Jurassic Park: The Game Image
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 181 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Telltale Games, the studio behind Tales of Monkey Island and the Sam & Max episodes, turns Spielberg's classic dinosaur movie Jurassic Park into an episodic adventure.
  • Developer: Telltale Games
  • Genre(s): Adventure, General, General, Visual Novel, Point-and-Click
  • # of players: No Online Multiplayer
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Rating: T
  • More Details and Credits »

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Jurassic Park: The Game Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 34
  2. Negative: 11 out of 34
  1. Nov 29, 2011
    90
    While it may not be the deepest entry out there-its mid-range budget and development schedule means that it lacks the branching plot and multiple endings that encourage replayability-it is unmatched in its ability to draw players into the story, and carry them along right through to the thrilling end.
  2. Dec 7, 2011
    70
    These poorly implemented QTE sections cripple the intent of presenting an interactive storytelling experience.
  3. Nov 28, 2011
    65
    It's hard to rate Jurassic Park: The Game as an actual game. While it's a terrific movie, when it's sold for PC at $30 for an experience only slightly more interactive than watching the original movie on DVD, it's a pretty terrible game. It'd be worth chipping in together with friends and gathering around to play it together, since it's a genuinely wonderful experience, but alone, it's incredibly hard to justify.
  4. Nov 17, 2011
    60
    Jurassic Park just feels like an iOS title, and it suffers on the PC because of it.
  5. Games Master UK
    Jan 12, 2012
    50
    A missed opportunity. Our advice is simple: stand very still and let this one pass. [Feb 2012, p.86]
  6. Nov 25, 2011
    40
    The cinematic approach makes sense on paper but it means Telltale Games aren't able to play to their strengths and the end result seems doomed to extinction.
  7. Dec 22, 2011
    25
    More a series of QTE cutscenes than an actual game, Jurassic Park: The Game is hopefully not a sign of where Telltale Games is heading in the future.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 76
  2. Negative: 37 out of 76
  1. Dec 27, 2011
    10
    I am a huge fan of the classic graphic adventure gaming genre and a big fan of the Jurassic Park franchise (read both books, loved the firstI am a huge fan of the classic graphic adventure gaming genre and a big fan of the Jurassic Park franchise (read both books, loved the first movie, hated the second one, and didn't bother to watch the third one yet). Let me start out by saying that The Jurassic Park: The Game is a GREAT game. It's actually one of the best games that I have played in recent years.

    I had been putting off buying this game because of the negative press that Telltale was getting (i.e., the "Jeep" incident and the metacritic allegation), but finally made the purchase on Steam along with Batman: Arkham City at 50% discount. Guess which one of these games I found myself coming back to again and again? Yes, I enjoyed playing JPTG even more so than Arkham City, which I felt was basically a rehash of the excellent first game.

    Now to the game itself. First off, to me this game is the epitome of cinematic storytelling done right in a video game. I can't say enough about how immersive the gaming experience was. I haven't played Heavy Rain or Uncharted series since I don't own a PS3 (although I did play Fahrenheit), so I can't compare the game to those established franchises known for superb storytelling, but as far as I am concerned, the plot, cinematography, music, and dialogue were all excellent. This was no doubt possible only through JPTG's heavy reliance on the "quicktime" game play, which I understand has a lot of detractors. However, after playing through the game, I think this type of gameplay was the best (and possibly only) way to tell this story effectively since the JP franchise is so synonymous with thrills and actions. I admit that some of these action sequences were quite challenging and I died a whole lot. But even some of the death sequences (i.e., getting eaten by dinos) were satisfying to watch. The interface also allows "narrating" the story from different perspectives at the same time, which was quite interesting and ingenious in my opinion. Some adventure purists may feel that the inability to move the characters directly restricting, but I personally didn't mind this at all. I played JPTG with my XBox 360 controller and I do highly recommend playing with one. I'd imagine doing those quick time sequences with a mouse/keyboard would be significantly less enjoyable somehow.

