User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 850 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 1, 2015
    9
    The game is really fun! You can cause havoc just like in Just Cause 2, with better graphics, A LOT more things to do and the game runs a lot smoother! Really a worth buy.
  2. Dec 1, 2015
    0
    I ve bought the game and played for over 6 hours. It's full of bugs and technical errors. It has enormous loading times and this is really annoying. The gameplay is simple and rudimentary with little involvement. Visuals are bad for a modern game, it seems you are playing a game of 4-5 years ago
  3. Dec 1, 2015
    3
    Just Cause 3 has better graphics and a better grappling hook compared to Just Cause 2. That's about it. Just Cause 3 gets incredibly dull and boring very fast. All you do in this game is blow stuff up. Sure, that's fun at first, but it wears off very very fast. The story is nothing special and it's incredibly short. The side missions are a joke, all you have is races(which are the exactJust Cause 3 has better graphics and a better grappling hook compared to Just Cause 2. That's about it. Just Cause 3 gets incredibly dull and boring very fast. All you do in this game is blow stuff up. Sure, that's fun at first, but it wears off very very fast. The story is nothing special and it's incredibly short. The side missions are a joke, all you have is races(which are the exact same as in Just Cause 2), and these destruction challenges. The destruction challenges are a waste of time and their only purpose is to unlock the gear mods. That's about it. Incredibly boring and dull side activities. This game is all about blowing stuff up. Incredibly shallow. Gets boring super fast. No multiplayer, no coop. Was expecting more from this game. Just play Just cause 2, you won't be missing out on anything. Expand
  4. Dec 1, 2015
    0
    Just Cause 3 disappointed me a lot. After playing it for all the day I can say it's just crap. It has little attention to detail, missions are boring and you always do the same stuff. Just Cause 2 was a masterpiece, while this one is a shame.
  5. Dec 1, 2015
    0
    Sadly it's just another mediocre game with no effort in making it smart and enjoying. The military bases are all the same, the landscapes are repetitive, weapons are childish. You are supposed not to use your brain during the whole campaign. And as for graphics, it doesn't utilize the power of my GTX 970 because it's very unpolished and rough
  6. Dec 1, 2015
    0
    I was expecting more from this Just Cause episode. Considering that this year we played masterpieces like Mgs The Phantom Pain and The Witcher 3, this game seems like a joke! It has no involvement in the plot, you hit and kill soldiers, explore military stations which are repeated again and again. There are limited graphics settings, the textures are from a console version and the AA looks blurry
  7. Dec 1, 2015
    0
    Are you kidding me? this game is stupid, it has no sense but destroying and destroyng again and again with no plot at all. The graphics is from a 2006 game with dull textures and mediocre explosions. This is not what we want from a game
  8. Dec 1, 2015
    0
    boring and repetitive game with no depth, bad graphics, awful textures. I have found no challenge in playing it. Just rubbish game. I do not suggest you to buy it
  9. Dec 1, 2015
    6
    I enjoy playing this game. The new wingsuit feature is super cool. Gliding around the island is always fun. The grappling hook is more enhanced than that of JC2, which is also a good thing. It really do give players a lot of options. Explosion are of course fun to watch, even though it may grow tiring sometimes.
    However, I am very disappointed about the game's setting. While it has
    I enjoy playing this game. The new wingsuit feature is super cool. Gliding around the island is always fun. The grappling hook is more enhanced than that of JC2, which is also a good thing. It really do give players a lot of options. Explosion are of course fun to watch, even though it may grow tiring sometimes.
    However, I am very disappointed about the game's setting. While it has captured it well, it feels a bit bland. Most of them look the same and do not have enough variation (especially when JC2 has mountains, cities, tropical forests and deserts combined together in one map). Rico looks ugly in this game, which sometimes breaks immersion. The plot is ok, like all other JC games. There are some technical issues here and there, but overall it is a game that I find fun to play. Definitely expecting a multiplayer mode from it given how good the JC multiplayer mod is, but there isn't one here, so I'd consider it a missed opportunity. Modders will get to create one someday eventually.
    Expand
  10. Dec 1, 2015
    0
    I've been playing all the morning and it's bad to say that it wastes all the open world potential in a stupid and trivial gameplay. The dialogues are flat and with no emotional involvement. Characters seem all the same models repeated and animations are pointless. I will return the game to the store and ask for a refund
  11. Dec 1, 2015
    0
    No FOV control. I was puking after 60 minutes. Asked for a Steam refund. The game also crashed to desktop once in that time. Too bad. I was really looking forward to playing it.
  12. Dec 1, 2015
    0
    There is little to say about this Just Cause 3. I've tried the game for many hours but it is boring and uninspired. Very simple gun shooting, no strategy at all, no creative solutions for missions. Just shoot and destroy, that's all. Moreover, I was disappointed by its graphics which is ridiculous for a game released in 2015
  13. Dec 1, 2015
    0
    Loading times are big!! this is not acceptable! it has lots and lots of bugs and optimization issues, the multiplayer is bugged to with asynch entering that is just no sense! Graphics is outdated for this game, it plays like a bad port of an old ps3 game
  14. Dec 1, 2015
    0
    Graphics is very outdated for a PC game! The game lacks optimization, it plays like a bland effort to make you destroy everything with no fun. Controls are messy and cumbersome. Voice acting is terrible! no plot, no story to follow
  15. Dec 1, 2015
    8
    Just Cause 3 is bigger and almost better from its predecessor blowing things up is what this game series does best. It’s impossible to deny that there are a number of things that the game doesn’t do very well like performance issues (that will be fixed with a patch) and some boring story missions but all of this is easy to forgive when your adventure in the beautiful place called MediciJust Cause 3 is bigger and almost better from its predecessor blowing things up is what this game series does best. It’s impossible to deny that there are a number of things that the game doesn’t do very well like performance issues (that will be fixed with a patch) and some boring story missions but all of this is easy to forgive when your adventure in the beautiful place called Medici the game gives yoy complete freedom to do almost anything and the explosions and battles are sweet Expand
  16. May 28, 2016
    2
    Laziest PC port ever. Can't even be arsed to properly map the esc key and uses ctrl by default instead. Be prepared to spend an hour remapping keys if you are a keyboard/mouse player. (and apparently it won't remember them). I want my $15.00 back. How is this remotely acceptable?
    Also, no borderless windowed mode.
  17. Dec 21, 2015
    7
    Solid game, but not for everyone.

    First of all you need to do a little research about Just Cause games. About 99% of your activities in Just Cause are things that you would describe as side activities in other games. Main story is meh and not the main part of the game. Just Cause can shine if you play it for 1-2hrs at the time, have some fun and move on. Great game to relax with, but
    Solid game, but not for everyone.

    First of all you need to do a little research about Just Cause games. About 99% of your activities in Just Cause are things that you would describe as side activities in other games. Main story is meh and not the main part of the game.
    Just Cause can shine if you play it for 1-2hrs at the time, have some fun and move on. Great game to relax with, but if you're on of those guys that jump into new game and play it for 12 straight hours, you will have a miserable time.
    Just Cause is quite repetitive, has close to no difficulty and relies on your imagination. Not for people who go from objective to objective.

    Nice graphics, no drops below 60fps on GTX970, no bugs so far. Lots of fun.
    Expand
  18. Mar 21, 2016
    7
    Just Cause 3 is an interesting game, but repetitive. Just Cause 3 is an action game with a very simple story, but the game never tried to change that, with this, this simple story was deliberate. The gameplay is very fun, explode, fly, and blast again is very good, but even with many varieties of weapons, vehicles, and explosions, Just Cause can become repetitive (the missions are oftenJust Cause 3 is an interesting game, but repetitive. Just Cause 3 is an action game with a very simple story, but the game never tried to change that, with this, this simple story was deliberate. The gameplay is very fun, explode, fly, and blast again is very good, but even with many varieties of weapons, vehicles, and explosions, Just Cause can become repetitive (the missions are often simple and similar). Visually the game is beautiful, but what is most striking are the explosions, they are extremely well made, and can even say that they are innovative; the soundtrack does not have anything special. The maor problem of this game are the bugs, are many and are annoying (but some are funny). Overall, Just Cause 3 is a very fun and beautiful game visually, however, has a simple story, it is repetitive and possesses many bugs. 7.5 / 10 Expand
  19. Mar 24, 2016
    5
    Oh well, what can I say about this mediocre game? Let's start with the negative.

    The biggest thing that was advertised in this game was the big world, and the world is BIG. The problem about the world is that it isn't interesting in any way, it's just repetitive. I found that it was fun going around the first 2 - 3 hours and just going crazy, but other then that there isn't really
    Oh well, what can I say about this mediocre game? Let's start with the negative.

    The biggest thing that was advertised in this game was the big world, and the world is BIG. The problem about the world is that it isn't interesting in any way, it's just repetitive. I found that it was fun going around the first 2 - 3 hours and just going crazy, but other then that there isn't really anything else to do. You ride your car, make stuff blow and maybe fly now and then. There isn't really any new areas to explore because all the enemy bases and all the cities look the same. Vehicles aren't really worth using either, because of the boring handling of the vehicles. It just didn't feel good when going at high speed and turning and so on.

    The story isn't intriguing and the missions are all the same. Basically: Go to that base, destroy everything and suddenly you own the area. It was also supposed to be fun exploding stuff, but it really isn't when you've done it for 20 missions straight. I try to think of it as a Michael Bay movie, it was good at first, but now it's just TOO much. Side missions are all the same, where you take a vehicle and do some stunts. I've played this game for 10 hours and I haven't completed it because it doesn't offer me anything new to complete.

    I can say that the graphics are amazing, it looks REALLY good! It's fun to fly with the wing-suit. The destruction is fun at times. Explosions are fun at times.

    Do I recommend this game? If the game costs more then 10 euros, NO. Otherwise, buy it. It's a game you can play for 10 hours, put on the shelf and maybe return to 6 months later to play another 10 hours.
    Expand
  20. Feb 7, 2016
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a really good game. It does have problems but it is still extremely fun.

