Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Aug 31, 2021
    90
    I could go on and on about all of the other bells and whistles, like the importance of spending multitools wisely at upgrade terminals, the incredible procedural generation of the levels and enemies, the more than a dozen modes to play, all of the in-game achievements to earn, and the plentiful secrets, but those are best discovered when you buy this game. If you’ve got a strategic bone in your body, you have to buy this. Go, buy it now. It’s $25 at full price, which might as well be an act of charity considering the quantity and quality of what you’re getting.
  2. Aug 15, 2021
    90
    While there is definitely room for improvement, Jupiter Hell is one of those Early Access projects that really used its time well. Two years of development make this finished product feel like a polished and definitive roguelike experience. Imminently approachable and nostalgically fulfilling, Jupiter Hell slays all expectations and provides a potent combination of action and strategy that shouldn't be missed. Everyone from veteran rogues to boomer shooter diehards will find something to appreciate in these bloodstained halls.
  3. Aug 5, 2021
    90
    Jupiter Hell is a thrilling turn-based roguelike with stripped back mechanics that make every playthrough more exciting than the last.
  4. Sep 9, 2021
    85
    With its fast pace and emphasis on explosive action, Jupiter Hell is a more-than-welcome addition to the ranks of the roguelike genre. Even without the nods to its better-known brethren, it still packs quite a wallop. It isn’t perfect, but I loved blasting demons and zombified minions too much to care. Now, where is that chainsaw?
  5. Aug 20, 2021
    85
    Sure, the story is nothing impressive. There are moments when the generated levels do not make too much sense. Progress sometimes hinges on the placement of one health chest or one group of enemies. But, despite the randomness, Jupiter Hell feels fair and there’s a lot of depth to discover in this surprising mix.
  6. Aug 9, 2021
    82
    One could make a long list of things that Jupiter Hell isn’t, but that would be missing the point and the prize. Jupiter Hell is an easy-to-understand, but challenging and addictive roguelike, with turn-based action that never gets bogged down with the minutiae of facing, hexes, grids, or overly-complex mechanics. Instead, it zeroes in on cover, position, tactics, and the smart use of the tools at hand. The procedurally generated elements are the stuff of hit and miss, luck of the draw, run-ending frustration, and occasionally some pretty barren levels. Aside from that, Jupiter Hell is a focused and fun homage to an era of shooter where you never knew what was around the next dark corner.
  7. Sep 7, 2021
    81
    Jupiter Hell is a great tribute to Doom and other games from the 90s with new and well implemented additions like turn-based RPG, roguelike and survival.
  8. Aug 5, 2021
    81
    Doom meets the roguelike genre and the result is a very fine game, proving that the demonic invasions and sci-fi atmosphere of id Software's masterpiece can work wonders even with a totally different gameplay.
  9. Aug 31, 2021
    80
    Jupiter Hell is made for people who might not normally enjoy roguelikes or for people who have played the modern take on the genre and want a game that goes back to the old school rulebook, but brings with it some looter shooter, straight to the point, action.
  10. Aug 9, 2021
    80
    It says a lot that Jupiter Hell – a turn-based roguelike where mistakes end your entire run – can whisk your cautious sensibilities into an unadulterated blood frenzy at the drop of a shell. The game is a must-have for strategy fans and curious Doom fans alike – the unique pacing brings something new to the turn-based genre, while demon-slaying hobbyists will find that Jupiter Hell scratches the same itch for satanic butchering as all the greats. There’s some work to be done on stability – and more variance in builds wouldn’t go amiss – but Jupiter Hell is an incredible, hell-bound slaughter as it stands.
  11. Aug 5, 2021
    80
    Jupiter Hell doesn’t need the word Doom in the title to make an impact, but it’s commendable how well it presents DRL through modern design. At its heart, it’s a turn-based dungeon-crawler RPG, but that doesn’t calm my nerves when I’m blasting through a hallway of enemies from around the corner with more approaching from behind. This game’s launch version is serviceable, but the lack of enemy variety will leave your first hours of gameplay feeling repetitive in some areas. Still, it’s clear that there’s more on the way for this standout roguelike experience, and I’m all here for it.
  12. 77
    Solid, no-nonsense roguelike with a comparatively rare sci-fi setting. Too bad it doesn’t deliver the badass power fantasy that its inspiring material source (Doom) does so well.
  13. CD-Action
    Oct 12, 2021
    75
    A solid turn-based roguelike with traditional rules, transparent, fair gameplay, and distinctive atmosphere resembling Doom. It becomes repetitive and monotonous in longer sessions, but it’s a perfect title to launch in between other games. [10/2021, p.51]
  14. Aug 8, 2021
    73
    Jupiter Hell is a richer, more concrete and more enjoyable version of Doom, the Roguelike, from which it borrows the original concept. The result is a more than valid exponent of the genre, which mixes action, strategy and a pinch of RPG without ever being too frustrating, thanks to a good balance and the ability to select different levels of challenge.
  15. Sep 14, 2021
    70
    Jupiter Hell isn’t afraid to wear its inspirations on its sleeve, and it does a great job in recreating that ‘DOOM’ feeling in a vastly different genre. While the build and class diversity is solid at first glance, the lack of gameplay and level variety doesn’t provide that ‘one more run’ feeling. That being said, there is plenty for hardcore strategists to sink their teeth into should they want to master the game at the highest difficulty.
  16. Sep 7, 2021
    70
    Jupiter Hell is a tactical roguelike that is sure to find its fans, but will turn others away with its high difficulty and overly random reeling to each run. The lack of iterative improvements between runs made every failure feel overly punishing, though that's common in the with roguelikes. The end result is a game that I can appreciate, but didn’t really enjoy. Your mileage may vary of course, and if the idea of a fusion of Doom and XCOM appeals, then this may well be the game for you.
  17. 70
    A turn-based roguelike set in a universe that’s similar to but legally distinct from Doom, and where every choice you make has immediate and long term consequences.
  18. Aug 19, 2021
    58
    As a Roguelike, Jupiter Hell stumbles with the randomness that shakes up each run instead, allowing the player a lot of control over how they want to build their character. Despite this, there is fun to be had with the tactical shooter.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Aug 8, 2021
    10
    "Just one more run, and then I'm going to bed"--I've been telling myself this most nights for the past two years, ever since this game came"Just one more run, and then I'm going to bed"--I've been telling myself this most nights for the past two years, ever since this game came out in early access, and even though it's been two years, that feeling is still there--"Just one more run, I can do better than that..."

