Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. CD-Action
    Dec 13, 2014
    90
    I was flabbergasted by what two largely unknown studios managed to achieve. Lords of the Fallen is not just a creative take on the formula introduced by From Software, but also a game that can rival the greatest recent RPGs and looks like Monica Bellucci and Sophie Marceau from their best years. [Dec 2014, p.40]
  2. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Nov 25, 2014
    87
    Who would have thought that the union of two studios which didn’t have a single prominent game between them will yield a game worthy of all possible attention. This exciting and entertaining Action RPG adopted some Dark Souls’ basic mechanics but managed to preserve its own unique face. [Dec 2014, p.60]
  3. Oct 27, 2014
    85
    A surprisingly solid title that wasn’t even on my radar. While it borrows heavily from the Souls franchise, it’s done well and with its own signature flair. I highly recommend this game to anyone that enjoys that series, and if you haven’t gone down that road before, it might be a more forgiving entry point into the action RPG.
  4. Pelit (Finland)
    Dec 15, 2014
    83
    Lords of the Fallen may be a simplified, easier version of Souls games, but is it necessarily a bad thing? Being an overpowered iron mountain at the end game, well, it is actually quite satisfying for a change. [Dec 2014]
  5. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Dec 3, 2014
    80
    Straightforward copycat of "Souls" games achieved a success because it can reach players the Japanese series could not because it was too difficult. The game is still challenging but you won't be desperate from playing it. [Issue#247]
  6. Nov 2, 2014
    79
    Entertaining Action-RPG with great fight mechanics, but full of problems regarding game balance and story.
  7. Nov 9, 2014
    78
    A good action RPG that tries to emulate the Souls series but lacks in terms of variety and length.
  8. Oct 28, 2014
    77
    Lords of the Fallen looks a lot like Dark Souls, but it doesn't reach its superb quality. It's still a good game, especially for gamers looking for a challenging Action RPG.
  9. Nov 24, 2014
    75
    Lords of the Fallen is a small miracle when you consider the size of the studios that have worked on the project and the quality of the art direction and combat system, but unfortunately it does not completely shine.
  10. Nov 11, 2014
    75
    Despite the game’s shortcomings, you will hardly regret spending time with Lords of the Fallen. The developers set out to create a more humane version of Dark Souls 2, and they accomplished their mission, albeit not as brilliantly.
  11. Nov 7, 2014
    75
    Clone or not, Lords of the Fallen is a good game in its own right. Powerful combat, lots of weapons and beautiful visuals will please those who are craving a challenge, despite some technical quirks, an obstructive camera and bland storytelling.
  12. Nov 5, 2014
    75
    It’s a solid action/RPG that stumbles on the execution of several of its fantastic ideas, but nevertheless provides a great entry point for those looking to get into the type of deep, challenging, and rewarding experiences that games like Dark Souls and Demon’s Souls provide.
  13. Oct 29, 2014
    75
    Lords of the Fallen has an intriguing idea for itself and as a result is simply a good game. The developers have borrowed Dark Souls' essence and modified it for a regular gamer. The game is smaller but more "to the point". Well thought-out but plagued with minor issues. Fortunately, most of them could easily be fixed, and all other flaws do not influence the fun.
  14. Oct 27, 2014
    75
    Lords of the Fallen is derivative; there’s no doubt about that. But it’s also a surprising show of skill and hopefully a sign of much brighter things to come.
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 688 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Oct 28, 2014
    10
    now this is a game that keeps me busy for sometime, and it's gloriously amazing! I'm a dark souls type of gamer and I like a lot of RPGs. thisnow this is a game that keeps me busy for sometime, and it's gloriously amazing! I'm a dark souls type of gamer and I like a lot of RPGs. this one has surpassed my expectations! Well done City Interactive! Full Review »
  2. Oct 28, 2014
    10
    A great looking action RPG with a distinct next-gen feel. If you ever wanted the satisfying combat of the Souls series, this is it. EvenA great looking action RPG with a distinct next-gen feel. If you ever wanted the satisfying combat of the Souls series, this is it. Even without finishing the NG+ a second time, I got solid 30 hours from it so definitely worth giving it a shot. Full Review »
  3. Oct 28, 2014
    0
    Cheap Dark Souls rip off, with almost no story or interesting world to explore. Just ok graphics and generally the game lacks character.Cheap Dark Souls rip off, with almost no story or interesting world to explore. Just ok graphics and generally the game lacks character. Invest your money better in the real deal, Dark Souls 1/2 & Dlcs Full Review »