Lost Sphear Image
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 21 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: As an ominous power threatens the fabric of reality, a young man chosen by destiny must arise to face a phenomenon never seen before. Enter Kanata, as he awakens from a devastating dream leading him to find his home, erased from existence. Awaken the power of Memory to restore the Lost andAs an ominous power threatens the fabric of reality, a young man chosen by destiny must arise to face a phenomenon never seen before. Enter Kanata, as he awakens from a devastating dream leading him to find his home, erased from existence. Awaken the power of Memory to restore the Lost and rebuild the world! Expand

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Lost Sphear - Nintendo Switch Reveal Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Feb 14, 2018
    80
    Compiling nostalgia into a lovely chaos, Lost Sphear fires its mediocre edges into beautiful fireworks. It is an absolute step in the right direction for the creators of I am Setsuna. Not perfect, but it feels pretty great nonetheless.
  2. Jan 29, 2018
    80
    An endearing J-RPG in the tradition of Chrono Trigger.
  3. Feb 6, 2018
    75
    Lost Sphear is an easy to master game with a simple but captivating story. It uses many traditional JRPG mechanics, but offers almost no challenge for an experienced player.
  4. Jan 29, 2018
    70
    Lost Sphear takes a little too long to really get going. Dungeons are tiny, its characters paper-thin, and the story far too predictable in its overuse of already overused plot elements. It’s a JRPG that struggles to add anything of value, perhaps to the point of reminding us why the natural evolution of the genre happened in the first place. Despite this, it’s rapid pacing is perhaps its biggest achievement. Even the smallest session can lead to a feeling of progress. Things start to feel a bit too repetitive in longer sessions, but playing in smaller bursts helps stop its generic tropes from grinding you down. At $50, though, it’s far too much to ask for something that purposefully refuses to reinvent the wheel. Even if it promises 40 hours over the last game’s 20.
  5. Jan 23, 2018
    65
    Lost Sphear has some good ideas and mechanics working together when it comes to battle, but everything else falls short and feels dull. The reused dungeons, backtracking, and slow-paced story don’t give me much to fight for, even if the end does come together in an interesting way. Sadly, the tedious grind through a milquetoast adventure is sour for far too long before coming together.
  6. Feb 6, 2018
    62
    Bland and unambitious save for its combat, Lost Sphear draws so heavily from the traditions of past JPRGs that it fails to build a personality of its own.
  7. Jan 30, 2018
    60
    Lost Sphear is a competently assembled retro product that may dredge up fond memories of older, better JRPGs, but it lacks a personality of its own. The unique, melancholy world of I Am Setsuna has been replaced by soulless tropes, and incrementally improved battle mechanics and dungeons don’t make up for that loss of identity. Sadly, the makers of Lost Sphear have lost the thread.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Jan 31, 2018
    8
    I am 10 hours on this game and I am enjoying it. It seems like a Indie game but there are many things that are done very very good. TheI am 10 hours on this game and I am enjoying it. It seems like a Indie game but there are many things that are done very very good. The story is unique and interesting. Characters are a bit generic but still, charming. Voice acting is top quality. I dislike it is only in combat and with no english voice over or subtitles for japanese. Combat animations and special effects are too good. Music is great. The first town seems simple graphically but when you see other scenarios there they are very well done. The gameplay is deep, taking old school mechanics and adding fresh new ideas. I dislike that there are few graphical options for PC. I am a Unity Developer and I enjoy seeing the good stuff they created using the engine. I didn't pay 50 for this game. I got it at 37.50 on Greenman gaming, day one edition. I couldn't tell if it is worth 50 bucks yet, but I definitely recommend the game. It has a few issues but a lot of good things. Expand
  2. Jan 31, 2018
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Lost Sphear is an old school RPG made by those who have done I am Setsuna. The battle system is semi real-time. The graphics are 3/4 3D and are pretty to look at on PC. What I didn't like is that there was no real levelling system. You collects a lot of items in the game, but for the most part they serve very little purpose. The recipe system is very ordinary. The weapons and armour upgrades are barely interesting. And there is virtually no levelling system for the characters. So, under the hood this thing is pretty shallow. However the combat is decent and various, the story is ok until the fake ending...and after becomes very boring. I though it was quite ingenious at first, but the rest of the ending wasn't interesting emotionally and dragged a lot. I played until the very end, around 25 hours or so...I have mixed feelings, because I though it was fun but overall some aspects of the game were not very deep or polished. And the story was very uneven. I give a 70%, but this won't leave me with a good impression like Setsuna did. Expand
  3. Aug 1, 2018
    7
    A very mediocre jrpg in really every sense. However what makes this a 7 instead of a 6 is the streamlined fashion of it all which is very muchA very mediocre jrpg in really every sense. However what makes this a 7 instead of a 6 is the streamlined fashion of it all which is very much appreciated by someone like me who is tired of slow moving grindy jrpgs. Expand
  4. Sep 9, 2019
    7
    К сожалению, своих ошибок разработчики не учли :(
    Управление отвратительное, баланс наклонился в другую сторону( слишком простая)
    И еще
    К сожалению, своих ошибок разработчики не учли :(
    Управление отвратительное, баланс наклонился в другую сторону( слишком простая)
    И еще жадность издателя. Игре макс цена 15 баксов, они ее по 60 продают.
    Жадные скворцы.
    Expand
  5. Jan 23, 2018
    0
    Low quality game with android phone graphics trying to take advantage of nostalgia from Chrono trigger and other similar titles.
    NOT WORTH
    Low quality game with android phone graphics trying to take advantage of nostalgia from Chrono trigger and other similar titles.
    NOT WORTH 50$ at all. Would pay 19.99 max.
    Expand