Last Day of June Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 63 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A deep, interactive adventure about love and loss, beautifully depicted and offering an intense cinematic experience. What would you do to save the one you love?

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Last Day of June - Teaser Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Aug 30, 2017
    85
    Last Day of June is a narrative puzzle game that makes full use of a wide range of powerful emotive devices to make its point. Its fairly straightforward puzzles won't keep you up, scratching your noggin at night, but the effect of its wonderful characters and the love they have for one another will leave you feeling like you belong to something bigger than yourself.
  2. Sep 14, 2017
    84
    Last Day of June is an emotional roller coaster that explores the themes of love and loss in interesting ways. Its simple story is an effective showcase for the diverse and charming cast. Its puzzles serve as fun palate cleansers that, despite their easiness, guide the narrative from start to finish. The stingy auto-save might have caused me some grief and an hour of lost progress, but that shouldn't deter fans of the genre from giving it a try. Be sure to keep an eye out for that pencil-and-paper symbol!
  3. Aug 30, 2017
    82
    Last Day of June is a bittersweet, pastel colored shot of a story about loss, grief and dedicated love. A successful mix of Ovosonic's artistic vision and Steven Wilson's haunting, melancholic tunes. As such, it provides a storytelling-based experience, with a nice touch of time-tweaking mechanics.
  4. Sep 6, 2017
    77
    There is a deep sense of melancholy in Last Day of June, created through narrative tension and player resignation to seeing the same cutscene for the fifth time. Its solid story and dreamy visuals are the game’s saving graces in the end, through the repetition kept me from being completely drawn into its magic — a tragedy unto itself.
  5. Nov 17, 2017
    70
    Without much words or lengthy conversations, Last Day of June tells a compelling story about destinies, dreams and loss that surround its protagonist Carl. The game needs more work in some technical and visual aspects, but I gotta hand it to the developers from Ovosonico — they know how to work with emotions.
  6. 70
    Last Day of June is unique and story-driven, suited for those who appreciate a slower-paced journey. The reward is an artful experience that stands a chance of resonating with your heart.
  7. Oct 18, 2017
    50
    Last Day of June wants you to feel a certain way, but the way it goes about it is clumsy and haphazard, and the visuals are unsettling.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 17
  2. Negative: 5 out of 17
  1. Jan 22, 2020
    10
    Hikaye anlatımı olarak bu güne kadar hiç bir oyunun yapmadığı bir şekilde oyuncuyu karakterler ile etkileşime geçiriyor. Sanat tasarımı olarakHikaye anlatımı olarak bu güne kadar hiç bir oyunun yapmadığı bir şekilde oyuncuyu karakterler ile etkileşime geçiriyor. Sanat tasarımı olarak da çok başarılı. Expand
  2. Jul 4, 2019
    8
    Vorweg, ich hab das Spiel kostenlos im Epicgamesstore geholt, als es das da gab. Würde es mir aber auch nicht für die 20 Euro kaufen.
    Meiner
    Vorweg, ich hab das Spiel kostenlos im Epicgamesstore geholt, als es das da gab. Würde es mir aber auch nicht für die 20 Euro kaufen.
    Meiner Meinung nach aber eines der schöneren Spiele, die es bei Epicgames kostenlos gab.
    Ein kleines 3D Puzzle Spiel mit einer wunderbar aufgelegten Grafik, in meinen Augen recht klugen Rätseln, auch wenn sich vieles aus vorherigem ergibt, und einer emotionalen und fesselnden Geschichte.

    Ich denke kleinere Kritiken, wie dass die Stimmen irgendwann nerven konnte ich selbst nicht nachvollziehen, weil ansich ja sogar fast schon "verständlich" vor sich hin gemurmelt wurde, also so, dass man sogar Dialog hören konnte (So wie ich das gehört habe), aber Ansichtssache.
    Auch dass sich einige Cutscenes wiederholt haben, war am Anfang noch fragwürdig, dann aber recht logisch, da man sich auch häufiger seinen eigenen Überlegungen aussetzt. Man hat ja auch wiederkehrende Motive in träumen und daher in meinen Augen verkraftbar.

    Wenn ihr das jetzt noch früh genug lest, gerade gibt es das Spiel noch kostenlos bei Epicgames und ich kann es für 3-4 Stunden Geschichtenerzählstunde wärmstens empfehlen. Allerdings ist es ein Nischenspiel und sollte auch als solches betrachtet werden. Nur wenn man das auch ein bisschen nachvollziehen kann, was da passiert geht es einem ans Herz.
    Also ist sicherlich nicht für jedermann, aber für ich fand es sehr gut
    Expand
  3. Mar 4, 2020
    8
    This game seriously needs a way to skip cutscenes you've already seen.
    I get that they're important but it takes the fun out of the game when
    This game seriously needs a way to skip cutscenes you've already seen.
    I get that they're important but it takes the fun out of the game when you HAVE to rewatch cutscenes you've already seen 5 times.

    And that's the only downside of the game. I really loved it. The story is deep (warning: might contain onions). Character emotions are genuine, even though they never say an actual word you understand exactly what they mean. the puzzles are fun and I loved the art style.
    Expand
  4. Aug 12, 2019
    7
    Nice concept to talk about loss.
    Really liked the art style of the game.
    Also the story telling was quite good, nice use of body language
    Nice concept to talk about loss.
    Really liked the art style of the game.
    Also the story telling was quite good, nice use of body language and sound when there are no speech or faces.
    The puzzle develop in a good pace overall.
    The big disadvantage for me was the waste of time on the repeated unskipable cut-scenes. I got really annoyed by it.
    Expand
  5. Aug 10, 2019
    6
    В целом игра не плохая ( под этим я скорей всего подразумеваю ее качество). В основе игры лежит клишированный сюжет о изменении прошлого, иВ целом игра не плохая ( под этим я скорей всего подразумеваю ее качество). В основе игры лежит клишированный сюжет о изменении прошлого, и никакого грамотного трактования я не увидел. Были заметны грубые ошибки искажения временных событий, это меня расстроило. Вообще игра задает очень грустный тон повествования, но встречаются абсурдные ходы. Например, заменить обычное ружье на ружье с конфетти...это что вообще такое?...у нас тут серьезная история. Ну и визуально вроде все хорошо за исключением впалых глаз, это выглядит крипово.
    Мой вердикт...Могло быть и лучше.
    Expand
  6. Jul 5, 2019
    4
    The plot could have been about taking responsibility, paying attention to people around you... You know, doing something good. Instead, it'sThe plot could have been about taking responsibility, paying attention to people around you... You know, doing something good. Instead, it's just a sad story with time traveling. It also seems intentionally ambiguous, but maybe I just didn't give it enough thought. Anyway, coupled with monotonous and, at times, silly gameplay, I can't think of who I could recommend this game to. Expand
  7. Apr 21, 2019
    0
    First game that i wasn't able to start on my pc. Crashes on start every time i try. Many people have crashes in this game. Developers justFirst game that i wasn't able to start on my pc. Crashes on start every time i try. Many people have crashes in this game. Developers just don't care. Waste of money. Expand

See all 17 User Reviews