Kingdom Come: Deliverance Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 60 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2521 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Kingdom Come: Deliverance is an open world, action-adventure, role-playing game featuring blockbuster production values, a nonlinear story and revolutionary, first-person melee combat.
Buy On
  • Developer: Warhorse Studios
  • Genre(s): Action Adventure, General, Historic, Role-Playing, Action RPG
  • # of players: No Online Multiplayer
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Rating: M
  • More Details and Credits »

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Kingdom Come: Deliverance - Gameplay Launch Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 60
  2. Negative: 2 out of 60
  1. Feb 15, 2018
    98
    Is this the real life? Is this just fantasy? Thankfully, Kingdom Come: Deliverance is not a landslide, a mix of game and reality. It may not capture the appeal of the overall mainstream, but that’s okay. Anyone willing to take a dive into the niche waters of the gaming world, and not afraid of games being unforgiving, should definitely check this out. I love this game. Open your eyes, give this game a try and see.
  2. Feb 25, 2018
    88
    One can't help but feel awe when considering Warhorse Studios' attention to historical detail in recreating 15th century Bohemia. Kingdom Come: Deliverance is a truly unique and memorable experience from start to finish, but its hardcore mechanics (that sometimes border on pure LARPing) make it a game that is certainly not for everyone.
  3. Feb 14, 2018
    84
    Kingdom Come is a mess of bugs, and there’s the constant feeling that independent developer Warhorse is biting off more than it can chew. But there’s a charm to its scrappiness, and it does enough interesting stuff that I’m willing to tolerate the creaky framework struggling to prop everything up. It’s one of the most satisfying, rewarding role-playing experiences I’ve enjoyed on PC for a while, but the inconsistent performance and the game’s tendency to completely break does test my patience from time to time.
  4. Feb 13, 2018
    80
    Kingdom Come: Deliverance is a huge first person GDR that can count on an higher level of immersion when compared with other similar productions. The combat system is amazing and, even if it will take you some hours to handle a sword correctly, all the time will spent will be worth it. A must-have for all fans of open-world RPGs in search of deeper gameplay mechanics.
  5. Feb 13, 2018
    75
    Great story and medieval atmosphere, but with some technical problems, like low frame-rate, graphic pop-ups and improvable artificial intelligence.
  6. Mar 4, 2018
    70
    Kingdom Come: Deliverance is a fantastic and absolutely frustrating experience. I was treated to a memorable lead character whose agency and development was largely wiped away with a twist late in the game and a collection of incredible gameplay mechanics and quests repeatedly stifled by bugs. Despite its downfalls, though, the good parts of the game are so good.
  7. Feb 13, 2018
    40
    If Kingdom Come: Deliverance has a ton of bug fixing to improve the performance drastically, it could be a hidden gem. It’s clear that the game, despite its grand ambitions, was simply not ready for public consumption. Shimmers of brilliance are there and had it seen more time in the oven, or set its expectations at a more reasonable level, it could have been brilliant and scored significantly higher as a result. Alas, Kingdom Come: Deliverance is another cautionary tale rather than a trend setter.

See all 65 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Feb 13, 2018
    10
    This game is basically dream of every hardcore gamer.
    Its visuals and atmosphere are amazing, mechanics are truly unique and very realistic,
    This game is basically dream of every hardcore gamer.
    Its visuals and atmosphere are amazing, mechanics are truly unique and very realistic, and combat, while very very tough, will give you immense satisfaction once you get a grasp on it.
    Survival elements together with limited saves will always keep you tense and worried about your life, every encounter can be deadly, every action might have huge long and short term consequences.
    Its not for everyone though, if you expect handholding, power fantasy elements or completely frustration free experience you should stay off, be warned! This game will punish you, hard and often, but reward is so, so worth it, believe me.
    The game itself is worth it for its grounded based story of common man in hard times, and even though set in medieval times, there are many elements modern people can relate to, making it really captivating experience.
    There are definitely some technical issues so far, but I am certain they will get patched soon.