    TL;DR; ---> If you liked JC2, you will probably like this

    PROs:
    * The Wingsuit/Grapple/Parachute - Like JC2 but better. Controls take 20 mins or so to get used to but are really fun. If JC2 was the first game to make movement fun, JC3 makes travel (over even the longest distances) a pleasure, not a chore
    * The Graphics - The graphics are beautiful. Not photo-realistic but still beautiful. Everything looks really nice.
    * The story - The underlying story is actually pretty good, much better than the one in JC2. There is more character development and a clearer idea of what is going on in the bigger picture
    * It's a Just Cause Game - This sums it up for me. You get to blow whatever you want up -I like that. If you didn't like that in JC2, you wont like this game. If you did however, this game is great, it is just that, but better and with more options
    * The encounters system - These are little side quests that take just a few mins. They are really very fun and can really make travelling a lot of fun if you run into one.

    MEHs (Could have been Better, Could have been Worse)
    * The gunplay - Fun but a bit clunky. (Just like JC2)
    * The cutscenes - Some are excellent, some are useless
    * Driving - Takes a while to get good at
    * The gear mod system - Provides a good sense of progression and makes the races etc. have a point but they get a bit grindy and some should be given to you at the start (i.e. being able to use the iron sights of any gun)
    * Balance - The whole point of JC3 (as with JC and JC2) is that you are the only hope of the revolution, so balance was never going to be great but I think the game is done well

    CONs:
    * The loading screens - Fine on my machine (max 30 seconds with i7/970) but on a less powerful PC this could be an issue
    * Side quests - WHERE DID THEY GO? There are no fun side quests in this game like there were in JC2. This is my major gripe with the game, without them it runs out far too quickly. WTF where are they? ENCOUNTERS ARE NOT A REPLACEMENT.
    Repetitive - many of the quests are repeated throughout the game (i.e. follow the pipe, disable the thing at the end happens 3 times) and each liberation is a bit samey. However I like that the settlements seem to be on average bigger than in JC2 and are MUCH harder to complete.

    Overall this is actually a very fun game for fans of JC/JC2. It is definitely worth playing. I know many people have had some issued however, so just be sure, get it through steam so you can refund it. I think this game has bee reviewed unfairly and I think it deserves a 85-ish metacritic score. The hype surrounding this was so great because of the legendary status of JC2 that it is a bit of a let down, but judged on its own merits, it is a good game.
    Expand
  21. May 11, 2016
    6
    After playing titles like GTA5, Uncharted 4, this game does not deserve better than 5 or 6. The cut-scenes are lame, the game is really repetitive, the characters are average are best. I am not saying this is a worthless game, but preeeeeety average compared to the real A titles.
  22. Sep 15, 2016
    10
    at first the game was fun but later it just gets worse and worse , Missions have such a high difficulty ( or rather many enemies that always hit xou , even though walls / boats ) and its not fun at all
  23. Jun 19, 2016
    2
    I'll start by saying that I was a HUGE fan of the second game in the series. Easily one of the biggest, most immersive games I've ever played. This game is the exact same size, but don't let that fool you. There may be the same amount of square mileage in the game, but somehow the developers managed to make it feel smaller by having less actual settlements (there are only about 100 totalI'll start by saying that I was a HUGE fan of the second game in the series. Easily one of the biggest, most immersive games I've ever played. This game is the exact same size, but don't let that fool you. There may be the same amount of square mileage in the game, but somehow the developers managed to make it feel smaller by having less actual settlements (there are only about 100 total settlements in the game, JC 2 had over 250, with extra chaos objects scattered around the world). Even knowing this, I still was willing to give it a shot. Then I tried literally everything the game had to offer. The races: not much different from Just Cause 2, but the physics of driving makes the cars feel weightless, like little feathers that can get thrown from the road after hitting a simple bump or pebble. Fail. The air races: the plane controls are unresponsive. It feels like you're trying to turn the entire earth on its axis using little more than a finger. Fail. The demolition challenges: half the time you get pigeon-holed into using a single weapon inadequately suited for the task at hand. If you DO manage to find a tank or helicopter that you can use instead, I would refer you to the aforementioned bit about driving and flying. Fail. The boat races: sometimes the amount of time to get 5 stars is more than enough, but other times, you're using every last drop of nitrous to get a 2 star score. Fail. The wingsuit courses: fine control of the wingsuit is difficult, but it's made even more difficult when half the checkpoints are literally 2 feet off the ground (sometimes with rocks or trees spawning inside them) combined with nearly 90 degree turns that cause Rico to go spinning out of control like a dreidel spun by the Incredible Hulk. Fail. These would all be forgivable shortcomings, until you realize that these challenges are also tied into the upgrade system, so if you want better stuff, you're gonna have to grind for it for hours, achieving what feels like very small rewards (i.e. faster drop recharge times- if you have to order anything from a drop, you're just being lazy; literally everything you need can be found in the game world). Upgrades are possible, but if you want the really high end upgrades, like the ability to fold up your wingsuit and grapple into a mountainside instead of faceplanting into it like a bug on a car windshield, prepare to grind. Then there's the actual settlements. Clearing the towns is kind of stupid because you have to take over a police station, requiring you to generate a certain preset amount of chaos, but if you accidentally destroy one of the objects inside before letting your buddies in, good luck reaching that amount without having to steal a military car or two and driving it inside the station solely to blow it up (you don't get credit for chaos outside the base walls). Clearing military settlements is a little fun, but you're constantly dealing with hordes of enemies. This wouldn't be a problem if Rico were as invincible as he was in the second game, but somewhere between then and now he seems to have had his old adamantium wolverine-like bones replaced with cotton candy. It is ridiculously easy to die. Case in point: in JC 2, you could take 2 or 3 solid hits from rocket projectiles fired from tanks, helicopters, etc. Good luck if you get touched by any rocket propelled anything in this game. Rico turns into a big pile 'o dust. That was what made JC 2 so fun. Then we come to the missions. In JC 2, half the fun of the missions was listening to the cutscene dialogue. Every character in the game seemed somewhat self-aware that this was a B action movie and the writing was just terrible, so it all seemed very tongue-in-cheek. This game actually tries to be a good action movie, but it still has the same crappy writing and plot-line. The result is a painful series of cutscenes surrounded by what is actually pretty good mission design, in most cases (with one glaring exception). That exception comes about halfway through the plot. I won't go into plot detail in case you still want to play this train wreck. Suffice to say it involves intercepting a friendly plane and escorting it. But, oh no, there's an aerial ambush planned (see what I mean when I say the plot is crappy). So it logically starts you off in a plane located about 1.5 km away from your escort target, but the planes trying to intercept your ally somehow have engines fit for Apollo shuttles, so they close the distance much quicker. This leaves you with having to snipe the planes from a distance. It would be great if there was a lock-on function, but there isn't. It would be great if the plane you were in had nitrous, but it doesn't. It would be great if the plane controls were a little more responsive, but they aren't. All-in-all, this single mission finally put me over the top with trying to deal with all the little issues and made me say, "Screw it." Learn from my misadventures. Don't buy this game. Expand
  24. Jul 29, 2016
    2
    This game is super-fun at the beginning, but as you start to progress you see how developers totally abandoned the game towards the end. The cinematics at the start of the game are good, but when compared to the ending cinematics just wants to make you cry, they definitely didn't put time into it and was without a doubt rushed. The game has a lot of yet unfixed bugs, making some missionsThis game is super-fun at the beginning, but as you start to progress you see how developers totally abandoned the game towards the end. The cinematics at the start of the game are good, but when compared to the ending cinematics just wants to make you cry, they definitely didn't put time into it and was without a doubt rushed. The game has a lot of yet unfixed bugs, making some missions impossible or too easy. Balancing is non-existent, sometimes a thing looks impossible while other times I can just stand and tank bullets. The boss fight is unmentionable, too easy and quick, just use a tether on the chopper's nose and the ground and pull. It takes forever to load even though I have an SSD and a GTX 970 SC. The car physics are a joke, when I went to ram a tuk tuk with my truck, I almost stopped and the truck did a wheelie. All in all, an unpolished and unfinished game which's fun only at the beginning Expand
  25. Mar 1, 2017
    5
    You take Just Cause 2, remove half of the fun/content/functionality. and you get Just Cause 3.

    Lackluster story (although story was never really just cause's strong point i guess.) Bad driving mechanics Unpractical keyboard and mouse keymapping (for example closing menus with ctrl instead of esc, which cant be changed.) no minimap Bad UI Random Framedrops And all of this 2 years
    You take Just Cause 2, remove half of the fun/content/functionality. and you get Just Cause 3.

    Lackluster story (although story was never really just cause's strong point i guess.)
    Bad driving mechanics
    Unpractical keyboard and mouse keymapping (for example closing menus with ctrl instead of esc, which cant be changed.)
    no minimap
    Bad UI
    Random Framedrops

    And all of this 2 years after release.

    If you like this type of game just get Just Cause 2, you arent missing anything.
    Expand
  26. Jan 18, 2021
    9
    JC3 is a near perfect game. This delivers a playground that delivers on the most important respect, it's fun to play in. After a few hours you're a master of the wingsuit and grapple and traversal becomes such an enjoyable experience.
  27. Dec 14, 2015
    6
    The game is somewhat good. If you're bored and have money to burn but don't feel like going outside, this game will hold you over in short bursts.

    The graphics aren't the greatest, but rating games purely on graphics anymore is silly. The gameplay has a over the top action and situations that are as unreal as they are hilarious. However, this game falls short because the amount of
    The game is somewhat good. If you're bored and have money to burn but don't feel like going outside, this game will hold you over in short bursts.

    The graphics aren't the greatest, but rating games purely on graphics anymore is silly.

    The gameplay has a over the top action and situations that are as unreal as they are hilarious. However, this game falls short because the amount of repetition and padding. Essentially, this is a far cry game with half the content and effort.

