Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Sep 11, 2017
    92
    I really couldn't be happier with what we've been given. Deck Nine gets Life is Strange, but more than that, it capitalizes on the material to make it even better. By the end of this first episode, I was not only awe-struck, but a little misty. Completely blown away by the sheer quantity (four hours!) and quality of this first episode, I absolutely cannot wait for the next two installments in this three-episode series. I may know what's going to happen, but it's all about the details. This is more than a love letter — it's a brewing tempest of adolescent insight.
  2. Jan 16, 2018
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. Jan 3, 2018
    87
    Before the Storm is a great prequel that manages to capture the essence of what Life is Strange is. With great characters, a beautiful story, the typical atmosphere and fantastic music this installment sometimes even surpasses the first game.
  4. Mar 7, 2018
    83
    Before the Storm made me care about Chloe and Rachel, giving me backstory into both of their lives before Max comes back. The journey is bittersweet, knowing the tragic events from the first game for both characters. As a prequel, Before the Storm succeeds because it tells its own story that leaves you content, while also connecting to the original game in a meaningful way. Deck Nine may not have a hand in the original, but it made sure to do Chloe and Rachel’s story justice, capturing the essence of Life is Strange while providing plenty of nods to fans.
  5. Jan 16, 2018
    81
    The writing is good enough, and the dialogue is acted well enough (especially by Rhianna DeVries as Chloe), that Before the Storm is a worthwhile experience. As an adult male, I’m probably about as far away from the game’s target demographic as one can get, and yet I still enjoyed it more than I didn’t. So if you were a fan of the first game and you want to learn more about its world and its characters, then you should definitely check out Before the Storm. But if you haven’t played Life is Strange yet, then I’d recommend you try that game first and then proceed from there.
  6. Apr 18, 2018
    80
    It's rare that a prequel truly works, where a story can captivate despite the audience knowing what's coming and where the path will lead. Life Is Strange: Before The Storm is one of those exceptional stories because it draws you in on its own terms. The only problem: You know it's building you up just to break your heart.
  7. CD-Action
    Apr 3, 2018
    80
    Life indeed is strange. I was dead certain that Before the Storm simply cannot be good, but it turned out just fine. It’s really well-written, with fleshed out characters and some humor here and there. I applaud the writers for ditching science fiction elements, but I wish BtS was as good a thriller as it is a love story. [03/2018, p.58]
  8. Mar 14, 2018
    80
    Deck Nine have finished off Life is Strange in sterling fashion. Saying farewell to Arcadia Bay with Before the Storm is sad, but the best farewells usually are.
  9. Jan 8, 2018
    80
    Life is Strange: Before the Storm isn’t as groundbreaking as its predecessor, but it is a refinement of those ideas. Chloe and Rachel’s relationship is heartwarming, and a solid core for the rest to wrap itself around. Excellent character writing makes up for the moments when the overarching story drags, or when it gets too hamfisted. That’s really the lesson, here: Write good characters, and the stakes can be as small as you’d like. Before the Storm maybe doesn’t take this to heart enough, with its more melodramatic plot beats actually detracting from the parts I enjoyed—and yet I’m inclined to forgive those sins, because the moments where it does stumble on some seemingly universal truth? They shine bright.
  10. Dec 20, 2017
    80
    Life is Strange: Before the Storm is a masterful prequel, then.
  11. Sep 18, 2017
    75
    Although a single playthrough is rather short, the fact that the range of choices and their consequences will result in different endings, means that multiple playthroughs are a legitimate option. And with some wonderful storytelling and voice acting, Before the Storm will give players an emotional ride, one that I look forward to continuing with Episode 2: Brave New World.
  12. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Mar 2, 2018
    74
    Before the Storm doesn’t feel like a proper prequel – it’s too short for that. For example, Rachel-Chloe relationship progresses too quickly and smoothly, they didn’t even have a big quarrel. Sure, writers did show just how much Rachel meant for Chloe, and we did get some nice family drama, but Rachel’s eventual disappearance and events that led to it are completely sidestepped, leaving kind of an empty feeling. [Issue#226, p.42]
  13. Jan 2, 2018
    72
    The story and characters in Life is Strange: Before the Storm help to make it a valued addition to the universe. An alluring friendship between the two main characters is the key to its success. It’s just a pity that ineffectual player choice, weak adventure mechanics, and a lacklustre ending prevent it from creating a lifelong bond with the audience.
