Kingdom Come: Deliverance Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 60 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1989 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Kingdom Come: Deliverance is an open world, action-adventure, role-playing game featuring blockbuster production values, a nonlinear story and revolutionary, first-person melee combat.
Buy On
  • Developer: Warhorse Studios
  • Genre(s): Action Adventure, General, Historic, Role-Playing, Action RPG
  • # of players: No Online Multiplayer
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Rating: M
  • More Details and Credits »

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Kingdom Come: Deliverance - Gameplay Launch Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 60
  2. Negative: 2 out of 60
  1. Feb 15, 2018
    98
    Is this the real life? Is this just fantasy? Thankfully, Kingdom Come: Deliverance is not a landslide, a mix of game and reality. It may not capture the appeal of the overall mainstream, but that’s okay. Anyone willing to take a dive into the niche waters of the gaming world, and not afraid of games being unforgiving, should definitely check this out. I love this game. Open your eyes, give this game a try and see.
  2. Feb 25, 2018
    88
    One can't help but feel awe when considering Warhorse Studios' attention to historical detail in recreating 15th century Bohemia. Kingdom Come: Deliverance is a truly unique and memorable experience from start to finish, but its hardcore mechanics (that sometimes border on pure LARPing) make it a game that is certainly not for everyone.
  3. Feb 14, 2018
    84
    Kingdom Come is a mess of bugs, and there’s the constant feeling that independent developer Warhorse is biting off more than it can chew. But there’s a charm to its scrappiness, and it does enough interesting stuff that I’m willing to tolerate the creaky framework struggling to prop everything up. It’s one of the most satisfying, rewarding role-playing experiences I’ve enjoyed on PC for a while, but the inconsistent performance and the game’s tendency to completely break does test my patience from time to time.
  4. Feb 13, 2018
    80
    Kingdom Come: Deliverance is a huge first person GDR that can count on an higher level of immersion when compared with other similar productions. The combat system is amazing and, even if it will take you some hours to handle a sword correctly, all the time will spent will be worth it. A must-have for all fans of open-world RPGs in search of deeper gameplay mechanics.
  5. Feb 13, 2018
    75
    Great story and medieval atmosphere, but with some technical problems, like low frame-rate, graphic pop-ups and improvable artificial intelligence.
  6. Mar 4, 2018
    70
    Kingdom Come: Deliverance is a fantastic and absolutely frustrating experience. I was treated to a memorable lead character whose agency and development was largely wiped away with a twist late in the game and a collection of incredible gameplay mechanics and quests repeatedly stifled by bugs. Despite its downfalls, though, the good parts of the game are so good.
  7. Feb 13, 2018
    40
    If Kingdom Come: Deliverance has a ton of bug fixing to improve the performance drastically, it could be a hidden gem. It’s clear that the game, despite its grand ambitions, was simply not ready for public consumption. Shimmers of brilliance are there and had it seen more time in the oven, or set its expectations at a more reasonable level, it could have been brilliant and scored significantly higher as a result. Alas, Kingdom Come: Deliverance is another cautionary tale rather than a trend setter.

See all 65 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 85 out of 491
  1. Feb 13, 2018
    10
    This game is basically dream of every hardcore gamer.
    Its visuals and atmosphere are amazing, mechanics are truly unique and very realistic,
    This game is basically dream of every hardcore gamer.
    Its visuals and atmosphere are amazing, mechanics are truly unique and very realistic, and combat, while very very tough, will give you immense satisfaction once you get a grasp on it.
    Survival elements together with limited saves will always keep you tense and worried about your life, every encounter can be deadly, every action might have huge long and short term consequences.
    Its not for everyone though, if you expect handholding, power fantasy elements or completely frustration free experience you should stay off, be warned! This game will punish you, hard and often, but reward is so, so worth it, believe me.
    The game itself is worth it for its grounded based story of common man in hard times, and even though set in medieval times, there are many elements modern people can relate to, making it really captivating experience.
    There are definitely some technical issues so far, but I am certain they will get patched soon.

