User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 445 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 67 out of 445

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 1, 2014
    10
    Awesome game cant believe its free will be playing this alot had so much fun theres a few issues with servers right now but that should pass lauch day issues are common appart from that fantastic fun as hell :)
  2. Feb 4, 2014
    7
    TF2 meets Full throttle meets Redneck Rampage. ATM there are number of limited maps and some kinks to be worked out but, the devs assure bug fixes and more content is on the way.
  3. Feb 7, 2014
    6
    Fast paced and gritty, Loadout is a run and gun filled with crazy guns and crude humor. The gameplay in Loadout has a very Quake/Unreal Tournament feel to it in that you are almost constantly moving and accuracy is something of an after thought. You play from a third person viewpoint so you can see around corners and such a lot easier. Not that it makes much difference since you willFast paced and gritty, Loadout is a run and gun filled with crazy guns and crude humor. The gameplay in Loadout has a very Quake/Unreal Tournament feel to it in that you are almost constantly moving and accuracy is something of an after thought. You play from a third person viewpoint so you can see around corners and such a lot easier. Not that it makes much difference since you will pretty much be sprinting your butt off for most of the match.

    The game is free to play with an in game market that is purely for cosmetic items. Definitely not a pay to win type of game. All items that affect the actual game can be bought with resources that you earn from gameplay. Guns can be customized in crazy ways. Want a shotgun that heals you friends? Done. How about a gun that shoots spiked metal guns at are electrified? Done. While you start out with fairly basic items, they can quickly be customized to fit your play preferred playstyle.

    There are several different game types. Each which add a fun twist on familiar concepts (for example, the flag in CTF is a giant hammer that can kill enemies). Right now, the only downer is the lack of maps. Right now you a bit limited since certain other modes are unavailable right now.

    The reason this game didn't score higher is that, while it has its fun moments, it also gets boring kind of quickly. The run and gun type of gameplay will give you a rush at first but after you figure out most of the game mechanics and see the loadouts that other players have you start to get a feel for what are the best mixes and matches in terms of weaponry.

    The game is also in desperate need of a tutorial that teaches players the objectives of the different game types. Too many maps has my team lost because most of them don't understand the overall objective of the game and instead just go for kills. Also, the feel to the community is turning a bit toxic since lots of the "good" players would rather berate teammates with insults and underhanded comments.

    All in all, the game is at the least worth a try since its free but don't set your expectations too high. You find a game with a lot of action, gore, and nudity (albeit censored but rather poorly at that) but very little else. Its a bit of a hit and miss game. I'll probably play periodically from now on but probably not dedicate too much time to it.
    Expand
  4. Feb 22, 2014
    3
    First of all, matchmaking sucks so much. You just can't find a game within 20 minutes... Ready function sucks ass, if we aren't ready then why the hell we join game?! 7/8 players ready... Searching new match. Translation to my language was so terrible.. i had to switch to English to play it somehow. After i finally found match it sucked... Third person gameplay.. seriously? Aiming sucks,First of all, matchmaking sucks so much. You just can't find a game within 20 minutes... Ready function sucks ass, if we aren't ready then why the hell we join game?! 7/8 players ready... Searching new match. Translation to my language was so terrible.. i had to switch to English to play it somehow. After i finally found match it sucked... Third person gameplay.. seriously? Aiming sucks, moving is acceptable but i don't like the game anyway. Expand
  5. Feb 23, 2014
    7
    Solid shooter with a lot of potential but it's less an arena shooter and more a cross between gears of war and tf2. The dodging and ads aiming make it seem like a very fast gears of war game which I really dig. Decent graphics and animations. Viable gun choices are kinda weak and possibly the worst part of the gameplay. They tried to make it so there are tons of options but really thereSolid shooter with a lot of potential but it's less an arena shooter and more a cross between gears of war and tf2. The dodging and ads aiming make it seem like a very fast gears of war game which I really dig. Decent graphics and animations. Viable gun choices are kinda weak and possibly the worst part of the gameplay. They tried to make it so there are tons of options but really there are only a few decent gun configurations which results in having less viable guns than UT. I love me a good arena shooter and I will certainly keep playing this for maybe a month but they are going to need a lot more content and gun choices to keep me interested. People that say this are pay to win are most likely just bad at the game. I've played about 30 matches and so far I've seen no evidence of pay to win. I do quite well with the stock assault rifle and a modified 3 round rocket launcher which can be purchased after 2-3 matches. Expand
  6. Feb 13, 2014
    10
    This game is fun cuz, it's a bloody shooter, and unrealistic things where u can miss ur legs and miss ur head. It makes me laugh. It makes ppls to rage. I recommend yo guys to try it. It's so fun. U can also customize guns and ur own character. Plz play this game!
  7. Feb 8, 2014
    7
    This game is really fun to play and it is actually free! It might not be the game that you will play all the time but it is really good to try it out. It does have micro-transactions but they are for outfits and boosters. The gun customization is great but it is not fully taken advantage of. I highly recommend to try it.
  8. Feb 10, 2014
    7
    Games is ok. Free game with most improvments and manual weaponts. Creating weaponts is very good choice for ttp game. But this game have enought this stuff. Slow unlock and enought items.
    -------------------------------------------
    Łamany angielski teraz po ludzku: -------------------------------------------- Gra jest porządku ale ma jeden mankament. Za mało rozbudowana. Mamy kilka
    Games is ok. Free game with most improvments and manual weaponts. Creating weaponts is very good choice for ttp game. But this game have enought this stuff. Slow unlock and enought items.
    -------------------------------------------
    Łamany angielski teraz po ludzku:
    --------------------------------------------
    Gra jest porządku ale ma jeden mankament. Za mało rozbudowana. Mamy kilka mapek i trybów któe w zupełności wystarczają. Model gry z tworzeniem własnych broni - super! Ale jest za mało kombinacji. To jak w klasycznych mmo. Widzimy 10 postaci z tym samym sprzętem ponieważ jest niezastąpiony. A co z resztą ulepszeń? Są by zapełnić dziurę w grze? Rozumiem, że nie można za szybko wszystkiego odblokować bo się znudzi, gra się nudzi po 20h gry ponieważ w koło Macieju mamy to samo i później większość graczy biega z tą samą bronią. Tworząc coś unikatowego warto być unikalnym.
    Expand
  9. Mar 12, 2014
    4
    Where to start? This game had hilarious comedy, (that any 11 year old could think of). It was so fun (the first 20 minutes). This game suffers from many small things but most of all, lasting appeal. I have played this game for about 2 hours in 2 or 3 sittings, and wasn't satisfied. The only reason I'm not giving this game a 2 is because its a free to play. I would be outraged to pay moreWhere to start? This game had hilarious comedy, (that any 11 year old could think of). It was so fun (the first 20 minutes). This game suffers from many small things but most of all, lasting appeal. I have played this game for about 2 hours in 2 or 3 sittings, and wasn't satisfied. The only reason I'm not giving this game a 2 is because its a free to play. I would be outraged to pay more than $10 for this product IMPORTANT MESSAGE: This game isn't for everyone, but is just right for some. So don't let me stop you from downloading this free from steam. I want every one to give it a shot. Who knows, you may love it. Expand
  10. Mar 29, 2014
    4
    A nice idea for a game, ruined by balance issues, terrible map design, and a fetishistic obsession with cosmetic microtransactions.

    The huge draw of Loadout is the ability to make your own weapons, which is simple to do using the in game currency used for simply playing the game, and the process can be sped up by the use of real money. The issue is that there is very little point in
    A nice idea for a game, ruined by balance issues, terrible map design, and a fetishistic obsession with cosmetic microtransactions.

    The huge draw of Loadout is the ability to make your own weapons, which is simple to do using the in game currency used for simply playing the game, and the process can be sped up by the use of real money. The issue is that there is very little point in making anything but something with shotgun spread or an assault rifle. Like most games nowadays, the fast paced confusion of Loadout means that you either want to take out an opponent in one shot at close quarters, or spray and pray to land as many hits as possible. Because of this, it boils down to everyone essentially using the same four guns in order to win. The same is true for the grenades, which are not customized outside of their initial ability.

    For example, the fire grenade does the damage of a regular grenade, but also sets the target on fire, which may or may not go out as the target rolls. This is never adequately explained, and many times I found myself rolling around like an idiot as I slowly burned to death, and seemingly couldn't stop it.

    Another issue is that the level design is all over the place. Many levels force plays to huddle into small areas the size of a pack of gum, obviously trying to make the grenades in the game useful. Unfortunately, this leads to frustrating deaths as someone's grenade destroys your entire team, and there is very little you can actually do to stop them. Other levels are so large that they take MINUTES to traverse, and they are capture the flag maps, leading to stalemates as the games just drag on and on.

    There are three playable characters, which are entirely cosmetic. This is fine. However, in order to customize them, huge amounts of real-word money must be used. This leads to characters either all looking the exact same (and using the same taunt, which plays extremely irritating music), or someone with a 30 dollar character looking so ugly that your eyes burn.

    On the plus side, this game is funny most of the time. Most of the jokes gave me a snicker the first time, and watching my character bounce around with a colossal hole in his chest, with his heart and organs jiggling around inside of his torso gave me a dark chuckle. Unfortunately, watching a fat woman twerk is only funny the first time, and very quickly grates on your nerves from the constant chaos and unavoidable deaths.