    It's not outright terrible, but it is not an amazing game by far. The game is average or slightly below. Go find a cheap game on a Steam sale instead of this for more entertainment at a lower price.
    Expand
  28. Dec 16, 2015
    5
    After 20 hours of play time I'm tired.
    I had hours of fun with JC2 and Mad Max, so I was looking forward to play this game.
    Unfortunately Just Cause 3 gets boring way too fast. The map is big but lifeless, every city on the map looks identical, same building, same objects. There is almost no traffic even in the biggest cities on the island. The driving physics are the worst in history
    After 20 hours of play time I'm tired.
    I had hours of fun with JC2 and Mad Max, so I was looking forward to play this game.
    Unfortunately Just Cause 3 gets boring way too fast.
    The map is big but lifeless, every city on the map looks identical, same building, same objects.
    There is almost no traffic even in the biggest cities on the island.
    The driving physics are the worst in history of sandbox games and the car damage model isn't very satisfying which is pity. JC3 is a mediocre game at best.
    Expand
  29. Dec 28, 2015
    0
    Terrible performance even with patches: unplayable. No hope of playing on my PC, let alone streaming with my Steam Link. I enjoyed Just Cause 2, but this is a huge let down. It shouldn't have been released in this state. Avoid like the plague. At the very least wait until it plummets in price - this is bargain bin fodder.
  30. Dec 28, 2015
    8
    Fun mayhem in adult sized chunks of time.

    This game was more fun than I'd have expected. You go in as a "professional dictator remover" tasked with overthrowing the dictator of an island. The way to accomplish this is to murder and cause total mayhem. To eliminate any qualms about doing this, the first couple of lines spoken to you by the rebel faction is "whatever you destroy, we will
    Fun mayhem in adult sized chunks of time.

    This game was more fun than I'd have expected. You go in as a "professional dictator remover" tasked with overthrowing the dictator of an island. The way to accomplish this is to murder and cause total mayhem. To eliminate any qualms about doing this, the first couple of lines spoken to you by the rebel faction is "whatever you destroy, we will rebuild". There's your license to go nuts.

    Stuff to do:
    There's a lot of things to destroy, from "soft targets" to a great variety of military and civilian vehicles, buildings, electrical generators, fuel depots, guard towers and so on. The array of weapons is varied enough with the traditional collection of pistols, SMGs, assault rifles, shotguns, sniper rifles, grenades, rocket launchers and more. To top it all off is an insane shoulder launched "mini nuke" with fantastic explosion and radius, that feels just ridiculously fun to launch at a well guarded oil rig in the middle of the ocean. "So you have SAM defenses, and army on the rig and support choppers covering you.. sod it, I'll just nuke you out of the water".

    When not engaging targets, just driving, boating or flying around is a treat, since the scenery is absolutely amazing. There's even a small resort-like island for you to relax on, enjoy the sun, drive a race track through ruins or just sink some sailing boat just for the lulz. The seems to be the one seen in the title's opening screen, but you have to go hunt for it.

    The game world is huge, with varied terrain, from beaches to dense forrest and mountains that strech up in the clouds. I was able to travers the entire map (game world) in a fighter jet without any pause or loading screen. The viewing distance is also amonst the best I've seen in a title without sacrificing system performance, so there's plenty of stuff and places to explore.

    Getting about:
    You have the option to use your boots, zip around a'la spiderman, fly using your reusable parachute, fly faster using your flying-squirrel-suit or use vehicles; boats, planes, choppers, cars, tanks, motorcycles .. The options are vast. Also, to minimize "downtime", the system has a fast-travel option where you can point at a previously discovered location and "teleport" there.

    Combat:
    Shooting accuracy is above average. Not like the Tom Clancy titles, but pretty close. Headshots are possible and do more damage as one's come to expect.
    If an enemy sees you performing violence, they will engage and / or report the incident over radio, which in turn raises your "wanted level", like in GTA. Each wanted level brings more heat, first ground units, then choppers, finally tanks and missile gun ships. In contrast with GTA however, the game doesn't throw an infinite wave of enemies at you. Instead you have a chance to clear your wanted level by eliminating all enemies in a wave within a certain (undisclosed) amount of time. Imo. this was a great design decision Avalanche made, as it opens up a new avenue for wanted level clearing, in addition to the established "run and hide for a few minutes", which became pretty boring in the GTA fanchise.

    Story:
    There's one, some may say weak, but I personally found it entertaining enough. The acting and voice acting was imo. rather good with some humor and none of the characters taking themselves or their situation seriously.

    Annoyances:
    * Loading time! It's definitely above average. About 20 second long pauses every now and then.
    * Lack of variery liberating towns and army installations. You perform the same motions for each and every one of the two types. Since the Studio obviously made the effort to create highly varied towns and bases, not having made the mechanics of liberating those targets just stood out as kind of sloppy.

    Build quality:
    * Ran very well on my system (Core i7 4770 stock clocked with an aging GTX 780 and 32GB RAM). The game seemes capped at 30fps which I noticed only after having completed the game and enabled FRAPS on it to check our what the actual frame rate was. Needless to say it didn't bother me probably because of the sly use of motion blur the game engine leverages.
    * Playing in fullscreen and windowed mode is supported (ALT-ENTER switches mode).
    * A crash here or there. In total I had just 3 crashes over 2 weeks of playing and countless hours devoted to the game. So overall, it's about average stability quality of a game these days I'd say.

    To conclude, I'd say that the key to being able to appreciate the title is understanding what it shoots for and what it doesn't. If you're looking for a mayhem sandbox instead of a story driven title, then you may be as positively surprised as I was. If you think this is a modern version of The Witcher 3, then move on to another title.

    I'd rate the game a solid 7.5/10, since I'm not a FPS fan, but nonetheless found this title highly enjoyable.
    Expand
  31. Dec 28, 2015
    0
    The game does not launch if you have less than 16GB of RAM. The recommended specs are 8GB, but Avalanche are lying. Please do not throw away your money on this like I did.
  32. Dec 12, 2015
    7
    Explosions, Explosions make everything better right? That's what I thought when I picked up Just Cause 3. At first watching everything blow up and mowing down lots of enemies was really fun, but as the game progressed I realized that there wasn't much to just cause 3.
    Just Cause 3, fun at times, is a stale experience. You play as Rico Rodriguez once again and try to take down another
    Explosions, Explosions make everything better right? That's what I thought when I picked up Just Cause 3. At first watching everything blow up and mowing down lots of enemies was really fun, but as the game progressed I realized that there wasn't much to just cause 3.
    Just Cause 3, fun at times, is a stale experience. You play as Rico Rodriguez once again and try to take down another dictator on his home island of Medici. You start the game launching rockets all over the place and blowing everything up. You meet your friend Mario who goes along on the journey with you for the most part. A scientist name Dimah you gives you upgrades to your grappling hook from the previous game and a new wing suit. She also gives you missions to help the rebellion overthrow Di Ravello. The only other character that really impacted the plot was Sheldon who is a stereotypical Texan and helps Rico out but has a few secrets. The other characters are very forgettable especially Annika who comes out of nowhere and is very annoying and hard to bear. The dialog isn't very good and conversations have awkward long pauses in between them. Overall the story can be summed up as a evil dictator has a powerful resource known as bavarium and it's up to Rico to lead the rebellion and retake his homeland and make sure Di Ravello can’t use the Bavarium. It’s not a good story and I feel it could've easily been better. The gameplay for the most part is really fun. Your new grappling hook upgrade allows you to tether two things together allowing you to be able to pull off cool things to take down enemies or mess with civilians. You also now have a wingsuit which allows you to soar faster across Medici. You still have your Parachute as well making you very versatile when trying to get somewhere. The gameplay consists of liberating villages bases and provinces by destroying everything. Thats pretty much it. The story missions will have you escorting someone/something or defending an area but that's it. This is fairly disappointing considering there are so many opportunities they missed. I found myself not using the tether because it was much slower to destroy bases with and I wanted to move on the story so I didn’t have to liberate any more for a while. That sometimes didn't help either since half the story missions have you blowing up more bases!!!!!! There are challenges to upgrade your tech and abilities but they mainly consist of time trial races with a boat, car, or plane. Theses are very boring, there isn't much of a challenge besides the bad flying and driving controls and your not racing anyone, juts a clock. Just cause 3’s gameplay is super fun at times but by the 15 village I liberated I felt burnt out and bored. There isn't anything that really changes. Gunplay is very simple and it's very easy to mow down a lot of enemies. People who like tactical shooting won't like this but it allows you to easily create massive explosions which is really fun to do. There are a lot of different guns allowing you to choose many different ways to take down bases. Just Cause 3 graphically looks fairly good and has a large map. There is some pop it but it’s not that common. There is no big city area like in Just Cause 2 which is a little disappointing and almost every base and village looks very similar which dull out the gameplay even more. Just Cause 3 is always online as well unless you're in offline mode on steam and it forces you to connect to there online leaderboards which constantly pop up on the screen in a big box when you beat some record like most headshots in 5 seconds. The game performance wise is sub par compared to avalanche studio's previous game, mad max, which came out this year. I ran into a lot of glitches and performance problem like seeing through the ground and stutter lag. There also is no multiplayer which is very disappointing considering the just cause 2 multiplayer mod was released not that long ago. Also there is no coop which this game really needs, instead there is just an online leaderboard of useless stats. Also the 25 dollar DLC for cosmetic items is a complete joke. For those who just was a casual experience and blow stuff up then this game is for you but in my opinion there isn’t much that makes the experience worth it. The story is bland, the game play is fun at time but gets repetitive fast, and there are a lot of issues that still need to be fixed. There just isn't anything that makes me want to start it up again. It’s not a bad game but it’s not that good either. Just Cause 3 doesn't differ itself from Just Cause 2 and it doesn't feel that it even made an attempt. There are truly great moments that made me feel it was worth the $60 but it’s repetitious nature got in the way of what could of been a great game. I recommend you play Just Cause 2 instead and wait for a patch and a sale. Just Cause 3 get a 6.8/10 -Infinite
    Expand
  33. Feb 18, 2016
    0
    I didn't hear anything about this game leading up to its release, and I still have no idea how I avoided such a massive release. Seeing this on the shelves I was taken back to the early days of Just Cause 2's release with giddy nostalgia. Remembering the hours and hours of fun I had in a huge free roaming world and I bought this without much of a second thought. Unfortunately, this Is notI didn't hear anything about this game leading up to its release, and I still have no idea how I avoided such a massive release. Seeing this on the shelves I was taken back to the early days of Just Cause 2's release with giddy nostalgia. Remembering the hours and hours of fun I had in a huge free roaming world and I bought this without much of a second thought. Unfortunately, this Is not a fond remake of a great game more of a complete copy and paste with new and shiny graphics as the main draw. The loading times were ridiculously long and the graphics are only good as long as you don't pay much attention. Little details that make up so many top releases are missing and this seems more like a rushed and un-loved release. I played around 6 hours before realising it wasn't going to get any better, then after my entire game crashed for the second time for seemingly no reason mid loading screen, I gave up. Very disappointing overall Expand
  34. Dec 18, 2016
    6
    The makers of Just Cause 3 obviously took a very close look at Far Cry 4.
    However, execution is sub par in my opinion.
    The AI in this game is lame, to say the least.
    Blowing stuff up is fun at first, until you realize all missions are more or less the same, then it gets old really fast.
    Long term playability is limited.
  35. Dec 6, 2015
    8
    This game was fun, apart from the loading times. For those who like causing havoc and there is little fun from the story. The only real fun out of this game for me was exploding things, funny bugs and using the environment and grapple system. U must use your imagination or u won't like this one, just like the idiots who give it a 0 because just because they don't like it.
  36. Dec 3, 2015
    4
    What's the point to use crap DRM like Denuvo to improve initial sales, when you need to wait weeks to fix all the bugs ?
    The crack will be out soon and we legit buyers will need to wait more for a patch to fix all the fps loss, bugs, glitch, ecc.
    My personal suggestion : stay away from this crap till the fix all, and wait for a discount, atm is only a boring piece of buggy beta.
  37. Dec 1, 2015
    4
    Just Cause 3 has released in absolutely shambolic fashion with myself and many other users reporting horrendous performance issues on rigs that surpass even the recommended settings. After many hours of self-optimising and tweaking; even on the latest Nvidia drivers; this game is of a standard not too dissimilar from that of Arkham Knight. With even Xbox One reporting frame rate dropsJust Cause 3 has released in absolutely shambolic fashion with myself and many other users reporting horrendous performance issues on rigs that surpass even the recommended settings. After many hours of self-optimising and tweaking; even on the latest Nvidia drivers; this game is of a standard not too dissimilar from that of Arkham Knight. With even Xbox One reporting frame rate drops south of 15fps; it is collectively a disappointing release all round. The amount of stuttering on PC makes this game virtually unplayable as of now and even the developers pathetic short-term laughable fixes of 'running the game as an admin' doesn't work. The last time developers were this clueless was Rocksteady and we all remember the AK saga too well...

