User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 445 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 67 out of 445

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 4, 2014
    7
    TF2 meets Full throttle meets Redneck Rampage. ATM there are number of limited maps and some kinks to be worked out but, the devs assure bug fixes and more content is on the way.
  2. Feb 7, 2014
    6
    Fast paced and gritty, Loadout is a run and gun filled with crazy guns and crude humor. The gameplay in Loadout has a very Quake/Unreal Tournament feel to it in that you are almost constantly moving and accuracy is something of an after thought. You play from a third person viewpoint so you can see around corners and such a lot easier. Not that it makes much difference since you willFast paced and gritty, Loadout is a run and gun filled with crazy guns and crude humor. The gameplay in Loadout has a very Quake/Unreal Tournament feel to it in that you are almost constantly moving and accuracy is something of an after thought. You play from a third person viewpoint so you can see around corners and such a lot easier. Not that it makes much difference since you will pretty much be sprinting your butt off for most of the match.

    The game is free to play with an in game market that is purely for cosmetic items. Definitely not a pay to win type of game. All items that affect the actual game can be bought with resources that you earn from gameplay. Guns can be customized in crazy ways. Want a shotgun that heals you friends? Done. How about a gun that shoots spiked metal guns at are electrified? Done. While you start out with fairly basic items, they can quickly be customized to fit your play preferred playstyle.

    There are several different game types. Each which add a fun twist on familiar concepts (for example, the flag in CTF is a giant hammer that can kill enemies). Right now, the only downer is the lack of maps. Right now you a bit limited since certain other modes are unavailable right now.

    The reason this game didn't score higher is that, while it has its fun moments, it also gets boring kind of quickly. The run and gun type of gameplay will give you a rush at first but after you figure out most of the game mechanics and see the loadouts that other players have you start to get a feel for what are the best mixes and matches in terms of weaponry.

    The game is also in desperate need of a tutorial that teaches players the objectives of the different game types. Too many maps has my team lost because most of them don't understand the overall objective of the game and instead just go for kills. Also, the feel to the community is turning a bit toxic since lots of the "good" players would rather berate teammates with insults and underhanded comments.

    All in all, the game is at the least worth a try since its free but don't set your expectations too high. You find a game with a lot of action, gore, and nudity (albeit censored but rather poorly at that) but very little else. Its a bit of a hit and miss game. I'll probably play periodically from now on but probably not dedicate too much time to it.
    Expand
  3. Feb 23, 2014
    7
    Solid shooter with a lot of potential but it's less an arena shooter and more a cross between gears of war and tf2. The dodging and ads aiming make it seem like a very fast gears of war game which I really dig. Decent graphics and animations. Viable gun choices are kinda weak and possibly the worst part of the gameplay. They tried to make it so there are tons of options but really thereSolid shooter with a lot of potential but it's less an arena shooter and more a cross between gears of war and tf2. The dodging and ads aiming make it seem like a very fast gears of war game which I really dig. Decent graphics and animations. Viable gun choices are kinda weak and possibly the worst part of the gameplay. They tried to make it so there are tons of options but really there are only a few decent gun configurations which results in having less viable guns than UT. I love me a good arena shooter and I will certainly keep playing this for maybe a month but they are going to need a lot more content and gun choices to keep me interested. People that say this are pay to win are most likely just bad at the game. I've played about 30 matches and so far I've seen no evidence of pay to win. I do quite well with the stock assault rifle and a modified 3 round rocket launcher which can be purchased after 2-3 matches. Expand
  4. Feb 8, 2014
    7
    This game is really fun to play and it is actually free! It might not be the game that you will play all the time but it is really good to try it out. It does have micro-transactions but they are for outfits and boosters. The gun customization is great but it is not fully taken advantage of. I highly recommend to try it.
  5. Feb 10, 2014
    7
    Games is ok. Free game with most improvments and manual weaponts. Creating weaponts is very good choice for ttp game. But this game have enought this stuff. Slow unlock and enought items.
    -------------------------------------------
    Łamany angielski teraz po ludzku: -------------------------------------------- Gra jest porządku ale ma jeden mankament. Za mało rozbudowana. Mamy kilka
    Games is ok. Free game with most improvments and manual weaponts. Creating weaponts is very good choice for ttp game. But this game have enought this stuff. Slow unlock and enought items.
    -------------------------------------------
    Łamany angielski teraz po ludzku:
    --------------------------------------------
    Gra jest porządku ale ma jeden mankament. Za mało rozbudowana. Mamy kilka mapek i trybów któe w zupełności wystarczają. Model gry z tworzeniem własnych broni - super! Ale jest za mało kombinacji. To jak w klasycznych mmo. Widzimy 10 postaci z tym samym sprzętem ponieważ jest niezastąpiony. A co z resztą ulepszeń? Są by zapełnić dziurę w grze? Rozumiem, że nie można za szybko wszystkiego odblokować bo się znudzi, gra się nudzi po 20h gry ponieważ w koło Macieju mamy to samo i później większość graczy biega z tą samą bronią. Tworząc coś unikatowego warto być unikalnym.
    Expand
  6. Feb 11, 2014
    7
    Many free to play games often use the fact that they are free to play as an excuse for lower quality gameplay, while pushing as many microtransactions on the player as humanly possible. Loadout, on the other hand, manages to create a fun game while still being free to play. That being said, while loadout is not pay to win, the game does push you to pay for things. You can only unlock aMany free to play games often use the fact that they are free to play as an excuse for lower quality gameplay, while pushing as many microtransactions on the player as humanly possible. Loadout, on the other hand, manages to create a fun game while still being free to play. That being said, while loadout is not pay to win, the game does push you to pay for things. You can only unlock a maximum of three loadouts and six gunslots without paying, and doing so takes an incredibly long time, but if you are willing to pay you can buy weaponslots, loadouts and boosters in order to upgrade your weapons faster. The actual gameplay is quite fun, but there is no tutorial and also no singleplayer type of gameplay, so if you are new to third person shooters like loadout or do not know the controls, expect to have a harder time in learning, although I did not have too much trouble learning. There is also a limited number of maps and they do not feel unique. Loadout is definitly worth getting for its price, just don't expect it to be a jaw-dropping, worth playing thousands of hours type of game. Expand
  7. Feb 1, 2014
    7
    Alright. Loadout. Here I go.

