun 7, 2022
    10
    it's an extraordinary game, i couldn't believe it too, but just try it and you won't be regret it
  58. Nov 12, 2021
    9
    When I first played it, I saw it as a very simple card game. After spending some time, I realized that there are different things in the game. The game started to draw me in. The story of the game started to interest me and the game became addictive. But the 2nd part of the game made me lose that interest a bit. This is Part 2 of the game's teaching cards phase, but it was a bit boring.When I first played it, I saw it as a very simple card game. After spending some time, I realized that there are different things in the game. The game started to draw me in. The story of the game started to interest me and the game became addictive. But the 2nd part of the game made me lose that interest a bit. This is Part 2 of the game's teaching cards phase, but it was a bit boring. And I thought the game would go on like this. But I was wrong. After the 3rd part of the game, it started to be very enjoyable. And towards the end of the game, it reached its peak in terms of story and gameplay. it was truly a mindblowing experience. Even if the end of the game ends abruptly, it is definitely a game that should be played. Expand
  59. Jan 10, 2022
    8
    лучшая карточная игра в которую я играл а я играл всего в 3 карточные игры.....
  60. Mar 16, 2022
    9
    Данный проект обязательно рекомендуется к прохождению, НО есть один небольшой НЮАНС - разработчик нас немножечко нагрел и переиграл, как d e s h o v o k.
    После определенного момента игра становится не тем, что вы от неё хотите, поэтому будьте готовы к полету на татуин на реактивной тяге своей жопы.
    Данный проект обязательно рекомендуется к прохождению, НО есть один небольшой НЮАНС - разработчик нас немножечко нагрел и переиграл, как d e s h o v o k.
    После определенного момента игра становится не тем, что вы от неё хотите, поэтому будьте готовы к полету на татуин на реактивной тяге своей жопы.
  61. Nov 6, 2021
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Very solid 9/10. Really enjoyed this game, even if it couldn't hold up the greatness of the first part. First part was a brilliantly crafted masterpiece, but unfortunately developer couldn't sustain it. Third part was too easy and not varied enough, second part lacked the development and interesting happenings of the first part, and there was no meaning to the deck building elements. Ending was too abrupt. Still, fantastic game, buy it just for the first part. Hoping for significant reworks and/or a more conclusive final chapter. Expand
  62. Feb 7, 2022
    10
    Rare work that manages to be a fun game (if you're into strategy card games) and an incredible piece of art.
  63. Feb 12, 2022
    6
    A masterpiece for setting, atmosphere and gameplay in the first part. The roguelike component combines perfectly with the dark atmosphere and the escape room puzzles making it impossible for the user to get bored. The card game is interesting and really well balanced. If the game had ended after the first few hours I would have assigned a score of 10. Unfortunately the second part losesA masterpiece for setting, atmosphere and gameplay in the first part. The roguelike component combines perfectly with the dark atmosphere and the escape room puzzles making it impossible for the user to get bored. The card game is interesting and really well balanced. If the game had ended after the first few hours I would have assigned a score of 10. Unfortunately the second part loses considerably in terms of atmosphere. The card game is much less balanced and I found it difficult to lose a match. This combined with the extreme length of very similar game sequences made everything less challenging. Also in my opinion the plot that initially seems very intriguing and inspires curiosity leaves too many questions unanswered, making you lose the desire to proceed. The ending left me very disappointed because it doesn't give elements to connect the dots and understand what has been done throughout the entire game. Expand
  64. Aug 11, 2022
    10
    Usually I don't like card games, but this game has managed to entice me. Great idea, interesting mechanics, great implementation. I return to it again and again and strongly recommend
  65. Feb 10, 2022
    5
    Прошел игру за вечер 1 акт великолепен и я был в полном восторге, но дальше начинается претенциозность и уныние.
  66. Nov 30, 2021
    9
    You can talk a lot about this game. Starting from the beauties of the setting, the initial locations and the narrative of the rpg story to the rolling deep plot in Act 2 and small videos about Luckycarder and his acquaintance with the game. So it is impossible to mention the wonderful sound, and pleasant puzzles and just a very original card butler (I'm waiting for a separate game). AndYou can talk a lot about this game. Starting from the beauties of the setting, the initial locations and the narrative of the rpg story to the rolling deep plot in Act 2 and small videos about Luckycarder and his acquaintance with the game. So it is impossible to mention the wonderful sound, and pleasant puzzles and just a very original card butler (I'm waiting for a separate game). And just a nice interactive (BEWARE, SPOILER!!!) with the files of your PC, when I had to choose the file with the largest size or the oldest to win an individual boss (in this case there was a photo, and the boss showed this photo on his face, because his face was a computer display) or when the boss called my friends from steam to fight (just ava and nicky took). This in the full picture is 100 percent creativity and dedication to the project. In a word - a MASTERPIECE. Expand
  67. Jan 11, 2022
    8
    Inscryption is a brilliant cocktail of compelling ideas and game mechanics, but unfortunately never improves on its gripping first act.
  68. Mar 25, 2022
    7
    Fun game, hard to say if it was worth the time spent though. It kept feeling like it was leading somewhere big and interesting with its narrative, but it ended up just feeling like a bit of a mess by the end. The gameplay itself was fun, but I just couldn't help but feel let down by the end. Reading about the "ARG" afterwards only contributed to that.
  69. Nov 15, 2021
    8
    A great deck building game that isn't just a card game, with a creepy atmosphere and a story to unfold.