    The graphics, as a whole, are fun and appealing, even if they seem like something concocted from a Team Fortress 2 fever dream. The music is appealing, the game is pretty, and it is even fun for short sprints. However, the horrendous balance, appalling level design which seems to be trying to invoke the chaotic energy of 90s FPSs (including all of the worst parts), and repetitive fart-humor began to ware on my nerves very quickly. If these things get patched out, the game might hover around a 7 or so. Until then, I have to give Loadout a 4.
    Expand
  11. Mar 22, 2014
    2
    I liked the graphics when i first saw the game. But there is nothing new in the game. Just the same game modes,lack of maps. And number of players in a map is limited which is lame. The prices for things are absurdly high. Now the main thing...COMBAT. Well, it is also pretty boring.The weapons lack feel. The joy of pulling the trigger and listening to the reload sound is not there becauseI liked the graphics when i first saw the game. But there is nothing new in the game. Just the same game modes,lack of maps. And number of players in a map is limited which is lame. The prices for things are absurdly high. Now the main thing...COMBAT. Well, it is also pretty boring.The weapons lack feel. The joy of pulling the trigger and listening to the reload sound is not there because the weapons feel like a child's toys. I just liked one thing:- The servers are pretty good. They have low ping Expand
  12. Feb 8, 2014
    8
    Loadout brings back the old Arena fps games that we love
    Pros
    -Gun sounds are amazing
    -Gameplay is great
    -Tons of Content
    -Great gun customization
    -Animations are solid
    Cons
    -Lackluster Graphics (but who cares)
    -No Story
    -Lack of Map Variety
    Recommendation: Any Hardcore Gamer or Arena FPS fan
  13. Feb 9, 2014
    10
    Everyone who gives this game something lower that 8 is a total fool or a liar. This game gives everything that promises and does it well. The server issues are fixed now and the game is loads of fun. It's not pay to win in any way. Its very skill based. And its freaking funny and loads of fun. And guess what? ITS FREE! I can say with certainty that it is among the best F2P games out there.
  14. Feb 6, 2014
    10
    Customization, fast paced fighting and original taunts... No possible way to pay-to-win. You can run with a pixelated penis. Isn't it enough for you? gl hf sir.
  15. Feb 6, 2014
    9
    From what I have played in the past five hours, I can tell that Loadout is not only fun, but addicting. I have never been able to get into F2P games because of the whole Pay 2 Win aspect that many of them have. Loadout does not. Everything that requires money to purchase is completely cosmetic, and that's what I love most about it. I would most certainly recommend trying this game out.From what I have played in the past five hours, I can tell that Loadout is not only fun, but addicting. I have never been able to get into F2P games because of the whole Pay 2 Win aspect that many of them have. Loadout does not. Everything that requires money to purchase is completely cosmetic, and that's what I love most about it. I would most certainly recommend trying this game out. If it isn't your cup of tea, at least it's free, right? Expand
  16. Feb 7, 2014
    8
    This game certainly doesn't do anything that hasn't already been done before, but its a shooter. It has character spewing out from every bullet hole. First off, gun crafting. Sure it needs work, but the game is just released, if this is the baseline then all I see is upward movement for this. Second, character customization. In this day and age, this becomes a must for games of thisThis game certainly doesn't do anything that hasn't already been done before, but its a shooter. It has character spewing out from every bullet hole. First off, gun crafting. Sure it needs work, but the game is just released, if this is the baseline then all I see is upward movement for this. Second, character customization. In this day and age, this becomes a must for games of this ilk. Theirs is definitely full of funny sight gags and ridiculous costumes, again, it being such a new game, it needs time to really be opened up, but it is on the right track. The costumes cost a pretty hefty chunk based on how much those points cost to buy, but they're still figuring out their system. Otherwise, this is a great game. Fun, easy time sink. If you like shooters, this is definitely worth the play. Expand
  17. Feb 8, 2014
    8
    Loadout is a very fun and faster sort of game. But its game modes could be a lot better and more "up to date" per say . I do cut it some slack thought only because it just left its beta stage. It could be better, but it definitely is entertaining, for a while...
  18. Feb 9, 2014
    9
    Amazing game. Not even close to tf2 other than in the vague descriptor of 'cartooney shooter'. Needs 2 modes or more and a few more maps but you should probably just go and get it now. Especially If you're the type that can't take getting stomped for a long-ass time in a game until you figure stuff out. By the time it has all it's features everyone is going to be leagues ahead of whereAmazing game. Not even close to tf2 other than in the vague descriptor of 'cartooney shooter'. Needs 2 modes or more and a few more maps but you should probably just go and get it now. Especially If you're the type that can't take getting stomped for a long-ass time in a game until you figure stuff out. By the time it has all it's features everyone is going to be leagues ahead of where they are now, and it's already pretty rough for noobs in this game. You will die a lot when you first start playing. I died a lot for the first month I played until I figured out how to move better and make a good gun. I have a feeling a few of these really low reviews got stomped early on and raged. Just a hunch. This game is recommended by the youtubers: RoosterTeeth and TotalBiscuit. TB even remarked that the Weapon Customization system is quite possibly the best he's ever seen in a game of this type. Expand
  19. Feb 14, 2014
    8
    Loadout is a free-to-play shooter that's truly unique. Don't believe the BS when people call it a "Team Fortress 2 clone", it plays almost nothing like TF2 for better or worse.

    Loadout really plays a lot more like a mix between Gears of War's multiplayer death match and Borderland with it's whacky and incredible gun customization. Loadout boldly takes the approach of allowing you to
    Loadout is a free-to-play shooter that's truly unique. Don't believe the BS when people call it a "Team Fortress 2 clone", it plays almost nothing like TF2 for better or worse.

    Loadout really plays a lot more like a mix between Gears of War's multiplayer death match and Borderland with it's whacky and incredible gun customization. Loadout boldly takes the approach of allowing you to make your own weapon. You'd think that's make things incredibly unbalanced, but honestly I haven't really found an 'unfair' moment yet. The shooting is fast, frantic, and very enjoyable.

    The game is also the best kind of Free-to-play, as well. There's no pay to win here, but there are loads of free customization options to unlock if you choose to support the developer...and in my opinion, they do deserve it.

    Scoring this title less than a 7 or so is like punching a gift horse in the face, and I don't know what entitled moron would complain about getting a game like this for free.

    Give Loadout a try, you might love it.
    Expand
  20. Feb 3, 2014
    10
    I have never in my life been interested in fast paced shooters. They were never my style. I saw this game about a year ago, and the artwork was beautiful enough for me to give the game a shot. What I thought was a shot in the dark, turned into one of the wackiest, fastest paced, and over the top hilarious games I've ever played.
  21. Feb 3, 2014
    9
    Amazing game started in april and haven't doubted the game. The gameplay is next gen, not your typical shooter like cod, it has platforming different types of weapons different powerups truly captures what FPS is supposed to be at its core. I grew up playing quake, ut2k4 halo 2 battlefield and I can say this is what will make the genre come back again, this game right here. There is alsoAmazing game started in april and haven't doubted the game. The gameplay is next gen, not your typical shooter like cod, it has platforming different types of weapons different powerups truly captures what FPS is supposed to be at its core. I grew up playing quake, ut2k4 halo 2 battlefield and I can say this is what will make the genre come back again, this game right here. There is also different types of game modes suited for different gun types so everyone has a chance to shine, lots of customization, equipments, its a whole another wacky world of gaming this game offers so much for free I feel bad for not paying. It also has a semi moba mode where you can upgrade player damage,defense or healing, and you coordinate objectives with your teammates. The cosmetics are hilarious, there is a penis, there is twerking, mocking golf clap, fedoras, suits, teabag taunts and the smooth criminal. Truly a superb customization for the characters. The only thing I do not like about the game is the fact that the studio is so small and limited amount of resources, this game has so much potential and I wish more people were interested to see it blossom into one of the greatest games ever made. There are a couple of bugs encountered here and there but if you like shooting games, hell if you even like mobas you can come try it out because if you don't you are missing out on one of the most fun games ever made. - sinnen Expand
  22. Feb 3, 2014
    10
    A solid game, with a play-style reminiscent of some of the best old-school shooters. Powered by a unmatched dev team, the game's only going to get better as it goes on. It already blows other games by AAA developers out of the water in terms of gameplay and general quality.

    In particular, I'm looking forward to the development of the Cryo payload, which will let you shoot ice like a
    A solid game, with a play-style reminiscent of some of the best old-school shooters. Powered by a unmatched dev team, the game's only going to get better as it goes on. It already blows other games by AAA developers out of the water in terms of gameplay and general quality.

    In particular, I'm looking forward to the development of the Cryo payload, which will let you shoot ice like a bona fide superhero/mutant. It'll add some delightful on-the-fly strategy to this fast faced shooter.