    Loadout is a fast paced 3rd person shooter that has one of the most diverse weapon crafting systems I've ever seen in a game. It's incredibly in-depth and you'll be spending a good amount of time crafting new weapons and seeing if you can improve them in any way possible. The level design in this game is superb. There are heaps of jumps, pathways and
    Alright. Loadout. Here I go.

    Loadout is a fast paced 3rd person shooter that has one of the most diverse weapon crafting systems I've ever seen in a game. It's incredibly in-depth and you'll be spending a good amount of time crafting new weapons and seeing if you can improve them in any way possible.
    The level design in this game is superb. There are heaps of jumps, pathways and buildings to traverse across and almost everything in every level can be used to your advantage. Need to drop a nade on a capture point? Throw it at the pipe above the point so it bounces down and demolishes your enemies. Although there are only 5 maps atm, they're extremely well put together and you'll never get sick of them.

    Now, for the bad bits.
    Fights can seem one sided a LOT of the time. That guy you tried to kill couldn't possibly die because he has a shield and a launcher that kills you in two hits. It makes creative weapons seem unnecessary since all the simple guns do a really good job at killing the enemy team.
    Even though the weapon crafting is diverse, a lot of the gun pieces are redundant and add little to no difference in how your gun works. Sometimes, there's no point in using a specific piece because there is another that does a way better job.
    There are some really big balancing issues that can make every game you're in feel boring or frustrating. Beams that kill you in 3 hits; launchers that kill you in 2. You'll be seeing that a LOT. However, not every player uses them and games can be a lot of fun. It's just that they could be a lot more fun if the weapons were better balanced.