    Rules are simple, but there are enough cards and upgrades that the game will be interesting for a while. Matches are short and quick so you'll want to play another one, then another one, then another one. Winning is not too difficult, especially after unlocking the best objects (like
    A great deck building game that isn't just a card game, with a creepy atmosphere and a story to unfold.

    Rules are simple, but there are enough cards and upgrades that the game will be interesting for a while. Matches are short and quick so you'll want to play another one, then another one, then another one. Winning is not too difficult, especially after unlocking the best objects (like many similar games, you'll just need to do a run with some OP combo), but you'll be glad that you didn't get stuck too long, since you'll be intrigued by the mysteries around this game and want to know what happens next.

    The first part of the game is the best one, and the ending is a bit disappointing since it let you wish there was more content. It also doesn't have that much replayability once you know how to unlock everything and which are the best strategies, but if you like card games the first run with this game will be awesome.

    Highly recommended to any person that likes the genre.
    Expand
  70. Nov 4, 2021
    10
    ¡Simplemente maravilloso! Después de jugar a Insctyption jugar a otra cosa es un bajón...
  71. Nov 21, 2021
    10
    Nice mix of card mechanics and plot changes that thrill your head.
    The incredible ARG that took place during the launch has created a huge community waiting for new games from Daniel Mullins.
    The industry needs a lot more risky different projects. They are increasingly beginning to enter our daily life and because of this, for each gamer must find his own type of games that will make
    Nice mix of card mechanics and plot changes that thrill your head.
    The incredible ARG that took place during the launch has created a huge community waiting for new games from Daniel Mullins.
    The industry needs a lot more risky
    different projects. They are increasingly beginning to enter our daily life and because of this, for each gamer must find his own type of games that will make him feel better.
    Expand
  72. Mar 22, 2022
    5
    Поиграл 1 час. Карточные видеоигры не люблю. Геймплей немного завлёк, но игра слишком сложная. Никак не могу пройти один отрывок и бесконечно проигрываю.
  73. Dec 10, 2021
    10
    Inscryption is a masterclass.... You must absolutely play without spoil !!!
  74. Dec 11, 2021
    10
    Got a metacritic account to rate this one. That good. It's not expensive. Just try it.
  75. Dec 14, 2021
    10
    Capolavoro unico, non ci sono parole per descriverlo, giocatelo e godetevi questa esperienza, miglior indie del 2021 senza dubbio
  76. Dec 16, 2021
    10
    The game is incredible. Artistic Integrity, interesting story AND fun gameplay. It's a perfect 10
  77. Apr 28, 2022
    10
    I beat this a month or so ago but I can't stop thinking about it. Amazing deck-builder, amazing story, and a really inventive format/narrative. It's really, earnestly original. And fun! The integration of escape-room mechanics, horror-survival, all with Rogue-like elements and deck building is also awesome. I like all of these kind of games, but they're often hard to get right. InscryptionI beat this a month or so ago but I can't stop thinking about it. Amazing deck-builder, amazing story, and a really inventive format/narrative. It's really, earnestly original. And fun! The integration of escape-room mechanics, horror-survival, all with Rogue-like elements and deck building is also awesome. I like all of these kind of games, but they're often hard to get right. Inscryption nailed all of them. I think it's a must-buy. Expand