    The puzzles are extremely well designed. They are logical and realistic, and are seamlessly integrated into the plot. As such, the puzzles don't require cartoonish logic (No "apply molasses to cat hair to make a fake mustache" type of nonsensical puzzles) and often objects that behave realistically like their real-life counterparts.

    One of JPTG's strongest suits is its dialogue. The game overall is very well scripted. Although you won't mistake it for a Sorkin flick, the quality of writing is far better than some of the drabs you find in today's Hollywood blockbusters. The characters are both varied and interesting. Each character has a back story, which gets developed slowly throughout the game, and plays an important role to advance the overall plot. The story is face-paced and thrilling at some points and emotional and thought-provoking at others. The scientific tidbits that are introduced throughout the game are both interesting and consistent with the JP lore. One interesting thing that Telltale attempts to do in JPTG is to correct some of the scientific inaccuracies that were introduced in the original movie by explaining that the frog DNAs that were spliced into the dinos by Dr. Wu had introduced these "anomalies" in JP's dinosaurs.

    Now for the bad parts, which aren't that many. The most obvious one is its graphics, which is the biggest gripe that I have had with virtually all of Telltales' titles. It's definitely not top-of-the-line. But, then again, it is certainly "serviceable." The animation is quite fantastic in many areas actually. I don't know if they used motion-capturing technology, but the animations in a lot of the action sequences are top notch and the facial expressions are certainly good enough to covey the emotional depths. But the character models themselves lack the details and look "plasticky" under certain lighting conditions. The jungle, which is pretty much everywhere in this game, looks quite cheap if you look closely. The swaying grass and bushes are simply 2D textures moving side to side. That said, this is certainly the most graphically advanced game that Telltale has created so far. (I don't know if that's supposed to be a commendation or an indictment, but hey.) For those of you who are fans of adventure games, scientific fictions, or just dinosaurs in general, I highly recommend this game. For the Jurassic Park aficionados, JPTG is truly a worthy (and might I say "essential") addition to the beloved but aging franchise that is in sore need of its own "resurrecting."
    Expand
  2. Apr 14, 2013
    9
    Lets get a few things out of the way first, yes the characters in this game are pretty cliched and standard fare for this type of story andLets get a few things out of the way first, yes the characters in this game are pretty cliched and standard fare for this type of story and sure its made up entirely of quicktime events. The graphics are sub par and the dialogue is cheesy and the quick time events can be infuriating. Its actually quite short as well, my first play through was completed in around 7 hours. So with all these things going against the game it should suck right? Well that depends on your personality and what you're hoping to gain from an experience like this.

    Gameplay:

    It's not a typical modern game in that you are never given the opportunity to control any of the characters directly and the gameplay elements all play out like a cut scene with QTEs (Quick Time Events). Like most gamers I find QTEs to be a tired and frustrating element in gaming, so why is it that I found this game so playable? Sure it infuriated the hell out of me on numerous occasions and often on top of the general annoyance of QTEs the system is finickity as well. Sometimes you'll swear to god you hit the right keys but it'll stick reward you with a big fat cross and a surprisingly bloodless death scene considering the being torn apart by a dinosaur part. When you do succeed though it is mightily satisfying and often pulse pounding because of the thrilling action playing out on screen. I know, I know "its not a proper game because theres no game play blah blah blah..." but you know what, I really don't care. I had more fun playing this than I have done playing most triple A games recently with apparently awesome gameplay.

    Story and Characters:

    Now as I mentioned before, the characters are your typical 'tough guy', 'joker', 'tough girl', 'annoying teen' etc. With this in mind though, this is a Jurassic Park game. Films like Jurassic Park thrive on character cliches and its not even that much of a bad thing sometimes. This is a real 'popcorn' game much like the film its based on, the characters can get annoying and say some dumb things but at the same time you'll probably find yourself warming to them. Not because they're particularly well written in a lofty 'makes you think' sort of way but in a good hollywood blockbuster sort of way.

