Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 17
  2. Negative: 5 out of 17
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. Jan 2, 2019
    80
    Jagged Alliance: Rage! Is the closest thing we have to the greatness of Jagged Alliance 2. It's a very trimmed game, delivering the experience rather than a carbon copy of the series. You still have to care for your mercs' health and gear, as well as carrying capacity, but at a much less grognardy level. I dunno if 1.13 mod fanatics will be pleased, but for the others, it's a good introduction to what Jagged Alliance used to represent.
  2. Dec 18, 2018
    80
    Jagged Alliance: Rage! is the type of game that will surely bring back memories of the golden age of gaming, and for those of you that haven't lived through those days, this game will probably bring back memories you never had. Although it could use some tweaking here and there and the graphics are a dead giveaway for the limited budget the company had, the game is fun nonetheless, and you'll be spending a good couple of hours finishing all the missions with your first pair of mercenaries, and maybe a few extra hours with another pair.
  3. Dec 14, 2018
    76
    Jagged Alliance: Rage is yet another release that uses the Jagged Alliance name but fails to deliver. The turn-based gameplay and the survival elements are good enough, but in other areas there are tons of shortcomings that not only disappoints the old fans of the series but also fails to ward off competition from other turn-based titles available on the market.
  4. Mar 5, 2019
    70
    This game is the closest to the original Jagged Alliance we got in the last two decades. It's a fun game but complexity is far below the standards of the original games in the series.
  5. Dec 14, 2018
    69
    Jagged Alliance Light: Only four controllable mercenaries, small maps and comic graphics - but if you don't expect Jagged 3, you'll get solid tactics.
  6. Dec 10, 2018
    68
    Jagged Alliance: Rage is a fun game when judged on its own merits. It’s certainly not a proper sequel, and perhaps that would be a bit too much to expect from a game that’s selling for a mere 20 bucks. It does have a few whiffs of what made Jagged Alliance great though, and if this would have been sold as a way to whet our appetites for a full sequel coming out next year, I think it would have landed much better with the fans than it did. As it stands, Jagged Alliance: Rage is a cute distraction, a fun-for-a-while-not-quite-Jagged-Alliance that will polarize fans more than it had intended, but should not be dismissed right out of hand.
  7. Jan 7, 2019
    65
    A successor mostly in name and less in essence that suffers from limited scope. It tries to attract veterans and newcomers alike, ultimately failing to provide challenge and depth to the former and something innovative and on par with the competition to the latter.
  8. CD-Action
    Mar 25, 2019
    60
    The beginnings were extremely promising but 8 hours later (around the middle of the campaign) I was seriously tired and annoyed by a myriad of small nuisances which successfully strip the whole experience of joy. [02/2019, p.64]
  9. Dec 13, 2018
    60
    This classic franchise is back with good ideas and a poor execution. If you are a hardcore fan of the series or you’re planning on playing with friends, have a look at it. If not, better look elsewhere.
  10. Dec 11, 2018
    60
    Jagged Alliance: Rage! has a bunch of interesting ideas, but it’s flawed by many technical issues.
  11. Jan 25, 2019
    58
    The battles are decent, but with the focus on wrong priorities, lack of character development and a few other problems this is little more than a mess with quite some potential.
  12. Dec 14, 2018
    50
    It almost feels as though it was made for the mobile market in a way, with its small but plentiful maps and cut down features.
  13. Feb 10, 2019
    49
    This Jagged Alliance is bad, but not to the point that it incites rage. Play, uninstall and forget. It’s not rage, more like… apathy.
  14. Jan 13, 2019
    45
    Everything went wrong with Jagged Alliance: Rage!
  15. 40
    While fans of turn-based strategy might find some features to be enjoyable, long-time players of the Jagged Alliance series and strategy connoisseurs might feel shortchanged of the beloved gameplay of this genre.
  16. Dec 20, 2018
    35
    Even if you’ve exhausted all other options and are desperate for another turn-based strategy game on PS4, don’t give the sluggish, buggy and downright ugly Jagged Alliance: Rage a second thought. XCOM 2 this most certainly isn’t.
  17. Jan 28, 2019
    30
    I'm really struggling to find anything good to say about Jagged Alliance: Rage, other than that its name is appropriate. I suppose the stealth mechanic sort of works, although even there occasionally your sneaky work can be ruined by a patrolling soldier somehow glitching and eternally clambering on and off a rock instead of completing his route. Each playable character has a background trait that is supposed to play out as a weakness but that you rarely notice in play. The characters you choose to play seem irritated by one another, and by everything going on around them all the time. I've got to say, I think it's pretty understandable.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. This isn’t the first time we’ve seen a developer try to recapture the magic of Jagged Alliance and I hope it’s not the last, but I found Rage pretty hard work to enjoy. Much like the mercs themselves, for every positive trait it may offer, there tends to be some frustrating problem to deal with too.
User Score
3.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 26
  2. Negative: 18 out of 26
  1. Dec 6, 2018
    0
    Feels and plays like a mobile game. The graphics look dated as well. It's a kick in the balls to all old school Jagged Alliance fans. Just aFeels and plays like a mobile game. The graphics look dated as well. It's a kick in the balls to all old school Jagged Alliance fans. Just a horrible game once again, like Flashback and Back in Action. This franchise is dead. Full Review »
  2. Dec 15, 2018
    2
    A horrible game that has nothing to do with the original title.
    The usual exploitation of IP at low cost, for a game that does not even worth
    A horrible game that has nothing to do with the original title.
    The usual exploitation of IP at low cost, for a game that does not even worth 5 denari.
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 12, 2018
    6
    I played and finished the game. 18 hrs to complete with a mixture of stealth and let it rain bullets tactics. I didn't think the art designI played and finished the game. 18 hrs to complete with a mixture of stealth and let it rain bullets tactics. I didn't think the art design was the end of the world and generally speaking it was fun to play. I can't give it more than a 6 though.
    -Nothing new to the genre, we have seen it all before
    -Re-introducing quality of life pains that have been solved before. (i.e. A looting screen would be nice at the end of a mission, and switch off turn based moves outside of combat ffs).
    -6/10 fun factor if you enjoy this style of game.
    -A little buggy with game freezing up on NPC move turns

    FYI - you can pick two char from the list when you start and about half way through a third. There is no option to create a new char. Max squad size is 3 with no option to swap out the char once picked. Your choices are final.
    Full Review »