    Author was external tester with 80+ hours of gametime.
    Expand
  2. Dec 18, 2019
    10
    Well done RPG with a great atmosphere
    Beyond the amazing, amazing story, setting, combat, dialogue, quests, armor, weapons, history!
  3. Feb 15, 2018
    10
    9 points. Why? Well, ´cause the main issue is the performance and bugs. But - I´m sure, Dan and his team will fix it. What cannot be fixed is9 points. Why? Well, ´cause the main issue is the performance and bugs. But - I´m sure, Dan and his team will fix it. What cannot be fixed is a story, way of gaming and the feeling from playing. And this is awesome. So, you can blame on me, but I am sure, the Warhorse did a great job and some issues can/will be fixed. More games like this and maybe...one day... we will definitely destroy all big distributors...! Expand
  4. Jun 6, 2018
    9
    This is a dream come true. Middle Age setting, focus on realism, history and great combat system. I love Withcher 3, but I prefer normallyThis is a dream come true. Middle Age setting, focus on realism, history and great combat system. I love Withcher 3, but I prefer normally realism over fiction. I have played around 90 hours of Kingdom Come: Deliverance and completed most of the game and are waiting for expansions/more material. I hope this game can inspire others to focus on realism more, and not some stupid magic and monsters. There are many ages of history that can be really good games. The Egypt period, Roman, Middle Ages, 1800's. I think the game industry is lacking when it come to historical correct realistic games. Though Witcher 3 is the best RPG i have played and I would give that game a 10. I would give Kingdom Come a 9. Kingdom Come is brilliant, but it it has some things that could be better. Still one of the most rewarding games I have played in a long time. Expand
  5. Feb 19, 2018
    9
    At the moment 14 th best game of 2018 according to the critics, but nr.2 for users. This is a good example why should always trust gamerAt the moment 14 th best game of 2018 according to the critics, but nr.2 for users. This is a good example why should always trust gamer reviews more than the critics. They have played the game for longer (critics have to get their piece in early), they are uninterested in their good standing with advertisers and are much less influenced by fashion, hype or political correctness.

    This a remarkable game, created by a new company. The atmosphere, the setting and the historical background are great. The realism of medieval Bohemia (and of medieval combat) the dev's have tried to achieve create an immersion that I have rarely encountered in any other game.

    I would given it a 10, but for a few flaws, two of which are going to be addressed in coming patches: the absence of a normal saving system (you rely on "schnapps" which you have to brew or buy) which doesn't add to the challenge but just to unnecessary and repetitive actions. That's going to be fixed (or you can use a simple mod that is already out there). Same for some bugs and glitches that are still there, but nothing game breaking in the 25 hours I played. Personally I would also have preferred a more accessible combat. But a lot of people disagree with me there.
    Expand
  6. Mar 19, 2019
    7
    Good game, finished it. I gave it an 7 because it still has a lot of painful bugs and the performance can go from 80fps to 12fps in quite aGood game, finished it. I gave it an 7 because it still has a lot of painful bugs and the performance can go from 80fps to 12fps in quite a few instances. I haven't enjoyed a game as much as this in a long time, a very immersive game. I wish they would fix the core game before releasing all these DLC's though Expand
  7. Jul 4, 2020
    0
    in the game you cant hit 4 attacks in a row but if enemies land one they will hit you like 5 more and enemies deal absurd damage and also havein the game you cant hit 4 attacks in a row but if enemies land one they will hit you like 5 more and enemies deal absurd damage and also have a chance to do the counterattack like half or more of the times wile you do it once in a while Expand

See all 631 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2018 Videogame Preview: PC Games

    2018 Videogame Preview: PC Games Image
    Published: January 22, 2018
    Find details on 40 of the most-anticipated PC games scheduled for release in 2018.