    tl;dr: You should definitely check out Loadout if you're into faced paced shooters, despite its few flaws
    Expand
  8. Feb 7, 2014
    7
    I've played about 8 hours of Loadout on Steam, and I feel that the critics here have pretty much done the game justice with its score. Loadout is a very good free to play game in every sense. Everything that can effect gameplay like guns, their upgrades, and abilities like turrets and sheilds, can all be unlocked in a reasonable amount of time for free. Only cosmetic items such as hats,I've played about 8 hours of Loadout on Steam, and I feel that the critics here have pretty much done the game justice with its score. Loadout is a very good free to play game in every sense. Everything that can effect gameplay like guns, their upgrades, and abilities like turrets and sheilds, can all be unlocked in a reasonable amount of time for free. Only cosmetic items such as hats, clothes, and taunts are purchasable. This keeps it from being pay to win, as things that are required for you to buy are purely optional. I do think that purchasable items in the store however are a little overpriced (It runs about 8-10 dollars for one item), but there are two reasons I can kind of forgive this. First, it is only a little more expensive than price I already pay for other games like League of Legends and TF2. Second, there are bundles that cost more (20-50 dollars) but give you your moneys worth by giving you the equivalent dollar amount in its in game currency, xp boosts and exclusive full sets of items. Gameplay is fast and fun, and well balanced (The fact that everything is OP means nothing is). The only problem I have with this game is the fact that there isn't very much variety. There are only 4 gun types and three characters. Once leveling is done there isn't much else to do, and with only three characters everyone tends to look exactly the same unless you want to spend some serious cash on your avatar. So to wrap things up, this game is well worth your time. Even if you don't want to put money into it you can still enjoy it. The devs are still working on this title to improve it and add to it. So I hope that I can get on Metacritic again in the future and raise its score if they add a ton of new content. Expand
  9. Feb 2, 2014
    5
    It's fun, for the most part. The taunts are absolutely hilarious, but you have to fork over serious real life $$$ for them. However it's the wait times that kill this game. Weaponcrafting was a big let down.
  10. Feb 7, 2014
    7
    The game is very fun. It is very fast paced with the ability to respawn in around 2 seconds, which keeps the games, flow. Movement is very good, but the jumping feels a bit off, because after jumping and moving forward for around 1 second and then falling with so much momentum is kinda off.

    Now, the main part of this game is the weapon customization. It is flawless. You want a Rocket
    The game is very fun. It is very fast paced with the ability to respawn in around 2 seconds, which keeps the games, flow. Movement is very good, but the jumping feels a bit off, because after jumping and moving forward for around 1 second and then falling with so much momentum is kinda off.

    Now, the main part of this game is the weapon customization. It is flawless. You want a Rocket launcher that burns players and has laser targeting? You can have that! You want a shotgun that zaps players? You can have that! The possibilities are like no other game.

    The Maps could use some more work, because most times playing a certain game mode where you need to capture a random flag, one team's spawn may be much closer than the other teams.

    The Character Customization is where the in-game currency comes in hand. The choices you have at the start are little to nothing, like having 1 hair style or no hair, ect. I love customizing characters in games to make him look as funny as i can. I can't really do that with the character customization. The currency pricing isn't that bad, though.
    Expand
  11. Feb 12, 2014
    6
    Decent fast-paced shooter. Nothing too special, but for a free-to-play game, it's pretty good. Gun modding is a bit shallow, but what do you expect from a game that costs nothing.
  12. Feb 11, 2014
    5
    It looks nice, tries to be funny and... that's all of it. The weapon customization isn't really that much of a thing, you're just swapping parts while the default ones usually work better than their replacements. Character customization is nice, but extremely pricey. Cut out the customization and you have your typical generic F2P shooter with Team Fortress 2 visuals. Includes randomIt looks nice, tries to be funny and... that's all of it. The weapon customization isn't really that much of a thing, you're just swapping parts while the default ones usually work better than their replacements. Character customization is nice, but extremely pricey. Cut out the customization and you have your typical generic F2P shooter with Team Fortress 2 visuals. Includes random mashing of your keyboard while praying you won't get hit. I probably don't need to mention you have your fire button pressed all the time. Expand
  13. Feb 16, 2014
    6
    Loadout is pretty much a basic arcade third person shooter which plays a bit like a mix between Team Fortress 2 (minus the hats) and Call of Duty. So far I've played a fair number of hours and it's managed to keep my attention, but I don't think I'll be playing it long term in the future.
    The game itself plays quite fluidly, albeit with furious mouse clicking and explosives spam, but the
    Loadout is pretty much a basic arcade third person shooter which plays a bit like a mix between Team Fortress 2 (minus the hats) and Call of Duty. So far I've played a fair number of hours and it's managed to keep my attention, but I don't think I'll be playing it long term in the future.
    The game itself plays quite fluidly, albeit with furious mouse clicking and explosives spam, but the limited number of maps and game modes let it down a bit. Gun balance is also really up in the air because the customisation opens the field to overpowered combinations which actually end up reducing the number of viable weapons you can actually use.
    The game is fairly entertaining, but don't expect too much if you're playing on your own, because most of the fun comes from teaming up with friends. Also, the game is not very 'Free-2-Play' , while you can download it without paying, the game is very limited unless you shell out some money to unlock more Loadout and weapon crafting slots.
    Overall, an entertaining game which is worth playing for a laugh, but don't expect to get too many hours out of it.
    Expand
  14. Jun 5, 2014
    5
    Loadout is a game relying on a gimmick to fill out the substantial lack of substance and as logic would have it, gimmicks will only be gimmicks, no matter how gimmicky.
  15. Feb 3, 2014
    5
    First i have to say two things (because friends kept telling me these to a lot to convince me to play it.
    It is not like Team Fortress or Borderlands! And many Weapons? More like 4! (ok, these 4 can be customized).
    Imo the controls feel a bit inaccurate. And i felt like other players weapons did a lot more dmg then mine did (+ the capture the random point game mode seems to be won
    First i have to say two things (because friends kept telling me these to a lot to convince me to play it.
    It is not like Team Fortress or Borderlands! And many Weapons? More like 4! (ok, these 4 can be customized).