    Author was external tester with 80+ hours of gametime.
    Expand
  2. Feb 19, 2018
    10
    Masterpiece!
    Forget those mediocre ratings complaining about bugs, loading time, gameplay and the like. The game is beautiful, has a very
    Masterpiece!
    Forget those mediocre ratings complaining about bugs, loading time, gameplay and the like. The game is beautiful, has a very good story and full of emotions. You feel that every decision, every step of yours makes a difference and influences the story. I caught myself thinking if I had made another decision what would have happened ...
    The game has elements of survival, good combat, great music and sound effects, great system of evolution and distribution of xp ... Worth every penny.
    PS: I have 15 hours of game and I did not see a bug even execto some problems with box of physics and the like ... nothing that messed up the experience.
    Expand
  3. Feb 16, 2018
    10
    Obra maestra sin precedentes.
    Un juego unico e impresionante, donde su mundo envuelve una historia de venganza impresionante.
    Graficamente
    Obra maestra sin precedentes.
    Un juego unico e impresionante, donde su mundo envuelve una historia de venganza impresionante.
    Graficamente luce de escandalo, y su jugabilidad es unia, simulador total de una vida en 1403.
    Los que buscan accion no es su juego. Esto es vivir como tal en el sacro imperio romano.
    Una autentica maravilla, cada detalle es enfermizo. De 10.
    Expand
  4. Jul 4, 2018
    9
    The controls and gameplay need some getting used to, but after a while it all makes sense.
    The Eating, sleeping and saving is a pain when you
    The controls and gameplay need some getting used to, but after a while it all makes sense.
    The Eating, sleeping and saving is a pain when you first play, but after a while it just makes the game so much more immersive.
    The combat is tough and unforgiving meaning you want to stay out of trouble as much as possible (like in real life).
    Sneaking is a little naff and forget it if you are in armour. But overall this games negatives are far outweighed by its sheer size and scope of gameplay. In the end u have to get into the dame and not putting it away after couple of hours it'll grow on you. One of my favorite games of the last Years.
    Expand
  5. Feb 13, 2018
    9
    This game looks absolutely gorgeous, that has to be said, I already spend more time walking around and staring in awe than actually playing.This game looks absolutely gorgeous, that has to be said, I already spend more time walking around and staring in awe than actually playing. The voice acting is mostly great, the lipsync is occasionally not adequate though. The story so far exceeded my expectations, its pretty tense, makes sense and is very educational actually. As far as I checked and from what I remember from history classes, its historically accurate which really makes you immersed in the story. The audio, especially the medieval themes is a treat. The combat is a bit clunky and takes time to get used to, its very much a Mount & Blade inspired directional strike and block system, though slower. Its a good compromise imo, fitting for their "realistic" theme. Other mechanics like lock picking and alchemy are great imo. The biggest problem for me so far are the absolutely unnecessary picking up animations, they are incredibly repetitive and those 2 seconds will feel like eternity after a while. The dialogues are a mixed bag, sometimes they feel organic, sometimes there are awkward pauses and out of place intonations, all in all though, the exchanges are enjoyable and often hilarious(in a good way). The looting system is alright, if you´re one of those hema nuts, you´ll be impressed by all the layers of equipment and gear you can put on. You can also choose your style, you can solve most of your problems if your speech is good enough and you choose correctly, if you want to go rambo, you can do that as well and if you want to sneak around and steal everything, that option is there too. All in all, its a pretty complex single player rpg with amazing visuals with pretty fresh and original setting and as far as I can tell, with a very high replay value. Expand
  6. Jun 22, 2018
    7
    I just finished this game. Had so much potential and there were times of absolute joy during some of the time and I think, overall this is aI just finished this game. Had so much potential and there were times of absolute joy during some of the time and I think, overall this is a decent game. Combat was tough against groups, easy one on one. Graphics were something. They were good, truly was a beautiful world.

    Issues though. So many issues stopped this game from being amazing. Bugs. Game crashing, quest breaking bugs. They occurred frequently but in my play through began to pile up towards the end of the game where the quests were getting a little convoluted compared to the standard fetch quests that were the stock quest. Quests failing seconds after receiving them for no apparent reason led to much time spent replaying things that I had already done. Yay limited save game mechanic. The few mods that are out there try hard but at several points had to remove them all to progress as would often get caught in an infinite loading screen. Had to remove mods, play to get back to that point praying for the best... Not a good time.

