Mad Max Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1013 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Mad Max places players in the role of a lone warrior who must embark on a journey to reclaim his stolen interceptor from a deadly gang of marauders.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Mad Max - Motion Comic Part 2
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Sep 4, 2015
    84
    A very good Mad Max game, with some excellent bits but also some issues. The setting is great, car combat is incredibly fun - there's a good sense of freedom and the main missions are pretty good, but the story is quite flat (even though the ending is great), the fighting system is nothing more than decent and the optional stuff becomes pretty repetitive.
  2. Sep 7, 2015
    80
    Mad Max successfully blends well-known and popular elements from other games. Post-apocalyptic world is very well presented and driving behind the Magnus Opus' wheel is so engrossing that the latest work from Avalanche is definitely worth your time, even if one needs to turn a blind eye to few shortcomings.
  3. Oct 29, 2015
    80
    In the end, Mad Max’s ability to create a good time far outweighs any problems it has.
  4. Sep 3, 2015
    76
    It captures the charm of the outstanding original, and should satisfy fans of the original. However, it is also monotonous, tough and a little unimaginative.
  5. Jan 19, 2016
    70
    Is it a bad game? Absolutely not. On the contrary, Ubisoft's open-world template is perfect for churning out market-friendly games that tick all the boxes of "What People Want." Or, perhaps, "What You Want."...And honestly, Mad Max's formula is still to some extent "What I Want." Just not as much as a few years ago.
  6. Oct 7, 2015
    70
    The formula wears off quickly but the fans of the movie will have their Mad Max fix.
  7. The type which does not present a novelty for open world Mad Max. Repetitive missions. Is it fun to collect scrap metal?

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 193
  1. Sep 1, 2015
    10
    I bought MGS V and Mad Max last night, I figured I would try Mad Max for an hour before i would start Metal Gear. I still have not playedI bought MGS V and Mad Max last night, I figured I would try Mad Max for an hour before i would start Metal Gear. I still have not played metal gear a day later. This mad max game besides being beautufl graphically is so much fun, there is so much stuff to do in the game. My one little grip is that you cannot collect scrap metal by driving over it Expand
  2. Nov 13, 2015
    10
    I initially bought this game as it was relatively cheap, I was expecting 5-10 hours of fun out of it.

    57 hours later I can say I had a
    I initially bought this game as it was relatively cheap, I was expecting 5-10 hours of fun out of it.

    57 hours later I can say I had a great experience. I didn't find scrap collecting a pain as I hardly did any - it was enjoyable to do the missions that enable free offline collection. The voice acting is all of a decent calibre, enabling the simple story line to still feel immersive. It looks stunning, runs smooth and faultless runs in 4k, with plenty of graphics options.
    Expand
  3. Jan 25, 2016
    9
    i dont know why people are not satisfying with this game.....MAD MAX. i am a die heart fannnnnnnn of WB games...!!!!!!!!! so MAD MAX is not ani dont know why people are not satisfying with this game.....MAD MAX. i am a die heart fannnnnnnn of WB games...!!!!!!!!! so MAD MAX is not an exception where you can spend your time without any regression. The game contains crazy,superb graphics and vast beautiful wasteland with awesome car combat as well as melee fight, i have never seen any detailed WASTELAND atmosphere before like MAD MAX.....where you can get a total balance in car combat & on foot combat with good convincing story line (just only one thing i bothered about main story is not lengthy as i expected)...so, people dont hesitated to play this MAD game name MAD MAX & dont waste your time to read through some poor people POOR COMMENTS. 9 out of 10 ....BINGO. Expand
  4. Jan 27, 2019
    8
    Actually is a good game with good performance. "Feelingable" atmosphere (Better than rage 1 and bordelands 1-2)
    Graphics: good
    Sounds: good
    Actually is a good game with good performance. "Feelingable" atmosphere (Better than rage 1 and bordelands 1-2)
    Graphics: good
    Sounds: good
    Music: Medium
    Control: good except firearm control
    Performance: very good
    Expand
  5. Mar 7, 2016
    8
    After played at 100%, two things:

    1. a small room in Underbelly with a bathtub full of blood of a barely visible body next to a mattress
    After played at 100%, two things:

    1. a small room in Underbelly with a bathtub full of blood of a barely visible body next to a mattress where lies a dead woman, next to a corpse which gives you the option of eating worms and in a corner a little girl hugging a skull.... what a **** Priceless scene of madness.
    2. and Mad Max in a quote:
    Outcrier: But.. everyone see you falling!
    Max: but they don't see me landing.

    and pros: Stunning scenarios, a lot of options to customize cars, the details and the main story
    Cons: fights with the bosses are almost the same, secondary missions and a poor participation of the leaders of the factions.

    Conclusion: A very fun game with a few weaks.
    Expand
  6. Dec 9, 2018
    7
    When one of the most crazy racing games I ever played meet a wrestling game (Batman series style) you get Mad Max.

    Awesome graphics, very
    When one of the most crazy racing games I ever played meet a wrestling game (Batman series style) you get Mad Max.

    Awesome graphics, very interesting gameplay mechanics both while racing and while fighting. But the story did not captivate me and, at some point, I found it a little boring and stopped playing.

    But like it or not I see me from time to time coming back to the game, just to race around a bit and cause destruction.

    I recommend it! It portrays very well the universe Mad Max from the movies.
    Expand
  7. Oct 12, 2016
    0
    This game isn't good! I could't even finish it, because of a BUG!!!!! I tired everything but it did not work. But the game it self wasn't thatThis game isn't good! I could't even finish it, because of a BUG!!!!! I tired everything but it did not work. But the game it self wasn't that bad!!!!! Expand

See all 193 User Reviews