Insurgency: Sandstorm Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 193 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Insurgency: Sandstorm is a team-based, tactical FPS based on lethal close quarters combat and objective-oriented multiplayer gameplay. Experience the intensity of modern combat where skill is rewarded, and teamwork wins the fight.

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Insurgency: Sandstorm - Official Gameplay Trailer | E3 2018
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Dec 28, 2018
    88
    Insurgency: Sandstorm isn’t the prettiest shooter of 2018, but the places where it excels are the places that matter most. Its gunplay is superb, its arsenal is exemplary, and the maps and modes are serviceable enough to facilitate its memorably frantic and immersive FPS combat.
  2. Dec 18, 2018
    85
    Somehow in this most well-travelled of multiplayer FPS paths, Insurgency: Sandstorm feels fresh and innovative at every turn.
  3. Dec 14, 2018
    83
    Insurgency: Sandstorm’s slower, more realistic approach likely won’t win over any Call of Duty fans, but then again it’s not really trying to. Sandstorm was made with a very specific type of player in mind, and if you fit that mold you’ll likely get dozens if not hundreds of hours out of the game. And even if you don’t fit that mold completely, there are enough ancillary incentives to make Sandstorm an excellent pick-up-and-play game, especially if you have some friends to recruit.
  4. Dec 20, 2018
    80
    Overall, Insurgency: Sandstorm has very few bugs, improved graphical quality, a new game engine, and a large array of weapons to use in battle.
  5. Dec 21, 2018
    78
    Insurgency: Sandstorm may be spartan, but its limited package can still deliver memorable moments.
  6. Dec 27, 2018
    75
    A very good game that needs some amount of balancing and polishing to really shine.
  7. Feb 18, 2019
    67
    Insurgency: Sandstorm feels like a shoddy HD remaster of the original game rather than a full-fledged sequel, complete with annoying performance drops, popping up textures and bland map design.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 85
  2. Negative: 13 out of 85
  1. Dec 12, 2018
    10
    The worthy heir of one of the best hardcore fps in recent years! (Developers announced that every post release addiction like maps, weapons orThe worthy heir of one of the best hardcore fps in recent years! (Developers announced that every post release addiction like maps, weapons or game modes will be free for everyone) Expand
  2. Jun 24, 2019
    10
    Hi
    I bought the 3 days ago from now / i get familiar with this game on youtube and internet / im loving it ,im new to this game but it is
    Hi
    I bought the 3 days ago from now / i get familiar with this game on youtube and internet / im loving it ,im new to this game but it is amazing , im playing co op vs ai at the moment and i enjoyed it very much / i love the gunplay mechanic it is real and not for kids ,it is a tactical shooter game that u should communicate with ur team mates , i bought it in discount from steam about 20$ / they deserves every penny / thanx and sorry for my english / i recommend this game to everyone that want a real tactical shooter with realistic gunplay ...
    Expand
  3. Aug 29, 2019
    10
    An incredible game, great sound, a gameplay that focuses on difficulty but is beautiful, the best FPS of 2018, an almost simulator game, butAn incredible game, great sound, a gameplay that focuses on difficulty but is beautiful, the best FPS of 2018, an almost simulator game, but with a fast gameplay, the best gunplay I've tried in a long time, the hardcore fps i was waiting for. Developers very attached to continue improving the game, with a remarkable live service (free weapons, maps and new gamemodes with a great roadmap) Expand
  4. Feb 18, 2020
    10
    Alright so I saw this post on reddit about some virgin who made a crap ton of accounts to review bomb this game because his "waifu" namedAlright so I saw this post on reddit about some virgin who made a crap ton of accounts to review bomb this game because his "waifu" named Casey from some pokemon show or whatever was removed, what kind of dickless **** does this to a game, naturally I've never played it but I assume it's a pretty good game, I'm just trying to do my job and help get the rating up Expand
  5. Dec 22, 2018
    9
    Definitely worth the price of admission. I was debating over getting the new Call of Duty for the battle royale game mode, wait forDefinitely worth the price of admission. I was debating over getting the new Call of Duty for the battle royale game mode, wait for Battlefield or pick this game up now and see where it goes and damn, this **** game is the absolute bee's knees. Guns are responsive, firefights are intense and dying doesn't feel as cheap since enemies are just as easy to kill.

    Only bad thing about this is that my 4170 + RX 480 8gb keeps on crashing for some unknown reason even on low graphics.
    Expand
  6. Apr 5, 2019
    9
    Very good No-Nonsense-Shooter without any BS. No grind (only for cosmetics), no mtx or other shyte. The Gunplay is a bit challenging at heVery good No-Nonsense-Shooter without any BS. No grind (only for cosmetics), no mtx or other shyte. The Gunplay is a bit challenging at he beginnig but very satisfying. PVP and KOOP are both very good.
    Only content feels a bit lacking right now, but is still more than enough for that money.
    Expand
  7. Feb 1, 2021
    0
    PLEASE BE AWARE THE PLAYER REVIEWS ARE POPULATED WITH PEOPLE FROM INDIA AND SHRI LANKA PAYED TO WRITE REVIEWS. THIS GAME IS NOT GOOD ORPLEASE BE AWARE THE PLAYER REVIEWS ARE POPULATED WITH PEOPLE FROM INDIA AND SHRI LANKA PAYED TO WRITE REVIEWS. THIS GAME IS NOT GOOD OR FINISHED.

    Extremely underdeveloped and lazy, the game feels like a highly polished gmod gamemode than an actually released video game. It's extremely disappointing to see that both AAA developers and Indie devs can be so lazy and greedy.

    Do not buy this game, it is ugly, boring, unbalance and rife with toxic players and cheaters.
    Expand

See all 85 User Reviews