User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 100 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 100
  2. Negative: 14 out of 100
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Umcia2010
    Jan 10, 2010
    9
    One of the best movie tie-ins I have ever played.
  2. DavidN
    Apr 30, 2010
    10
    Brilliant! Addictive and gorgeous. Love the gameplay. Absolutely stunning environment but gameplay is so much fun. You can fire arrows from ledges and trees at your enemies and there's just so much variety.Once I began playing this I just loved it. I bought the Limited Edition and I am very happy with it. It's worth every cent . Eye candy is terrific but the gameplay is so much Brilliant! Addictive and gorgeous. Love the gameplay. Absolutely stunning environment but gameplay is so much fun. You can fire arrows from ledges and trees at your enemies and there's just so much variety.Once I began playing this I just loved it. I bought the Limited Edition and I am very happy with it. It's worth every cent . Eye candy is terrific but the gameplay is so much FUN with a capitol F. Expand
  3. LarsF
    Jan 3, 2010
    9
    I think this game is really good.It has 2 different sides you can choose and a funny free room.
  4. CamG
    Jan 11, 2010
    8
    Pretty good game. I am so glad my PC is powerful so it can render the amazing graphics this game offers. The game play can get a little repetitive, especially when you need to keep finding shards. Voice work is decent, but could be better. I like the fact that the game lets you choose either RDA or Navi, but deep down the gameplay is the same, even though the RDA is more of a shooter and Pretty good game. I am so glad my PC is powerful so it can render the amazing graphics this game offers. The game play can get a little repetitive, especially when you need to keep finding shards. Voice work is decent, but could be better. I like the fact that the game lets you choose either RDA or Navi, but deep down the gameplay is the same, even though the RDA is more of a shooter and the Navi part is an adventure game. Highly recommended Expand
  5. StevenT
    Jan 14, 2010
    8
    I don't know what happened to the "professional" crtics on this one but this missed the boat on this one. This game is way fun and exciting for your buck. The graphics are great and I found the story really interesting. It seems everything they judge now has to be 'Origins Age' blablabla or its no good. Thanks and peace out :)
  6. DarkMagic
    Jan 16, 2010
    7
    Technically well made. Good combat, fluent movement, very good GFX, awesome sceneries, 3D! General attention to tech. details. Gameplay average. Story is shallow. Linear gameplay (but still fun). Ending is nothing special. If they worked on the story more carefully, it would be a truly good game.
  7. YMB
    Jan 16, 2010
    8
    BAD- iffy model work(mainly on the Na'vi/avatars) with some bland textures. unimaginative missions. weak story and characters. GOOD-Solid graphics over all. Superb art design. decent shooting mechanics. tons of content with 2 lengthy campaigns(8-10hours each), multiplayer and conquest modes. Addictive xp and unlock system. Addictive and fascinating Pandopedia unlock system. OVERALL-A BAD- iffy model work(mainly on the Na'vi/avatars) with some bland textures. unimaginative missions. weak story and characters. GOOD-Solid graphics over all. Superb art design. decent shooting mechanics. tons of content with 2 lengthy campaigns(8-10hours each), multiplayer and conquest modes. Addictive xp and unlock system. Addictive and fascinating Pandopedia unlock system. OVERALL-A flawed, but still solid shooter and one of the best movie games made yet with tons of content. If your a fan of the film and Pandora then it comes highly recommended, just dont expect a masterpiece. Expand
  8. DavidN
    Jan 18, 2010
    10
    Brilliant! Addictive and gorgeous. Love the gameplay. Absolutely stunning environment but gameplay is so much fun. You can fire arrows from ledges and trees at your enemies and there's just so much variety.Once I began playing this I just loved it. I bought the Limited Edition and I am very happy with it. It's worth every cent . Eye candy is terrific but the gameplay is so much Brilliant! Addictive and gorgeous. Love the gameplay. Absolutely stunning environment but gameplay is so much fun. You can fire arrows from ledges and trees at your enemies and there's just so much variety.Once I began playing this I just loved it. I bought the Limited Edition and I am very happy with it. It's worth every cent . Eye candy is terrific but the gameplay is so much FUN with a capitol F. Expand
  9. RubenC
    Jan 3, 2010
    9
    I think this is a good game, you can choise 2 different histories and you can ride animals or drive vehicules you can live the pandora planet, and in steam only costs 25
  10. FarizM
    Jan 9, 2010
    10
    Awesome game. But to make the game better, they should make it an mmorpg i bet it wil be better then World Of Warcraft
  11. RT
    Jan 11, 2010
    10
    I give the game a "10". The graphic engine is very good, the level design is very good. The Risk-like mini game is also nice to play too. My only complaint is that it needs to have an expansion or more levels. It gives some gameplay, but I'd like to see more of Pandora, perhaps more of it at night. All and all worth the cost of admission. I just wished it had a longer storyline.