    Imo the controls feel a bit inaccurate. And i felt like other players weapons did a lot more dmg then mine did (+ the capture the random point game mode seems to be won mostly by luck just hope the point your standing on will be the next to be captured). The Graphics are good and the game has a fun feel to it.

    If you like fun & fast Shooters it may be right for you ( but be prepared to spend some money on it ).
    Expand
  16. Mar 12, 2014
    5
    An amusing ut3 multiplayer arena shooter ruined by a lack of weapon leveling and insane grinding.
    Grinding sucks the fun out of the game and reminds you that the game is pay-to-progress not free-to-play.
  17. May 25, 2014
    7
    Team Fortress and Borderlands art style, saints row's crazies...

    not a bad game, good game modes, good fun, some cheap laughs, the biggest problem I see is the price of the items, I haven't played for a while but if I remember clearly, if you want to create a character it will cost you about10-15 USD, and even with that budget you are limited to some selections, as some items are really
    Team Fortress and Borderlands art style, saints row's crazies...

    not a bad game, good game modes, good fun, some cheap laughs, the biggest problem I see is the price of the items, I haven't played for a while but if I remember clearly, if you want to create a character it will cost you about10-15 USD, and even with that budget you are limited to some selections, as some items are really expensive, if only a few is able to afford the items (afford as in have enough faith to put $15 in one character in a game that's still in beta by a unknown studio), then it losses some of its fun.

    Could also use more gadgets, guns etc
    Expand
  18. Mar 24, 2014
    7
    wacky uncensored and bloody funny this has great potential to be the next go to Online TPS next to Team Fortress 2 which i dont really like at all, but Loadout is very appealing to me for some reason, it also has 4 player co-op vs bots which is still vary fun with good ai and objectives, lots of crazy weapons, wardrobe combinations, taunts and power ups from what i see, you start with 3wacky uncensored and bloody funny this has great potential to be the next go to Online TPS next to Team Fortress 2 which i dont really like at all, but Loadout is very appealing to me for some reason, it also has 4 player co-op vs bots which is still vary fun with good ai and objectives, lots of crazy weapons, wardrobe combinations, taunts and power ups from what i see, you start with 3 loadout slots(characters) and 6 weapon slots (both unlocked as you level) and bare bones wardrobe (so you will see a lot of the same looks out there)

    wardrobe combinations, taunts, extra loadout slots and weapon slots cost coins which you can get with Real money (SpaceBux Yellow) they can cost quite a lot (19$ you can get a good wardrobe set for one character), extra loadout slots and weapon slots being the most 19-40$ may not need them in the long run, but weapon upgrades are bought with in game currency (Blutes Blue) are acquired as you play.
    Edit: there is daily packages that can give you wardrobe parts thats pretty cool :)

    lack of characters and levels seem a bit lacking but things will move along as more patching goes on

    2/24/2014 : players are ruining it already using only OP snipers and the much hated disguise perk which is why killzone 2-3 sucked soo much, unless people or devs stop this lame cod sniper crap there won't be much enjoyment left.

