Lost Planet 2 Image
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 99 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The next installment in the popular action series returns in Lost Planet 2. Lost Planet: Extreme Condition, the landmark third-person shooter that debuted on Xbox 360, went on to sell over 2.3 million units worldwide after its release. Lost Planet 2, will offer deeper insight into the worldThe next installment in the popular action series returns in Lost Planet 2. Lost Planet: Extreme Condition, the landmark third-person shooter that debuted on Xbox 360, went on to sell over 2.3 million units worldwide after its release. Lost Planet 2, will offer deeper insight into the world of E.D.N III and the uncertain fate of future mankind. Expand

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Lost Planet 3 - Launch Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Jan 11, 2011
    81
    Great action game including huge boss fights against over-sized monsters. A must have for those who like to play coop games for up to four players. In case you play the game alone alongside AI partners the difficulty level may frustrate you from time to time.
  2. Jan 8, 2011
    80
    The PC version of Lost Planet 2 solves some problems present on consoles, offering some excellent visuals thanks to the DirectX 11 support. Unfortunately, the developers could not remedy to the flaws of the original game (interesting plot but anonimous characters, several short missions in the single player campaign and a mediocre AI), but the combat system is still excellent and there are plenty of nice multiplayer modes. If you loved the first Lost Planet, this sequel won't disappoint you, definitely.
  3. Oct 20, 2010
    75
    Lost Planet 2 is one of the best co-ops that we have seen. It has the same AI problems that we saw in his first part... but his great multiplayer doesn't need it.
  4. Dec 21, 2010
    67
    If you haven't snapped up Lost Planet 2 in a bargain bin some place for consoles, the PC port has been out and runs like a dream.
  5. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Dec 21, 2010
    60
    Defrosted sequel to the first Lost Planet brings new and interesting jungle environment to the scene. Unfortunately, the sidekick bots are not-so-smart and are awkward to control. [Dec 2010]
  6. Oct 20, 2010
    60
    If you've burned through other multiplayer or co-op options, then there might be something for you in Lost Planet 2. The single player campaign is lengthy at around 14 hours with full co-op support and the multiplayer has plenty of maps and modes. Just do yourself a favor: buy some insurance for the controller you'll invariably throw across the room at one of Lost Planet 2's seemingly endless design and interface issues.
  7. Jan 15, 2011
    38
    Lost Planet 2 is a disjointed mess without style or substance. The developers don't bother themselves with well-designed levels, clever triggers and challenging AI. They just throw you into a hostile crowd, hoping that you'll have fun.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 27
  2. Negative: 6 out of 27
  1. Jan 11, 2011
    10
    My son and I played this game over a weekend for 15.3 Hours,the multiplayer is very fun.
    The artowrk and camera fx in this game make it seem
    My son and I played this game over a weekend for 15.3 Hours,the multiplayer is very fun.
    The artowrk and camera fx in this game make it seem like your watching a movie The visual quality of the art here in my oppinion as a game developer is extreemly well.All in all this was one of the best 10 games i bought this last year.
    Expand
  2. Jul 4, 2012
    10
    Even though I liked the original lost planet, this one was better. It took me a while to get going, and the controls were quite a bitEven though I liked the original lost planet, this one was better. It took me a while to get going, and the controls were quite a bit different from the original game yet the story and the action were better than ever. Some might say the story is shallow and linear. However, there was plenty of action and it held my interest throughout I would recommend this game to anybody Expand
  3. Feb 15, 2012
    9
    In the space of time it took to get from XBOX and PS3 to Windows, LP2 was treated to some of the pickiest reviews I've ever seen. DespiteIn the space of time it took to get from XBOX and PS3 to Windows, LP2 was treated to some of the pickiest reviews I've ever seen. Despite having not played the first Lost Planet game at the time and the almost unanimous negative-to-average critical reaction, the stunning visuals and trailer prompted me to buy this game and I'm definitely glad I ignored those reviews. The design, interface and other issues noted with console versions were (for me) non-existent. I don't have a problem with Lost Planet 2 because of its arcade sensibilities, it's not attempting to tell you a story with the scope and pathos of classic literature, all you need from the premise is to pick up a gun, dash through wonderfully crafted (if at times linear) environments and shoot at some of the biggest and best-designed alien creatures ever put on a computer screen. Many critics picked on Lost Planet for being faceless or lacking engaging characters but that's moot, really - it's not that sort of game. It's fun, which is all that should matter. Expand
  4. Apr 28, 2020
    8
    Lost Planet 2 es un juego bastante ambicioso para el año en el que salió, con cinemáticas espectaculares, un final muy destacable, un buenLost Planet 2 es un juego bastante ambicioso para el año en el que salió, con cinemáticas espectaculares, un final muy destacable, un buen juego de Capcom, rejugable al extremo, con componente online, con buenos niveles, diseños y universo ficticio. Aún así tiene unos 'peros' que hay que destacar. Comenzando por la optimización en PC, es un port malo y hay que decirlo, la inteligencia de los NPC es limitada y a veces incluso te entorpecen. Los controles de tanque no son un problema. El juego como tal esta muy bien, tiene el adn japones de Capcom y la dificultad maxima es un suicidio, recomiendo jugarlo al menos una vez, en cualquier plataforma. Expand
  5. May 6, 2011
    8
    I agree with the reviews: this game has a few glaring faults that really get on my nerves when playing it. Nonetheless I believe it gets theI agree with the reviews: this game has a few glaring faults that really get on my nerves when playing it. Nonetheless I believe it gets the credit it deserves for what it does well, let's go through that first:

    I am absolutely blown back by how well your typical western-styled shooter meets the japanese adventure and arcade elements that is so unique to our asian friends. It is a pure and great hybrid and the gameplay mechanics are exciting and very rewarding: an A rating for that I'll tell you.
    Then if that's not enough there's also the graphics and the designs: the japanese flair a lá overman king gainer and other related styles is simply nothing I have ever seen in a game.
    I don't really get the story to be honest but that's a japanese thing: never expect to truly understand the whole story. You either like it or not: but it's not a bad thing.

