Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. CD-Action
    Nov 15, 2021
    90
    Lost in Random excels in storytelling and offers an unconventional combat system. If you like visiting unique worlds, enjoy dark fables and appreciate a good story, you’ll get hooked on this game big time. I was eagerly awaiting Alice: Asylum and suddenly this gem appeared. Here’s to more wonderful surprises like this one. [11/2021, p.74]
  2. Sep 10, 2021
    90
    Lost in Random is all about randomness, and while that idea doesn't go far enough in some cases, the game is still a great coming-of-age tale with tons of laughs and tension.
  3. Sep 10, 2021
    83
    Lost in Random would have been an interesting game even with a normal combat system, but developers were brave enough to dare and innovate, definitively not an easy task in late 2021. Maybe the effort spent on combining dice and cards has caused other features to be overlooked, and the game is sometimes a bit slow and with little interaction, but this does not impair the experience of playing an artistically very well done game, with a great story and the right amount of humor like I haven't seen in a long time.
  4. Nov 16, 2021
    80
    Lost in Random is a 3D action game with a focus on deck-building with magical cards. By having the player roll a dice, the game brings an interesting factor of chance to the table, but it can not be denied that this element can also work against itself.
  5. Sep 10, 2021
    80
    Lost in Random is an adventure I couldn't wait to continue as soon as I stopped playing. The wondrous deck building mechanics that gave rise to explosive effects, the visually impressive world, the whimsical soundtrack and the story of a young heroine rescuing her sister from an evil queen. There were a few frame rate drops and glitches, mind, but nothing that a day one patch won't smooth over. If you're after a game that is challenging yet thought-provoking, introducing you to sumptuous storybook realms that you won't want to leave, then this is one I wholeheartedly recommend.
  6. Sep 10, 2021
    80
    Lost in Random depicts a stunningly unique and eccentric world filled to the brim with character and personality. The Tim-Burton visuals and the kooky cast of characters you’ll meet in each distinctively different region means there’s never a dull moment to this journey. Clever strategy card elements help to mask the game’s rather unremarkable real-time combat, with some control issues that hurt the overall experience. Yet despite its flaws, Lost in Random still brings the goods and had me engaged from unlucky start to triumphantly random end.
  7. Sep 10, 2021
    80
    Interesting combat aside, what resonates and exhilarates about Lost in Random is its story first and foremost. The adventure that Even embarks on is one to savour and one that lives up to the wonderful art direction and visual design. The characters, the dialogue, the discoveries, the animation, the voice acting, the music, the presentation -- it all comes together wonderfully. A game well worth taking a chance and rolling the dice on.
  8. Sep 10, 2021
    80
    Lost in Random is certainly a unique and interesting game, in spite of its flaws and aside from its inspirations. The art style may give the impression of journeying through a Tim Burton-inspired, imaginative landscape, but Lost in Random has its own identity that makes it worth exploring. Despite its faults, the combat's close similarities to 3D version of the Megaman Battle Network and Starforce series in all of the best ways makes it highly entertaining. Lost in Random is an innovative and enjoyable take on its genre, and a game that’s very easy to get lost in.
  9. Sep 10, 2021
    80
    Amazingly stylish and fun, Lost in Random has everything it needs to be unique and intriguing.
  10. Sep 10, 2021
    80
    Lost in Random enjoys an exquisite universe, between an artistic direction reminiscent of the golden age of stop motion and a particularly rich narration. Add to that combat mechanics cleverly built and well executed despite some redundancies and some under-exploited ideas. But in the end, Zoink offers us a fascinating macabre tale that never runs out of steam over time and is worth browsing.
  11. Sep 10, 2021
    80
    Lost in Random is without any doubt the independent nugget of this end of the year. The creativity is at its peak and everything makes it a title not to be missed. Tim Burton-like art direction, an engaging story and above all an original and very addictive gameplay. Card game, chess game, board game, dice game... One could think that all this mix is a bit messy but everything is, on the contrary, well measured.
  12. Dec 29, 2021
    79
    The cute horror game in the style of Tim Burton offers a unique combat system. However, balancing issues and a lack of variety impair the fun.
  13. Sep 22, 2021
    79
    Lost in Random is a gothic tale with charming world-building and mature writing. The battle system unfortunately does not allow the whole project to claim a place in the undisputed must plays of the year.
  14. Oct 11, 2021
    78
    Lost in Random is a pleasant action-adventure with a clever use of numbers, great visual design, and a unique combat system that allows players to roll with the punches.
  15. Oct 13, 2021
    75
    Lost in Random performs expertly on its gameplay and graphics, but falls very short when it comes to its little effort in the dialogue aspect. It’s also a shame to see how little polish the ending received.
  16. Sep 10, 2021
    75
    Charming and often fun, Lost in Random has less going on than I would have liked, even if I had a good time overall.
  17. Sep 10, 2021
    75
    Even if it is a nice surprise, Zoink’s new game might not be its best. The combat system needs more depth or, at least, be better distributed throughout the adventure.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Lost In Random gets lots of things right, including that Dicey is now with us. But for an adventure game with such a wacky setting, it somehow doesn't get playful enough - or really even random enough - to elevate itself from a solid time to a rip-roaring one.
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 47
  2. Negative: 12 out of 47
  1. Sep 12, 2021
    10
    Fun! I’m greatly enjoying it. Fulfills my love for Rohald Dahl and my fetish for dice. Everything about this game is wholly unique, from theFun! I’m greatly enjoying it. Fulfills my love for Rohald Dahl and my fetish for dice. Everything about this game is wholly unique, from the world, story, to the combat which gets pretty tough as you play on. Yep. I’m a fan Full Review »
  2. Sep 12, 2021
    10
    I'm just tired of idiots giving bad reviews because the game is not in certain languages, so I wanted to even the score. If people are givingI'm just tired of idiots giving bad reviews because the game is not in certain languages, so I wanted to even the score. If people are giving reviews without even playing the game, so will I. Full Review »
  3. Sep 13, 2021
    9
    A unique and beautiful gameplay. Story was was fine. Need more games that try something new.