    and dont Even get me started on cosmetic pricing.
    Expand
  19. May 7, 2014
    7
    Loadout is a nice game, at least at first. Sadly some weapon/equipment combinations are not quite thought thru, and that means unbalanced. Imagine a rocket launcher guy, right? Not much of a problem, really. Unless he also has double jump, and happens to jump all around you, or over you. How many 360s can you do while aiming with the rifle? And guess what, while jumping the rl isLoadout is a nice game, at least at first. Sadly some weapon/equipment combinations are not quite thought thru, and that means unbalanced. Imagine a rocket launcher guy, right? Not much of a problem, really. Unless he also has double jump, and happens to jump all around you, or over you. How many 360s can you do while aiming with the rifle? And guess what, while jumping the rl is reloading so he can just rinse and repeat. Imagine three of those guys on the other team. No thanks. Also some maps have "holes" you can fall in (and die) and while it might be funny the first 100 times you fall in them it eventually gets kind of boring. I get it , it's funny cause it looks like you can just jump over it, but then you can't. Still, this kind of things are best left out of functional games. Expand
  20. May 29, 2014
    6
    "alright', after a solid 4-6 hours the game starts to lose its childish charm and come of as annoying and irritating, the gun play, and customization is awesome, but everything else just seems to lack any real motivation and just comes off as unoriginal and bland.

    Don't get me wrong, for a f2p game its pretty alright, but id recommend Black Light Retribution over it any day.
  21. Mar 18, 2014
    7
    Loadout is a silly third person shooter in a space setting. The game's real appeal lies not in its forgettable characters or its bland maps, but its abundance of weapons that you can create. The game is not pay to win at all (even less so than TF2) and is generally fun, but it only lasts as far as you can get until you encounter the constant, and I mean CONSTANT disconnections.
    + A ton of
    Loadout is a silly third person shooter in a space setting. The game's real appeal lies not in its forgettable characters or its bland maps, but its abundance of weapons that you can create. The game is not pay to win at all (even less so than TF2) and is generally fun, but it only lasts as far as you can get until you encounter the constant, and I mean CONSTANT disconnections.
    + A ton of weapons
    + Cartoony aesthetic
    + Free to play, not pay to win
    - Constant disconnection from servers
    - Unbalanced weapons -- 4 billion possible, maybe 5 good ones
    - Nudity as a humor gag
    Expand
  22. Jun 10, 2014
    7
    Loadout brings excitement to the f2p genre. you laugh, you jib, you taunt. your wallet wont save you in this game. borderlands meets unreal tournament in the most amusing way possible. worth the download.
  23. Apr 17, 2014
    5
    pretty clean animations, nice art style, if you want any sort of customization on your character then prepare to be milked of your money though. A daily chest that has very limited cosmetic options to unlock that is more of a slap in the face and try to coax you into spending cash, "oh neat, I got a t-shirt that says douchebag on it, right after I got basic grey jeans" So basically everypretty clean animations, nice art style, if you want any sort of customization on your character then prepare to be milked of your money though. A daily chest that has very limited cosmetic options to unlock that is more of a slap in the face and try to coax you into spending cash, "oh neat, I got a t-shirt that says douchebag on it, right after I got basic grey jeans" So basically every free player is running around in default skin, with all the options would have been nice atleast to pick some basic colors to very them a little.

    Guns take ages to level up, then when you do you have to spend a ridiculous amount of "bluprints" to actually take it to the next level. (don't quote me, but annoying if you level all your parts at once, then don't have enough to up them, so they just won't be getting exp when you play until you do)

    the game generally is fun and a nice time waster but it feels like it always just turns into a big clusterf*** of spraying rockets and balls of electricity etc, the guns in general seem to sway towards just "aim in their general direction" build styles later on, and the more you play. As you and every other players constantly spams jump and the dodge roll. I like the whole fast free movement aspect, but at the same time it's a curse because it's basically an adapted strategy in these types of games to learn to abuse the mobility.
    also there is gimmicky power ups like shields and jump boots, sound cool but just adds another layer of annoying to the game.

