User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 132 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 132

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 26, 2014
    10
    Original. Smart. Touching. Its atmosphere takes you far away and holds till the end. Every step matters. Soundtrack is really great as well. The game is simply amazing in every way. Pure indie gemstone.
  2. Oct 22, 2015
    9
    I've been playing this game for hours waiting for it to get lazy or boring and it hasn't.
    If your looking for something different, if you think games are an art form to express things deeper than shooting things. If you like turn based combat and can stomach dark truths, I highly recommend this game but only for people 20+ young people will not get so much out of it.
  3. Jun 21, 2015
    9
    One of the my all-time favorite platformers, if not games altogether. LISA is an intense, hilarious, touching, and shocking platformer with an amazing story, surprisingly in-depth combat system, solid controls and gameplay, and basically truckloads of content. It's a very long game for the platformer genre, averaging about 10 hours, but trust me, once you get to the end you'll still feelOne of the my all-time favorite platformers, if not games altogether. LISA is an intense, hilarious, touching, and shocking platformer with an amazing story, surprisingly in-depth combat system, solid controls and gameplay, and basically truckloads of content. It's a very long game for the platformer genre, averaging about 10 hours, but trust me, once you get to the end you'll still feel like it ended too early: I wanted more, though the length is perfect for the storyline.

    There are shocking scenes in this game, and I warn that it's not for everyone. Especially those with abusive pasts, or basically anyone young, as many scenes are--at a lack of better **** up. But that's exactly why I got this game, I love games that mess with your head and this was advertised as such and let me tell you, it did not disappoint in any manner. When you first start LISA you will be confused, maybe overwhelmed, and probably feel like you can't beat it at points. This game is EXTREMELY unforgiving (assuming you don't reload your last save everytime something bad happens): some enemies possess "fatal" moves, which can one shot any of your party members out of the game for eternity (it's said these are extremely rare, though it happened to me multiple times), resting some places can result in party members being stolen and possibly killed, and you are faced with many very tough decisions, usually involving your party member's lives and all your belongings you've gathered.

    This game accomplishes everything it sets out to do: it's a huge (pretty much open) world, where you can adventure to find hidden secrets and other companions that will help you in battle. The story is engaging and it will have you in tears at the final few scenes (I'll admit I teared up at a few points in this game). LISA is a SOLID experience, and I feel like any story-driven game lover will love the heck out of this game simply because of that fact, if not for the solid combat system and hilarious scenarios.

    That was something I did NOT expect: for LISA to be funny. I thought it'd be depressing and shocking the entire time, but some of the scenes in this game made be actually laugh out loud; the writing for this game is beyond brilliant, during the hilarious and dramatic scenes alike. One of my two complaints I have with this game is just how unforgiving it is sometimes: for example, there's an unavoidable event where you could potentially loose your entire party (if you have bad luck), and then the game is unbeatable with no companions. However, it adds a very cool feel to the game; the feeling that each choice really does matter, because it could have fatal consequences. It also lends to the game's foreboding and inevitable mood.

    LISA is depressing, so if you're looking for an upbeat adventure, despite the hilarious snippets, you may want to stray away from this game, as it will not necessarily put you in a good mood, but it is an amazing experience and I think most gamers (if not everyone) should experience this story regardless. My only other
    complaint is the balancing. I feel like the combat--despite the system itself being very solid--is a bit broken given the right team composition. I got a character that could "Oil Up" enemies, and then the other three people in my party could cause fire damage, which will always critical strike on Oiled Up enemies; thus melting many otherwise difficult characters in no time at all. Also, by late game I had so much money and items that I could easily stockpile healing and "AP/TP" items and last forever in combat. The game starts out with scarce resources, which is a great feeling for an apocalyptic game, but then gets a bit too easy later. And I'm not talking about the final island, which I feel is perfectly balanced and wraps the combat up in an incredibly well-done manner.

    Though despite a few cracks like that, the foundation of this game's difficulty is otherwise solid. The curve can be a bit steep but once again, that lends to the overall mood of the game; making you feel hopeless, as you would if you were actually the main character. Brad is his name, and he has an abusive past, he finds a baby girl in a post-apocalyptic world where only men survive, thus vows to raise and protect her from everybody else, but one day she goes missing...

    Very engaging story, satisfying gameplay, basically no cons at all, tear-jerking, shocking, hilarious. Pick up LISA today, I even got it on sale for next to nothing, so I paid a couple dollars for a 10 hour long experience that really stuck with me and became one of my all-time favorite games, and that means a lot coming from someone who has played hundreds of games throughout their life.
    Expand
  4. Sep 30, 2015
    9
    Minus one point, because you can't date skeletons. Sorry, Dingles.

