Metascore
29

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 6 out of 6
  1. Aug 28, 2013
    40
    In all aspects this is a substandard action RPG that will maybe come up with better evaluation someday thanks to its patches and updates bombardment. But in this very moment the game is just sadly watching its better fellows from below.
  2. Jul 17, 2013
    40
    It could have been an interesting combination of old school mechanics and modern hack&slay action. But starting with the substandard engine up to dubious design decisions you have to dig through a lot of coal to get a glimpse of the diamond that this could have been – or might become, if the team keeps patching for a while.
  3. Jul 24, 2013
    35
    Legends of Dawn is a really weak game. It offers an open world and lots of opponents, but the fun it generates is almost nonexistent. The fighting system is dull, missions uninteresting, loot collecting is irritating. Why such a game has been allowed to debut on the market? We have to acknowledge one thing - Legends of Dawn is definitely a game for hardcore players: some of them will get to the end, despite all the bugs, errors, blood, sweat and tears.
  4. Jul 16, 2013
    28
    Even ignoring its frequent crashes and bugs, Legends Of Dawn's clumsy roleplaying systems and combat are poorly done. But you can't ignore those issues. This amateur roleplaying game shouldn’t even be sold as it is, let alone purchased and played. If you already did, the most efficient way to deal with it is to delete it from your hard drive and demand a refund.
  5. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Sep 19, 2013
    20
    A crappy system, technologically speaking it's an unfinished, irritating, and every now and then arrogant action RPG, with flaws as merits, demonstrating how to not make a game. [Issue#232]
  6. CD-Action
    Oct 16, 2013
    10
    An apology is in order to everyone who fell for the promises on Kickstarter and paid for this ruin of a game. [11/2013, p.76]
User Score
4.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 67 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 67
  2. Negative: 38 out of 67
  1. Jun 30, 2013
    2
    Oh dear. I got this becasue the screen-shots liked good. I loved Van Helsing, Titan Quest, Torchlight and this looks similar.
    It's not. It's
    Oh dear. I got this becasue the screen-shots liked good. I loved Van Helsing, Titan Quest, Torchlight and this looks similar.
    It's not. It's not very good at all. The screen is the worst I've played with since the mid 2000's. The camera is always in the wrong place the control is terrible (just moving in a straight line is like tying shoe laces while wearing boxing gloves) the difficulty curve is naff. I don't mid if it doesn't scale that's good (it doesn't scale BTW) but this forces you to grind and grind and grind in boring circles, the whole timestruggling with the cotrol method from hell and a camera angle that just doesn't let you see what's going on. With Van Helsing out only a few days ago and SO MUCH BETTER then if you want another Diablo like then that's the one to get. If you haven't aleady got Torchlight 2 then that's the best of the lot. Hell even Diablo 3 for all it's nonsense is a lot better than this. At least it's playable if a bit dull. This one struggles to give you any enjoyment at all.
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 30, 2013
    1
    FFS! This game fails on so many counts. The much vaunted super immersive engine can't keep up with the character moving around buildings willFFS! This game fails on so many counts. The much vaunted super immersive engine can't keep up with the character moving around buildings will be missing, then suddenly appear out of nowhere. The basic mechanism for getting money and gear is the age old "steal everything that isn't nailed down", and the NPC's are basically talking statues. A good trick in the shops is to steal the merchant's stuff and sell it back to him. Leveling is all about grind, grind and GRIND HARDER! And somehow playtesting has missed that a character's faith never regenerates beyond the lvl 1 max if you had 29 faith at lvl 1, that's how much you're gonna get even though you max at lvl 3 might be 50. Steer clear, this game is a total waste of money and time! Full Review »
  3. Jun 30, 2013
    0
    I was hoping that maybe this would be a good old style RPG. They took a lot of elements from old RPGs. all the bad ones.
    1: An abysmal
    I was hoping that maybe this would be a good old style RPG. They took a lot of elements from old RPGs. all the bad ones.
    1: An abysmal camera. It has two, and only two positions. Above and behind you, and slightly less above and behind you. That's it. It's annoyingly buggy to even turn it left to right as the mouse gets stuck in move mode constantly. Going into a building makes you guess where you are until the roof fades out at some random point.
    2: A confusing and mindless inventory system. Not only does noting sort itself in any useful way, but nothing has a tooltip. Nothing. You found a rune! Good job! What the hell does it do? You won't learn it in this game! Will this potion heal me or kill me? Guess what! All we are going to tell you is that is weighs 0.5 kg! No other info for you! Nothing auto-stacks. You have to manually click and drag everything to stack the hundreds of randomly generated useless items you take out of the hundreds of boxes in every building. You can craft stuff! It's cool! If you somehow manage to figure it out. There's almost no information given on anything. Spells, items, skills, nothing.
    3: Combat is the most boring aspect of this game. You can right click on things! That's about all it comes down to. Kill one thing. Run away, regen, kill another. Monsters shooting you through walls, traps that either kill you outright with no warning or just cause a minor annoyance. That is, when they load so you can figure out what's going on. And I hope you enjoy Korean MMOs because you are going to grind, grind, and grind some more!
    4: Bugs, bugs, and more bugs. If you thought Skyrim was bad at launch, this takes the cake. I can list a dozen or so before I even get out of the starting town, but the one that stands out is getting stuck. You walk down a hill and get lodged between some rocks and can't move? Guess what. Game over. This character is now stuck. Forever. I could not, for the life of me, figure out how to get out besides reloading the game. So save ever 15 seconds or so. Because you'll get stuck. A lot.
    5: The UI has a ton of menus that provide little to no information about anything. They are awkward to work around, stay open when you hit ESC making you manually click every X, and provide almost no help at all.
    6: The graphics remind me of Neverwinter Nights. The original one. That's a good thing for 11 years ago. Even with everything on max, it's so fuzzy that it's hard on the eyes. The voice acting isn't too bad, but bland. My character seems to yell at nothing now and then, too.
    Overall, this should have had another year of polish on it before it hit Steam. Do not buy this unless there are some MAJOR improvements. Completely disappointed.
    Full Review »