    So I'm raving on and on about how great this game is... then... exactly what's wrong?
    Well everything *around* the game is wrong and drags it down. First off the menus and interface: on PC it is just retarded, convoluted, overly designed, poorly designed, unintuitive, etc. I struggle to remember a game with worse menus.
    Second are the controls which are basically yuck. Maybe they work on console, I don't know: but on PC it requires some tinkering and simple grinding to get used to them and see them as barely decent.
    Third is how little the game guides you when playing. I don't like hand-holding but come on give me a few required headers and tips instead of just thrusting me into a situation with a mission I am not sure how to achieve. Most elements in the game you have to figure out and that is just not fun.

    All in all I praise it for its solid core consisting of a unique take on shooter/japanese arcader with great design and gameplay. But everything around that core is just unintuitive, garbled and more of a nuisance.
    Expand
  6. Nov 2, 2017
    7
    From what semt a guilty pleasure game i honestly got good amount of fun out of it. While story and campaign wise its not as good as first LostFrom what semt a guilty pleasure game i honestly got good amount of fun out of it. While story and campaign wise its not as good as first Lost Planet, there's barely any focus on narrative or story at all, youre just playing as certain grunt from different factions throughout the different missions with a cinematic cutscene popping up time to time trying to make it look like more tradiotional story based game. The single player campaign simply plays out like co-op one, only with AI squad mates which are not as useless as many say they are, they can get stuff done, but of course they can be a pian in the butt often aswell. Gladly missions themselves can be pretty fun, there's enough cool setpieces along with giant Akrid boss battles.

    Where it mostly improves is the gameplay, youre more mobile, agile on the battlefield, theres dedicated sprint option, gunplay feels more solid with again pretty well done sound effects and decent, weighty overall gun feel for a third person shooter. Sadly there isnt that big of a focus on VS mechs anymore, theres still some later missions where you get to use them in fighting, but no where near as much as in first game.

    Like with Extreme Condition, LP2 on PC has few issues, like shoddy frame rates at times when you get close to a big boss in game, with lots of smoke, explosions on screen and overall when too many things happen at once the fps can drop, but nothing that brakes the experience atleast. Also upon starting up the game in DX11, game can crash without warning in menu screen sometimes, however atleast it can be actually played in DX11, unlike 1st game which seems to be utterly broken when ran in its DX10 mode with game crash guaranteed every time.

    So if you enjoyed Extreme Condition gameplay, you should give this one a shot, just expect less if you liked first game's story and characters, cuz you wont find them in Lost Planet 2, if you have real people to play with in co-op, game's even more worth your time.
    Expand
  7. Jul 19, 2020
    0
    J'avais pris ça, enfin "ça" c'est-à-dire la suite de la daube Capcon (attention à l'accord et à l'inclusivité : Capconne, pardon !) dans unJ'avais pris ça, enfin "ça" c'est-à-dire la suite de la daube Capcon (attention à l'accord et à l'inclusivité : Capconne, pardon !) dans un bac à soldes à un euro cinquante ou peut-être bien deux balles et quelques centimes... ce qui convient assez à un jeu à deux balles, ma foi !

    Bon bien sûr, j'avais joué au premier qui était déjà une grosse daube très habituelle de chez Captron l'éditeur-étron, alors la suite syndicale en pire ou un peu moins pire, franchement... mais cela dit le pire n'est pas -pour une fois- Capburne ; non le pire du pire de l'ultra-pire, c'est le "Games for Windows Live", cette chose, cette abomination de DRM qui veut se connecter à quelque chose qui n'existe plus mais le GFWL ne le sait pas encore...

    Remarquez, ça semble fonctionner lorsqu'on veut récupérer son profil Live (qui peut être un Gamertag Xbox évidemmment) mais comme au bout de plusieurs minutes, il tourne en boucle et n'a rien trouvé du tout, on suppose que ça ne marche pas. Ou que ça ne fonctionne plus : tu l'as dans le cul ! Déjà qu'il a fallu poireauter pendant l'installation des deux DVD (pour 11 Go en tout) pour constater que le jeu veut bien se lancer, cela dit... mais si t'as pas un profil Windaube Games Live de mes couilles, tu peux jouer quand même... mais pas sauvegarder !

    J'ai trouvé une version un peu plus récente du merdier GFWL et là, ça marche... enfin je veux dire qu'il récupère mon GT mais que ce GFWL est une petite interface indépendante de celle du jeu Capcon, car ici la main gauche n'a aucune idée de ce que fait la main droite...! je reste donc bloqué.

    Il reste la solution de récupérer un exe déprotégé (car non seulement, la connexion au GFWL est obligatoire mais l'exe du jeu est aussi boulotté avec un Safedisc !) mais là on se risque sur le bizarre et ce "fameux" site où on récupérait les no-cd et no-dvd est devenu un nid à merdes, à virus et à saloperies.

    Donc, on ne peut pas jouer à Lost Planet 2 ! ou plutôt on peut y jouer mais faudra recommencer à chaque fois du début jusqu'au jour où tu le finiras éventuellement en speedrun tout d'une traite comme un crevard ! non, je préfère jouer au freesbee avec les deux disques, ce sera toujours plus amusant.
    Expand

See all 27 User Reviews

Trailers