    Anyway, 10/10, would stare at pixelated penis again.
    Expand
  23. Feb 4, 2014
    10
    This game is hilarious! The humor is crass, admittedly, but the action is accentuated by the comic-esque, over-the-top gore. Arms are blown off, chest cavities are exposed, and chunks of limbs are torn off in death sequences that would be grotesque if not for the game's almost cel-shaded graphics. The customization system is deep, yet easy to understand, and each weapon feels like yourThis game is hilarious! The humor is crass, admittedly, but the action is accentuated by the comic-esque, over-the-top gore. Arms are blown off, chest cavities are exposed, and chunks of limbs are torn off in death sequences that would be grotesque if not for the game's almost cel-shaded graphics. The customization system is deep, yet easy to understand, and each weapon feels like your own, unique gun. The game receives a 8.75 from me - the 10 is just to bring up the score after all the ragers who use Metacritic as a voting system came through. Give it a try; it's free! Expand
  24. Feb 7, 2014
    10
    Want a honest review don't listen to those sites on your left saying this game doesn't work or whatever I'll be honest yes the game has it's share of problems but, it will be fixed yes the game is having a rocky start but hell it's indie game that was unknown for the most part until it came on steam it's just sever issues mostly. Now for the positives. Want gore you got it, want nudity youWant a honest review don't listen to those sites on your left saying this game doesn't work or whatever I'll be honest yes the game has it's share of problems but, it will be fixed yes the game is having a rocky start but hell it's indie game that was unknown for the most part until it came on steam it's just sever issues mostly. Now for the positives. Want gore you got it, want nudity you got it, want customization you got it , kill a rival and want to tea bag his body you got it, want to do the carlton dance you got it , loadout offers so much fun the only way for me to explain it is you have to try out the game yourself. Think of loadout as a mixture of tf2 graphics and silliness with borderlands 2 troll references and gun customization. The develops are in constant talk with the community hell check for yourself on the steam community hub, if a major bug or issue pops out 8/10 it will have a developer response. So don't trust these "honest" reviews from gaming critics like ign you know the same critic that gave CoD a 10/10 Expand
  25. Feb 7, 2014
    10
    This game have been compared to TF2 a lot, i can see that the graphics look kinda the same, but other than that it's completely different. The game focuses a lot on making your own gun and having your own play style. this sounds like it's going to be a massively unbalanced game with some people destroying the other team, but somehow they made it so that you can do good in the game noThis game have been compared to TF2 a lot, i can see that the graphics look kinda the same, but other than that it's completely different. The game focuses a lot on making your own gun and having your own play style. this sounds like it's going to be a massively unbalanced game with some people destroying the other team, but somehow they made it so that you can do good in the game no matter what loadout you have.
    The game have very vertical maps that fit well with the floaty jumping and rolling. All the maps have different routes you can go to get to your objective and sometimes you will have to improvise to get out of a sticky situation.
    Since this is a F2P game you can expect some micro transactions but they will not help you much in making progress in the game. the guns you start out with are one of the most powerful guns in the game, you can spent real money on customizing your character but it won't give you any advantage.

    i really recommend that you at least try out this game. it's a fun game to play with your friends.
    Expand
  26. Feb 3, 2014
    9
    A delightful shooter with lots of entertainment value in both the gameplay and visuals.

    The gameplay is a throwback to "classic" shooters with a lot of jumping around, shooting often ridiculous guns at each other and completing team objectives which require you to move around the map a lot. Between the matches you are expected to customize your weapons to suit your tastes. The
    A delightful shooter with lots of entertainment value in both the gameplay and visuals.

    The gameplay is a throwback to "classic" shooters with a lot of jumping around, shooting often ridiculous guns at each other and completing team objectives which require you to move around the map a lot.

    Between the matches you are expected to customize your weapons to suit your tastes. The customization can get pretty fairly with each gun comprised of several parts each providing modifiers which add up to the final gun. This includes changing ammo types for new effects and how the shooting itself behaves (such as semi-auto, burst fire, auto, spooling, etc..), the sights and other aspects. There is also a big list of usable items you can get, starting with grenades and expanding to things like turrets, mines, medkits and so on.

    The only problem I have with the weapon customization is most of the parts are locked away in a tech tree, I wish they were just all open to use from the start so you can build the gun you want to try right away rather than waiting, it would suit this classic shooter type of game a lot more. It does not take too long to get to the parts you want though so it's not a huge issue.

    The game modes are fun and pretty varied with some variations of modes you will have seen in other shooters but usually with their own little spin. The flag in capture the flag is a limited use superweapon which destroys everyone around you if you time it right, the loot in their loothorde mode is dangerously explosive (and thowable) and the deathmatch requires that you collect a drop off your kills or the kill doesn't count (and this can be denied). It's a good mix and they just added a new mode which combines a lot of those modes together in a supermode.

    Your character can be customized to a high degree, with so many parts, many of which are funny references or shout-outs to other games, movies, or whatever. It's highly entertaining BUT the cosmetic pieces cost a slightly insane amount of money. The prices really need to be brought down or maybe there could be some sales with big discounts. I can't see myself spending anything on cosmetics which cost so much.

    On the bright side, you can't directly buy any of the gun bits and combat items with real money so it's just the cosmetic stuff people pay for.
    Expand
  27. Feb 4, 2014
    9
    This game is amazing, good weapon customization, great gameplay, graphics and characters with a good touch of humor, and the best part is he's still free!
  28. Feb 6, 2014
    9
    To keep it simple:

    Good map design. Fun modes with clever tweaks to the classics like TDM & CTF, all team based 4v4. Varied weapon building mode that allows you to create essentially any gun type (however, some combos require component leveling to work properly; ex. charged 1-shot sniper rifle deals barely less than lethal damage to begin with). Completely free to play -- pay
    To keep it simple:

    Good map design.

    Fun modes with clever tweaks to the classics like TDM & CTF, all team based 4v4.

    Varied weapon building mode that allows you to create essentially any gun type (however, some combos require component leveling to work properly; ex. charged 1-shot sniper rifle deals barely less than lethal damage to begin with).

    Completely free to play -- pay for features include standard XP & currency boosters as well as a robust 14-slot cosmetic system (cosmetic items can be earned in first win of the day as well outside of the pay system).

    The initial launch was hindered by server issues as there were up to 30k concurrent players. Server issues are not completely gone, but they have been significantly reduced.

    There is currently only an automatic matchmaker and no server selection tool at the moment.

    There is a leveling component to both the user and each individual weapon component (unique to each base weapon type; that is to say a rifle slug ammo levels up separately from a beam slug ammo). Component leveling is a two-edged sword, as being matched vs players with high level weapons do provide a moderate disadvantage, while the leveling provides a persistent RPG-like goal system. Leveled weapon differences vary and generally are not extremely lopsided -- a whole tier above does about 5-10% more damage, but that difference can change some few weapons from being ineffective to quite effective.

    The movement system has some interesting quirks, such as rolling then jumping allows for a high jumps. Rolling while on fire will reduce and possibly remove burning.

    The devs are constantly updating the game and servers as well as being quite transparent with their operation by keeping in regular contact with the players.

    ---
    Final review notes: I have had a lot of fun with the game and haven't spent any money on it yet. There are some weapons that are just simply easier to use and can be irritating when overused. Not all weapon builds are viable initially and require some component leveling to have work properly. There are 1-shot kill weapons in the game, however they're generally the most risky to use. Good players can quickly seem overpowered in Loadout, but they're not because of their weapon level, but because they know how the game works, know how to move, and are a good shot. :D (playing vs someone who can consistently get headshots is annoying, as in any game). Despite the leveling system, Loadout is still a skill based game.

    ---
    Speculation: Apparently more weapon components, maps, and characters will be added in the future, so hopefully those will keep population more-or-less constant, as the biggest issue, I find, with any shooter is a divergence in population, especially between map related DLCs or expansions.
    Expand
  29. Feb 7, 2014
    9
    I have never written a review before, but I had to make an account and do it for this game.

    Do you enjoy quake style twitch shooters? Do you enjoy crude humor? Does tinkering with weapons to make bizzare creations sound fun? Stop reading and download this FREE game now. In fact, download it anyway cause you have nothing to loose and so much to gain. Most of the professional
    I have never written a review before, but I had to make an account and do it for this game.

    Do you enjoy quake style twitch shooters?
    Do you enjoy crude humor?
    Does tinkering with weapons to make bizzare creations sound fun?

    Stop reading and download this FREE game now. In fact, download it anyway cause you have nothing to loose and so much to gain.

    Most of the professional reviews have disappointed me greatly, equating this game as just a copy of team fortress 2. Two have mentioned connection problems. All I can say is that I have been playing since the game hit steam and have had no problems with matchmaking aside from getting thrown into a game in progress that's already been lost, which is pretty standard for this genre.
    Expand
  30. Feb 13, 2014
    10
    A must play! Definitely not Pay2Win. One of the most refreshing Free-to-play title since the Silkroad Online era! Just play the damn game and see for yourself!
  31. Feb 17, 2014
    10
    After a rough start this game is a must-try-out. It's a play instead of pay to win FTP, a mixture between TF2 and Borderlands 2 with a serious NSFW touch to it.
  32. Feb 11, 2014
    7
    Many free to play games often use the fact that they are free to play as an excuse for lower quality gameplay, while pushing as many microtransactions on the player as humanly possible. Loadout, on the other hand, manages to create a fun game while still being free to play. That being said, while loadout is not pay to win, the game does push you to pay for things. You can only unlock aMany free to play games often use the fact that they are free to play as an excuse for lower quality gameplay, while pushing as many microtransactions on the player as humanly possible. Loadout, on the other hand, manages to create a fun game while still being free to play. That being said, while loadout is not pay to win, the game does push you to pay for things. You can only unlock a maximum of three loadouts and six gunslots without paying, and doing so takes an incredibly long time, but if you are willing to pay you can buy weaponslots, loadouts and boosters in order to upgrade your weapons faster. The actual gameplay is quite fun, but there is no tutorial and also no singleplayer type of gameplay, so if you are new to third person shooters like loadout or do not know the controls, expect to have a harder time in learning, although I did not have too much trouble learning. There is also a limited number of maps and they do not feel unique. Loadout is definitly worth getting for its price, just don't expect it to be a jaw-dropping, worth playing thousands of hours type of game. Expand
  33. Feb 7, 2014
    10
    Takes me right back to my youth, a modern arena shooter at last. Free to play and no pay to win. Great humour and a nice weaponcrafting system. 10/10 GOTY
  34. Feb 9, 2014
    10
    This game is very good and fun if you're playing it with friends. When you start, you choose your character, make your gun then search for a game. Very enjoyable but new people will take time to upgrade their weapons. Easily one of the best F2P game out there and I recommend it to everyone. Sorry mac users, but you'll have to wait for an update or something. Also, you can customize yourThis game is very good and fun if you're playing it with friends. When you start, you choose your character, make your gun then search for a game. Very enjoyable but new people will take time to upgrade their weapons. Easily one of the best F2P game out there and I recommend it to everyone. Sorry mac users, but you'll have to wait for an update or something. Also, you can customize your character a la Team Fortress 2. You have a variety of choices to make you gun. There are different game modes and I hope more will eventually be released. The reason why I give a 9 out of 10 is that there aren't a lot of game mode as of today. Still very good, graphically non-thirsty, fluid gameplay. If you have space to download this game, download it, it's worth the space. Expand
  35. Feb 13, 2014
    8
    Great game, at first I was just going to pass this one up but decided to try it out and I dont regret it at all. The game is still new so not as many maps as I would hope for, but the game modes are fun. Weapon customization is amazing and lets you try out before unlocking them. There isnt as much customization as I was expecting, but it gets the job done. While it still has a ways to goGreat game, at first I was just going to pass this one up but decided to try it out and I dont regret it at all. The game is still new so not as many maps as I would hope for, but the game modes are fun. Weapon customization is amazing and lets you try out before unlocking them. There isnt as much customization as I was expecting, but it gets the job done. While it still has a ways to go before becoming what I consider top notch, the game is still a blast to play and cant wait to see what will happen next Expand
  36. Feb 17, 2014
    9
    Loadout is a slick modern arena shooter. This genre has been largely forgotten in recent years and has never been truly brought into modernity. Making use of a smooth, fluid, and fast movement system Loadout plays nothing like the average CoD clone. Gameplay focuses on movement mechanics combined with a wide variety of weapon mechanics. Hitscan domination is not the name of this game!Loadout is a slick modern arena shooter. This genre has been largely forgotten in recent years and has never been truly brought into modernity. Making use of a smooth, fluid, and fast movement system Loadout plays nothing like the average CoD clone. Gameplay focuses on movement mechanics combined with a wide variety of weapon mechanics. Hitscan domination is not the name of this game!