    But seriously, buy this if you have a stomach for perverts, sadness and a Joy Mutant that looks like an outstretched scrotum.
  5. Apr 16, 2017
    10
    The combination of clever writing, beautifully crafted atmosphere, believable characters (I hesitate to say likable because you come to hate most of them as people as the game progresses), and interesting game play mechanics solidifies Lisa the Painful RPG as one of the best games I've ever played.
  6. Jan 4, 2018
    9
    The humor, the game play, the story, the character, just great. If you die you will experience the meaning of an "unforgiving" game.
    If you like dark humor, a lot of references and a rather disturbing story. Feel free to check this game.
  7. Oct 23, 2018
    10
    epic sauce man this is good yes very much it is over 5 so it is positive score yes
  8. Nov 5, 2019
    9
    One of the darkest rpgs i've played, it will break your heart into pieces and make you feel depressed, but give you a once in a lifetime experience.
  9. Oct 10, 2018
    9
    LISA is a hard-core turn-based, narrative driven game, with a focus on perma-death and survival. The narrative and game-play intrinsically linked choices in the narrative, and this is where the main strengths of LISA lie, the story overall is decent, but the characters and exploration really elevate LISA beyond a game and into an experience. The interpretation left by the creator meansLISA is a hard-core turn-based, narrative driven game, with a focus on perma-death and survival. The narrative and game-play intrinsically linked choices in the narrative, and this is where the main strengths of LISA lie, the story overall is decent, but the characters and exploration really elevate LISA beyond a game and into an experience. The interpretation left by the creator means each experience is guaranteed to be unique, and unforgettable, but enough flesh on the bone to still create an amazing experience. Expand
  10. Dec 24, 2014
    7
    A little rough around the edges but a very worthwhile game. The direction and pacing of the story is superb and the amount of emotion conveyed through 16-bit sprites was unbelievable.

    LISA's main concept, a Father trying to protect his (adopted) daughter - indeed the last female on Earth - is incredibly compelling. Without giving too much away, I'll also say that the protagonist was
    A little rough around the edges but a very worthwhile game. The direction and pacing of the story is superb and the amount of emotion conveyed through 16-bit sprites was unbelievable.

    LISA's main concept, a Father trying to protect his (adopted) daughter - indeed the last female on Earth - is incredibly compelling. Without giving too much away, I'll also say that the protagonist was incredibly sympathetic and tragic, something which really had me invested in his welfare.

    Gameplay is good though not necessarily my cup of java. It's basically a polished Earthbound battle system with some neat mini-games thrown in. The battle system suits the quirky style of the game and is a bit more complicated then the typical turn-based 'Press A to Win', though it's pretty easy to just spam status ailments to get through.

