User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 58 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 58
  2. Negative: 16 out of 58
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. bobshneider
    Aug 15, 2008
    10
    This game ROCKS! Anybody who doesn't like the game must have no idea what zombies are like. Zombies are the living dead. So what if 1 zombie can't get through a door? Zombies are the dead only reanimated. They are supposed to be stupid! All in all, this is a GREAT first person shooting game.
  2. MikeyH.
    Nov 7, 2005
    9
    This is a great game for the price. Well worth getting.
  3. CeramicGod
    Oct 31, 2005
    8
    Pretty darn good - great if you're a Romero fan. A little dated but DEFINITELY worth $20.
  4. ROODOGBumboKlaat
    Oct 22, 2005
    10
    This gets a 10 from me because i loved the movie so i am giving it 2 extra just for that and i have only played the demo plus watched all trailers i could find.Forget resident evil as this just blows that out of the water.Plus you play in a first person persrective which is the only way to go for the pc release.Lots of blood and zombiies and some cool weapons like the moltov cocktail andThis gets a 10 from me because i loved the movie so i am giving it 2 extra just for that and i have only played the demo plus watched all trailers i could find.Forget resident evil as this just blows that out of the water.Plus you play in a first person persrective which is the only way to go for the pc release.Lots of blood and zombiies and some cool weapons like the moltov cocktail and the sniper rifle.I am not sure but i believe that a co-op multiplayer will be available in the finished version.If it is then it will deserve a 10! Expand
  5. BillS.
    Dec 20, 2005
    9
    This is a ZOMBIE game. If you don't like zombies or zombie movies, this game is not for you. If you are a fan of this genre, and especially George Romero, then you will love this game, becuase it makes you feel like you are in a zombie movie. The graphics are from 1996, and the gameplay kind of sucks (see, i.e., other commentators opinions on crappy targeting and weapons). But the This is a ZOMBIE game. If you don't like zombies or zombie movies, this game is not for you. If you are a fan of this genre, and especially George Romero, then you will love this game, becuase it makes you feel like you are in a zombie movie. The graphics are from 1996, and the gameplay kind of sucks (see, i.e., other commentators opinions on crappy targeting and weapons). But the one thing that makes this game great is that you really feal the terror and horror of being in a zombie apocalypse. You gotta try it. Expand
  6. TrigaliG.
    Oct 29, 2006
    8
    The game itself isn't amazing graphically. The AI at times is very stupid and often seemed to stand there at a few rare instances but then again zombies are braindead after all. Nah, its not a shooter or a frantic game. Its a zombie horror show in first person. What it seems the gaming industry missed. I mean, heck, there are like 100 cinima style view horror games, no first person The game itself isn't amazing graphically. The AI at times is very stupid and often seemed to stand there at a few rare instances but then again zombies are braindead after all. Nah, its not a shooter or a frantic game. Its a zombie horror show in first person. What it seems the gaming industry missed. I mean, heck, there are like 100 cinima style view horror games, no first person zombie death goodness. It was like playing the web-based game "Urban Dead" but in first person. Was amazing if you want to just waste zombies with tonnes of stuff for an hour. If thats not what you want, then this game is NOT for you. And to all those no-saying critic reviews? I would bet every penny I have none of them like to just senslessly frag zombies. Expand
  7. VincentN.
    Nov 11, 2005
    8
    If you have a dated PC, love George Romero zombie action, then this is the game for you! Land of the Dead does not have very high system requirements. Zombies move and moan just like Romero's movies. Shot placement detection is off though. Headshots end up not counting as headshots. Also the graphics are not quite up to date. Would have liked character to be able to move faster than If you have a dated PC, love George Romero zombie action, then this is the game for you! Land of the Dead does not have very high system requirements. Zombies move and moan just like Romero's movies. Shot placement detection is off though. Headshots end up not counting as headshots. Also the graphics are not quite up to date. Would have liked character to be able to move faster than snail pace. The low system requirements, zombie-action, and $20 price tag may be grounds to buy this game. Expand
  8. RobertT.
    Dec 21, 2005
    10
    This game was everything I ever wanted and expected in a zombie game. The graphics I found were not that shabby but were out of date a bit. I hear people whining about the targetting system. I would have liked a zoom in over the barrel aiming ability (Medal of Honor European assault Call of Duty 2) However; some poeple need to realize just because you poitn at something in a general area This game was everything I ever wanted and expected in a zombie game. The graphics I found were not that shabby but were out of date a bit. I hear people whining about the targetting system. I would have liked a zoom in over the barrel aiming ability (Medal of Honor European assault Call of Duty 2) However; some poeple need to realize just because you poitn at something in a general area and fire does not mean you will hit it. This is truly a survival game. Anyone who said this game is horrible; lacks intelligence and taste. ANyone who says the aiming ability is crappy; needs to get behind a gun while having moving targets coming towards you while they are in fear of their life. Expand
  9. Jun 27, 2013
    9
    Es un lindo juego su trama E historia estan buenos este juego es uno de mis favoritos aunque su critica este un poco mala,yo le doy un 9 de 10,lo recomiendo para que lo juegen.