    WTF moments - Cloister quests and their omnipotent mind reading guards. Such a bore. Ending was quite underwhelming. Invincible characters are silly. Especially when they are on my side. But nothing beats the epilogie for pure WTF. It went... forever? And never went anywhere! it was death!

    Good game plagued by issues! Coulda been amazing!
    Expand
  7. May 15, 2019
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Why are people and reviewers giving this train wreck high scores? Have they played an entirely different game?

    TLDR: Don't buy this game, don't pirate it either, just don't waste your time with it.

    Kingdom Come Deliverance has a really cool concept behind, it might have a good story. If you can get past how bad the overall game is. Gameplay mechanics are horrible, the voice acting is bad, Henry often sounds like one of those 90s computer generated voices as opposed to a human. The dialogue is generally horrific. The music is quite horrible, I can tell they've recorded real instruments but they sound incredibly washed out, I've heard soundtracks made with orchestral sample libraries which sound way better.

    Reviewers rave about the "role playing experience", and yes you can choose what to do in the game (somewhat) but either Henry is a hypocrite or the developers decided to give him a set of morals without thinking about the player's actions. At the start of the game you can loot every corpse from Talmberg to Skalitz and still have the option to be all "holier than thou" with the grave robber.

    Let's talk about gamepley: pickpocketing? That just doesn't work. Even when you manage to take something before the countdown expires. Combat? It's bad. Welcome to "Walking Backwards: The Game". I only wished. Not only does it suffer from horrible weightless animations but it just doesn't work, the lack of physics and weight behind strikes is just unbearable, there is no proper tutorial to explain how that mess works, the targeting and lock on mechanics don't work half the time. They tried to make it "realistic" but honestly just look for any HEMA video recorded with a head cam and see the difference for yourself.

    On the subject of realism: If you play hardcore mode you'll come across enemies that will one or two shot kill you, regardless of what equipment is being used by either combatants. The first "boss" of the game isn't wearing a helmet, and despite me actually landing two head hits with my longsword nothing happened. Whilst he gets two hits with his bat and I'm K.O. (Regardless of the fact that I was wearing gambeson, mail, padded coif, mail coif, and helmet which I got after knocking out a guard in Talmberg).

    Later I was doing Theresa's uncle's quest, on the road to the executioner I spotted three bandits readying for an ambush. I sneaked up behind them and managed to kill two, but the third one (an archer with no armor except for an aketon and a seemingly wool hood) spots me, I get in close before he can shoot me and hit him several times in the head, he yields and runs away and in doing so has become GOD because he's invulnerable to everything. Last I checked if you hit someone with a longsword in the head and all he's wearing is a hoodie they aren't going to be running around for long.

    How about role-playing? Well, they said you could find multiple solutions to resolve a problem and complete a quest. So I decided to go for that grave robbing quest and get the blasted ring. I wait until dark, find the grave, no ring. So I think to myself: "maybe the bugger took it" so I take the initiative and sneak into his house, knock him out while he sleeps and search every inch of that place. No ring. The I return to the miller and he goes like: "the ring must be inside his house in a chest somewhere". guess what? The ring will spawn only AFTER you tell the miller there was no ring on the corpse. SO IMMERSED.

    Talking about "immersion". Not only is the HUD utterly horrible, seriously, you have the useless dot everywhere except for when you actually need it (archery) so why bother in the first place? If you try to climb over a (not even that steep a hill you'll realize either Henry has the motor skills of a 2 year old or the developers never went hiking because there's paths where the average person could EASILY walk over but Henry can't. Oh of course if you try to jump you'll somehow jump backwards, fall and injure yourself. (Never mind the fact that one could easily use his hands to aid in climbing very steep places)

    incredibly demanding yet awful graphics (I mean, I don't know who was in charge of the animations in this game but by the grace of God are they horrible) but most importantly, it's poorly executed. Don't know if this was supposed to be a Triple A or Double A release, and I know it comes from a small studio etc. etc. but this is a clear example of someone trying to bite more than they can chew.

    I just wished I could get my money back but unfortunately that only happens if you encounter a technical problem, not if the game is bad.
    Expand

See all 491 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2018 Videogame Preview: PC Games

    2018 Videogame Preview: PC Games Image
    Published: January 22, 2018
    Find details on 40 of the most-anticipated PC games scheduled for release in 2018.