    The game prides itself on its weapon system allowing for immense customization of your killing utensils. This isn't cosmetic customization either (though that IS coming), but rather mechanical and statistic differentiation. Want a 6 barreled homing rocket launcher delivering flak tesla payloads? Well look no more. The options are near endless and the weapons all behave differently with varying pros and cons. No more false variety that games like CoD deliver en masse. This is real customization.

    The art style is over the top, crude, cartoony, and immature done surprisingly stylishly. Animations are slick and enjoyable all around. The game is colorful yet graphic. There is a lot of humor of the crass and immature variety sprinkled in by the developers, but it creates an enjoyable atmosphere.

    The game is still young in its development as the dev team has promised continuing support as long as it remains economically viable. New weapon systems, improved matchmaking, additional customization options, ladders, clan support, and much more is all coming. Still, the game is already worth checking out.

    An arena shooter better has not been made than loadout has not been made for ~ 10 years. The modern touches are welcomed, and once all the bells and whistles are added this will truly be the king of arena shooters.
    Expand
  37. Feb 20, 2014
    10
    As a fat gay dad, I found this game to be incredibly enjoyable. It allows you to customise your guns to create any kind of weapon you can imagine. There are also penises in this game and an obese woman.
  38. Feb 3, 2014
    9
    Aim and movement are important in this game, so it's tough starting out. Looks like TF2, plays more like Unreal Tournament. Nothing whatsoever in common with COD/MW style shooters. Controls are better than average, maybe the best I've ever played in a shooter. I could care less about weapon customization, but there are several viable guns in the game that I know of. It's true that thereAim and movement are important in this game, so it's tough starting out. Looks like TF2, plays more like Unreal Tournament. Nothing whatsoever in common with COD/MW style shooters. Controls are better than average, maybe the best I've ever played in a shooter. I could care less about weapon customization, but there are several viable guns in the game that I know of. It's true that there are probably more awful custom guns out there than good ones, but use your common sense and you should be fine. As of today, I've had no server issues. Had many the past couple days though. Expand
  39. Feb 1, 2014
    8
    If you like old-school, run-and-gun arena chaos, this game is what you want this year.
    Great graphics and animation (some of the death animations are especially humorous and fluid).
    The gameplay is chaotic, with a great selection of weapons and customisations, while still all falling under the great core principles of game weaponry: splash damage launcher, hitscan laser, hitscan
    If you like old-school, run-and-gun arena chaos, this game is what you want this year.
    Great graphics and animation (some of the death animations are especially humorous and fluid).

    The gameplay is chaotic, with a great selection of weapons and customisations, while still all falling under the great core principles of game weaponry: splash damage launcher, hitscan laser, hitscan projectiles, projectile projectiles ("pulses").

    Minus one point for relatively poor matchmaking (no way to browse games and often slow).
    Minus one point for being a F2P, even though it's largely cosmetic, you can still buy Blutes and get advanced equipment faster than others (although this is a convinience, not an outright advantage).

    Really enjoying the game so far, give it a go now. The clever combat and movement system allows for some ridiculously fun maneuvers which add a heavy tactical flair. I've played rounds which have been utter explosive chaos, and others where each team lay in quiet wait, progressing in packs and taking cover to spring ambushes and quick kills.

    Great fun, and it's free. Grab it now.
    Expand
  40. Feb 4, 2014
    10
    I hate both F2P games AND Team Fortress 2 with a passion, yet I can't stop playing this.

    All you need to know is that the action, movement, shooting and physics are far smoother and responsive than TF2 because it doesn't run on Source. The game doesn't force you into buying stuff with real money, essential weapon modules and items can be bought ONLY with the currency you earn by
    I hate both F2P games AND Team Fortress 2 with a passion, yet I can't stop playing this.

    All you need to know is that the action, movement, shooting and physics are far smoother and responsive than TF2 because it doesn't run on Source. The game doesn't force you into buying stuff with real money, essential weapon modules and items can be bought ONLY with the currency you earn by playing. The interface is a joy - clean, well laid-out and very easy to navigate.

    Just give it a try, it's free. In closing, I can only say I wish more PAID, premium releases on Steam were that polished and that fun!
    Expand
  41. Feb 3, 2014
    10
    This game, in no way, attempts to imitate TF2. Sure, it has a cartoony art style, but you wouldn't say that TF2 tries to imitate Loony Toons, would you? This game has a high skill ceiling, and it's apparent who in these reviews is at the bottom of the food chain. This game is a totally solid shooter, is a play-to-win free game (not pay-to-win,) and emulates games like Quake 3 and UnrealThis game, in no way, attempts to imitate TF2. Sure, it has a cartoony art style, but you wouldn't say that TF2 tries to imitate Loony Toons, would you? This game has a high skill ceiling, and it's apparent who in these reviews is at the bottom of the food chain. This game is a totally solid shooter, is a play-to-win free game (not pay-to-win,) and emulates games like Quake 3 and Unreal Tournament with its blazing fast pace and precision gun play. The icing on the cake? Players use guns they assemble themselves. It's totally awesome, and worth playing. I got on here expecting a 8-9 user score for this game. I am totally blown away that it is a 4.4 at the time of this review. Ludicrous. Expand
  42. Feb 3, 2014
    10
    Fast-paced, funny, and free!

    It's like TF2, Gunz, Quake, and UT3 had a bastard son. If you're a fan of frenetic shooters, definitely take a look at Loadout. The only things that can be purchased for real money are cosmetic/convenience items, so it's nowhere near pay-to-win.

    Best f2p game I've played in a long time.
  43. Feb 1, 2014
    7
    Alright. Loadout. Here I go.

    Loadout is a fast paced 3rd person shooter that has one of the most diverse weapon crafting systems I've ever seen in a game. It's incredibly in-depth and you'll be spending a good amount of time crafting new weapons and seeing if you can improve them in any way possible. The level design in this game is superb. There are heaps of jumps, pathways and
    Alright. Loadout. Here I go.

    Loadout is a fast paced 3rd person shooter that has one of the most diverse weapon crafting systems I've ever seen in a game. It's incredibly in-depth and you'll be spending a good amount of time crafting new weapons and seeing if you can improve them in any way possible.
    The level design in this game is superb. There are heaps of jumps, pathways and buildings to traverse across and almost everything in every level can be used to your advantage. Need to drop a nade on a capture point? Throw it at the pipe above the point so it bounces down and demolishes your enemies. Although there are only 5 maps atm, they're extremely well put together and you'll never get sick of them.

    Now, for the bad bits.
    Fights can seem one sided a LOT of the time. That guy you tried to kill couldn't possibly die because he has a shield and a launcher that kills you in two hits. It makes creative weapons seem unnecessary since all the simple guns do a really good job at killing the enemy team.
    Even though the weapon crafting is diverse, a lot of the gun pieces are redundant and add little to no difference in how your gun works. Sometimes, there's no point in using a specific piece because there is another that does a way better job.
    There are some really big balancing issues that can make every game you're in feel boring or frustrating. Beams that kill you in 3 hits; launchers that kill you in 2. You'll be seeing that a LOT. However, not every player uses them and games can be a lot of fun. It's just that they could be a lot more fun if the weapons were better balanced.

    tl;dr: You should definitely check out Loadout if you're into faced paced shooters, despite its few flaws
    Expand
  44. Feb 1, 2014
    8
    Don't be fooled by the low user score this game has currently been given due to connection problems. On the first few days of release as a free to play game there are guaranteed problems, and these will be fixed with time.

    I have experienced these problems myself, however I've looked past this and have also experienced the most fun I've had in a free to play game in a long time. Games
    Don't be fooled by the low user score this game has currently been given due to connection problems. On the first few days of release as a free to play game there are guaranteed problems, and these will be fixed with time.

