Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 44 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 44
  2. Negative: 6 out of 44
  1. Aug 23, 2021
    90
    King's Bounty 2 is everything turn-based fans have been screaming out for. The traditional RPG elements are executed to near perfection. The combat is challenging and engaging from start to finish. The story is dark, heartwarming, and impactful. Put simply, this game has everything.
  2. Aug 31, 2021
    88
    I’m enjoying it as much as I have any of the previous games and I’m nearly 70 hours in so I’d say it’s pretty decent value for money. I suspect most people (certainly myself) have become used to being able to pick up the other games in the series for about $5 or so on special… so having a new game in the series come out at full price seems a bit harsh… but it’s pretty reasonable considering how much gameplay there is here and how much of a technological advancement it is (but yes… you can still get a bit stuck on scenery if you walk/ride the wrong way on/off something… so some things never change). I’d certainly recommend grabbing King’s Bounty II… if in doubt, wait for a sale… but as I mentioned… I’m nearly 70 hours in and still have some questing to do.
  3. Aug 23, 2021
    84
    Different look but familiar and beloved gameplay with some successful innovations. Any issues are relatively minor and do not significantly detract from the enjoyment.
  4. Sep 4, 2021
    80
    King’s Bounty II is an excellent compromise between new and old and is a great time in general. As I’ve already mentioned, keeping a series going for a long time is difficult, and I’m sure that coming up with a proper sequel almost a decade after the last game was released was a difficult task. Difficult or not, however, 1C Entertainment managed to make it happen—and their final product is pretty great.
  5. Aug 31, 2021
    80
    King's Bounty 2 lives up to its name in the sense that it delivers abundance. Like an ultra-compressed version of Skyrim, it feels full of things to do even if it doesn't necessarily excel at any of them. The combat is solid. The role-playing is solid. The questing and adventuring and writing and everything else are solid, too. It's comforting and familiar and simply does what it does without a great deal of fuss. In many ways it feels like the ideal pandemic lockdown game. I'll happily load King's Bounty 2, pull up the covers and settle in for the weeks and months to come.
  6. Aug 24, 2021
    80
    Role-play and tactics cannot be combined much more consistently. The developers only have to tweak the balance.
  7. Aug 23, 2021
    80
    King's Bounty 2 is an excellent title overall, which owes much of its ability to thrill to his strategic side.
  8. Aug 23, 2021
    80
    Kings Bounty 2 takes many good aspects of the predecessor and expands them with new mechanics and extras. Thanks to differences in altitude and obstacles, the fights are now much more tactical, but also not 100% balanced.
  9. CD-Action
    Nov 15, 2021
    75
    King’s Bounty II boldly leads the series in a new direction and while it’s not perfect, I’d call this revolution a success. Instead of remaining a mindless Heroes of Might and Magic copy stripped of economy, the whole layer of exploration morphed into a traditional RPG – a crude, simplified and naïve in terms of the story, but still surprisingly enjoyable and charming. Turn-based combat lived to see some minor updates, but retained its spirit, which means it can be immensely fun. The first step was made, next time I want more of the same but with a much bigger budget. [11/2021, p.36]
  10. Aug 23, 2021
    75
    King's Bounty 2 is a more than remarkable return of the tactical franchise, which presents us with a world of the most original, accompanied by a story that, without surprising, gets what it wants: to entertain a good amount of hours to everyone who plays it. Even with its design flaws, the work makes up for it with a combat system as complete and deep, while simple, so that all types of users can enjoy it to the fullest.
  11. Sep 1, 2021
    74
    King's Bounty II is a great tactics game nestled within an okay open world RPG. While nothing in the exploration is offensively bad, it is clear early on that the real meat of the game lies within its fun and engaging battle system.
  12. Aug 23, 2021
    71
    I can’t help but wonder what King’s Bounty II could have been had it stayed isometric and relied more on written words over spoken dialog. Maybe it could have offered something wholly unique. But this is the choice the developers made and for some of you, if you’re able to get past the jank, you’ll find a pretty okay turn-based combat game in King’s Bounty II. For others who are also looking to get lost in a deep world along with the combat, you’ll be better served elsewhere. ‎
  13. Sep 19, 2021
    70
    Yes, the quests and the story are not crazy. Yes, the technique of the game is outdated. Yes, getting around is boring and the interface painful. But you have fun creating your army, choosing among all the possibilities the best possible combination. We take pleasure in browsing this skilfully constructed universe. And we get excited as we face the challenges of the tough battles ahead. Despite its flaws, the game manages to glue the player and make them want to load up their game. You should not shy away from your pleasure.