    Technical woes aside; this game is not as enjoyable as the last outing with a boring story, dreadful characters, terrible mechanics, painfully repetitive and underwhelming missions and a huge but bland landscape. The combat and explosive elements are fun at first but after a few hours it just becomes tiresome. There is also no manual save, checkpoints aren't clear and the intro along with general loading screens are far too long.

    It is clear that this game has been released without any due care whatsoever just to grab as many sales as possible before the year end and the quality of the product is in the hands of developers relying on the infamous 'get out of jail' patches to work to any acceptable standard. Avoid until this has been proven to work to the level expected on a variety of setups and even then, don't expect a grand and enjoyable experience. A disappointing end to another dismal year of gaming.
    Expand
  38. Dec 1, 2015
    0
    I used to be one of those who would pre-order everything. No longer. I rent now, and only buy if the game keeps my interest and is worthy of my money. Just Cause 3 was full of game bugs. I refuse to be QA for these companies to use as an excuse to release untested games any more. I will not even consider buying until it is fixed, and this goes for all games in my view. SameI used to be one of those who would pre-order everything. No longer. I rent now, and only buy if the game keeps my interest and is worthy of my money. Just Cause 3 was full of game bugs. I refuse to be QA for these companies to use as an excuse to release untested games any more. I will not even consider buying until it is fixed, and this goes for all games in my view. Same circumstance for Fallout 4. Rented it, had game breaking bugs. Took it back, and was only out a few bucks. People should really start doing this instead of blindly buying at full retail. You can get it in Red Box, or the local video rental store a few days after release usually. Start a movement to demand better quality AND quantify. We should not have to compromise either at a $60+ price point + season pass/DLC/Micro Transactions cost on top of it. Expand
  39. Dec 2, 2015
    0
    I was a huge fan of the previos parts and now really disappointed from this game.

    The controls are really horrible - doesn't matter if you use keyboard or gamepad.
    An beside the cool new features like wing suite and better grappling hook it somehow boring from the first minute
  40. Dec 13, 2015
    0
    buggy **** game, and on top of all this it has Denuvo, they made sure the DRM is working properly and neglected the game itself, another Arkham Knight crap here, aint worth a dime. if you bought it through steam then refund it.
  41. Feb 24, 2016
    5
    Six years ago, Just Cause 2 was as fun as it was impressive. So I had high expectations for JC3. Like everyone else, I was disappointed. Not only is JC3 a glitchy nightmare, it lacks innovation and freshness. JC3 is like drinking stale beer, it’s only OK when you’re thirsty, but gets poured down the drain if there are other options.

    The PC version of JC3 looks OK. But with all settings
    Six years ago, Just Cause 2 was as fun as it was impressive. So I had high expectations for JC3. Like everyone else, I was disappointed. Not only is JC3 a glitchy nightmare, it lacks innovation and freshness. JC3 is like drinking stale beer, it’s only OK when you’re thirsty, but gets poured down the drain if there are other options.

    The PC version of JC3 looks OK. But with all settings cranked up, it doesn’t outshine its console cousins. Since JC3 is horribly optimized across all platforms, no system has an advantage. Only gamers with powerful computers gain anything since their rigs can crank out high frame rates. My aging rig pushes out The Witcher 3 at 60 frames with nearly everything on ultra. JC3 barely delivers 30 frames. Lowering resolution and disabling features doesn’t improve performance. Fortunately, a new ATI driver fixed enough problems to make JC3 playable. Developers at Avalanche are still dragging their feet. There’s no denying JC3 was rushed to market. All platforms experienced game-breaking bugs at launch. However, Avalanche committed a bigger sin: It made a game that isn’t fun. Not even remotely fun.

    JC3 is plagued with loading screens. Video scenes are broken apart every few seconds by loading screens. So what should be a funny 5 minute outtake will be interrupted every 20 seconds. This breaks the immersion. Even on my speedy ssd, loading takes 3-5 seconds. I hear this is much worse on console.

    Gameplay/combat sucks. Avalanche purposely handicapped Rico so he can’t run or mantle objects. When reviewers called that out, Avalanche said it is forcing players to rely on Rico’s gadgets and vehicles to move around. The outcome impedes fluidity. Yes, there is a ledge there. No, Rico cannot grab it. WTF?! The stilted mobility reminds me of the original Bionic Commando. On a 30 year old platformer, that makes sense. Not in a modern game. Rico can’t jump over a fence or climb a hill. No, no. Rico must grapple it a few feet at a time. I wouldn’t mind the handicaps if grappling worked precisely. But it doesn’t. I inexplicably bounce off helicopters and overshoot cars.

    Gunplay is boring because all weapons feel alike. So combat is dull. Sniping isn’t fun because hit detection is moody. I can’t believe I’m saying this, but Star Wars Battlefront has better gunplay. Driving is worse because all vehicles in a class handle identically. All helicopters handle identically. All sports cars handle identically. All tanks handle identically... You get the idea. Also, vehicles just kinda float around. Cars lose control whenever they want.

    The developers at Avalanche put little effort into crafting dynamic gameplay. Unfortunately, tedious mobility and mind-numbing combat are just parts of the problem. The lame missions and even lamer progression truly cement JC3 as one of the most unexciting open-world games in recent memory.

    After 5 years in the oven, JC3 should’ve had a deep and entertaining story. It’s barely passable. The story missions are a joke. Some last a matter of seconds. Others are just driving from points A to B with zero action. The missions are so unimaginative I’m convinced they were added the last 3 months of development. Side missions are pathetic and rarely happen.

    Rewards for exploration are nil. After hours of play, I’ve haven’t experienced random encounters or discovered hidden locations. Except for enemy bases and captured towns, absolutely nothing happens in Medici.

    Liberating towns is blah because they all present duplicate challenges. Simply summon a helicopter via airdrop and shoot everything from the air. Chaos—JC3’s selling point— is shallow because all destruction is scripted. Only color coded objects can be destroyed. Helicopters and tanks can take out bridges or antennae relays, but they’re ineffective against plywood huts. Leave the area and come back seconds later, and many “destroyed” objects will have respawned, including bridges. Freeing a town doesn’t change the status quo. NPC’s stand around repeating the same 3 lines. Additional missions would be nice…

    The progression system sucks. Players must complete challenge events to unlock upgrades. One challenge requires players to fly Rico thru floating rings using his wing suit. Another requires Rico to blow up as much as he can in 90 seconds. Players must complete a series of similar challenges to unlock upgrades in each class. These challenges were pulled straight from Nintendo’s playbook and don’t belong in a hardcore shoot em up. Superman 64 had the same flying thru rings crap and it’s considered one of the worst games ever made. So that should tell ya’ll something. I skip the challenges because they’re silly. No one buys JC3 to glide thru floating rings.