    with this game, less would have been more.
    Expand
  24. Mar 4, 2014
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. looks nice , but it starts to bugger my mind theres too much advantage for the paying customers , also the balance is really not as good quality what you'd like bein trained yourself really good fps gamer, and many things how ever good you are , you find yourself dead because the balance is a joke. Also if youre not into customization the interest drop drastically. Expand
  25. Sep 27, 2015
    7
    an ok F2P game on Steam

    the only problem is that you have to buy coins to for real money. however $0.99
    isn't that bad, (at least)
    other then that it not good, it not bad ether
  26. Jun 5, 2014
    7
    Using Team Fortress 2's winning formula, this game certainly doesn't disappoint. The gum customization adds originality to the game, and the gamemodes are fun to play, but unlike TF2 a lot of in-game purchases are needed to rank up very quickly, taking away the effort needed to feel like you achieved something in this game.
  27. Jan 4, 2015
    6
    A pretty fun game and great that it's free. However the monetisation mechanic in this game is a kind of standard annoying one where you'll be able to buy very limited amount of customisation with the in game currency. The weapons you can create are cool but without paying for items you'll have to rack up a lot of hours in order to get the gun you really want. The character designs andA pretty fun game and great that it's free. However the monetisation mechanic in this game is a kind of standard annoying one where you'll be able to buy very limited amount of customisation with the in game currency. The weapons you can create are cool but without paying for items you'll have to rack up a lot of hours in order to get the gun you really want. The character designs and quirky and make the game feel quite unique along with it's hyper violence, but it's still not an amazing game. A fun free game that you should pick up if you've got no money to spend. Expand
  28. Oct 11, 2016
    7
    It doesn't have an actual story (and it's online only) but that doesn't mean that the cast of three customizable characters is any less funny. And when I say customizable I mean up to the point where you can even make them run on the battlefield with their dicks hanging. But since it's free to play you'll run into a lot of micro transaction only for character cosmetics and not paying toIt doesn't have an actual story (and it's online only) but that doesn't mean that the cast of three customizable characters is any less funny. And when I say customizable I mean up to the point where you can even make them run on the battlefield with their dicks hanging. But since it's free to play you'll run into a lot of micro transaction only for character cosmetics and not paying to win in any way. Weapons are fully customizable without having to spend a real dime on it apart from game money which you earn by battling.
    Speaking of battles, they are fast paced, unpredictable and you will start of with an embarrassing death streak after being taken out by so many funny looking online characters with even funnier looking guns. One of the best parts of the game apart from large customization options is that you are able to steal other players guns and experience just how they felt blowing peoples heads off with their personal masterpiece.
    Check this game out because hopefully the developers will add some extra content or even a sequel if were lucky
    Expand
  29. Mar 12, 2014
    7
    To say this game is a masterpiece, would be telling a lie. To say this game is not worth playing would also be a lie. Instead, what is a pretty standard shooter from a distance, is transformed by the near endless customisation options and constant witty comic relief that you find playing the multiplayer. Yes, Loadout is truly a game tailored to the needs of the player and allows everyoneTo say this game is a masterpiece, would be telling a lie. To say this game is not worth playing would also be a lie. Instead, what is a pretty standard shooter from a distance, is transformed by the near endless customisation options and constant witty comic relief that you find playing the multiplayer. Yes, Loadout is truly a game tailored to the needs of the player and allows everyone to be whoever they want. This said, I was slightly disappointed by the small amount of character models, compared to other games in the genre such as Call of Duty: Ghosts, but this is overturned by the excitement of getting a new piece of clothing in a daily prize and trying it out on your character, whether it be a belt, a taunt, a shirt, some trousers (or no trousers in one case), some shoes or a haircut, it enables you to make an overused, generic blank canvas into your own little master piece. The same can be said for the guns with only four classes being provided for the player to build a weapon around, but when you get into it you'll be hard pressed to find a person with exactly the same weapon or play style as you. This filters into the gameplay which is surprisingly fast paced and if you can't keep up then prepared to be dismembered and scorched over and over and over again (much to the satisfaction of the player now twerking, and yes you can do that, over your writhing, flaming corpse). Another surprise were the graphics. I was expecting nothing more than a few low quality textures combined with cartoonish explosions. But they are all staggeringly good looking, providing that your computer can run it. Some aspects such as the smoke trail coming off the back of a freshly fired rocket could hold their own against some of the best looking games of this generation. The character models, while cartoonish, looked really lifelike with small features such as hair and teeth feeding into this. They are also very flexible while playing the game, allowing you to melee, roll and jump fluently adding to this graphical joy. But the best part of this is the price tag which I am pleased to say is holding steady at £0.00 or for people across the Atlantic, $0.00. So why has this game only got a seven? Surely it deserves higher? Well that's where you're wrong. For as much as I love this game, and I do love it, it has been diseased with a virus that seems to be infecting many decent games recently such as this one. I am of course talking about the dreaded micro-transactions. Now usually I would rate this game much lower on account of this however the only reason that it stays at its quite comfortable rating is that you can only pay for cosmetic items, such as clothing and so on, rather than actual experience. This allows the more experienced and worthy player to trump his adversary who would usually pay into the game and become indestructible. For this I must commend the developers for not bowing as far to the greed of micro transactions as so many other game studios have done. So while the game is not perfect, it does provide endless hours of light hearted fun and it does it for free, assuming that you don't pay to get a cosmetic skin where your genitalia are hanging out. Expand
  30. Mar 26, 2014
    5
    It too fast for my eyes and the unrealistic feeling you get is too damn hard. I bought it before release and i'm pretty disappointed, graphics are cool tho. 5/10
  31. Apr 1, 2014
    5
    This game had great potential, but was ruined when it became free to play. Making it F2P introduced levels and grinding for parts, making it almost impossible to even think about making the billions of weapon combinations that they advertise. Weapons are also completely imbalanced; only a few very select meta combinations are effective and even used.