  14. Sep 10, 2021
    70
    If you can forgive a pretty forgettable combat system you’ll have a pretty decent fantasy romp with King’s Bounty II.
  15. Sep 2, 2021
    70
    King’s Bounty 2 is an interesting and tactical challenging RPG for everyone who doesn’t need pristine visuals and who can overlook the flaws in game design and balancing.
  16. Aug 23, 2021
    70
    King’s Bounty II is a decent turn-based RPG, but it’s also one of the most derivative games out there.
  17. Aug 30, 2021
    69
    King's Bounty fans will find a much different game compared to its predecessors, and not all changes are for the best. Still, there's enjoyment to be found in the new chapter of the series, especially when it comes to the battlefield.
  18. Aug 23, 2021
    68
    King's Bounty II has enough good things to entice fans of the genre for several hours, as long as they turn a blind eye to its many flaws and limitations.
  19. Sep 10, 2021
    65
    A flawed return for a classic series that doesn’t quite nail the transition to an open-world third-person perspective. Interesting and fun combat balances out the bland exploration somewhat.
  20. Sep 6, 2021
    65
    King's Bounty 2 is a rather complicated turned based strategy game that might not be appealing to every type of player, and even though the combat and strategy elements are deep and engaging, the developer's decision to include a boring and repetitive 3rd person gameplay to the game really hurts the overall experience.
  21. Aug 31, 2021
    65
    The idea is there, but the execution is heavily flawed at every step of the way. The game features good elements but they are buried in so much mediocrity that you have to strain to point them out from the bland mass. King’s Bounty 2 would have fit right in if it had been released a few years ago. But at this point, the game came too late to offer anything new or outstanding among the plethora of RPG and strategy titles released since.
  22. Aug 25, 2021
    65
    King's Bounty 2 is an archaic game in many aspects, both in its RPG side and in its exploration. It tries to modernize itself by offering an open world progression, but it has only impoverished its former superb art direction and shown its technical limits. Nevertheless, its fun strategic aspect with a good difficulty and its addictive progression make it a pleasure to return to.
  23. Aug 23, 2021
    65
    King's Bounty II offers numerous options to keep you playing its 40-hour campaign. Unfortunately, it suffers from questionable design, janky movement while exploring, and confusing alignment system outcomes. It can be a treat for long-time fans, but it's also rough around the edges.
  24. Oct 15, 2021
    60
    I met King’s Bounty 2 more than halfway by fighting every monster, completing every quest and searching out every bit of treasure, but at the end of the day, I was left broken, bankrupt, and frustratingly unable to roll credits on a title that was almost great.
  25. Sep 22, 2021
    60
    King's Bounty II may not be the most original or visually impressive game we've gotten to play lately, but it does manage to translate a typically childlike fantasy to the screen. And childlike fantasy is just the thing everyone can use on occasion.
  26. Sep 17, 2021
    60
    I didn’t hate King’s Bounty II; I loved the combat system. The hex design and the battlefields are all highlights. However, the things that can be done in-between those fights is where the majority of the player’s time will be spent. And it as much as I usually enjoy exploring RPG’s, there was no joy in navigating the overworld in King’s Bounty II due to the ridiculously slow movement speed. Those that are fans of the franchise will no doubt find much to love here with the fun combat and varied units and even decent main story.
  27. Sep 12, 2021
    60
    King’s Bounty 2 feels slapdash. It selectively ignores advances made by fellow role-playing and strategy games over the last 20 years. The role-playing part is underdeveloped while potentially stellar turn-based combat is playing the second fiddle. And the finale of this 35-hour journey is so abrupt that I had to ask the publisher if this is an actual ending.
  28. Sep 9, 2021
    60
    While the turn-based combat remained interesting and stayed true to its roots, and the units have a lot of variety, the newly implemented elements leave a lot to be desired. This coupled with some annoying bugs and an overall sense of an unfinished product make King’s Bounty II a very lackluster experience.