    Overall, JC3 is a shallow experience featuring absent exploration, middling gameplay, and awful missions. Don’t buy it. JC3 is boring, glitchy, and uninspired. It pulls the franchise back 10 years and is definitely one of the worst sandbox games I’ve played lately.
    Expand
  42. Dec 4, 2015
    1
    Released as a complete technical mess, Just Cause 3 is another testament to the corrosion of trust between games industry and customer base, as well as a major disappointment to fans of the first two games that expected a substantial upgrade over the last installment - in many respects, JC3 feels like a significant step back.
  43. Dec 1, 2015
    0
    Come on, this is not what we should be expecting from a saga like Just Cause one that was glorious and very well made in the past. I enjoyed a lot both Just Cause and Just Cause 2, but Just Cause 3 is very bad. It has lots of bugs and endless loading times which are frustrating. Missions are not well scripted and enemies look mentally retarded. The quality of its visuals is subpar ifCome on, this is not what we should be expecting from a saga like Just Cause one that was glorious and very well made in the past. I enjoyed a lot both Just Cause and Just Cause 2, but Just Cause 3 is very bad. It has lots of bugs and endless loading times which are frustrating. Missions are not well scripted and enemies look mentally retarded. The quality of its visuals is subpar if compared with games such as the Witcher 3 or Gta V Expand
  44. Dec 1, 2015
    0
    This game has awful graphics for a modern PC video game. It could have been released in 2010 because the graphics quality has no changed since Just Cause 2, textures are flat and depressing. Gameplay is very repetitive: you destroy stuff with no sense. There isn't any story development nor character progression. What a shame. Very bad PC port
  45. Dec 9, 2015
    4
    Terrible Game, Denuvo protection - for those guys who doesn't know what this is - it's an anti-cracking protection to prevent it gets pirated but the part the most people don't know is that this can harm your cpu & ssd. Just based on this fact the Game is a pure disaster to me.
  46. Dec 2, 2015
    0
    No SLI in AAA Game? REALLY? Is this a joke? Even Fable that was CONSOLE PORT featured good SLI scaling. It's just laziness of developers or their stupidness? Or both.
  47. Dec 2, 2015
    9
    Ok, yes the launch was less than stellar. To those of you who are nvidia users make sure you get the latest driver. New driver took the game from broken to stable. I still get some frame rate slow down when there is a whole lot of explosions and physics damage going on, but only when the fit really hits the shan. So performance isn't terrible for me, just leaves a little bit to be desired.Ok, yes the launch was less than stellar. To those of you who are nvidia users make sure you get the latest driver. New driver took the game from broken to stable. I still get some frame rate slow down when there is a whole lot of explosions and physics damage going on, but only when the fit really hits the shan. So performance isn't terrible for me, just leaves a little bit to be desired.

    The game is awesome. I think it looks really good, map traversal is way more fun than in JC2. Vehicles leave something to be desired. I've been playing GTA lately and the cars and bikes are quite inferior. Not terrible once you get used to them, but not awesome. Now, what you can do with the cars is a different story.

    To those complaining about plot, and voice acting, you're missing the point of this game. I had the same issue the first time I picked up JC2. I put it right back down because the voice acting was so terrible, especially that indian(?) girl leader of that revolutionary group, omg I hated her so much. But whats true of all games is 10x more true with Just Cause, the plot is truly just a means to get you to go do some crazy action movie sequence. This game at its heart is a physics playground, and in that respect JC3 is very successful.

    One of the reviewers said it and I agree, you need to be able to come up with your own fun to enjoy this game. If you are a gamer who often finds themselves trying things, "I wonder what will happen if I do this", then this is the game for you, because chances are, this game will let you do it, and the results will be fantastic and funny.

    I think 8/10 is more correct because of the issues related above, but I'm kind of sick of every game I like getting mountains of 0s when they are clearly not 0 games, so I'm giving it 9.
    Expand
  48. Dec 2, 2015
    8
    Destrucción por todas partes, romper, saltar, disparar y volver a romper, es la mejor serie de juegos para quitarte de encima el stress, entras y a romper el mundo. ¿Qué más le puedes pedir? Pues una historia mejor, por eso un 8 :)
  49. Dec 2, 2015
    8
    First I had a problem with AMD graphical card where textures where only loading as some triangles, but after switching to the beta driver ''Radeon-Software-Crimson-Edition-15.11.1-Beta-64Bit-Win10-Win8.1-Win7-Nov30" all worked silky smooth and I had a lot of fun so far. Loading times for missions might be on the long side, but once you are in the vast world I can only say that there is aFirst I had a problem with AMD graphical card where textures where only loading as some triangles, but after switching to the beta driver ''Radeon-Software-Crimson-Edition-15.11.1-Beta-64Bit-Win10-Win8.1-Win7-Nov30" all worked silky smooth and I had a lot of fun so far. Loading times for missions might be on the long side, but once you are in the vast world I can only say that there is a lot of fun.
    The game for me is a good way to releave stress with just toughtless bombing and tethering people into exploding goodness!
    Expand
  50. Dec 5, 2015
    0
    what idiocy making tou login before you can even get to the main menu, this is a single player game, if I wanted to play online I would play something else, JC3 has issues with server capacity at present and takes about 20 seconds to login again if you are successful the first time round but it keeps happening over and over again and without being logged you you can't access the map orwhat idiocy making tou login before you can even get to the main menu, this is a single player game, if I wanted to play online I would play something else, JC3 has issues with server capacity at present and takes about 20 seconds to login again if you are successful the first time round but it keeps happening over and over again and without being logged you you can't access the map or rebel drops etc.. Patch the game so that we don't have to log in and fix the graphic issues/optimization issues. Avoid this game now and wait till it's patched and has a drop in price JC2 was much better than this failure. Expand
  51. Dec 6, 2015
    0
    a 60 dollar game with a lot of unforgiving new beginner bugs, this game was clearly released unfinished on purpose, but it dont end there. they have also added an always online drm on a single player game. this is not acceptable at all. the game is totally ruined, this is the end of the 'just cause' game franchise as i see it. i am not gonna waste time or my money ever again on any 'justa 60 dollar game with a lot of unforgiving new beginner bugs, this game was clearly released unfinished on purpose, but it dont end there. they have also added an always online drm on a single player game. this is not acceptable at all. the game is totally ruined, this is the end of the 'just cause' game franchise as i see it. i am not gonna waste time or my money ever again on any 'just cause' games again, period. Expand
  52. Dec 21, 2015
    3
    Horribly inconsistent, bad control response time, terrible technical performance, and laughable story. Its a shame because on the rare occasions when these things dont get in the way, the game is actually pretty fun
  53. Dec 1, 2015
    0
    Just Cause 3 is another example of the gaming community allowing evil practices to continue without consequence in the industry. It is a massive broken pile of sh1t and is completely unplayable. Is it too much to ask for a game to be playable on its launch day?
  54. Dec 8, 2015
    8
    My memory about Just Cause 2 is a bit faded but Just Cause 3 feels an improvement over the previous version.

    The graphics looks great (on my minimum requirement video card that is), the framerate was high except a few cases where either many explosions happened or the game had to load someting from my HDD. Yes, it had loading times ~30 seconds but only around missions; roaming in the
    My memory about Just Cause 2 is a bit faded but Just Cause 3 feels an improvement over the previous version.

    The graphics looks great (on my minimum requirement video card that is), the framerate was high except a few cases where either many explosions happened or the game had to load someting from my HDD. Yes, it had loading times ~30 seconds but only around missions; roaming in the open world was hardly affected by loading. Unlike Fallout 4, where the a 30 second radiant quest is followed by a 30 second loading screen (on SSD!), here the action goes on an on for half a hour before loading happens.

    I enjoyed flying the helicopters but hated all other vehicles; controlling cars and most notably planes with mouse and keyboard was really bad for me - I mostly skipped challenges with them as well. Getting around otherwise was easy and the rebel drop system is cool, although the cooldown was a bit long for such fast-paced frenziness.

    The story is simplistic but the action and blowing stuff up was quite enjoyable. I never felt repetition when taking over towns and outposts. I belive JC3 has fewer settlements than JC2 because I can remember I got bored after two dozen locations in my JC2 replay. The map is huge but more desolate and covered mostly in water; however, the stuff density was okay for me.

    The final positive thing was that clearing the heat level happens much faster now. One problem with such sandbox games is that in many games, you start keep accumulating "wanted" level and you can't get away from your chasers; they will hunt you across the map and every shot fired at them just makes things worse. In JC3, I could simply hide somewhere for a minute to get things cleared.

    The game has a few negative sides and annoyances. Crash to desktop, heat seeking missiles not locking on, falling through the terrain and the constant "XY beat your best score in Z", i.e., the always online, 2 minute login leaderboards which can't be disabled unless you pull the plug on your internet connection.

    Just Cause 3 was a great fun, and even though you can re-oppress settlements, I don't feel the urge to take on them again or replay the game.
    Expand
  55. Dec 18, 2015
    0
    So bad optimized! It doesnt run on my system well

    System:
    i7 6700K & R9 290 with 20 FPS -.-
    And the first patch fixes online leaderboards for a single player game.
    Fantastic! i will never buying any game from Avalanche Studios again
  56. Dec 2, 2015
    7
    Anybody that gives this game a 0 is either an idiot or just wants to prove a point and not actually grade the game. Even due to the graphics and physics you CAN NOT rate this game with a 0. Take a moment to applaud the idiots that did.

    Now, regarding the game, I didn't find it particularly amusing. It's fun at the beginning and it's nice to admire the scenery, try a few stunts, but it
    Anybody that gives this game a 0 is either an idiot or just wants to prove a point and not actually grade the game. Even due to the graphics and physics you CAN NOT rate this game with a 0. Take a moment to applaud the idiots that did.

    Now, regarding the game, I didn't find it particularly amusing. It's fun at the beginning and it's nice to admire the scenery, try a few stunts, but it gets really old, really fast and you start getting bored with it. Don't regret spending the money, but wouldn't spend time replaying it.
    Expand
  57. Dec 7, 2015
    0
    In its current state Just Cause 3 is a buggy, always online, poorly optimized, open world, blow em upper with not enough interesting things to destroy. Disregarding the terrible optimization and constant buggery, and awful loading times the game isn't that fun. The world is huge, but feels empty as well. If fallout 4 was called by some "as large as an ocean, as shallow as a puddle", butIn its current state Just Cause 3 is a buggy, always online, poorly optimized, open world, blow em upper with not enough interesting things to destroy. Disregarding the terrible optimization and constant buggery, and awful loading times the game isn't that fun. The world is huge, but feels empty as well. If fallout 4 was called by some "as large as an ocean, as shallow as a puddle", but Just Cause 3 totally destroys it in the shallowness department. The areas are beautiful but feel samey, and you will eventually just end up lazily rushing through the world because nothing is interesting enough to hold your attention. Disregarding all of that however and we are given a totally broken mess of a game. It has **** always online DRM mechanics that will make you wait upwards of 2 minutes trying to connect to a server that goes down if someone sneezes at it the wrong way and then will try and reconnect you for no reason right when the action gets good. The game is as buggy as a big bug bugging out in a dune buggy as well. I kept falling through the world and breaking stuff I didn't mean to because they rushed this thing out the door faster than a man making retching noises on your new carpet. Also its poorly optimized and will only get a good framerate if your running it on the god damn Millennium Falcon's navicomputer. TL; DR: GAME IS BUGGY AND SHALLOW AND NOT WORTH 60 DOLLARS. WAIT UNTIL IT GETS PATCHED AND DROPS PRICE TO AROUND THE 40-50 DOLLAR MARK. Expand
  58. Dec 2, 2015
    0
    After downloading the game I started it through steam. Seemed to work fine until it asked me to provide my email. After hitting skip and clicking on the text box (I tried both) the game minimized itself. After trying to reopen the game by clicking on the program it would just minimize itself again. I could hear the sound effects in the background, but couldn't do anything. I foughtAfter downloading the game I started it through steam. Seemed to work fine until it asked me to provide my email. After hitting skip and clicking on the text box (I tried both) the game minimized itself. After trying to reopen the game by clicking on the program it would just minimize itself again. I could hear the sound effects in the background, but couldn't do anything. I fought with it and tried to change the settings, but nothing appeared to work. It managed to get itself into windowed mode, which allowed me to access the game menu and at least try and start it. After trying to skip the initial cut scene the game crashed. After about 45 minutes of this, I submitted a request for a full refund from Steam since they have pretty strict return requirements (less than 2 hours of game play and within 14 days of purchase). The minimized screen accounted for 30 minutes of "game play". I didn't want to accrue too much game time so hence the refund request.