    Overall:

    So after finishing the game I felt like I'd had a really good time and really enjoyed the story for what it was, there's a bit of a surprising element to the plot which I found to be quite nice, it made the story more than just a total re-tread of the original film's plot. The game is not going to be for everyone because I can be a bit slow at times and there's very little challenge beyond the occasionally infuriating QTE's, the puzzles hold your hand all the way. However, in a way it doesn't really matter because you're always looking forward to seeing what happens next in the story.

    Don't go into this expecting it to change your life or provide you with a deep gaming experience because you'll come out feeling disappointed. Go into it for what it is, a thrilling joy ride that doesn't require a lot of thought but has a story that's a lot of fun. Also, if you're a Jurassic Park fan then there's a lot of easter eggs to enjoy and the feel of the world is spot on. I'd go as far as to say I'd rather have seen this as a sequel to the first film or at least instead of Jurassic Park 3 (I do like that film btw, I'm not hating).
    Expand
  3. Dec 21, 2011
    8
    I really liked the game, is not as bad as they say... they clearly should have changed the name of the game to "Jurassic Park the InteractiveI really liked the game, is not as bad as they say... they clearly should have changed the name of the game to "Jurassic Park the Interactive Movie", the graphics are ok but not excellent, the animations could be better but does the job.

    Dont be fooled by all the hate, the game is not bad and you should probably play it if you remember your childhood, there is a lot of nostalgia going on when i play the game.
    Expand
  4. Jul 3, 2014
    5
    Jurassic Park is a real mixed bag. Ostensibly, this is an adventure game that follows a story running parallel to the first movie. TheJurassic Park is a real mixed bag. Ostensibly, this is an adventure game that follows a story running parallel to the first movie. The characters, for the most part, aren't bad and the story is a reasonably well written excuse to take you through all the iconic settings of the movie. The graphics aren't show stopping, but they are clean, clear and effective which is exactly what you want. The problem is in the gameplay. Telltale have dropped their usual Point and Click / Third Person hybrid gameplay in favour of the Interactive Movie type gameplay we saw in Heavy Rain. How much you enjoy Jurassic Park will depend very much on how much you like that kind of interaction. Personally, I found it limiting. Too often you feel as though you aren't really in the game, merely offering limited input when things get rough. It's not awful, certainly, but it feels more like the sort of Mid-90s Multimedia CD-ROM Merchandise rather than a modern Triple-A video game. Expand
  5. Jul 22, 2018
    3
    As someone who loves Jurassic Park and who had just played and enjoyed the Telltale GoT game, I was expecting to really like this.As someone who loves Jurassic Park and who had just played and enjoyed the Telltale GoT game, I was expecting to really like this. Unfortunately, this was so bad I couldn't even force myself to finish this, despite multiple tries. After several hours, I realized that I didn't care about any of the characters or the things they were doing, and the 'gameplay' was nothing more than endless QTE sequences, interspersed with boring point-and-click adventure segments. I'm fine in principle with an interactive story that really isn't a game, but the story here just isn't engaging at all. I also encountered some really frustrating bugs that made me keep failing QTE segments, even when I did everything correctly. Thankfully I got it on Steam sale so only wasted $5, but it still wasn't worth that much. Expand
  6. May 28, 2013
    0
    Very boring game. Because you have no control over the characters, I mean, all you do is press buttons and watch what happens. And all theVery boring game. Because you have no control over the characters, I mean, all you do is press buttons and watch what happens. And all the great areas from the original film are gone or rarely seen, instead we get to see stupid places like a roller coaster, and the graphics are poor. Seriously, this game is more like an animated B movie then a video game, TT should've sent there ideas to a B movie studio because maybe it wouldn't be so bad then, playing the game is not fun and should not be recommended. Expand
  7. Nov 17, 2011
    0
    Very boring game. It may have good spelling and complete sentences but that is about all it has going for it. Not the game I was expecting.Very boring game. It may have good spelling and complete sentences but that is about all it has going for it. Not the game I was expecting. Many more interesting and compelling games out right now, do not waste your money. Expand

See all 76 User Reviews