  12. AnonymousVote
    Dec 12, 2009
    8
    The game is flawed and a bit repetive, but stays faithful to the story + it's the best release from Ubisoft Montreal and that deserves a little credit.
  13. JohnR
    Dec 16, 2009
    8
    I like this game. Sure it has the same camera and graphics problems that Tombraider Underworld has, but I love that game and this one is fun to. No blood, guts, and gore means this is a shooter that I can actually share with my kids. My advice is to give it a try and decide for yourself whether you like it or not.
  14. ArtVision
    Dec 19, 2009
    9
    This is a very enjoyable game, Pandora is a stunning place with its beautiful graphics, sound and many things to explore, something I can let my children play.
  15. RaduA
    Dec 25, 2009
    10
    It's one of few games that use an advanced game engine,Dunia,that has been used in Far Cry 2.All the graphics,sounds and anything that's not related to storyline is amazing.
  16. TheAlien
    Dec 31, 2009
    9
    I like this game very much. The graphics are very good, so the level design. The gameplay is fun, partly because of the open-world ideea (you can explore very vast landscapes). Avatar is very fun to play, because you can choose to play between the GDR and the Na'vi. This game deserves to be played by any shooter fan!
  17. Aug 30, 2013
    7
    Not the worst game that I played not the best. I did watch the movie and though that the game would give a good feeling but it simply didn't to me. Simply it is too linear to me but still it works. For a movie based game I can give a good score but if this would be a video game I would leave it be. The story is OK. some minor gameplay problems and mechanics but don't effect the overallNot the worst game that I played not the best. I did watch the movie and though that the game would give a good feeling but it simply didn't to me. Simply it is too linear to me but still it works. For a movie based game I can give a good score but if this would be a video game I would leave it be. The story is OK. some minor gameplay problems and mechanics but don't effect the overall gameplay. If you are looking for a third person open world adventure game better go and buy GTA or Assassin's Creed. Overall it is a working game. Expand
  18. Feb 27, 2013
    7
    i am playing this right now for PC and for what i can tell its a pretty standard game i think its fun the environments look great i especially love that if u got the time there is a deep encyclopedia of all you would wanna know about Pandora with lengthy descriptions of the whole planet and every little thing and i enjoy that. So the criticism of not know why your fighting or what a avatari am playing this right now for PC and for what i can tell its a pretty standard game i think its fun the environments look great i especially love that if u got the time there is a deep encyclopedia of all you would wanna know about Pandora with lengthy descriptions of the whole planet and every little thing and i enjoy that. So the criticism of not know why your fighting or what a avatar is that the big name reviewers are saying is not true if u wanna know why just read the damn encyclopedia.