    Overall I was pretty lukewarm where the actual game mechanics were concerned. They were decent but I found myself ploughing through just to progress the story. That being said, LISA definitely has an amazing narrative and aesthetic and for this alone it deserves all the praise it gets.
    Expand
  11. Feb 9, 2015
    7
    I think this game was a bit disturbing at some levels, I am 15 so maybe I am a bit young but still I played it, I only played for about 5 mins as i found it a bit creepy.
  12. Mar 23, 2020
    9
    I first tried this game out a couple years back and fell off of it. Even though I liked the humor the music and atmosphere was at times unsettling to me. For some reason now I am totally fine with it and in fact love it now. It actually reminds me of Yakuza games in that it can go from being completely absurd with its humor to gripping with its serious story telling. Characters you runI first tried this game out a couple years back and fell off of it. Even though I liked the humor the music and atmosphere was at times unsettling to me. For some reason now I am totally fine with it and in fact love it now. It actually reminds me of Yakuza games in that it can go from being completely absurd with its humor to gripping with its serious story telling. Characters you run into are either goofball funny, disturbing, horrific, murderous, sociopathic, rapey, or a combination. I would have liked the party members to have more of a personality outside the short introduction and level up quotes but I still felt an affinity for them none the less. The game is PAINFUL even in regular difficulty. I don't necessarily mean difficulty of enemies though those can be the case too. Just in the random cases when the game decides to make your life even more annoying by blowing **** up in your face that you couldn't possibly have been prepared for. For instance, when you sleep at a camp fire there is a high likelihood that something negative will happen. Maybe lose your stuff, poisoned, party member kidnapped, etc. Sooooo, I cheesed the game a bit (I fully admit) and would save every time I slept and if I got a back outcome I would reload. In fact I frequently back traveled (with my fast travel truck keys) to rest instead of using resources likes potions because everything feels so valuable in this game. The game is very dark, tonally, and I completely love it for it. The enemy designs are all unique and full of personality. Also some enemies are complete pushovers while others will literally kill your party members (not KO, KILL) if you don't get a little lucky and or kill them first. Overall I highly recommend this game. Expand
  13. Jan 16, 2016
    8
    A lot of bad things happen to the player in this game. The balance of challenges and rewards is in much favor of the challenges. Even overcoming things and getting massive rewards can get taken away with wrong bad choice or move. This takes fundamentals of game design and flips it on it's head, but still creates a compelling game that had me coming back for more. The soundtrack is great,A lot of bad things happen to the player in this game. The balance of challenges and rewards is in much favor of the challenges. Even overcoming things and getting massive rewards can get taken away with wrong bad choice or move. This takes fundamentals of game design and flips it on it's head, but still creates a compelling game that had me coming back for more. The soundtrack is great, and I think I found out I might be a masochist after playing this game. Expand
  14. Jun 26, 2017
    9
    I really hate useless _/10 scores, but this platform forces one, so wait until the end for a recommendation on how much you should buy it for, as I feel it to be a more accurate representation of whether the game is, you know... worth it. LISA is a game made by one man, who goes by the name of Dingaling. This man, is a genius. He's made a masterpiece in LISA, and likely my currentI really hate useless _/10 scores, but this platform forces one, so wait until the end for a recommendation on how much you should buy it for, as I feel it to be a more accurate representation of whether the game is, you know... worth it. LISA is a game made by one man, who goes by the name of Dingaling. This man, is a genius. He's made a masterpiece in LISA, and likely my current favorite game of all time. First off: this game's graphics. While it isn't a 4k hyper-realistic piece, it's graphical style perfectly compliments the world. A crazy **** of colorful characters and items in a destroyed and drowned out wasteland. From a brothel run by cross-dressing guys, to a dilapidated fast-food restaurant, it all looks cool, creepy, and hilarious in needed measure. The story is this game's shining point however. It's an apocalypse wherin all the women have dissipated, and as such, everything went crazy. You take control of Brad, but make no mistake, Brad is his own character. He finds a girl in the middle of the desert, some 15 years into the apocalypse, and tries to protect her. This goes about as well as you'd expect, so it's off to try and get her back with the help of a colorful cast of party members, all of which are unique, and all of which can die. Not in a perma-death way, but there are certain moves enemies have, along with choices you can make in-game, that will make them die. Die as in not-come-back DEAD. Which segways perfectly into choices. Choices matter in this game, and not just on a story level. You can lose party members, items, and even both your ARMS in this game (Which disallows certain combos.) The gameplay it effects is wonderful, a great take on standard RPG fare, though some bits *Cough* Roulette *Cough* can be a bit **** It's the standard RPG system, with TP and SP doing the normal RPGMaker TP and SP stuff, but the main character, along with a few party members, can do combos. These combos do damage PLUS a special move if you input the correct combo. Not all characters have this, however, which I think is for the best. IT mixes things up in an interesting way. All of this is tied together by a weird soundtrack. Good weird. Like... my favorite soundtrack weird. It's impossible to describe without first listening to some of the music, but it invokes every emotion it's supposed to, and there's a rumor that it was all done on the trial version of FL Studio, which is insane. So, is this game worth it? More than any other. It's a $10, life ruining experience, and one that you can NOT pass up, no matter what. Expand
  15. Nov 12, 2015
    10
    Weird, disturbing, hilarious, and otherwise perfect game. If Earthbound and Space Funeral had a love child that could only be truly loved by the lowest of society, that child would be Lisa.
  16. Jan 18, 2020
    5
    A brave game, but with an annihilating lack of rhythm.
    Dialogues seek humor ceaselessly, and when jokes don't work (which happens 95% of the time), dialogues become extremely boring.
    Poor gameplay, since on the PC the use of the game pad requires the joint use of the keyboard.
  17. Feb 7, 2016
    10
    I have never played a game like LISA, and I doubt that I ever will. LISA is yes, an RPG maker game, but what Dingaling did with the given material is outright remarkable. There are also tons of various things to discover that are not needed to beat the game, so it is expected to play it multiple times, heck, it even has multiple endings! The battle system is the tried and tested turn basedI have never played a game like LISA, and I doubt that I ever will. LISA is yes, an RPG maker game, but what Dingaling did with the given material is outright remarkable. There are also tons of various things to discover that are not needed to beat the game, so it is expected to play it multiple times, heck, it even has multiple endings! The battle system is the tried and tested turn based battle system, but has a couple interesting mini games built in. Think DDR with punches. It is one of my favourite games of all time, and in my opinion, it makes even games like Bioshock, which I love, look like Call of Duty. Expand
  18. Jul 27, 2016
    10
    This game has quite it's own style, and takes many game-play and visual aspects from things like Dark Souls and Fist of the North Star. It's great for anyone who likes responsive turn-base action, dark humor, or a good story.
  19. Mar 23, 2017
    10
    An absolutely stunning game, very Kojima-esc in the way it blends serious tones, story and character with goofy humour; and all in inch-wide text boxes! There are tons of little touches and nods that didn't even need to be in but makes playing the game to completion a real treat. The soundtrack also matches the wild atmosphere the game has, and at times is down right groovy as hell. WouldAn absolutely stunning game, very Kojima-esc in the way it blends serious tones, story and character with goofy humour; and all in inch-wide text boxes! There are tons of little touches and nods that didn't even need to be in but makes playing the game to completion a real treat. The soundtrack also matches the wild atmosphere the game has, and at times is down right groovy as hell. Would recommend this game to ANYONE. Fantastic. Expand
  20. Jul 21, 2017
    10
    This game tells a story worth experiencing and truly shows that video games are an art style that can express ideals and make the player truly feel from the perspective of the protagonist. This game is very deep and causes you to think.
  21. Jul 27, 2017
    9
    Amazing narrative
    Weird but great soundtrack
    alright visuals , joy mutants are cool
    Gameplay is good , battles are okay but the real thing that makes it stand out are the choices you have to make
  22. Nov 15, 2018
    10
    I got farted in the face while sleeping. And that was the best thing that happened to me in this game!