  29. Sep 3, 2021
    60
    King's Bounty 2 is a fairly strong tactical RPG that is dragged down by a mediocre plot and a lot of unnecessary jogging.
  30. Aug 27, 2021
    60
    Drastic changes to gameplay can be good, as proven by God of War. Unfortunately, King's Bounty 2 turns out merely an underwhelming experiment. In the past, we got a series of good tactical RPGs focused on combat, seasoned with some character building. Right now, we get a subpar imitation of The Witcher 3, where battles are just a minor addition.
  31. Aug 25, 2021
    60
    King’s Bounty II has all the ingredients of a great strategy game but is held back by a counterintuitive UI and generic story elements. While the overworld offers a beautiful open environment to explore, often there’s not enough there to hold your attention as a player, and you’ll find yourself wandering around aimlessly. Added to this is that your character’s travel is particularly slow, the game has a sleepy pace at times that holds the overall experience back. While its strategy battles feature some interesting ideal mechanics that might appeal to die-hard fans of the franchise, if you’re looking for a broad roleplaying strategy experience, King’s Bounty II might not be the best fit for you.
  32. Aug 24, 2021
    60
    1C Entertainment's attempt to reinvigorate the long-dormant series proves two things: its turn-based tactical combat is timeless, and making a compelling open-world experience is harder than it looks.
  33. Aug 23, 2021
    59
    But all that nice environment design is wasted by far too much wandering about, talking to people, and collecting trash to sell at vendors. Your character moves with a kind of halfhearted jog, too slow to cover ground, jerky, and unable to traverse any kind of obstacle. Meanwhile you can jump on your horse, which is much faster but handles like a stick of butter in narrow areas. It's all just kind of… slow and tedious to progress. Environments seem large simply for the sake of size. Much like the game's entire aesthetic, it's not really clear why things look the way they do.
  34. Sep 5, 2021
    58
    It is a case of close, but no cigar for King’s Bounty II. It makes a valiant attempt at creating an grand RPG but constantly trips over frustrating design choices.
  35. Oct 4, 2021
    50
    King’s Bounty 2 offers solid battles of fantasy armies that can too often slide into frustration and inconsistency. Its world is beautiful but completely devoid of life and story. And the controls are simply awful.
  36. Sep 10, 2021
    50
    King’s Bounty II attempts to mix together two different genres, but the outcome does not satisfy. Despite the somehow satisfactory battle system, it is evident that the game needed to follow a different approach during its development. What we have now is a mediocre title that leaves much to be desired.
  37. Sep 9, 2021
    50
    King's Bounty II is composed of many traditional elements fused together in an unconventional way. Rather than melted it would be better to say stuck on top of each other. The amalgam of characteristics and genres is completely disorganized, confused, as if it were the mixture of randomly selected market trends. Taken individually, not all the constituent elements of the game are mediocre, indeed it is quite possible to be captured by the settings or by the combat system. But what is missing is the connection work: the most important operation in a complex product such as a video game. What distinguishes a good video game from a bad one is not the sum of the parts, it is how these parts interact with each other, how they contribute to the realization of a common goal.
  38. Sep 1, 2021
    50
    King's Bounty II is a well-meaning sequel that unfortunately lacks the character required to live up to its predecessors. Mediocre storytelling and shrug-inducing graphics and sound are partially redeemed by a decent combat system, albeit one without the courage to experiment.
  39. Aug 31, 2021
    49
    A poor story, writing and performances coupled with outdated quest design make King's Bounty II a tough game to play through. Turn-based battles are enjoyable but can't make up for the game's numerous issues.
  40. Sep 3, 2021
    45
    King’s Bounty II is a game where it takes forever to do anything. I averaged maybe 2-3 short battles for every hour of gameplay – perhaps 20 minutes of fun for 40 of drudgery. All this is doubly frustrating because somewhere under all this crap is a pretty solid strategy game. I just wish that King’s Bounty II would stop jerking me around and just let me play it!
  41. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Feb 17, 2022
    40
    King's Bounty II fails in all the essential aspects, that the game wants to offer players as a representative of the turn-based strategy / RPG genre. Every good element is deservedly punished and the final product simply doesn´t work well.