  10. TerriM.
    Nov 2, 2005
    9
    Loved it loved it loved it. Its not perfect, but it was a zombietastic experience and fun.
  11. DH
    Oct 30, 2005
    8
    Wicked fun. scary. gory.bloody. Did I mention scary? Ok, the graphics are next gen but they do the job. Bottom line its fun and scary and it has my vote.
  12. Aug 23, 2015
    8
    Excellent zombie FPS that captures the essence of the movie genre of old circa 70's & 80's zombie flicks. I never did understand the harsh criticism this game received from professional reviewers back when it was released 10 years ago. The main criticisms, I think, are unfounded...poor enemy AI...really? They are freaking ZOMBIES, they are brain-dead...Would reviewers have rather theExcellent zombie FPS that captures the essence of the movie genre of old circa 70's & 80's zombie flicks. I never did understand the harsh criticism this game received from professional reviewers back when it was released 10 years ago. The main criticisms, I think, are unfounded...poor enemy AI...really? They are freaking ZOMBIES, they are brain-dead...Would reviewers have rather the zombies used squad tactics, flanking and the like? I think the enemy AI is perfectly fitting, in fact it is so true to the genre (that is the genre of zombie horror) that I wouldn't change a thing about the enemy AI here. You can easily run past one, two or even a few zombies with little immediate repercussions because they are slow and unable to use projectile weapons however make no mistake if you are in a building, alley way or sewer and hit a dead end that forces you to double back those zombies you laughed at and ran past have now gathered into a horde and if you haven't conserved ammo then welp, you are in trouble.This game forces you to use your head and think ahead, "gee should I take out this random zombie even though I have 3 bullets or should a run past and hope I don't need to double back?" These are the conundrums you imagine you would be pressed with in a zombie apocalypse.

    The atmosphere of the game is also very fitting, it is very bleak, dark, desolate and lonely. You do start out in a rural setting but only for the first few minutes of the game, after that its urban decay, a city scape void of any life but chock full of zombie hordes. You play as a protagonist named Jack, just your average joe, a middle aged farmer with special abilities or super powers, just your wit and whatever weapons you can scavenge from the environment. The pacing is slow but methodical, bringing you though a fairly linear but well realized world with clear goals presented to you such as find doctor in hospital, get key card to free doctor from locked office, protect yourself when said doctor inevitably turns into the undead and push on to the next objective...Try to stay alive and find other survivors.

    Reviewers who were originally harsh either completely missed the point in that how the game plays is a deliberate and conscious move on the part of the developers or the reviewers have never seen a zombie film pre-28 Days Later. Also 10 years ago there was a A LOT happening in the FPS genre of gaming, Half Life 2, Doom 3 and FarCry were relatively new still as well as many other new franchises that would go on to be juggernauts (Call of Duty, Brothers in Arms, Battlefield and FEAR among others) so perhaps reviewers were looking for something groundbreaking. This is the wrong game if you want groundbreaking, but if you are looking for a game to play late at night and get engrossed into the environment, if you are the type of person who would choose Day of the Dead (1985) over Day of the Dead 2008 then this game is for you.
    Expand
  13. Nov 18, 2016
    10
    The game is very fun, although not the best of its kind you manage to catch some negative point is its duration, but it compensates with a lot of action.
  14. Jun 4, 2017
    8
    Si no estoy seguro. creo que este es el único videojuego realmente basado en el universo de George Romero. Un genial FPS de acción y terror. eres un granjero que en plena cena descubres a un individiuo fuera de tu casa. un individuo extraño. cuando te acercas descubres que estas en pleno apocalipsis zombie. pronto se le acaban las municiones y la comida y sales a la ciudad en busca deSi no estoy seguro. creo que este es el único videojuego realmente basado en el universo de George Romero. Un genial FPS de acción y terror. eres un granjero que en plena cena descubres a un individiuo fuera de tu casa. un individuo extraño. cuando te acercas descubres que estas en pleno apocalipsis zombie. pronto se le acaban las municiones y la comida y sales a la ciudad en busca de ayuda. pero todo esta perdido. buenos gráficos para la época (unreal 2), buena variedad de armas, zombies con diferentes skin, modo multijugador todavia activo. quizás una pega es que al apuntar a la cabeza de los zombies no siempre explota y muere de 1 disparo. una precuela de la película. y otra adaptación decente de un film. recomendado. Expand
Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 4 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 3 out of 4
  1. Paradoxically, any brilliance and beauty lie in the raw, unpolished stylized realism and mostly clever reworking of elements found in the film.
  2. Computer Games Magazine
    40
    Anyone shelling out for Land of the Dead is in grave danger of buyer's remorse. [Feb 2006, p.64]
  3. PC Gamer
    40
    Road also boasts snore-rific multiplay that adds nothing. Even if the game's selling for less than its $19.99 M.S.R.P., leave it to rot. [Mar 2006, p.51]