    This game is a rollercoaster of emotions - love, sadness, hate, rage, frustration, desperation, hilarity and many more. This is one of the few games that made me laugh out loud while playing it. No other game made me feel and regret some of my in-game decision like LISA. This game
    I got farted in the face while sleeping. And that was the best thing that happened to me in this game!

    This game is a rollercoaster of emotions - love, sadness, hate, rage, frustration, desperation, hilarity and many more.
    This is one of the few games that made me laugh out loud while playing it. No other game made me feel and regret some of my in-game decision like LISA.
    This game was definitely the most interesting experience of video gaming for me ever.
    I even think playing LISA made me a better person. I am serious about that.
    This game taught me something that no one else has ever accomplished: coping.
    Coping with bad decision you made. Coping with bad stuff that happens to you without you making any wrong choices. Coping with whatever life throws at you.

    Thank you Austin Jorgensen for taking me onto that journey and making me a better person on the way.
    Expand
  23. Nov 5, 2019
    10
    A simply amazing experience. Playing as a character that is willing to do anything to protect his daughter shows just how desperate Brad is, and lets the player sympathize for him, and that's what the game does best, as it allows the player to either dislike the actions Brad is presented, or justify them, no matter how awful they are. Lisa is an example of how much of an impact one gameA simply amazing experience. Playing as a character that is willing to do anything to protect his daughter shows just how desperate Brad is, and lets the player sympathize for him, and that's what the game does best, as it allows the player to either dislike the actions Brad is presented, or justify them, no matter how awful they are. Lisa is an example of how much of an impact one game developer can leave on those wiling to step out of their comfort zone and play something new. With a combination of great 2-dimensional graphics and an amazing soundtrack, both of which surprisingly fit the post-apocalyptic atmosphere, Lisa has become a favorite rpg of mine. Expand
  24. Oct 12, 2018
    9
    LISA the painful RPG (And it's DLC, LISA the Joyful) is one of the few games to make me cry, with it's touching and depressing story following a man named Brad, trying to protect his adopted daughter Buddy, (Who is the last woman alive) From a world of thirsty men. This game has some of the best RPG gameplay I've ever seen for a RPG maker game. Making status effects matter, and restingLISA the painful RPG (And it's DLC, LISA the Joyful) is one of the few games to make me cry, with it's touching and depressing story following a man named Brad, trying to protect his adopted daughter Buddy, (Who is the last woman alive) From a world of thirsty men. This game has some of the best RPG gameplay I've ever seen for a RPG maker game. Making status effects matter, and resting into a game of risk-reward. Also, some enemy's can perma kill party members. Also, the choices.
    None of them really effect the overall plot aside from a few pieces of text, but where they really matter is the gameplay. Their is a part of the game whre you have to Chose between a party member, or one of Brad's arms, permanently weakening the one party member who will always be on your team.
    One last way I could describe it is Undertale for messed up people.
    Expand
  25. Nov 26, 2018
    9
    Even though the gameplay is a bit draining and lifeless, the story just whoops ass when it comes to originality and lore. This game is worth the wait.
  26. Dec 8, 2019
    8
    Very unique game. Would recommend.