    I have experienced these problems myself, however I've looked past this and have also experienced the most fun I've had in a free to play game in a long time. Games are fast paced with plenty of ways to kill and be killed. Weapon creation and modification allows players to personalize their loadout as they wish and think of the most creative or possibly offensive weapon names before entering the battlefield. Use of skill trees allows players to unlock weapon upgrades with experience earned during matches however this is not a grind. After playing a few games I found myself able to purchase the upgrades I wanted.

    his game IS NOT a pay to win, with all weapon modifications unlocked through experience rather than real world money. The game makes it's money however through character customization, and it is this that makes the game so hilarious to play. Ever wanted to run through a battlefield with your penis out? Well in Loadout you can do that buy purchasing this "item of clothing" from the in game store. There are currently three characters to choose from, all of who can be customized with a large selection of items. Anything from Facial hear and masks to knee pads all with various options in each category. If you have the money to spend you can make a character that really suits you.

    The animations in this game are also great with plenty of cartoon style gore which can be turned off in the settings but why would you do that? ... Characters shot with rockets can run around with holes in their stomachs, burned players appear burned to a crisp, and body parts seem to be attached just by a thread all while the player is still alive and this makes dying slightly more enjoyable. Especially when you see your character raise a middle finger just before death. It is clear to see the developers have made humor a key feature in this game, especially with the vast amount of taunts available to purchase from the store. Forget tea bagging manually, just hit the taunt button and see your character humiliate your opponent without having to do a thing. There are plenty of these animations to choose from and multiple taunts can be set to one character so you can change things up when you please.

    This game offers various game modes such as a "Capture the Flag" like mode called Jackhammer where two teams fight to capture the hammer, which can also be used as a weapon while being escorted back to base. There is also general capture the point mode called Blitz where each team must fight over the designated control points in order to take control. As well as this there is a mode similar to kill confirmed in the Call of Duty series called Death Snatch. One of the more different game modes however is called Extraction and sets two teams against each other where their job is to collect Blutonium ore and deposit it to their team grinders. There is one set collector who is changed upon death, while the rest of the team attack or defend in order to win. These modes are a lot of fun however there could be more.

    This is not a professional review so don't expect me to get all of the points in however this is a genuinely brilliant and fun game, especially being free to play. And what makes it better is that you don't need to spend ANYTHING to have fun. As of now i haven't spent a penny and I love it. I would recommend this game to anyone and advise people not to listen to low scores based on bugs because these will be sorted.

    More game modes, more characters and more weapon classes would make this game better which is why i'm giving it 8/10.
    Expand
  45. Feb 7, 2014
    7
    I've played about 8 hours of Loadout on Steam, and I feel that the critics here have pretty much done the game justice with its score. Loadout is a very good free to play game in every sense. Everything that can effect gameplay like guns, their upgrades, and abilities like turrets and sheilds, can all be unlocked in a reasonable amount of time for free. Only cosmetic items such as hats,I've played about 8 hours of Loadout on Steam, and I feel that the critics here have pretty much done the game justice with its score. Loadout is a very good free to play game in every sense. Everything that can effect gameplay like guns, their upgrades, and abilities like turrets and sheilds, can all be unlocked in a reasonable amount of time for free. Only cosmetic items such as hats, clothes, and taunts are purchasable. This keeps it from being pay to win, as things that are required for you to buy are purely optional. I do think that purchasable items in the store however are a little overpriced (It runs about 8-10 dollars for one item), but there are two reasons I can kind of forgive this. First, it is only a little more expensive than price I already pay for other games like League of Legends and TF2. Second, there are bundles that cost more (20-50 dollars) but give you your moneys worth by giving you the equivalent dollar amount in its in game currency, xp boosts and exclusive full sets of items. Gameplay is fast and fun, and well balanced (The fact that everything is OP means nothing is). The only problem I have with this game is the fact that there isn't very much variety. There are only 4 gun types and three characters. Once leveling is done there isn't much else to do, and with only three characters everyone tends to look exactly the same unless you want to spend some serious cash on your avatar. So to wrap things up, this game is well worth your time. Even if you don't want to put money into it you can still enjoy it. The devs are still working on this title to improve it and add to it. So I hope that I can get on Metacritic again in the future and raise its score if they add a ton of new content. Expand
  46. Feb 7, 2014
    10
    Neat explosive game that is just pretty fun and since it is free, why not try it out and give it a chance? pretty fun game. try it
  47. Feb 1, 2014
    8
    Loadout is fast paced, gory and hilarious. Couple that with mind boggling weapon customization and you end up with a huge change of pace from other popular shooters. Also players can only buy cosmetic items with real money. In order to upgrade their weapons and do more damage, they actually have to PLAY to win. Its free to play so really there is no reason not to check it out.
  48. Feb 6, 2014
    10
    Loadout is a fast-paced, 3rd person, arena shooter that is simply just hilarious. It's just about having a great time, you don't need to be an expert at shooters, you don't need a high-end super computer to run it and you know what? You don't even need to open your wallet to have fun in Loadout. I understand if someone is a big fan of BF 4, CS:GO or COD that they find the game not in theirLoadout is a fast-paced, 3rd person, arena shooter that is simply just hilarious. It's just about having a great time, you don't need to be an expert at shooters, you don't need a high-end super computer to run it and you know what? You don't even need to open your wallet to have fun in Loadout. I understand if someone is a big fan of BF 4, CS:GO or COD that they find the game not in their taste, because they are nothing alike. I own the before mentioned and I've already played more Loadout than all of the 3 together.
    It's free and it's not too heavy on your HDD, give it a try! :)
    Expand
  49. Feb 3, 2014
    8
    Basically, this game will blow your pants off...in time.

    Loadout draws the line between competitive and casual gaming, It doesn't make you want to rip your hair out and punch your screen in when you get pwn3d like most competive games but also refrains from boring you to tears after playing for awhile like a lot of casual games. Also, GORE like holy SH*T GORE GORE GORE, sometimes I just
    Basically, this game will blow your pants off...in time.

    Loadout draws the line between competitive and casual gaming, It doesn't make you want to rip your hair out and punch your screen in when you get pwn3d like most competive games but also refrains from boring you to tears after playing for awhile like a lot of casual games. Also, GORE like holy SH*T GORE GORE GORE, sometimes I just love dying in this game and no I'm not suffering from emotional issues it's just damn hilarious along with the cartoon style it makes me feel like a little kid again in some weird messed up way.
    HOWEVER, I feel that the game was rushed to release and that's where the negative reviews start pouring in. It lacks many features which just slaps a frown on my face. I wont even get mad over the server issues, the devs just weren't able to stand up to all the hype and the servers became over loaded.
    Expand
  50. Feb 4, 2014
    10
    Really fun shooter with great customization and progression.

    This game is not pay to win:
    Weapon parts can be bought with ingame currency (Blutes) ONLY.
    Cosmetics can be bought with real money (Spacebux) ONLY.
  51. Feb 1, 2014
    9
    User metacritic reviews tend to condemn games for just one aspect. Just look at Mass Effect 3. They'll fix the game but the reviews remain. Opening day and the matchmaking servers for Loadout are taking a hit because they're getting 3000% more traffic than they're accustomed which is an order of magnitude more than they even expected based on looking at other F2P games that have launchedUser metacritic reviews tend to condemn games for just one aspect. Just look at Mass Effect 3. They'll fix the game but the reviews remain. Opening day and the matchmaking servers for Loadout are taking a hit because they're getting 3000% more traffic than they're accustomed which is an order of magnitude more than they even expected based on looking at other F2P games that have launched recently. When you get into game, it's a lot of fun. It's fast paced and you get to tailor guns to suit your playstyle. It isn't even pay to win. Expand
  52. Feb 2, 2014
    5
    It's fun, for the most part. The taunts are absolutely hilarious, but you have to fork over serious real life $$$ for them. However it's the wait times that kill this game. Weaponcrafting was a big let down.
  53. Feb 7, 2014
    10
    This game has replaced Team Fortress 2 as my go-to game.

    It's crass, it's in your face, it's rude - it's twitch fps action at its finest, and the best part? It's all Free.

    The only thing you pay money for is cosmetic and experience/Blute boosts(Blutes are basically skill point-money)
  54. Feb 7, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. dasdlodsfkjgdlsköfghj dfgkhsdlfkghjjduäoiujsoefi judohiåoihåäsodikfh asolikdhfpoaiusdyhfikuajshgkiasdujlhrg akhydreöaoleiyfh oailkdfghuydöskjfghöks djfhyögsioudkyhfg ikahgfdkljfhg sdguyergipg hpdfjugh, all i can say (: Expand
  55. Feb 12, 2014
    10
    Most fun I had in ages.

    Initially I thought it was a brainless, twitch shooter; but after playing it more I realized that it has a lot of depth.

    I highly recommend it.
  56. Feb 7, 2014
    7
    The game is very fun. It is very fast paced with the ability to respawn in around 2 seconds, which keeps the games, flow. Movement is very good, but the jumping feels a bit off, because after jumping and moving forward for around 1 second and then falling with so much momentum is kinda off.

    Now, the main part of this game is the weapon customization. It is flawless. You want a Rocket
    The game is very fun. It is very fast paced with the ability to respawn in around 2 seconds, which keeps the games, flow. Movement is very good, but the jumping feels a bit off, because after jumping and moving forward for around 1 second and then falling with so much momentum is kinda off.

    Now, the main part of this game is the weapon customization. It is flawless. You want a Rocket launcher that burns players and has laser targeting? You can have that! You want a shotgun that zaps players? You can have that! The possibilities are like no other game.

    The Maps could use some more work, because most times playing a certain game mode where you need to capture a random flag, one team's spawn may be much closer than the other teams.