  78. Jan 4, 2022
    10
    I felt immersed in the whole campaign, with very good characters, and story, really good.
  79. Jan 8, 2022
    9
    Een mix van kaartspel en escaperoom. Uniek spel dat iedereen moet proberen dat ook nog maar een beetje geïnteresseerd is in kaartspelen. Wist me te verrassen. Aanrader!
  80. Jun 22, 2022
    8
    I can't believe this game went where it did. I did not expect it at all. My only criticism is that the middle portion is lengthy and boring.
  81. Mar 29, 2022
    9
    Almost perfect card battler with an intriguing story, balanced and interesting mechanics, and all you'd expect from a Dan Mullins game. Unfortunately, though the plot picks up the slack, Inscryption never reaches the gameplay highs of its first act after it wraps up.
  82. Mar 23, 2022
    6
    It's more than a little bit tragic. Daniel Mullins has always been an engaging storyteller, but the gameplay in his games was never something to write home about. Prior to Inscryption, I would have broadly defined a Daniel Mullins game as a twisty narrative that uses thin gameplay to take us from one story beat to another, to great effect. With Inscryption, Mullins has finally developedIt's more than a little bit tragic. Daniel Mullins has always been an engaging storyteller, but the gameplay in his games was never something to write home about. Prior to Inscryption, I would have broadly defined a Daniel Mullins game as a twisty narrative that uses thin gameplay to take us from one story beat to another, to great effect. With Inscryption, Mullins has finally developed some incredible gameplay, but the narrative is really, really poor and comes to sabotage the very gameplay that might have made it tolerable. I won't spoil Acts 2 and 3 except to say that they well and truly suck in the gameplay department, to an extent that any narrative would struggle to salvage. But the narrative in Inscryption isn't just mediocre compared to Mullins' other works. It's really, really poor. Where Pony Island and The Hex did a lot with a little, Inscryption struggle to do a little with a heck of a lot. Expand
  83. Mar 26, 2022
    7
    Вполне неплохая игра.
    Интересный сюжет и механика
    Оценка 7 из 10
  84. Jun 11, 2022
    9
    Çok orjinal bir oyun, oynarken inanılmaz zevk aldım. Oyun tam bitti diye düşünürken birden bire stil değişikliği oluyor ve bambaşka bir şekil alıyor oyun. İnanılmaz iyi. Ama yinede en zevkli kısım ilk oynadığımız kısımdı.
  85. Apr 7, 2022
    10
    เกมดี มีความลับซ่อนในเกมเยอะ เนื่อเรื่องดี และเกมทำให้คนเล่นร้องอุทานว่า เชี่ยยยยยยย กับ เหี้ยไรเนี่ย ประทับใจสุดๆ
  86. Apr 18, 2022
    10
    10/10

    Wow, what a game. I'm speechless. I can't list many pro's without spoiling it, and I honestly can't think of any cons. I thoroughly enjoyed this game from start to finish, which is something I haven't said about a game in a long, long time. The unexpected twists and turns, the secrets hidden throughout... just when you think you've figured it out, you'll be left scratching your
    10/10

    Wow, what a game. I'm speechless.

    I can't list many pro's without spoiling it, and I honestly can't think of any cons. I thoroughly enjoyed this game from start to finish, which is something I haven't said about a game in a long, long time.

    The unexpected twists and turns, the secrets hidden throughout... just when you think you've figured it out, you'll be left scratching your head (in a good way!). If you're considering this game, buy it.