    Now like i said this is an pretty standard 3rd person action game if your like me and your not stuck up elitist gamer whos games need to be perfect with no flaws than i think you will enjoy this what make the game for me good is the atmosphere of the world for me it helps bring the game to life.but the AI,shooting characters etc.. are all pretty standard fare.so i suggest just check it out i finally did after all this time and iam pleasantly surprised
    Expand
  19. Sep 1, 2010
    10
    My fav! like Rachet and Clank, but getting routinish, like Maximo, but coulda been made more playable with better save system -- LOVE this game, only sorry i am near the end ... practically nothing i would like changed ... great deal of flexibility in playing, good guides ... i do wish the 'fire/slash/bash' button was the X or O as in my other games (R1 could be the 'back' button... otherMy fav! like Rachet and Clank, but getting routinish, like Maximo, but coulda been made more playable with better save system -- LOVE this game, only sorry i am near the end ... practically nothing i would like changed ... great deal of flexibility in playing, good guides ... i do wish the 'fire/slash/bash' button was the X or O as in my other games (R1 could be the 'back' button... other than that, nadda. Love the graphics in HD, and response is generally good at all times. The first bit of play is sorta frustrating til you get the hang of things and the game could drive you nuts if you are not a thinker... gotta love it. Expand
  20. claudem
    Jan 7, 2010
    5
    Only a same thing, decors always a same, when you dead enemies, they
  21. MarshelE
    Dec 12, 2009
    4
    The game is very repetitive , and the camera really is bad needs a lot of work to be a 50 dollar game I regret i paid that much for it now, I Wish i had waited the price will drop quick on this I think ,
  22. anonymous
    Dec 7, 2009
    6
    When I saw the movie trailer, I thought the game will be epic.... I was wrong.... After all, I am dissapointed of this game. It have some fancy gameplay, and 2 very differe. nt sides, but it gets repepetive and boring after a while. Some good ideas, but need more work. Worth buying? I'll say no. You can probably just borrow it for a couple of days, but not more.
  23. ANtonC
    Jan 13, 2010
    4
    Its alright, too much too bother playing through it a second time, i suggest spending the 40+ dollars going to the local cinema and watching the movie 6 times...
  24. Ovski
    Jan 27, 2010
    5
    I love the movie but I can't get the feelin in the game. They missed that the Na'vi are able to swing through the jungle like a monkey and behave like cats when they hunt. This is more like robots walkin arround. There is no dynamic in the game you cant climb a rock cant jump on it, no you have to take the road. On the other side the graphics are very nice they used the movie I love the movie but I can't get the feelin in the game. They missed that the Na'vi are able to swing through the jungle like a monkey and behave like cats when they hunt. This is more like robots walkin arround. There is no dynamic in the game you cant climb a rock cant jump on it, no you have to take the road. On the other side the graphics are very nice they used the movie sound to give some atmosphere and it works. Don't expect a "great" game but more something for fans I guess. This could be a wonderful game if they would have used up more time for physics and a little more time foroptimization of camera and controlling. Expand
  25. Sep 2, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is grate and cool.
    I love the movie and i love the game.
    This game has needed to be given 80% and the movie 100%.
    I dont understand why are the criticers so stupid and give a grate game a so lowe rewiew .
    A give this game a 10.
    Expand
  26. Apr 1, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a flawed game. To have a game with No boss sides is wrong. When they do have boss fights it is too easy. Some plot details like having an ally die off camera with no explanation. E ending if your RDA but side with the na vi is the same one as the one as the na bi ending. This is a must not buy game. It is just too flawed. Expand
  27. Oct 30, 2016
    6
    If you fell in love with the movie's lore this game is a must. Its not without issues, it has those plenty, but still its very fun guilty pleasure game with exploring and decently fun combat. Game has fair amount of reading and visual material you can find in the game world, it expands opon and explains lots of things in the Avatar's lore presented in the film. Much better way than likeIf you fell in love with the movie's lore this game is a must. Its not without issues, it has those plenty, but still its very fun guilty pleasure game with exploring and decently fun combat. Game has fair amount of reading and visual material you can find in the game world, it expands opon and explains lots of things in the Avatar's lore presented in the film. Much better way than like reading it on some Wiki page. Tho be warned that in DX10 mode game on PC can get bit unstable with fps hits, in one area especialy fps just commit a suicide, but its just one such extreme case, for the 95 % of the time game will run fine. Expand
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 16
  2. Negative: 4 out of 16
  1. 68
    The gameplay feels like it needs more work. Loose controls, bad melee combat, weak mission design, and a wonky camera dull the experience.
  2. This disappointing film tie-in transforms the magical into the mundane.
  3. While you can easily drone through this game a second time due to the two distinct factions, lots of annoying flaws crop up that make it difficult to warrant a second playthrough.