User Score
4.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 29
  2. Negative: 16 out of 29

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 22, 2019
    9
    Really good episode, so much feelings for Sean, he touched me, his writing is really good.
    Daniel is unlikable as hell since 2 episodes now ... One hug and "i'm sorry" for 2 months of coma and one destroyed eye, then we can f**k off ... very realistic i guess ?

    Sean is saving this season for me, i'll play Ep.5 for sean and nothing else
  2. Aug 23, 2019
    7
    EPISODE 4:
    So in the previous episode review i said that Dontnod Entertainment needed to step up with the writing and it does feel like they are trying harder although it is the penultimate episode of the series and they got just one more episode to go but this episode is a improvement Compared to the other ones so you start at the hospital after the incident and make a hell of a long way
    EPISODE 4:
    So in the previous episode review i said that Dontnod Entertainment needed to step up with the writing and it does feel like they are trying harder although it is the penultimate episode of the series and they got just one more episode to go but this episode is a improvement Compared to the other ones so you start at the hospital after the incident and make a hell of a long way to a church yes i know its the stereotypical story of an evil cult that did some brainwashing but again it is better than the other two episodes this episode addresses more racism and how Sean never gives up and always forgives his brother the episode was a lot better although they did pull the stereotypical evil cult story (which was cheap trick) the story line did improve and i was really enjoying the episode overall Dontnod Entertainment finally started to work harder on the writing but its a shame its the penultimate episode and it means that the final episode has to be a lot better to compensate for the other average so so so ones so this brings me to the final score i give episode 4 a 7 out of 10
    Expand
  3. Aug 22, 2019
    10
    This episode is the best compared to all the others, it really made me feel the importance of caring and showing love to your brother. This episode made me cry like a little p*ss
  4. Aug 25, 2019
    9
    This episode is full of heart, Sean has amazing growth, beautiful scenery and a sweeping ending, negative point for the soundtrack, only the final song shines
  5. Aug 26, 2019
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Note: My review is partly a review and partly a "what happened in this episode" summary. This is also my first review so don't expect award winning writing here. :) Life is Strange 2: Episode 3 left off on a shocking cliffhanger that left you wanting to find out what would happen next; the ending left you wanting to know what would happen to Sean's eye and where was Daniel. Episode 4, however, just doesn't feel like it was as good as the previous episode. Episode 4 starts off with Sean waking up in a hospital bed and his damaged eye covered with gauze. Joey, a doctor/nurse comes in to check up on Sean and goes through some tests with Sean. A Special Agent by the name of Flores comes in to talk to Sean and asks him a few questions about what happened at the drug farm he and some of the others who worked at the drug farm were found unconscious and hurt at. Sean asks Flores if they've found Daniel yet and she says they may have some leads as to where he is, but that they still haven't found him.

    Joey comes back in after Flores leaves and talks to Sean a bit more and tells Sean how to take care of his (removed) eye. After they talk, he leaves a towel on a table for Sean. Sean finds his sketch book in the towel and a note left by Jacob, a friend of Sean's that was one of the workers at the drug farm. Jacob took care of Daniel while Sean was in the hospital and says Daniel is at Haven Point, Nevada, so Sean decides to sneak out of the hospital at night. Sean manages to sneak out of the hospital, hotwire a car and escape.

    Sean then drives to Haven Point and after he drives for a while, he stops at the side of the road so he can sleep. Sean, however, is woken up to a man and a younger man knocking on the car. They tell Sean that he's on their properly but the older man doesn't take kindly to Sean and is racist towards him. While I get what the developers are trying to show in this little piece of episode 4 and agree that the racism Sean was recieveing was not right, the moment fell a bit flat for me. Nothing else happens as a result of this encounter in the rest of the episode which makes it feel like it's not really needed in the game much in the first place. Sean drives away from the racist man and the nicer (when compared to the older man) younger man. He arrives at Haven Point, Nevada and finds Daniel is being worshiped by a cult. The reverend of the church, Lisbeth, has been taking care of Daniel for the past few months after Jacob brought Daniel there to be taken care of.