    Jupiter Hell is a true roguelike, according to the Berlin convention, that just keeps on giving: permadeath, a deep, procedurally generated world, a plethora of weapons, three different classes offering significantly different play styles, and a steep-but-not-to-steep learning curve; as the trailer's final tagline states: "Fight. Die. Try again."

    Alright, you say, but I already have a favourite roguelike, why should I try this one? Good question! Let me name the reasons why. First: This game has a tight community built around it, and a dev team that hangs out and listens to the players on discord on elsewhere--nowhere else have I found such a tight community with such a responsive dev. Second: This is a *Doom* style roguelike...do you *really* have many of those? Really? Everyone loved Doom, even those who didn't, and the 90's shooters in general, hard not to love them--and this game captures that 90's shooter feel, but in roguelike form. Seriously, we could bet money on it, and I would win, because there just isn't anything else like this out there. Third: This game is actually really fun, totally worth the money, and is perfect for 10 minute (trials), 2 hour (regular game), or 2+ hour (infinite, etc) style runs. You want it to behave like a shooter and unwind after work? Play on easy or medium. You want a steep/steeper hill to climb? Go for hard or ultra violent. Hate yourself today? Nightmare! it is!

    So if you want a sci-fi, turn-based game that can play as fast or as slow as you'd like, consider giving Jupiter Hell a spin--I promise you, it won't disappoint. In fact, I'm going to go and play my "one more run" right now...
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 7, 2021
    10
    In over 25 years of playing roguelike games I always come back to ChaosForge games. Their ingenuity in translating action into turn-basedIn over 25 years of playing roguelike games I always come back to ChaosForge games. Their ingenuity in translating action into turn-based gamplay as well as the finely-balanced difficulty and learning curve are the most enjoyable for me in all the roguelike world. Jupiter Hell is - by far! - ChaosForge's magnum opus. The sheer ambition of making a roguelike that looks and FEELS like Doom and will satisfy the need of doomslayerish badassery is impressive. The fact all this was somehow translated into an approachable roguelike is nothing sort of magic (so, a very advanced technology beyond my comprehension :) ). At its 'easy' tier this is a perfect entry-level roguelike. With its newly-added chalenge modes it will provide veterans with all the pain they'll be able to enjoy. Full Review »
  3. Aug 14, 2021
    9
    Very oldschool. There is really no progress outside of a run. But the build system and Gameplay is so much fun after about 5-10 runs. AlsoVery oldschool. There is really no progress outside of a run. But the build system and Gameplay is so much fun after about 5-10 runs. Also very addictive for me. Really one oft the best Roguelike I have ever played and I played a lot. Full Review »