    The story in this game is amazing. Without revealing anything i'll just say that it's type of game where you don't really know anything in the beginning but learn more of the events that led up to the situation as you progress, and it's done in a really good way. Apart from the story, the game keep suprising you with dark humor jokes/trolls/etc. A big
    Very unique game. Would recommend.

    The story in this game is amazing. Without revealing anything i'll just say that it's type of game where you don't really know anything in the beginning but learn more of the events that led up to the situation as you progress, and it's done in a really good way. Apart from the story, the game keep suprising you with dark humor jokes/trolls/etc. A big part of how the story progresses is the players choice, and the choices almost always have consequences.
    Expand
  27. Jun 30, 2019
    9
    In a world without women, you follow the post apocalyptic story of Brad Armstrong. You meet interesting characters with masterfully done sprite work. The game has great combat and battle animations,but the most important thing is the depressing story of olathe and its inhabitants. The currency in the game are dirty mags, and that just put a smile on my face. There are two ways to play theIn a world without women, you follow the post apocalyptic story of Brad Armstrong. You meet interesting characters with masterfully done sprite work. The game has great combat and battle animations,but the most important thing is the depressing story of olathe and its inhabitants. The currency in the game are dirty mags, and that just put a smile on my face. There are two ways to play the game, normal mode or pain mode. Normal mode is a more story driven experience, but pain mode is as the name describes PAINFUL, with a higher focus on combat. The only thing that prevents this game from getting a ten is that when you find your perfect party, the game becomes a cakewalk. I can't give the story justice in this review so if you were having any doubts of playing the game, you should take my word and play this art. Expand
  28. Mar 26, 2020
    10
    LISA: The Painful's exploration of guilt is heartbreaking and hilarious. The absurdities of its world contrast perfectly with the harsh realities of its characters.
  29. Feb 18, 2020
    10
    I am big fan of RPGs,played:OFF,space funeral,Mario RPG,Undertale,Deltarune,Earthbound,Mother 3,Final fantasy 6,yume nikki,Chrono trigger even South park:the stick of truth and more (in other words I know my crap).And this game LIsa:the painful RPG is one of best things I played and have 2 main reasons why!

    Game design:It is almost perfect the side scroll perspective is really a breath
    I am big fan of RPGs,played:OFF,space funeral,Mario RPG,Undertale,Deltarune,Earthbound,Mother 3,Final fantasy 6,yume nikki,Chrono trigger even South park:the stick of truth and more (in other words I know my crap).And this game LIsa:the painful RPG is one of best things I played and have 2 main reasons why!

    Game design:It is almost perfect the side scroll perspective is really a breath of fresh air and makes game more interesting (looking into caves to get to other end),I love the ''main hub'' idea where you have multiple separated paths where you can go in any way to finish that part,also this game makes exploration so rewarding with not just some extra jokes and story,you get actual items that you will need and cant grind for and yes there is no grinding,there is set amount of characters (ever one is original)and you will need to explore to level up and get their items.the game design is at some times scary because of bad things and choices that effects not just story but how you actually play the game.

    Story:I don't to spoil anything but this is only game that made me feel something and made me sad.
    the games story is something that even games like Undertale cant get on same level cause Lisa is mature, know what its story is about and does not brake 4th wall for cheap ''kek's'',it has great and dark humor.Story doesn't pull any punches and it will hit you in the groin and will kick your ass (mentally)!
    The people that think that story is without a point need to replay it or just stop thinking that every game has to have happy ending or optional ending.
    Expand
  30. Mar 23, 2020
    10
    Mi videojuego favorito de todos los tiempos. Aunque hiciera la review con los 5000 caracteres máximos no le haría justicia. Una obra maestra.
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Dec 5, 2019
    67
    While LISA: The Painful attempts to do something unique and bold, it misfires and instead tells a story that works against its own ends, ultimately feeling gratuitous and pointless.
  2. Mar 11, 2015
    85
    With superb writing, clever humour and a unique kind of drama, Lisa proves that sometimes you don't need great technology and high quality graphics in order to tell a great story.
  3. Feb 21, 2015
    50
    There’s potential to be found in LISA, but so much of it feels like a rough first draft.