    Sean finds out that Daniel is being manipulated and brainwashed by Lisbeth for her own personal beliefs and gains; he tries to reason with Daniel and get him to come with him to Puerto Lobos but Daniel pushes Sean back with his powers and refuses to go with Sean.

    Sean is kicked out of the church and locked out and told that if he returns, a gun will be used on him for 'trespassing'. This part of the episode was executed well. You can feel the tension between Sean and the cult; the cult twist is a really interesting and unusual piece that works well in the story. After Sean is kicked out of the church, Karen, Sean and Daniel's mother who abandoned them a few years ago, meets Sean for the first time in a few years. Karen and Sean go to a hotel room to make a plan to get Daniel back and organise to meet Jacob to talk the next day The dialogue between Sean and his mother, Karen felt kind of relatable and completely understandable to me. The voice actor for Karen seemed like they fit well with the character they were playing.

    Sean, Karen and Jacob make a plan and go to the church to get Daniel and Jacob's sick sister back. Sean and Jacob break into Lisbeth's files and find files that contain info on lots of different people. They find out various pieces of info while in Lisbeth's place and go to get Daniel back. Daniel doesn't want to leave as he thinks the church is his 'home' and after a lot of talking and convincing, Sean and Karen convince Daniel to come with them. Sean is beat up by one of Lisbeth's men and threatened with a gun but Daniel fights back and Sean, Karen, Daniel, Jacob and his sister get out. During the fight, a candle starts a fire and the church burns down.

    Episode 4 didn't have much of Daniel's powers being used except when Daniel pushed Sean, Lisbeth and the man that was following Lisbeth's orders to beat Sean up; with his powers and to open the door out of the church that Lisbeth tried to lock in an attempt to have Sean, Karen and Daniel burn and die with her inside the burning church. Episode 4 didn't feel as exciting as episode 3 did. It felt like a downgrade if anything.

    The ending of Episode 4 had no cliffhanger whatsoever which really does ruin the episode a bit. Usually, every episode something would happen at the end that would make you want to watch more of the series; I can't say the same for episode 4. I'd rate it a 7/10. It was good in some bits but not all.
    Expand
  6. Nov 29, 2019
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Episode 4 of Life is Strange 2 is another disappointment.

    Everything is filler in this episode, once again no decision matters, nothing has a lasting impact.
    Additionally, in this episode the little brother finally is openly reduced to the plot device. He was nothing more before, but now the devs do not even bother to hide it.

    The hamfisted politics are also back in this episode, our French virtue signaler threw in another encounter with random racists. But no one in their right mind can take those politically motivated scenes seriously. Even the main protagonists development is done away with.

    I can´t wait to see the characters die in the final episode, even though the devs clearly do not have the balls to do so.
    Expand
  7. Dec 3, 2019
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Terrible just a joke lmao skip it it's funny how stupid it is please save yourself the regret Expand

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Sep 15, 2019
    80
    This Episode 4 is probably the most hard-hitting episod from Life Is Strange 2. A black, dark world is now shiwing in plain sight right before Sean’s eyes and now we’re expecting a very strong finish. Great story-telling.
  2. Sep 13, 2019
    89
    ‘Faith’ is a great episode, possibly my favourite of Life is Strange 2, and undoubtedly one of the most thematically strong. There are a number of great choices, and the only sequence which felt a little unnecessary, was the hospital section at the beginning, which for me only waylaid getting to the important parts of the episode. But in general the discussion of faith, parenthood, and Christianity is precise, prompting the player as to where they want to place their faith, while at the same time, questioning whether repentance, and forgiveness as a concept, are achievable.
  3. Sep 4, 2019
    82
    The fourth episode of Life is Strange 2 is intense, powerful, dramatic: the most interesting of all.