    The Character Customization is where the in-game currency comes in hand. The choices you have at the start are little to nothing, like having 1 hair style or no hair, ect. I love customizing characters in games to make him look as funny as i can. I can't really do that with the character customization. The currency pricing isn't that bad, though.
    Expand
  57. Feb 8, 2014
    9
    This is my first review and actually i had never thought of doing one but we all know how Metacritic is important for dev and players so i want to help them in this way. This game is absolutely amazing, of course need a lot of improvement but i can see a lot of potential! Fun as hell, amazing maps, crazy gameplay and weaponcrafting really spectacular so the gadgets. Is not a lame pay4winThis is my first review and actually i had never thought of doing one but we all know how Metacritic is important for dev and players so i want to help them in this way. This game is absolutely amazing, of course need a lot of improvement but i can see a lot of potential! Fun as hell, amazing maps, crazy gameplay and weaponcrafting really spectacular so the gadgets. Is not a lame pay4win which is important for a free to play. Also i would like to mention the recent banwave to let you understand how serious those guys are! Good job and keep it up! Expand
  58. Feb 12, 2014
    6
    Decent fast-paced shooter. Nothing too special, but for a free-to-play game, it's pretty good. Gun modding is a bit shallow, but what do you expect from a game that costs nothing.
  59. Feb 11, 2014
    5
    It looks nice, tries to be funny and... that's all of it. The weapon customization isn't really that much of a thing, you're just swapping parts while the default ones usually work better than their replacements. Character customization is nice, but extremely pricey. Cut out the customization and you have your typical generic F2P shooter with Team Fortress 2 visuals. Includes randomIt looks nice, tries to be funny and... that's all of it. The weapon customization isn't really that much of a thing, you're just swapping parts while the default ones usually work better than their replacements. Character customization is nice, but extremely pricey. Cut out the customization and you have your typical generic F2P shooter with Team Fortress 2 visuals. Includes random mashing of your keyboard while praying you won't get hit. I probably don't need to mention you have your fire button pressed all the time. Expand
  60. Feb 13, 2014
    9
    Loadout is a free to play third person shooter which is meant to be hilarious and in-fact it is much much more than i expected nice and a fun to play competitive shooter
  61. Feb 13, 2014
    10
    loadout is the fun's game on steam right now oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppp
  62. Feb 15, 2014
    10
    It has good ass, and there are butts and the story mode freaken sucks, wheres my batman, they forgot to add my favorite character from the original Loadout game, **** man.
  63. Feb 16, 2014
    6
    Loadout is pretty much a basic arcade third person shooter which plays a bit like a mix between Team Fortress 2 (minus the hats) and Call of Duty. So far I've played a fair number of hours and it's managed to keep my attention, but I don't think I'll be playing it long term in the future.
    The game itself plays quite fluidly, albeit with furious mouse clicking and explosives spam, but the
    Loadout is pretty much a basic arcade third person shooter which plays a bit like a mix between Team Fortress 2 (minus the hats) and Call of Duty. So far I've played a fair number of hours and it's managed to keep my attention, but I don't think I'll be playing it long term in the future.
    The game itself plays quite fluidly, albeit with furious mouse clicking and explosives spam, but the limited number of maps and game modes let it down a bit. Gun balance is also really up in the air because the customisation opens the field to overpowered combinations which actually end up reducing the number of viable weapons you can actually use.
    The game is fairly entertaining, but don't expect too much if you're playing on your own, because most of the fun comes from teaming up with friends. Also, the game is not very 'Free-2-Play' , while you can download it without paying, the game is very limited unless you shell out some money to unlock more Loadout and weapon crafting slots.
    Overall, an entertaining game which is worth playing for a laugh, but don't expect to get too many hours out of it.
    Expand
  64. Mar 3, 2014
    9
    This is a breath of fresh air. A truly fun and original experience even tho it's free. the graphics are amazing more "plastic" than caroonish , they work great for the game, the humor is it's own kind, and the animation... of finally some game developers who care about smooth animation in this kind of cartoonish graphics.

    It should not be compared to games like Q3 or ut2k4 even tho it's
    This is a breath of fresh air. A truly fun and original experience even tho it's free. the graphics are amazing more "plastic" than caroonish , they work great for the game, the humor is it's own kind, and the animation... of finally some game developers who care about smooth animation in this kind of cartoonish graphics.

    It should not be compared to games like Q3 or ut2k4 even tho it's fast paced (kind of) , that genre is unfortunately long gone because of the consoles and their **** joypads
    Expand
  65. Feb 1, 2014
    9
    If you like Team Fortress 2, this is a game that is similar in graphics and price (free!). It is very fun, the weapon creation is massive, and it is overall a fun experience.
  66. Feb 8, 2014
    10
    Loadout - одна из самых лучших игр 2014 года. Это прорыв в шутерах, с отличным погружением, с отличным балансом и не обязательным донатом, достойная замена уже устаревшего Team Fortress 2.
  67. Feb 17, 2014
    0
    Installed the game via Steam. Noticed the horrible German translation. Switched to English. Waited 5 minutes to join a game. Game is random spray and pray and involved literally zero skill. The graphics are boring and the map illogical. Uninstalled after 2 minutes. Not worth your time.
  68. Feb 7, 2014
    3
    this game never ever desserve more than a 6 , there is only 6 maps the trillion customized weapon end with 5 or 6 OP setups while the rest of them are anecdotal and will simply gimp your weapon completely.
    loads of network error who disconnect you in the middle of a game ( making you loose all the xp you earned during the match at the same time )
    patch who are supposed to fix the network
    this game never ever desserve more than a 6 , there is only 6 maps the trillion customized weapon end with 5 or 6 OP setups while the rest of them are anecdotal and will simply gimp your weapon completely.
    loads of network error who disconnect you in the middle of a game ( making you loose all the xp you earned during the match at the same time )
    patch who are supposed to fix the network just adds more other network errors.
    the buddy list is not working.
    there is only 2 available game modes and one of them is just a coop team DM vs bots who are retardedly OP
    anybody who gave a 10 to this game in a such state should just stop to write reviews imo
    Expand
  69. Feb 5, 2014
    3
    Fun at times, but overall extremely pay to win. Default/starter weapons do virtually no damage, upgrades require multiple games to purchase, and do very little to improve weapons. I believe this is due to the ability to buy additional credits. Money Grabbing game, would no recommend.
  70. Mar 1, 2014
    0
    0 because this game is way too glitchy atm. First thing I thought when I played this game was 'TF2'. Just the same ass game, just different weapons and gamemods.
  71. Feb 14, 2014
    10
    A fun, over the top team based shooter with bucketloads of humor. I like that they do not implement a pay to win structure. It is actually quite easy to level up and unlock new weapons just by playing matches. I can't wait to see what else is implemented in the future! This game is a blast.
  72. Jun 5, 2014
    5
    Loadout is a game relying on a gimmick to fill out the substantial lack of substance and as logic would have it, gimmicks will only be gimmicks, no matter how gimmicky.
  73. Feb 8, 2014
    4
    This game gets boring very fast. Although it's free to play and weapon customisations are unlocked quite fast the game play and shooting is repetitive and outright boring after few ten minutes in the game.
    Seems like developing was seized and they decided to throw out pre Beta game and now they are trying to milk money from us with purchasable cosmetic items. I recommend you stay away
    This game gets boring very fast. Although it's free to play and weapon customisations are unlocked quite fast the game play and shooting is repetitive and outright boring after few ten minutes in the game.
    Seems like developing was seized and they decided to throw out pre Beta game and now they are trying to milk money from us with purchasable cosmetic items. I recommend you stay away from this game, it's badly made and hardly offers you any fun at all.
    Expand
  74. Feb 2, 2014
    1
    Initially, it's hard to shake the feeling that it attempts to emulate Team Fortress 2 in "personality" and graphical style. The graphics are fair enough (though unimpressive, this is permissible if it's not offensively bad or out of touch with the rest of the game). The game gives off a somewhat "mobile game-y" vibe around the menus, which in themselves are quite buggy and oftenInitially, it's hard to shake the feeling that it attempts to emulate Team Fortress 2 in "personality" and graphical style. The graphics are fair enough (though unimpressive, this is permissible if it's not offensively bad or out of touch with the rest of the game). The game gives off a somewhat "mobile game-y" vibe around the menus, which in themselves are quite buggy and often unresponsive. The three avatars available without paying (real money in this case) are ugly as sin, and a lot of people use them. In other words, you'll spend a lot of time playing with 5-7 of your clones. The characters themselves have no personality.

    The game's core concept revolves around creating weapons. Or rather, assembling them from a set of parts and 5 basic weapon types. It's certainly an interesting idea, but I feared for the balance. That fear turned out to be entirely justified. Entire weapon types perform so badly that they're virtually useless, and other configurations don't leave much standing. The way this works is based more on trial-and-error than on any kind of discernible logic. Since parts are expensive, you'll be at the mercy of more experienced players (whose weapons also outperform your own by a wide margin) for a long time.

    The core gameplay, unfortunately, is rather lacking. Map design is chaotic, illogical, and lacks direction. Due to the difficulty in weapon balance (compounded by skewed teams and often, map design), matches often end up a frustrating ordeal whether you win or lose. Due to the immense number of potential weapons, the game fails to give off the feeling that skill and strategy is rewarded to a greater extent than luck. Character movement around the map also seems rather buggy, and there are few indications of whether an area is passable or not. Gamemodes are largely standard (CTF, resource gathering(!), team deathmatch), but are sometimes confusing due to conflicting information.

    The controls are somewhat jumpy, but largely fairly hard to screw up.

    The music is... basically non-existent, which is actually fine.

    The game, while not actually "pay-to-win" (you can't purchase weapon parts at all), seems very intent on forcing purchases on you. Anything cosmetic will require you to pay real money, as will extra "loadout slots" (the only way to switch weapons during a game) - the 2 "free" ones are level-locked. These actually do make a difference, unlike the tacky avatars for sale.

