Kentucky Route Zero - Act IV Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 43 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Kentucky Route Zero is a magical realistic adventure game about a secret highway in the caves beneath Kentucky, and the mysterious folks who travel it.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Kentucky Route Zero - IGF Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Aug 7, 2016
    100
    Kentucky Route Zero Act IV is fu*king fantastic.
  2. Sep 1, 2016
    95
    Kentucky Route Zero is simply a game you can't miss. It's a marvelous piece of art with addictive dialogues and a perfect soundtrack.
  3. Oct 11, 2016
    93
    In a narrative sense, Act IV is most likely the calm before the storm in Act V, and falls perfectly in line with the five-act structure often used to analyze Shakespeare (the section of falling action). The best adventures are ones where the location — physically and mentally — one begins and where one ends up are shockingly, violently different. Kentucky Route Zero embodies this notion as the characters (and the player) disappear into the night.
  4. Jul 31, 2016
    90
    As you journey down the Echo, the ancestral darkness of River Lethe, you remember. Kentucky Route Zero has now transcended the video game medium and has become an incredibly strong argument for video games as a pure art form.
  5. Jul 22, 2016
    85
    Route Zero: Act 4 constantly alternates between serene and unsettling, with the occasional dash of humor thrown in.
  6. Jul 26, 2016
    81
    From the room of VHS tapes, to the security footage, to the bat sanctuary, to the theremin performance, to the camera’s final, extended retreat up the rickety helix of a spiral staircase; Act IV confronts us with scenarios that test and limit our perception. Like Snow’s Wavelength, it gives us just enough to trick us into feeling like we’ve glimpsed something real.
  7. Aug 29, 2016
    80
    Act IV is a slow, meandering episode that continues Kentucky Route Zero’s streak of quiet, introspective, blue collar beauty.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 2 out of 4
  1. Aug 9, 2016
    10
    I don't review games but this game deserves it.This has been the most amazing game experience i've ever had.If David Fincher made a game thisI don't review games but this game deserves it.This has been the most amazing game experience i've ever had.If David Fincher made a game this would be it. Expand
  2. Aug 18, 2016
    10
    A stunning, melancholy work of art. Probably the most understated act so far, Act IV is rather slow-paced and more text-heavy than other acts,A stunning, melancholy work of art. Probably the most understated act so far, Act IV is rather slow-paced and more text-heavy than other acts, so you really need to buy into and appreciate the KRZ mythology; if you didn't like previous acts this one will definitely not win you over. However, if you're already in love with the world of the game, you'll love exploring the settings (there are some beautiful ones here) and learning more about the characters and their backgrounds. This act is also designed to be replayed at least once, as you have to make choices that affect which scenes you end up playing (i.e. whether to stay on the boat or get off at various stops). Kentucky Route Zero continues to be possibly the most profound and beautiful games I've ever played. Expand
  3. Aug 9, 2016
    4
    Nice minimalistic art style but my god is this game boring. I relatively liked episodes 1-3, even though there was too much flow walking,Nice minimalistic art style but my god is this game boring. I relatively liked episodes 1-3, even though there was too much flow walking, obtuse puzzles, and just stuff that was too weird. This episode was just mind numbingly boring. The set and music is good, but the gameplay is unexciting. Collapse
  4. Feb 28, 2018
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. [Erring on the side of quick, rather than pretty, writing. Also, no story spoilers, but I mention some mechanics that some might find spoiler-y.]

    Season narrative starts intriguing then gets more vague over time; not very rewarding, from a reader's perspective. Gameplay starts w/ a map that feels open and free (Ep1); ends w/ a circle you get dragged around (Ep4); from a gamer's perspective, kinda neutering and painful to sit thru.

    4 feels like being forced to read every book you stumble upon in Skyrim; a bunch of side stories w/ 0 relevance to any character I care about. Feels more like i'm doing what the devs want me to do, rather than what I want to do.

    Stopped caring about thoughtful dialog choices at this point. It's clear my agency only determines which 1 of 2 scenes plays at each crit-path destination along this one-way circular map.

    Not enough to mention "the Zero" every once in a while. That carrot is dried up somewhere midway thru Ep3.

    Dream version of this game: just a few characters. Even if there were all those side stories that seem inconsequential, it would've been nice to connect them to these few core ppl I know.

    I love that the game reflects on the human condition and whatnot, but it doesn't mean I want to click thru a game that rambles on about it for no reason other than to reflect or ponder. Or if it's all about those bits of human experiences, then start me off wandering the open road, not placed at a gas station w/ a specific video game-y kind of goal (get the power generator running). Start the game off reading and wandering, if it's all about reading these reflections and wandering thru these characters' lives.
    Expand

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The 20 Best PC Games of 2016

    The 20 Best PC Games of 2016 Image
    Published: December 20, 2016
    We rank the highest-scoring computer games released during 2016.

Awards & Rankings