    To summarize, classic F2P grinding
    This game had great potential, but was ruined when it became free to play. Making it F2P introduced levels and grinding for parts, making it almost impossible to even think about making the billions of weapon combinations that they advertise. Weapons are also completely imbalanced; only a few very select meta combinations are effective and even used.

    To summarize, classic F2P grinding for currency+exp (unless boosters are bought with real money), and imbalanced weaponry creating a meta of 5-6 effective weapons. Still fun and has a great art style before the level curve makes it take several games to level up.
    Expand
  32. Sep 6, 2015
    7
    It scrapes an seven from me but I found Loadout to be a blast. It won't grip you to keep coming back, but overall its an old-style shooter with hilarious visuals and graphics that are just enough to get the job done.

    The upgrades are a little tight and don't seem to offer much benefit. I was doing just as well with the starter gun as I was after several hours of playing, but at least
    It scrapes an seven from me but I found Loadout to be a blast. It won't grip you to keep coming back, but overall its an old-style shooter with hilarious visuals and graphics that are just enough to get the job done.

    The upgrades are a little tight and don't seem to offer much benefit. I was doing just as well with the starter gun as I was after several hours of playing, but at least the micro-transactions are purely cosmetic so there is no 'pay to win' element to annoy you. These micro-transactions are very expensive, but as they are not a 'need' I can overlook them.

    A great pick up and play game if you want some casual, fast-paced fun ^^
    Expand
  33. Nov 27, 2014
    6
    Actually, is not that bad, but it has it's problems. Repetitive gameplay, pay-to-win and matchmaking sucks. But the weapons, the customization, the gore, the humor... it's really good. Not that I played that much. It's a game that I didn't feel the urge to come back, but it had its share of fun. It's not CoD, Battlefield, Team Fortress 2 or Counter Strike in terms of multiplayer, but it'sActually, is not that bad, but it has it's problems. Repetitive gameplay, pay-to-win and matchmaking sucks. But the weapons, the customization, the gore, the humor... it's really good. Not that I played that much. It's a game that I didn't feel the urge to come back, but it had its share of fun. It's not CoD, Battlefield, Team Fortress 2 or Counter Strike in terms of multiplayer, but it's a nice little distraction if you are bored of your other games. Expand
  34. Feb 10, 2015
    7
    If it wasn't free it wouldn't be worth it. Fun for a couple of hours but gets repetitive quickly. The micro transactions can be really annoying, as with them you can get different gun parts faster.
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. games(TM)
    Mar 12, 2014
    70
    Even without the new weapon parts, characters and maps that will be joining the roster, it's a worthy side-dish to whatever passes for your multiplayer main course. [Issue#145, p.121]
  2. Feb 20, 2014
    77
    Loadout’s gun customization and well executed twists on shooter staples make it a free-to-play game that doesn't feel like a compromise.
  3. Feb 18, 2014
    60
    As a shooter, Loadout has a lot to recommend it. It’s fast, fluid, gratifying, varied, slick, and largely unsullied by its free-to-play business model. In other words, no, this isn’t Team Fortress. And, frankly, it doesn’t need to be.