    Don't watch YouTube videos of it, don't Google ANYTHING, just buy it and do a playthrough before you even try to figure out everything inside. It is absolutely worth it.
    Expand
  87. Dec 2, 2022
    9
    This game is crazy good, literally inspired me to finally branch out of exclusively playing first person shooters and give other genres of games a try. Sets a really creepy atmosphere, the perfect game for a horror enthusiast.
  88. Jul 24, 2022
    9
    Great game. Recently replayed it and the atmosphere is just perfect. And the game mechanics just add to it perfectly. But the first part is definitely the best.
  89. Jul 24, 2022
    8
    i love this game its just sit into my heart with this music characters and atmosphere
  90. Nov 4, 2022
    10
    A quite brilliant game that's built to spectacularly subvert your expectations. It takes pleasure in setting up rules, then letting you break the game spectacularly... and it's not afraid to cheat. Dark, ingenious, mesmerising, surprising. This kinda game is why I play games! 10/10
  91. Aug 5, 2022
    10
    Всем тем кто пишет "Это не Рогалик", вы игру сначала пройдите, а потом вам станет доступен режим рогалика

    To all those who write "This is not Roguelike", you will finish the game first, and then Roguelike mode will become available to you
  92. Aug 25, 2022
    8
    I've been thinking for a very long time about how to rate this game. Well, let's try to dive into this game. First act is amazing in every single aspect, if whole game was like first act it would be 10/10, but it has second... Don't understand me wrong, but first act is much stronger as game than second one, i would rate it around 6-7/10. And third one, well... Third one is between firstI've been thinking for a very long time about how to rate this game. Well, let's try to dive into this game. First act is amazing in every single aspect, if whole game was like first act it would be 10/10, but it has second... Don't understand me wrong, but first act is much stronger as game than second one, i would rate it around 6-7/10. And third one, well... Third one is between first and second acts in terms of rating. Overall i would rate it 8.5/10, but if i have to pick between 8 and 9 i would pick 8 just because of second act.

    Don't get me wrong, this game is amazing indie and i hope we will see more games like this one in future, but it's not perfect and it shouldn't be! It has it's own charm and nobody can't take it from Inscryption!
    Expand
  93. Oct 17, 2022
    9
    ---{ Graphics }---
    ☐ You forget what reality is
    ☐ Beautiful ☑️ Good ☐ Decent ☐ Bad ☐ Don‘t look too long at it ☐ MS-DOS ---{ Gameplay }--- ☑ Very good ☐ Good ☐ It's just gameplay ☐ Mehh ☐ Watch paint dry instead ☐ Just don't ---{ Audio }--- ☐ Eargasm ☑ Very good ☐ Good ☐ Not too bad ☐ Bad ☐ I'm now deaf ---{ Audience }--- ☐ Kids ☑ Teens ☑ Adults ☐ Grandma ---{ PC Requirements }--- ☐
    ---{ Graphics }---
    ☐ You forget what reality is
    ☐ Beautiful
    ☑️ Good
    ☐ Decent
    ☐ Bad
    ☐ Don‘t look too long at it
    ☐ MS-DOS

    ---{ Gameplay }---
    ☑ Very good
    ☐ Good
    ☐ It's just gameplay
    ☐ Mehh
    ☐ Watch paint dry instead
    ☐ Just don't

    ---{ Audio }---
    ☐ Eargasm
    ☑ Very good
    ☐ Good
    ☐ Not too bad
    ☐ Bad
    ☐ I'm now deaf

    ---{ Audience }---
    ☐ Kids
    ☑ Teens
    ☑ Adults
    ☐ Grandma

    ---{ PC Requirements }---
    ☐ Check if you can run paint
    ☐ Potato
    ☑️ Decent
    ☐ Fast
    ☐ Rich boi
    ☐ Ask NASA if they have a spare computer

    ---{ Difficulty }---
    ☐ Just press 'W'
    ☐ Easy
    ☑ Easy to learn / Hard to master
    ☐ Significant brain usage
    ☐ Difficult
    ☐ Dark Souls