    During the first few days after launch, the matchmaking server and "Friends" service have been offline a lot. This could probably have been avoided if the beta wasn't paid and if they'd made more of an effort to actually stress-test their servers and infrastructure before unleashing thousands of players on them. Time will show whether they get it under control.

    The game is based on an interesting concept, but suffers from (quite predictable) balance issues and generally poor execution. Bugs like scoring for the opposite team should generally not be an issue when the game is out of Beta, the servers should be tested before launch, the user interface should definitely not frequently stop responding, and it wouldn't hurt if the entire game seemed slightly less eager to scramble for your credit card.
    Expand
  75. Feb 3, 2014
    5
    First i have to say two things (because friends kept telling me these to a lot to convince me to play it.
    It is not like Team Fortress or Borderlands! And many Weapons? More like 4! (ok, these 4 can be customized).
    Imo the controls feel a bit inaccurate. And i felt like other players weapons did a lot more dmg then mine did (+ the capture the random point game mode seems to be won
    First i have to say two things (because friends kept telling me these to a lot to convince me to play it.
    It is not like Team Fortress or Borderlands! And many Weapons? More like 4! (ok, these 4 can be customized).

    Imo the controls feel a bit inaccurate. And i felt like other players weapons did a lot more dmg then mine did (+ the capture the random point game mode seems to be won mostly by luck just hope the point your standing on will be the next to be captured). The Graphics are good and the game has a fun feel to it.

    If you like fun & fast Shooters it may be right for you ( but be prepared to spend some money on it ).
    Expand
  76. Feb 1, 2014
    0
    Well I played 10 Minutes and waited another 50 or so in matchmaking. Those few minutes i had to play, were boring, repetetive, skillfree spray and pray **** Run from point A to B and gangbang the other team. Grapics: meh. Gameplay: meh. Matchmaking: beyond redemption. Sure its an early release blaaaaaaaaaaaa Indiedev blaaaaaaaaaaaa. BUT if you release a game and all the potential customerWell I played 10 Minutes and waited another 50 or so in matchmaking. Those few minutes i had to play, were boring, repetetive, skillfree spray and pray **** Run from point A to B and gangbang the other team. Grapics: meh. Gameplay: meh. Matchmaking: beyond redemption. Sure its an early release blaaaaaaaaaaaa Indiedev blaaaaaaaaaaaa. BUT if you release a game and all the potential customer gets is 60 minutes of Lobbysurfing then you failed. Expand
  77. Feb 3, 2014
    0
    The game looks like it's still on beta. Most functions are not implemented yet, game modes does not work properly, friend list is buggy.
    Apart from that, it's another cheap free to play game doesn't worth your time.
  78. Feb 7, 2014
    2
    Basically, it's Unreal Tournament with a fresh coat of paint and more customization. I think the customization part holds the game back a lot because you tend to use the same weapons over and over again to level them up faster and make them more powerful. The level design is very "meh" and bland and just repetitive. The free to play model sucks, everything is way over priced, and it's payBasically, it's Unreal Tournament with a fresh coat of paint and more customization. I think the customization part holds the game back a lot because you tend to use the same weapons over and over again to level them up faster and make them more powerful. The level design is very "meh" and bland and just repetitive. The free to play model sucks, everything is way over priced, and it's pay to win with XP and Blute boosters giving paying players a huge advantage with gun upgrades and gaining levels.

    On top of all that, the game is online only, no offline mode with bots or practice mode or anything. Just log in to some random match and shoot like a maniac and then turn the game off. I guess I'm tough to impress these days, but there's not much I haven't seen here before and nothing to impress me or make me go "WOW!" I feel bad for the people who crowdfunded this game through Kickstarter because they essentially paid money for a free game.
    Expand
  79. Mar 12, 2014
    5
    An amusing ut3 multiplayer arena shooter ruined by a lack of weapon leveling and insane grinding.
    Grinding sucks the fun out of the game and reminds you that the game is pay-to-progress not free-to-play.
  80. Feb 24, 2014
    8
    A brilliant wacky free-to-play game that gives the player great control over their weapons and how they choose to play the game. Needs more maps and maybe more ways to upgrade certain parts of the equipment/weapons, and the spacebux are EXTREMELY overpriced, but I do enjoy this game a lot.
  81. Feb 25, 2014
    9
    Funny, cool and spectacular, that is what Loadout is. It's free, so download it right now! Its 100% worth it.
    Good graphics, you can customize your weapons, characters, taunts...
  82. Mar 13, 2014
    10
    One of the best and most fun f2p games I've ever played. Loadout is a gleefully violent and hilarious multiplayer third-person shooter with fast-paced twitch combat. Its slick vertical and horizontal movement system makes fights based on speedy reaction time and precise aim, heightening its skill ceiling. The weaponcrafting system is unique and fun, and allows you to create a hugeOne of the best and most fun f2p games I've ever played. Loadout is a gleefully violent and hilarious multiplayer third-person shooter with fast-paced twitch combat. Its slick vertical and horizontal movement system makes fights based on speedy reaction time and precise aim, heightening its skill ceiling. The weaponcrafting system is unique and fun, and allows you to create a huge assortment of weapons to toy around with. Many negative scores have been doled out unfairly due to the server issues present at launch, but those issues are now non-existent. Loadout is already quite good now, but there is room for improvement and the community-active devs are going to be adding new maps, modes, weapon parts, and payloads in the future. Please ignore its (unfairly) mediocre metascore and give this f2p gem a try, I doubt you will be disappointed. Expand
  83. Feb 18, 2014
    10
    Its a silly and a funny game but somethime it lags and i cant belive that is for free good job maker of overload. :) I hope you make more updates and i cant wait to see new charaters
  84. Feb 20, 2014
    10
    The game's quality is overall fabulous in ANY aspect, graphic, innovation, creativity and game style. And even more, its FREE TO PLAY.
    Loadout offers amazingly unique play style which you dont see or experience in other game, and so far the game is pretty balanced as well.
  85. Feb 20, 2014
    10
    Loadout is awesome... these people crying about weak guns didn't spend any time reading the effect of components.... also there is a TEST button you can test the gun before you purchase the parts in a little arena thing.

    The game is really good... like team fortress classic type good... id say TF2 but I was kinda disappointed with TF2 because it lacked nades and some of it was strange
    Loadout is awesome... these people crying about weak guns didn't spend any time reading the effect of components.... also there is a TEST button you can test the gun before you purchase the parts in a little arena thing.

    The game is really good... like team fortress classic type good... id say TF2 but I was kinda disappointed with TF2 because it lacked nades and some of it was strange when I first played it from what I expected.

    LOADout however is great....

    there are CASUAL SERVERS for noobs and there are hardcore servers for people with better stats and guns..

    anyone crying about this game is a whiney kitten

    this will be my go to FPS-arena shooter.... hands down no BS

    and with all the BS aside I do believe I chuckle everytime my dead body gives the finger because well... I was thinking it anyway...

    Get LOAD out its a measly 2 GB game.... its FREE and you its not Pay to win as far as I can tell...

    also if you can buy some stuff make this game stick GJ loadout people
    Expand
  86. Feb 21, 2014
    9
    This game in a nutshell is team-fortress 2 on drugs with steroids too, It has an amazing graphic style consisting of mainly cartoonish features with some gore added in, and hilarious animations, the gun customization is impressive and is enough of a reason to try out the game. The game itself is very fast paced which rewards good shooting and maneuverability. Initially at launch theThis game in a nutshell is team-fortress 2 on drugs with steroids too, It has an amazing graphic style consisting of mainly cartoonish features with some gore added in, and hilarious animations, the gun customization is impressive and is enough of a reason to try out the game. The game itself is very fast paced which rewards good shooting and maneuverability. Initially at launch the matchmaking had a few hiccups but now the game is on track. Its also free to play, and money can't be used on gun parts meaning the game is play to win not pay to win. one minor complaint however, for a game about customisation i don't see why there aren't any gun camos, they should really add those Expand
  87. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    This game is simply fantastic. The gun crafting is fun and is a very unique idea. The gun play is basic but requires some strategy. The game is free to play so try it. The items you pay for do not give an advantage-they just allow you to buy gun parts(which you could unlock for free) and cosmetic items. The art style is similar to borderlands and so is the humor. I would not say it is likeThis game is simply fantastic. The gun crafting is fun and is a very unique idea. The gun play is basic but requires some strategy. The game is free to play so try it. The items you pay for do not give an advantage-they just allow you to buy gun parts(which you could unlock for free) and cosmetic items. The art style is similar to borderlands and so is the humor. I would not say it is like tf2 as it is much faster paced and 3rd person.

    So try it its free!
    Expand
  88. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    loadout is the best 3DR person shooter and is awesome.loadout is not serious 100 % fun and the clothes are funny . the weaponcrafting is ameazing and is very fuid
  89. Feb 21, 2014
    9
    I saw the game in the Free-to-Play section in Steam and decided to give it a try. I think I played for 4-5 hours straight and completely lost track of time. It was a ton of fun building different combinations of weapons. This game is like SimCity meets Team Fortress 2. It lets you scratch your desire to create and blow stuff up all at the same time. The over the top graphical nature ofI saw the game in the Free-to-Play section in Steam and decided to give it a try. I think I played for 4-5 hours straight and completely lost track of time. It was a ton of fun building different combinations of weapons. This game is like SimCity meets Team Fortress 2. It lets you scratch your desire to create and blow stuff up all at the same time. The over the top graphical nature of the game made me laugh out loud several times. I haven't spent a dime on the game and am having a blast! Can't wait to play more tonight. Expand
  90. Feb 27, 2014
    8
    Gameplay - Fast paced shooter. Good controls. Talent and knowledge of the objective are the most important factors for an honest, positive Win/Loss ratio.