    I may try and play it again after the bugs have been fixed, but I don't think I'll be forking over $60 any time soon. I don't mind paying $60 for a new game with some glitches on release day, but I at least expect it to work and give me some enjoyment. I'll probably wait until it drops to $20 or $30 which will probably be about a year or more.
    Expand
  59. Dec 2, 2015
    2
    I pre-purchased the game with dlc from steam, and now i regret it.
    The game is a crap - in the first mission itself one can find out that - you are visiting an area and tasked to destroy a few things that's it. All is focused on explosions, almost no story line. The worst part, Long Loading Times -

    Also not to forget the fps issue, even with JC3.
  60. Dec 1, 2015
    8
    This game is pretty good for it's price. Nice visuals, stunts and effects.
    This game actually not perfect because of no steam controller support and awful translation into Russian language.
    But if you are not Russian or have no Steam Controller - you don't care, right? 8/10
  61. Dec 3, 2015
    1
    MGS V the phantom pain, Fallout 4, Assassin's Creed Syndicate and now just cause 3. Can this year get more disappointing?
    Thanks for ruining all these great games, companies$$$$
  62. Dec 2, 2015
    8
    It is really funny how people call just cause 2 a great game and this one **** It has everything JC 2 had and what you can expect from a SEQUEL, much better graphics, revamped systems, a better UI, movement is 10 times better, Wingsuit, really frigging nice explosions, ACTUAL UNOCKABLE SKILLS etc. , much better map design (towns and landscapes look like legit places now) and last but notIt is really funny how people call just cause 2 a great game and this one **** It has everything JC 2 had and what you can expect from a SEQUEL, much better graphics, revamped systems, a better UI, movement is 10 times better, Wingsuit, really frigging nice explosions, ACTUAL UNOCKABLE SKILLS etc. , much better map design (towns and landscapes look like legit places now) and last but not least you can collect all the vehicles in the game and make them available for drops. Some other stuff as well.

    And people talking about the game being unplayable... well, even though it doesn't support my SLI setup, I can run this maxed 1080 at 60-80 fps on 1 GTX970 which is WAY better than games like the Witcher 3 that ran at 45 fps on ultra 1080p. Of course, W3 looked better (expecially on the LOD part) but the textures were also kind of crap at the start (they patched it later). JC3 is not an ugly game really, it is just not. That a game is not as pretty as the most pretty games ever doesn't mean it's is instantly ugly.

    But seriously, people calling it repetitive and boring have either never played a JC game before, don't even have the game, are trolling or have bought the game with wrong expectations. JC 2 was exactly the same thing but a lot more clunky and worse on many surfaces (especially optimization) yet that one had a way higher score?

    Man, gamers are whiners these days.

    8/10..... 9/10 when SLI actually works.
    Expand
  63. Dec 4, 2015
    8
    Everything is working fine on my side. I5 4670k 8gb Ram Hd 7970 matrix platinum edition
    Ati's newest beta driver installed. If you have low FPS, change settings, set lightning off, turn FXAA on, and lower LOD, then restart the game and everything should work fine.
    One of the best sandbox games, with improved mechanics. I dont play it because of the story, i just need a good reason to
    Everything is working fine on my side. I5 4670k 8gb Ram Hd 7970 matrix platinum edition
    Ati's newest beta driver installed. If you have low FPS, change settings, set lightning off, turn FXAA on, and lower LOD, then restart the game and everything should work fine.

    One of the best sandbox games, with improved mechanics. I dont play it because of the story, i just need a good reason to blow everything up while I'm getting used to my grappling hood and the wingsuit. I'm playing it with a gamepad so no problems on my side with the controlls, but i started with keyboard and mouse and it was also okay. It could be better, but it is playable with mouse and keyboard. So after all, a nice and funny game for a lot of hours experimenting with all the features and breaking every record of other players :D e.g. using the hook to let enemies fly away and getting the best travelling distance without hitting the bottom.
    Expand
  64. Apr 8, 2016
    0
    A poor console port. The controls are horrible and not made for PC at all. Settings are saved on the Square Enix servers (really?). If I want to enjoy a game with the controller I would purchase games for a console not on a PC.
  65. Dec 9, 2015
    10
    Just Cause 3 is an amazing game. The reason a lot of the negative reviews exist is because those people are looking at Just Cause 2 through rose tinted glasses. Having to be online to play the game is a load of crap, you can play the game in offline mode. I'm playing with a mouse and keyboard with the controls being about as good as wasd controls get.
    The gameplay is very good. Driving is
    Just Cause 3 is an amazing game. The reason a lot of the negative reviews exist is because those people are looking at Just Cause 2 through rose tinted glasses. Having to be online to play the game is a load of crap, you can play the game in offline mode. I'm playing with a mouse and keyboard with the controls being about as good as wasd controls get.
    The gameplay is very good. Driving is hard but turning off vehicle camera auto align makes it a ton easier! Flying around with the wingsuit is awesome and when you get the hang of it is really really easy. Rebel drops work incredibly well and quickly. The explosion are everywhere and I have yet to get tired of them.
    On AMD the game seems to run bad, but on my 970 and an i7 3770k I'm running ultra 70-80 fps with some frame drops when I have have an entire city exploding.
    If you've never played JC2 then get this game and you'll enjoy the hell out of it. If you have played JC2 then stop looking at it like JC2 was made of solid gold and enjoy JC3. Don't think the game will hold your hand, experiment and see if you can attach rockets to a cow and see how far it will fly. Enjoy the game!
    Expand
  66. Dec 9, 2015
    8
    To address some of the comments here that are attached to zero score reviews:

    - it lacks optimization: perhaps your machine does not meet the specs for the types of settings you desire? I have everything set to max settings and have not had any issues, getting consistently high frame rates. The engine runs well and the explosions look stunning - there is no plot, you just blow stuff
    To address some of the comments here that are attached to zero score reviews:

    - it lacks optimization: perhaps your machine does not meet the specs for the types of settings you desire? I have everything set to max settings and have not had any issues, getting consistently high frame rates. The engine runs well and the explosions look stunning

    - there is no plot, you just blow stuff up: yes, exactly - welcome to Just Cause, a very freeform physics sandbox built for making your own fun play. Simply traversing the world is a joy unto itself.

    Is it shallow: yep. Is it insanely FUN: yes!!!
    Expand
  67. Dec 2, 2015
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I prefer this to just cause 2 simply because if you get board you can play the game how you want to just go on a rampage.
    And alot of people are giving it negative reviews because it wont run ot there system i have had no problems what ever'
    Great engine on my system silky smooth no lag first half hr of gameplay long loading but after fine.
    And what game can you tether a person behind your car and brag then along.
    Expand
  68. Dec 5, 2015
    2
    Unfinished broken mess of a game. The game goes from 80 fps down to sub 30 fps on my GTX 970 PC in a matter of seconds, that's completely unacceptable. Flying around in a wingsuit is fun but that's about all that's fun in this game. The missions are boring and repetitive and liberating outposts is tedious and annoying. Its a shame because I loved Just Cause 2.
  69. Dec 1, 2015
    0
    Unfortunately the game for me runs poorly, my specs are above the recommended and G-force optimises my game to high settings, but FPS drops and stutters are persistent. You should wait until they release a patch or 2 before buying. Or you could take a chance and hope your system is one of the random setups that runs the game OK.

    Can't recommend in its current state, it's disappointing
    Unfortunately the game for me runs poorly, my specs are above the recommended and G-force optimises my game to high settings, but FPS drops and stutters are persistent. You should wait until they release a patch or 2 before buying. Or you could take a chance and hope your system is one of the random setups that runs the game OK.

    Can't recommend in its current state, it's disappointing as Mad Max run and looked amazing, not sure how or why this went so wrong for a lot of us. If you have issues don't wait, get a refund as it may never get fixed (Batman anyone?) And rebuy at a later date, if they fix it. Or Console is also an option if you really want to play.
    Expand
  70. Dec 1, 2015
    9
    After using the most recent drivers for my 970, the performance issues are forgotten and I am able to focus on the fun, chaotic sandbox of JC3.

    The wing suit is by far one of the coolest gameplay mechanics to date, and the visual fidelity is breathtaking. However one aspect of the game steals the show... the water. It's uncanny how realistic it is, and how fun driving a speedboat
    After using the most recent drivers for my 970, the performance issues are forgotten and I am able to focus on the fun, chaotic sandbox of JC3.

    The wing suit is by far one of the coolest gameplay mechanics to date, and the visual fidelity is breathtaking.