  14. Feb 18, 2018
    70
    Experience consisting of one very good, one excellent and one weaker episode. Somebody could be annoyed by obvious similarities to its predecessor, but catchy narratives and great characters dismiss these complaints. We grief just the oddly vague ending.
  15. Jan 26, 2018
    70
    In terms of the game experience, that’s great. In terms of labour politics, the substitution muddies how I feel about the studio and the game. It’s worth reading the various interviews and points of view online to make up your own mind whether you want to support the studio and this outing for the franchise. With that caveat in place, Before the Storm benefits from being more focused and more of a character piece than Life Is Strange. It gets rid of most of the clunky puzzling, provides emotional payoffs for Chloe fans, and puts a gay teenage girl front and centre in a valuable way.
  16. Jan 21, 2018
    70
    Due to the different scenario settings, Life is Strange: Before the Storm has to abandon the rewind system which is the most interesting part of the original LiS game. Therefore, this prequel might lack the originality and interactive quality. Luckily, Before the Storm only takes three chapters to tell audience a brilliant story. And the characterization of two different girls Chole and Rachel is impressive. Like the original story, the finale chapter is a mess. But still, Before the Storm is just a simple love story. Maybe most of players will not judge the logical problem as a very serious fault.
  17. Jan 7, 2018
    70
    Before the Storm represents a big appetizer for what comes next, but it’s something we already enjoyed (the original Life is Strange). Ups and downs in the rhythm of the story and a misuse of the best narrative and emotional moments don’t allow the prequel to be as memorable as the original game. The most beautiful moments of the experience are dimmed by a story that can’t really express itself the way it should and reach the long-waited climax the player would expect.
  18. Dec 24, 2017
    70
    Shorter and less polished then the original, but nevertheless a good prequel that expands on the blossoming relationship between Chloe Price and Rachel Amber. A must-buy for the fans but not necessarily an enrichment of the first season.
  19. Jan 29, 2018
    40
    Very self-aware of being a prequel to a bestseller, Before the Storm puts fan service and farfetched melodrama above cohesive storytelling, resulting in a superficial and disappointing experience.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Dec 29, 2017
    Life is Strange: Before the Storm doesn’t have that arc. Its strengths remain strong; its weaknesses stay weak. So, if the first episode doesn’t grab you, it’s safe enough to bail and jump into the more complete and energetic original.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 230 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 230
  1. Aug 31, 2017
    7
    Not a bad game if you enjoyed the first. Graphics are decent but not up to par with the previous Life is Strange's. Performace was good on aNot a bad game if you enjoyed the first. Graphics are decent but not up to par with the previous Life is Strange's. Performace was good on a ps4 with a few stutters here and there but nothing too bad. Soundtrack was beautiful like the previous game's, and it upholds its reputation for stellar music. In the end whether or not you like this game depends on your feelings for the first. Full Review »
  2. Mar 10, 2018
    10
    This is not a game, this is art, people need to stop comparing this game with the previous, both games are masterpieces in their own way
  3. Sep 2, 2017
    1
    First of all i was a fan of lis1 when its released, but after the so many milking( make tv series, movie, and now this prequel) the game isFirst of all i was a fan of lis1 when its released, but after the so many milking( make tv series, movie, and now this prequel) the game is getting disgusting talk about that you receive the extra mission farewell and chloe old clothes if you pre order the game this is disgusting by deck nines and square enix! Its totaly like a bad fanfiction and cheap game to only milking more LIS universe and make easy money.

    If i have need to compare to the old LIS1 i say:
    -Voices mostly horrible
    -Graphics worse than LIS1 was
    -Game is just total boring unlike the previously one
    -Musics is not good ones like previously ones
    - Characters is boring...
    -The talks is horrible and boring.
    - The decisions and outcomes is boring and uninteresting
    - The game story is uninteresing and boring, like a bad fanfiction unlike the previously one.
    Full Review »