    Art - Characters: Ranges from funny and catchy to disgusting. Maps: Every area is easily accessible. Some high spots are useful for sniping. Weapons: Pretty cool designs. [Everything is cartoonish] Sound - Nice BGM, decent weapon
    Gameplay - Fast paced shooter. Good controls. Talent and knowledge of the objective are the most important factors for an honest, positive Win/Loss ratio.

    Art - Characters: Ranges from funny and catchy to disgusting. Maps: Every area is easily accessible. Some high spots are useful for sniping. Weapons: Pretty cool designs. [Everything is cartoonish]

    Sound - Nice BGM, decent weapon SFX. Personal playlists are recommended still.

    Community - SUCKS. Annoying 14-year-olds and some hackers. Kind people are extremely rare.

    Overall - Pros: Addictive enough. Weaponcrafting can be very enjoyable. You can have a lot of fun without hackers, and if you are not a sensitive person.
    Cons: Bad community. Horrible matchmaking which is expected to be fixed.

    Verdict: Give it a try, you will *probably* like it.
    Expand
  91. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    Loadout is a very unique game, seeing fat girls twerking as they just exploded your body in a million pieces can be very thrilling and is a common sight in this game.

    But Loadout is a free-to-play shoot them up which is a team vs team game and you can play against bots as well. There is a huge and heavy customisation on skills, guns and characters which is an awesome aspect of this
    Loadout is a very unique game, seeing fat girls twerking as they just exploded your body in a million pieces can be very thrilling and is a common sight in this game.

    But Loadout is a free-to-play shoot them up which is a team vs team game and you can play against bots as well. There is a huge and heavy customisation on skills, guns and characters which is an awesome aspect of this game.

    There are microtransactions if you feel like you need to get more add ons for your gun but the game is NOT pay to win because the first basic gun is one of the most powerful therefore making this game not pay to win.

    Overall this game is a really fun free to play and I can't wait to see what else comes out for this game!
    Expand
  92. Mar 20, 2014
    8
    Loadout is a fast paced third-person shooter. It sort of shocks you that the game is free because it feels so well done. The graphics are "cartoony" and extremely gory. You'll have a ton of great gaming moments as you play. You also have customization options for weapons. Not just the looks, but how the gun shoots and reacts. It is a grind to gain more options for your weapons, but I'llLoadout is a fast paced third-person shooter. It sort of shocks you that the game is free because it feels so well done. The graphics are "cartoony" and extremely gory. You'll have a ton of great gaming moments as you play. You also have customization options for weapons. Not just the looks, but how the gun shoots and reacts. It is a grind to gain more options for your weapons, but I'll take that over micro transactions. You do, however, have some micro transactions with customizing your character from clothing, hair and even your taunt. But over all this is a great gaming experience. Especially with friends. Expand
  93. Mar 24, 2014
    10
    Awesome game cant believe its free will be playing this alot had so much fun theres a few issues with servers right now but that should pass lauch day issues are common appart from that
  94. May 25, 2014
    7
    Team Fortress and Borderlands art style, saints row's crazies...

    not a bad game, good game modes, good fun, some cheap laughs, the biggest problem I see is the price of the items, I haven't played for a while but if I remember clearly, if you want to create a character it will cost you about10-15 USD, and even with that budget you are limited to some selections, as some items are really
    Team Fortress and Borderlands art style, saints row's crazies...

    not a bad game, good game modes, good fun, some cheap laughs, the biggest problem I see is the price of the items, I haven't played for a while but if I remember clearly, if you want to create a character it will cost you about10-15 USD, and even with that budget you are limited to some selections, as some items are really expensive, if only a few is able to afford the items (afford as in have enough faith to put $15 in one character in a game that's still in beta by a unknown studio), then it losses some of its fun.

    Could also use more gadgets, guns etc
    Expand
  95. Mar 24, 2014
    7
    wacky uncensored and bloody funny this has great potential to be the next go to Online TPS next to Team Fortress 2 which i dont really like at all, but Loadout is very appealing to me for some reason, it also has 4 player co-op vs bots which is still vary fun with good ai and objectives, lots of crazy weapons, wardrobe combinations, taunts and power ups from what i see, you start with 3wacky uncensored and bloody funny this has great potential to be the next go to Online TPS next to Team Fortress 2 which i dont really like at all, but Loadout is very appealing to me for some reason, it also has 4 player co-op vs bots which is still vary fun with good ai and objectives, lots of crazy weapons, wardrobe combinations, taunts and power ups from what i see, you start with 3 loadout slots(characters) and 6 weapon slots (both unlocked as you level) and bare bones wardrobe (so you will see a lot of the same looks out there)

    wardrobe combinations, taunts, extra loadout slots and weapon slots cost coins which you can get with Real money (SpaceBux Yellow) they can cost quite a lot (19$ you can get a good wardrobe set for one character), extra loadout slots and weapon slots being the most 19-40$ may not need them in the long run, but weapon upgrades are bought with in game currency (Blutes Blue) are acquired as you play.
    Edit: there is daily packages that can give you wardrobe parts thats pretty cool :)

    lack of characters and levels seem a bit lacking but things will move along as more patching goes on

    2/24/2014 : players are ruining it already using only OP snipers and the much hated disguise perk which is why killzone 2-3 sucked soo much, unless people or devs stop this lame cod sniper crap there won't be much enjoyment left.

    and dont Even get me started on cosmetic pricing.
    Expand
  96. May 7, 2014
    7
    Loadout is a nice game, at least at first. Sadly some weapon/equipment combinations are not quite thought thru, and that means unbalanced. Imagine a rocket launcher guy, right? Not much of a problem, really. Unless he also has double jump, and happens to jump all around you, or over you. How many 360s can you do while aiming with the rifle? And guess what, while jumping the rl isLoadout is a nice game, at least at first. Sadly some weapon/equipment combinations are not quite thought thru, and that means unbalanced. Imagine a rocket launcher guy, right? Not much of a problem, really. Unless he also has double jump, and happens to jump all around you, or over you. How many 360s can you do while aiming with the rifle? And guess what, while jumping the rl is reloading so he can just rinse and repeat. Imagine three of those guys on the other team. No thanks. Also some maps have "holes" you can fall in (and die) and while it might be funny the first 100 times you fall in them it eventually gets kind of boring. I get it , it's funny cause it looks like you can just jump over it, but then you can't. Still, this kind of things are best left out of functional games. Expand
  97. May 29, 2014
    6
    "alright', after a solid 4-6 hours the game starts to lose its childish charm and come of as annoying and irritating, the gun play, and customization is awesome, but everything else just seems to lack any real motivation and just comes off as unoriginal and bland.

    Don't get me wrong, for a f2p game its pretty alright, but id recommend Black Light Retribution over it any day.
  98. Mar 18, 2014
    7
    Loadout is a silly third person shooter in a space setting. The game's real appeal lies not in its forgettable characters or its bland maps, but its abundance of weapons that you can create. The game is not pay to win at all (even less so than TF2) and is generally fun, but it only lasts as far as you can get until you encounter the constant, and I mean CONSTANT disconnections.
    + A ton of
    Loadout is a silly third person shooter in a space setting. The game's real appeal lies not in its forgettable characters or its bland maps, but its abundance of weapons that you can create. The game is not pay to win at all (even less so than TF2) and is generally fun, but it only lasts as far as you can get until you encounter the constant, and I mean CONSTANT disconnections.
    + A ton of weapons
    + Cartoony aesthetic
    + Free to play, not pay to win
    - Constant disconnection from servers
    - Unbalanced weapons -- 4 billion possible, maybe 5 good ones
    - Nudity as a humor gag
    Expand
  99. Jul 26, 2014
    8
    Loadout provides one of the most creative shooter experiences available and does a remarkable job balancing such a wide variety of weapon builds and equipment. Initially I hated the third-person perspective, but have grown used to it and don't even notice anymore. On the downside, Loadout is also one of the buggiest games I've ever played, both on the client and server-side. Aside fromLoadout provides one of the most creative shooter experiences available and does a remarkable job balancing such a wide variety of weapon builds and equipment. Initially I hated the third-person perspective, but have grown used to it and don't even notice anymore. On the downside, Loadout is also one of the buggiest games I've ever played, both on the client and server-side. Aside from a wide variety of crashes and connectivity problems, the game has a lot of collision detection bugs (especially with the terrain) that some players exploit (shooting up through the floor or mini-teleporting by dodging into certain walls.) These aren't beta bugs, this has been going on for the past six months since release, with each update introducing nearly as many bugs as it fixes. Then there's the team size: having four player teams can be nice at times, but to always restricting the game to 4x4 limits where the gameplay can go. The best example is the generally disliked Comm Tower map, which is far too big for 4x4. Despite these frustrations, I've still played Loadout a lot because it has so many strengths. Since it is in active development these issues may be resolved one day. Expand
  100. Jun 10, 2014
    7
    Loadout brings excitement to the f2p genre. you laugh, you jib, you taunt. your wallet wont save you in this game. borderlands meets unreal tournament in the most amusing way possible. worth the download.
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. games(TM)
    Mar 12, 2014
    70
    Even without the new weapon parts, characters and maps that will be joining the roster, it's a worthy side-dish to whatever passes for your multiplayer main course. [Issue#145, p.121]
  2. Feb 20, 2014
    77
    Loadout’s gun customization and well executed twists on shooter staples make it a free-to-play game that doesn't feel like a compromise.
  3. Feb 18, 2014
    60
    As a shooter, Loadout has a lot to recommend it. It’s fast, fluid, gratifying, varied, slick, and largely unsullied by its free-to-play business model. In other words, no, this isn’t Team Fortress. And, frankly, it doesn’t need to be.