    However one aspect of the game steals the show... the water. It's uncanny how realistic it is, and how fun driving a speedboat over the waves can be. I'm quite impressed by the realism it adds, and how beautiful and clear the water is near the shore.
    Expand
  71. Dec 10, 2015
    10
    Don't believe negative reviews. it is the Best open world sand box game ever
    There are many things to do in this game and it is really fun. The world is very beautiful and the graphics are the best. Everything is physics based.
  72. fr6
    Dec 15, 2015
    10
    Love just cause 2 and 3 this is mega mega that i wish again to play that just cause 2 and DLC from just cause 2 and again and now this just cause 3 am playing and its amazing :D
  73. Dec 6, 2015
    10
    Well, this-is.. Amazing.One of the best game i played since long time. Who cares about the plot. I'm full of all that games that want to give an amazing plot when probably best part of the players even care. this, is a game.you can do everything you want. he is an old style hero, a real one. some good joke while i shot with my bazooka, cool attitude, superstrong, unbeatable. Big map, lotWell, this-is.. Amazing.One of the best game i played since long time. Who cares about the plot. I'm full of all that games that want to give an amazing plot when probably best part of the players even care. this, is a game.you can do everything you want. he is an old style hero, a real one. some good joke while i shot with my bazooka, cool attitude, superstrong, unbeatable. Big map, lot of thing to do. The MOD system is cool.
    Now the part about the graphic:
    Yes there are problem on PC version. I have an i5-4670k 3.40ghz, 8gb ram,geforceGTX 760, and it give me some problem, mostly when i turn on myself very fast, and there is some "lag", but all that kids who say that is worst that BATMAN are real morons. you can play any way. probably in 2/3 weeks we will have the patch, so be patient. i cant stay here and read some stupid newbie who say "is possible that for everygame that come out we need a patch?". yes is possible, you konw howw difficult is to make a triple A game in this period? shut the **** up and go to work or play something else. you are not playing supremario bros, this are amsterpieces idiot, id like to see you do anything like. this.
    Expand
  74. Dec 6, 2015
    0
    Graphics are really nice, but the gameplay manages to be very repetitive for number of reasons.

    1) No innovation - At its core it's a worse version of JC 2. The setting and map in JC 2 was far more interesting and full of locations. The map here feels so empty and lifeless. The core gameplay is pretty much the same as JC 2 as well. 2) Locked skills - This company has the nasty habit
    Graphics are really nice, but the gameplay manages to be very repetitive for number of reasons.

    1) No innovation - At its core it's a worse version of JC 2. The setting and map in JC 2 was far more interesting and full of locations. The map here feels so empty and lifeless. The core gameplay is pretty much the same as JC 2 as well.

    2) Locked skills - This company has the nasty habit of locking all things behind a skill wall, even simple things like weapon zoom. They actually force you to do OPTIONAL content, which is a terrible approach to gameplay. Side content should not impede with player's ability to have fun in the main game. These requirements just make me bored and feel like work.

    3) Mediocre story - None of the characters are memorable so far. They said the story will be more personal and flushed out. I don't see any of that so far.

    4) Side activities are really boring and phoned in.

    5) Tons of bugs and glitches !

    So, there you have it. JC 3 is another mediocre game that has no passion behind it. Get it in the future for cheaper price.
    Expand
  75. Dec 1, 2015
    9
    Awesome game. So far I'm 10 hrs into it and I've liberated the entire first massive area, which looks to be the same size as like 1/8th of the other massive island and 1/4 of the other one. So..... a little bit scary how massive the world is. Though as usual it's the same affair as with JC2. Shoot everything that is red. Blow it all up and watch in awe as everything explodes and collapsesAwesome game. So far I'm 10 hrs into it and I've liberated the entire first massive area, which looks to be the same size as like 1/8th of the other massive island and 1/4 of the other one. So..... a little bit scary how massive the world is. Though as usual it's the same affair as with JC2. Shoot everything that is red. Blow it all up and watch in awe as everything explodes and collapses all over the place. It's more of a physics and explosions sand box with beautiful looking water and some sexy machines and weapons to be unlocked. The same infinite parachute and grappling hook are here, but now there's a wingsuit. And I am really addicted to doing all the wingsuit challenge courses. Story is one massive parody of gaming, itself, and silly movie plots. But what it delivers this well enough to entertain you. Definitely recommend it. Although I will point out that other people seem to be complaining about performance. I haven't had any issues on i7 4770K and 770GTX with 16GB ram and installed the game to SSD. Load times are ~10 seconds. In the entire 10 hrs I had 1 crash to desktop, but upon reloading the game there was an autosave right where I was so I lost no progress. I had to set LOD and Shadows to medium and get ~40-45 fps, with some slow downs when Heat hits Level 5 dipping to 30 fps. Hopefully they can improve a little bit as it feels like any lag is due to the online tracking of almost everything you do, highest altitude, most headshots, longest free fall, most kills with 1 grenade etc. and compares this to your friends. Expand
  76. Dec 1, 2015
    9
    This game is like GTA5 with more guns and explosions, mixed with Spiderman movement. The glitches thus far haven't been game-breaking in my experience and I think they'll work them out soon. And it certainly doesn't detract from the unadulterated chaos and mayhem that I've found so enjoyable so far.
    Just remember, this game isn't meant to be taken seriously. It is a playground of fun
    This game is like GTA5 with more guns and explosions, mixed with Spiderman movement. The glitches thus far haven't been game-breaking in my experience and I think they'll work them out soon. And it certainly doesn't detract from the unadulterated chaos and mayhem that I've found so enjoyable so far.
    Just remember, this game isn't meant to be taken seriously. It is a playground of fun and it does that really, really well.
    Expand
  77. Dec 3, 2015
    10
    Just Cause 3 takes the best parts of Just Cause 2 and makes them a hell of a lot better. Improved grapple hook that lets you fire multiple, letting you grapple 2 objects and pull them together. They also added a wingsuit that makes traversing the many islands exiting and beautiful...and of course you have the explosions that look absolutely stellar.
  78. Dec 3, 2015
    9
    What i have seen from this game it looks pretty good and very fun that's why i am giving it a 9/10. You should play this game. Just cause 2 was good but this ups the ante by a lot.
  79. Dec 13, 2015
    0
    The game is really fun and has amazing graphics and a huge world.It's great! That is if you are lucky enough to run it.This game runs worst than Batman AK and Unity.Do not buy this until this gets sorted.
  80. Dec 2, 2015
    9
    Excellent game, especially at the price. A very worthy sequel to Just Cause 2. Map is huge and varied. Plenty of different vehicles too. In game physics are excellent. Graphics are quite good (ultra setting). The game performance is smooth and loading times are minimal. The game does crash sometimes but hopefully this will be sorted out very soon.
  81. Dec 4, 2015
    3
    AMD BEWARE!!! map was just triangles even with a r9 290x so I thought oh well not very optimized for this card so I put in my old r9 280 nope still **** triangles lol I have to use an even older Nvidia card to play, game companies like this are a cancer to PC gaming. gameplay is fun but I cannot respect the release now fix later attitude
  82. Dec 2, 2015
    10
    If want a serious game then avoid this but if you're looking for a game with, as far as I can see, endless hours of fun to be had then this is the game for you to buy. The controls are great and the map is HUGE. I would say that could easily be one of the best games you've ever played in your entire life. You'll get most of your fun out of this game just by messing around which isIf want a serious game then avoid this but if you're looking for a game with, as far as I can see, endless hours of fun to be had then this is the game for you to buy. The controls are great and the map is HUGE. I would say that could easily be one of the best games you've ever played in your entire life. You'll get most of your fun out of this game just by messing around which is something you can't say for many games at all. Expand
  83. Dec 2, 2015
    6
    I had high hopes for a new Just Cause game to drop. But when this game came out today, I felt that Just Cause 3 is fine and all but couldn't match the shear amount of how awesome the second game as if Michael Bay would've ever dreamed of making a Just Cause movie filled with explosions. JC3 is a disappointment for me. Issues with the specs. Frustrating camera
  84. Dec 7, 2015
    10
    Just a ton of fun, the grappling hook is absolutely brilliant. This game is a ton of chaos and a giant physics sandbox. Reached a lot of expectations.
  85. Dec 2, 2015
    1
    The game is fun, if you like constant stuttering and crashes. I play on PC with an i7, 8GB ram and a GTX 760 and on medium settings im getting less than 30 FPS with stuttering constantly. When my rig can run Fallout 4 on high and 60fps no bother. This needs to be patched ASAP and in doing so i will alter my review. Until then its an unplayable mess.
  86. Dec 1, 2015
    9
    The game is just plain FUN! Running it on a SSD, i74930k, 32gb Ram, and GTX 780 Ti OC at 3440x1440p. The game is running well above 60fps with moderately high settings. There are some rough areas in the cutscenes but overall the game is too much fun to care! WELL WORTH PURCHASING!
  87. Jan 1, 2017
    0
    I was pretty hard to launch the game first time. It crashed few times, hung my PC few times... When I finally managed to start it - it worked perfectly. But it looks like it manages to start only few times in a week. Other times it tells that I have no internet connection and freezes (my connection is perfect by the way), or just freezes on a first loading screen.
    When it works - it's a
    I was pretty hard to launch the game first time. It crashed few times, hung my PC few times... When I finally managed to start it - it worked perfectly. But it looks like it manages to start only few times in a week. Other times it tells that I have no internet connection and freezes (my connection is perfect by the way), or just freezes on a first loading screen.
    When it works - it's a great game, really fun and perfectly optimized. But what's a point of this when I can't actually play it?
    Expand
  88. Dec 17, 2015
    9
    This is my first game in the Just Cause series and I wasn't sure what to expect. I think you have to take the game for what it is, and that is basically a ridiculous amount of blowing crap up and completing tons of missions. The world is very large and there are a lot of things to do, and the more you play it the more you get in to the game.

    It doesn't have a well constructed story,
    This is my first game in the Just Cause series and I wasn't sure what to expect. I think you have to take the game for what it is, and that is basically a ridiculous amount of blowing crap up and completing tons of missions. The world is very large and there are a lot of things to do, and the more you play it the more you get in to the game.

    It doesn't have a well constructed story, but it makes up for that in terms of having an arsenal of guns, gear and vehicles to ensure that you spend hours on end just doing one more mission. Probably my favourite game of the year, due to the fact that you can simply pick up the game for a quick mission or 2, or spend several hours playing through the campaign.