  42. Nov 4, 2021
    40
    Tough game to rate overall, as there was some care and time that went into this; it just went to all the wrong places. Players looking for a strategy/tactical experience are going to be absolutely repulsed by the mix of "walking sim"/WRPG that leaves much of the core experience behind absolutely. The battles are simplistic, and the few redeeming features are buried beneath too many complaints and issues. There is simply very little strategy in this game that occurs, or is interesting to think about.
  43. Aug 31, 2021
    40
    King's Bounty II is a disappointing RPG experience, doing very little to innovate, not really even managing to produce something that's fun or particularly exciting over time.
  44. Aug 23, 2021
    40
    Just like many of its undead characters, King’s Bounty 2 fails to revive a venerable franchise due to its lack of innovation, archaic design decisions, and grindy backtracking.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Aug 23, 2021
    King's Bounty II is an incredibly mixed bag for me so far, but I have hope that the story might get a bit more interesting. The open-world feels more like window dressing, however, and certainly pales in comparison to some of the other "living and breathing" worlds out there, even if it does look absolutely gorgeous. Still, it's the kind of experience that might pay off in the long run, so I can only wait and see.
  2. King’s Bounty 2 leaves me with the sense of a workmanlike adherence to genre trends rather than anything particularly creatively fulfilling or naturally complimentary to the core game. While the narrative context and contiguous casualties, experience, and treasury provided by the quests and exploration is good and necessary, it’s just all too puffed up in mostly uninteresting ways.
User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 126 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 126
  2. Negative: 59 out of 126
  1. Aug 27, 2021
    0
    Завышенный ценник, ужасная реализация, пренебрежение к игрокам в день релиза. Вернул деньги.Завышенный ценник, ужасная реализация, пренебрежение к игрокам в день релиза. Вернул деньги.
  2. Aug 27, 2021
    4
    Игра вот вообще не стоит тех денег что за неё просят. Почти всё время проводишь не в боях и чем то интересным, а меедленно перемещаешьсяИгра вот вообще не стоит тех денег что за неё просят. Почти всё время проводишь не в боях и чем то интересным, а меедленно перемещаешься выполняя квесты в стиле "отнеси это чуваку в другом городе". боёв почти нет, а ведь это главное развлечение в этой игре. Full Review »
  3. Aug 25, 2021
    7
    King's Bounty 2: (is a mixed bag in all honesty)

    To me it's a rather nice game actually, and i enjoy it although admittedly using a
    King's Bounty 2: (is a mixed bag in all honesty)

    To me it's a rather nice game actually, and i enjoy it although admittedly using a controller takes a little bit more time getting used to.
    Also, there are some graphical and sound issues from time to time, but currently nothing that ruins the game for me personally. Moving the camera around, positioning units and effectively zooming in or out takes a bit of getting used to as well.
    The troop rosters, layouts, stats, magic library (learning stuff etc) and the lot are a bit different than we were used to but i think it's fine once you get the hang of it.. People are so easy to complain and judge nowadays without even trying first...

    It's nice having the option to explore freely on foot or horseback, while there are plenty of locations with puzzles and loot to be found doing so.
    The horse's movement is a bit simplified (doesn't allow you to walk backwards) but while holding a button it's movements become far better controllable imho.
    Furthermore the graphics are okay, and so are the overall sounds and musical score albeit not outstanding in any regard. (Edit: i've yet to encounter a single crash - 10 hours in and counting)*
    It's also worth mentioning that the game needs some additional polish and fine tuning (patches etc).

    I'm currently giving this game a "half" recommendation but it should be mentioned that i aswell expected far more than this, so the recommendation should be met with a little bit of caution so to speak.
    One hour in, and i'm enjoying the game so far honestly..*
    Is it worth it's current asking price, NO! I'd say 30-ish for the normal edition sounds about right to me.
    Might it get better due to continiously updating and patching? Well, i can only hope so, because this game certainly has potential to be rated higher.

    That's it so far after my first and quick session.
    Hopefully others might also have a more open view about this game as i have.
    Current score: 7/10 (moderately recommended)
    Full Review »