    ---{ Grind }---
    ☑️ Nothing to grind
    ☐ Only if u care about leaderboards/ranks
    ☐ Isn't necessary to progress ☐ Average grind level ☐ Too much grind ☐ You'll need a second life for grinding ---{ Story }--- ☐ No Story ☐ Some lore ☐ Average ☐ Good ☑️ Lovely ☐ It'll replace your life ---{ Game Time }--- ☐ Long enough for a cup of coffee ☐ Short ☑️ Differs depending on post-game ☐ Average ☐ Long ☐ infinity and beyond ---{ Price }--- ☐ It's free! ☑ Worth the price ☐ If it's on sale ☐ If u have some spare money left ☐ Not recommended ☐ You could also just burn your money ---{ Bugs }--- ☑️ Never heard of ☐ Minor bugs ☐ Can get annoying ☐ ARK: Survival Evolved ☐ The game itself is a big terrarium for bugs ---{ ? / 10 }--- ☐ 1 ☐ 2 ☐ 3 ☐ 4 ☐ 5 ☐ 6 ☐ 7 ☐ 8 ☐ 9 ☑ 10 Absolutely amazing. Just trust me, play it. It’s a wonderful experience that plays with your emotions through the whole game. Dialogue is some of the best I’ve ever seen.
    Expand
  94. Nov 11, 2022
    9
    Incredible game. Loses a perfect score due to one particular section I found grating, but amazing regardless! Has inspired me to learn Unity, and anything that makes you want to learn a skill is a good thing!
  95. Nov 14, 2022
    10
    A masterpiece of a game (which is something I do not say lightly). All I have to say is DO NOT spoil it for yourself, because if you do your experience will be greatly hampered. There's too much to cover so I'll try to rate all the things that make it so special.
    Music: 10/10
    Story: 9/10 Gameplay: 10/10 Style: 10/10 Creativity: 10/10 Memorability: 10/10 There are (at the time of
    A masterpiece of a game (which is something I do not say lightly). All I have to say is DO NOT spoil it for yourself, because if you do your experience will be greatly hampered. There's too much to cover so I'll try to rate all the things that make it so special.
    Music: 10/10
    Story: 9/10
    Gameplay: 10/10
    Style: 10/10
    Creativity: 10/10
    Memorability: 10/10
    There are (at the time of writing this) no other games out there like Inscryption, so please note that this is an experience that you most likely cannot get anywhere else.
    Expand
  96. Nov 21, 2022
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. So much fun with the first half of the game! I thought the pixelated portion of the game was almost as fun but still very good in its own way because of the lore. I think the lore was ok but man i wish the first part of this game was longer. Expand
  97. Nov 28, 2022
    10
    This is simply a masterpiece. Totally immersive and novel. No other game is like this. A must play!
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. Feb 17, 2022
    100
    The art style, mixed with the fun mechanic of deck building, puzzles, and overarching story is just phenomenal. And that my friends, is just Act I, at already 8 hours of playtime. Inscryption has three total acts, with much, much more content waiting for you to uncover. It has been a bit since I finished the game, but I haven’t been able to put out the review because of life things. Even so, months later, I still can’t get Inscryption out of my head. It’s just that good. You will not find a better bargain for your buck as far as story-rich horror games go.
  2. Jan 13, 2022
    100
    This game is utterly bizarre. Gripping. Breath-taking. Surprising. Innovative. Turbulent. You simply must experience it yourself, from start to finish, to truly understand how amazing it is. One of the best games of the year.
  3. Dec 19, 2021
    85
    Inscryption is much, much more than a deck building game. Rogue lite, escape game, horror, adventure ... the title of Daniel Mullins Games is a game of everything, which succeeds almost everything it does. By never giving the player time to be bored, offering a well thought out narration and never hesitating to surprise the player who thought they had covered the matter, Inscryption is a small UFO in the video game. If the second part of the game turns out to be a little disappointing and the random dimension may frustrate people less used to the genre, it's hard not to warmly recommend this experience as strange as it is surprising.