Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Jan 8, 2019
    84
    Work through the presentational ugliness and technical awkwardness, and you’ll find an experience of frightening depth.
  2. Feb 25, 2019
    80
    Do not trust your first impression - this game is a true gem. Elaborate, huge, unbridled, stylish, fresh, captivatingly different. The only blemish is its poor performance and many bugs.
  3. Jan 10, 2019
    80
    Kenshi is a colossal RPG that allow you explore its vast world whatever you want. You can be a thief, assassin or a simple farmer, and you will find always great adventures to live.
  4. Dec 31, 2018
    80
    Kenshi is not a normal game and it's necessary to understand the long development and the intention of the developer to judge it. With its infinite possibilities, there's quite nothing like it and it's a dream come true for some players, but others will find the dated graphics and poor optimization unacceptable. Still, to create such an open world so well crafted with such a small team deserves the utmost respect
  5. Dec 6, 2018
    80
    Kenshi is the Dark Souls of the hardcore RPG segment.
  6. Jan 14, 2019
    75
    An intriguing RPG/Survival hybrid sandbox that invites you to experiment in the world it presents. Some technical hiccups interrupt the open world and the freeform nature definitely isn’t for everyone but if you are after something different, Kenshi is the very definition of that.
  7. Dec 17, 2018
    75
    Kenshi has hard difficulty. Kenshi is bugged as hell. Kenshi demands patience. But in return, Kenshi offers opportunities and freedom that you won't find anywhere in the RPG genre. If Kenshi were a AAA title with an unlimited budget, huge team, and high-quality design it would deserve much higher praise.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. A game of everything, a game of nothing. Eternal, unknowable, remarkable, infuriating, Kenshi defies easy judgement. Kenshi is. I implore you to play it. [RPS Bestest Bests]
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 239 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 239
  1. May 19, 2013
    10
    Its not best 10 bucks ever spend (best was Minecraft), but this GAME got AMAZING potential. I check every day for new updates. Now I see timeIts not best 10 bucks ever spend (best was Minecraft), but this GAME got AMAZING potential. I check every day for new updates. Now I see time when I will pickpocket town guards. Full Review »
  2. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    many features for an early development game and i really enjoy the level of freedom. definetly worth the 15 bucks and just the thought thatmany features for an early development game and i really enjoy the level of freedom. definetly worth the 15 bucks and just the thought that all this came from one guy is crazy iam all in! Full Review »
  3. Mar 25, 2013
    0
    A unpolished, unfinished product that is currently being sold for "early access" (aka cash grab), Kenshi advertises itself as a "open ended,A unpolished, unfinished product that is currently being sold for "early access" (aka cash grab), Kenshi advertises itself as a "open ended, sandbox, squad based strategy."

    What it really is, is a unfinished product that doesn't even have sound, it is a massive grind and waste of time. Do yourself a favor and buy paint and watch it dry. You'll save money.
    Full Review »