    Finally your hardware needs to be relatively new to make sure this game runs smoothly. A lot of issues PC gamers have seem to be from running old gear and not checking the minimum requirements. I've had no issues with running the game on a GTX 980Ti as well as a GTX 970 both with Haswell chips.

    Great game and if you enjoy blowing up bases or grappling people to buildings, this is a must buy.
    Expand
  89. Dec 7, 2015
    9
    Отличное sandbox-залипалово, как раз то что нужно после серьезного Fallout 4, такая легкая непринужденная и солнечная игра-аттракцион, где нужно развлекать себя самому, и это ни в коем случае не минус - развлекать себя в ней очень просто, и удастся каждому. Карта поражает своими масштабами. Из минусов - оптимизация на ПК, нужен уж очень мощный компьютер (общей стоимостью тысяч так в 150),Отличное sandbox-залипалово, как раз то что нужно после серьезного Fallout 4, такая легкая непринужденная и солнечная игра-аттракцион, где нужно развлекать себя самому, и это ни в коем случае не минус - развлекать себя в ней очень просто, и удастся каждому. Карта поражает своими масштабами. Из минусов - оптимизация на ПК, нужен уж очень мощный компьютер (общей стоимостью тысяч так в 150), чтобы получить заветные 60 fps. Expand
  90. Dec 8, 2015
    8
    Great gameplay, fantastic graphics, story seems alright but IT IS NOT IMPORTANT BECAUSE YOU ARE A FLYING SQUIRREL SPIDERMAN HYBRID. The traversal in this game was all I needed and I bet it will be for you too
  91. Dec 12, 2015
    8
    I'm not sure why there are so many bad reviews for this game. In short, its a great game if you want to run around, blow things up and do literally whatever the hell you want. The story isnt really in depth, but it doesnt have to be. I've had plenty of fun playing this game, and the graphics are outstanding.
  92. Feb 27, 2019
    4
    While I loved Just Cause 2 and played the hell out of it, just don't feel the same with Just Cause 3. The controls feel terrible and clunky and the characters are annoying and just not having fun at all. It seems like that just cause 3 takes out all the fun elements that JC2 had and just makes it feel tedious and bland.

    When Iam starting to get into it get interrupted by annoying load
    While I loved Just Cause 2 and played the hell out of it, just don't feel the same with Just Cause 3. The controls feel terrible and clunky and the characters are annoying and just not having fun at all. It seems like that just cause 3 takes out all the fun elements that JC2 had and just makes it feel tedious and bland.

    When Iam starting to get into it get interrupted by annoying load screens and have to watch stupid characters like Mario yammer on in a boring soulless way.
    Just can't get into it at all.
    Game feels off and lacking in a certain je ne sais quoi as the French say not sure what??

    And after this appalling game there is no way I'd go near JC4 as that seems even worse.
    Expand
  93. Mar 23, 2016
    8
    Just cause 3,
    massive map, massive fun, and massive let down.
    Just cause 3 is a 3rd person action adventure gamewhere you play as rico rodriguez, set out to liberate the massive island you’re on... You do this equipped with some guns, a parachute, and a grappling gun… Just cause 3 is hilarious, and never takes itself seriously... it knows it’s a ridiculous videogame and it makes fun of
    Just cause 3,
    massive map, massive fun, and massive let down.
    Just cause 3 is a 3rd person action adventure gamewhere you play as rico rodriguez, set out to liberate the massive island you’re on...
    You do this equipped with some guns, a parachute, and a grappling gun…
    Just cause 3 is hilarious, and never takes itself seriously... it knows it’s a ridiculous videogame and it makes fun of itself the entire way…
    You’re going to have a blast for the first few hours of this game...
    There’s seemingly so much to do...
    There are cars to collect... missions to do... towns and bases to liberate, and challenges to conquer
    plus basically the entire world is destructive
    unfortunately, this becomes stale very quickly…
    Apart from the hilarious cut scenes, there’s nothing special about the campaign, it’s your typical fight your way to the bad guy story, get the things he’s after before he does…
    what I found pretty clever though is that a couple missions require you to liberate sections of the map before they will unlock..
    This forces you to do the best parts of the game in my opinion...
    Liberating can be fun... at least the military bases...
    You basically go in and destroy all of their goods while they try and stop you…
    and this is the meat of the game…
    it’s a clean the map game which again is fun for a while, but is massively repetitive…
    I feel like the staleness comes from the restrictions the game puts on you…
    For starters as you complete missions and get stars from missions you’ll unlock vehicles and guns…
    the great thing is you can request these items from a drop box anytime at all
    the problem is you need a beacon to do this…
    This is bad because you’ll find yourself in the middle of nowhere many times after a mission with no beacons or a helicopter in sight... causing you to have to grapple way 8,000 km to your next way point
    Sure infinite beacons would’ve made just cause 3 much easier.. But more importantly I feel like it would make the game much more fun...
    more about causing destruction and mayhem and less about forcing you to traverse a massive but empty world….it isn’t a game you play for challenge anyway or really a game you play to explore…
    the same issue can be found with fast travel..
    You can only carry 1 flare at a time and you need this flare to fast travel to a location…
    I would’ve much rather had fast travels be endless but limited to liberated bases...
    This would’ve given me incentive to liberate beyond the minimum to complete the story…
    but while you are creating havoc, almost everything you do is tied to a score so you can try to outdo your friends in craziness…
    you can of course opt out and play offline. .but annoyingly every time you go to check the map or pause the game it tries to log you in stopping all flow and immersion of the game...
    This is by far the greatest sin the game commits…
    I had games downloading in the background so it would attempt to log in for minutes, causing me to get distracted numerous times by something else… only to remember oh yeah, I was playing just cause 3…
    When I enter offline mode, please keep me there until I opt in to online...
    don’t try to force it
    while there are hours of fun to be had in just cause 3
    I didn’t really find the journey to be worth it all in the end…
    There’s a good time here, just no real substance
    I give just cause 3 an 8/10
    Expand
  94. Aug 29, 2019
    5
    For 3$ on sale, I'm not sure if I could complain about a repetitive and boring open world shooter with nothing to offer but nonstop explosions, ridiculously bad driving controls and bland gunplay. But hey, it's still fun because it's cheap, just enjoy the mayhem that this franchise proudly markets itself with.
  95. Dec 20, 2015
    10
    THE greatest game, OF ALL TIME. They perfected the destruction physics, and those who complain, it hasnt been fully released! There are more guns, an uber-massive map.
  96. Dec 16, 2015
    8
    People saying "I played this ALL day/for ages/completed it" etc. and scoring it a 0 can't have much else going on in the way of fun. If something is so GDamn awful that you can play it for that long and cannot find a single thing that was positive... nothing in life must please you. I've been playing this one since the weekend and it's an absolute riot! There are definitely things thatPeople saying "I played this ALL day/for ages/completed it" etc. and scoring it a 0 can't have much else going on in the way of fun. If something is so GDamn awful that you can play it for that long and cannot find a single thing that was positive... nothing in life must please you. I've been playing this one since the weekend and it's an absolute riot! There are definitely things that could be better, and that would've really made it feel like there was a point to the story - but I see it how I saw JC2: the story just pushes you along to new parts of the open world, but the real fun happens when you lose yourself in flying around, causing chaos, enjoying the randomness of the results and being entertained by how much you can do without needing a story to motivate you. Pure adrenaline, pure fun, pure chaos. 10/10 would play again! Expand
  97. Dec 21, 2015
    8
    It got way too much bugs but once you got away and manage to run smoothly, it gets amazing. At first, this was a headache but i searched in forums and there's a solution for almost everything. Now i barely see it crash (which is why it got 8 instead of a total 0). Story is a little repetitive but not boring. Overall a great game and if Square Enix fix this annoying bugs, you will haveIt got way too much bugs but once you got away and manage to run smoothly, it gets amazing. At first, this was a headache but i searched in forums and there's a solution for almost everything. Now i barely see it crash (which is why it got 8 instead of a total 0). Story is a little repetitive but not boring. Overall a great game and if Square Enix fix this annoying bugs, you will have tons of fun. Expand
  98. Dec 26, 2015
    10
    Just Cause 3 is one of the best games I have ever seen I have told all of my friends to play it just because I absolutely love it just all the scenic/things to do of it is so well made even so that It has glitches every game has glitches some more than others and they will fix them but if you think you are absolutely better than it and you think it sucks I would like to see you make a gameJust Cause 3 is one of the best games I have ever seen I have told all of my friends to play it just because I absolutely love it just all the scenic/things to do of it is so well made even so that It has glitches every game has glitches some more than others and they will fix them but if you think you are absolutely better than it and you think it sucks I would like to see you make a game for me oh right you can't too all that is watching this i advise you that this game is ultimately great and Its awesome so you definitely should get it and wait maybe they might make a fourth. Expand
  99. Jan 8, 2016
    10
    Just Cause 3 has only one downside and that is that it is too short I liked this game very much and I think I will be playing this game over and ober again
  100. Jan 31, 2016
    10
    10/10 game, never gets old shooting and exploding people in various games for a good chunk of my waking hours every day. this game is a great use of my time, plot is stupid just ignore it, read a book if u want plot
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 50 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Games Master UK
    Feb 9, 2016
    79
    This isn't the best open-world game, but it's a blast. [Jan 2016, p.62]
  2. CD-Action
    Feb 4, 2016
    85
    It boasts some great improvements over the previous game of the series, but does not evolve the formula in any significant way. It looks better and lets you glide in a wingsuit, but its scale is not surprising anymore. It lets you unleash wonderful chaos in unscripted skirmishes, but its story missions fail to enrich the experience. All the same it is my kind of game. I love playing with its systems, I appreciate the effort put into JC3 and I return to Medici from time to time for condensed doses of havoc. [01/2016, p.48]
  3. Jan 19, 2016
    80
    Just Cause 3 is a monument to excess. It’s Hot Shots. It’s Charlie Chaplin in The Dictator, if Charlie Chaplin had rocket-powered C4 in his boots. It’s that scene in Dr. Strangelove where Slim Pickens rides the nuke into Russia, except...well, no, it’s pretty much exactly that scene on repeat for 25-30 hours.