User Score
2.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 64 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 64
  2. Negative: 52 out of 64

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 26, 2021
    2
    worst experience ever, as i have much lower speed internet, like 15mbps, it does not have pre load scenes, so it does not load at time on cutscenes, so why the launcher downloaded almost 4gb? my pc has he minimum configuration to run the game, but it is impossoble to play it for some reason, ican run the witcher 3 at minimum at 60fps but not this, also why is it free to play but it needsworst experience ever, as i have much lower speed internet, like 15mbps, it does not have pre load scenes, so it does not load at time on cutscenes, so why the launcher downloaded almost 4gb? my pc has he minimum configuration to run the game, but it is impossoble to play it for some reason, ican run the witcher 3 at minimum at 60fps but not this, also why is it free to play but it needs so much resources?, not everyone will be able to run the game at least on minimum on 30fps, wich in 30fps is "playable", worse than this i don't think it will be, but for now, worst game ever played, my pc agrees with that. Expand
  2. Apr 4, 2021
    3
    World is lackluster. Gameplay is very bad. The central idea is that you take a good ARPG (Grim Dawn or Victor Vran for example) and you make the abilities RANDOM. You don't know what abilities you will have from scene to scene. In theory, you can tweak the abilities you choose, but six hours in I'm still using the same twelve abilities I started with.
    So you are forced to play with
    World is lackluster. Gameplay is very bad. The central idea is that you take a good ARPG (Grim Dawn or Victor Vran for example) and you make the abilities RANDOM. You don't know what abilities you will have from scene to scene. In theory, you can tweak the abilities you choose, but six hours in I'm still using the same twelve abilities I started with.
    So you are forced to play with assigned random abilities.
    Did I mention that you can't really tell them apart easily? They use art which is kind of interchangeable, so sometimes you're just clicking on a power thinking "Is it this or that?"
    The economy is borked. You can't sell gear. The game runs on planar mana. You don't get planar mana.
    The community is crap. As questions in a zone, nobody answers, unless its to complain. Ask question in the forum. Nobody answers, not even ARC employees.
    The documentation is crap. The game doesn't explain how things work.
    Play a different game.
    Expand
  3. Mar 28, 2021
    2
    1. The characters is ugly, even from donate shop. (cmooon, just look at Subverse girls and try to make the same)
    2. Controlls is uncomfortable.
    3. The cards isnt from MTG, its just a custom spells created in one style for this game.
    4. As ARPG this game is ultra boring and 90% of all quests is the same type.
    5. Bugged AF even for BETA
    6. Perfect donate shop. 10/10
  4. Mar 28, 2021
    0
    Terrible donat game. No hi content gameplay. TRASH GAME. NO BLOOD in dark MAGIC UNIVERSE.....
    A game for true coprophages.
  5. Apr 4, 2021
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Another steaming pile of Epic exclusive sh*t. Developed a broken, junk, or unplayable game? Don’t worry Epic will pay you top dollar for that trash. Expand
  6. Mar 28, 2021
    0
    This game is just a cash grab because the Developers can't be seriously thinking that this an actual ARPG.

    The game is very sparse and empty with content and things to do, it doesn't have a end game, and it has the worst loot system I have every seen in a ARPG, which is in my opinion what makes a great ARPG. Their store page seems to have more content in it than the actual game
    This game is just a cash grab because the Developers can't be seriously thinking that this an actual ARPG.

    The game is very sparse and empty with content and things to do, it doesn't have a end game, and it has the worst loot system I have every seen in a ARPG, which is in my opinion what makes a great ARPG.

    Their store page seems to have more content in it than the actual game itself, which is just laughably terrible. And don't get me started with the new "planswalkers" coming out and them saying that they aren't going to be "better".

    This game is more of a Gatcha Game than anything. And we know how those are, just one big cash grab.

    I would never recommend this game to anyone, it would probably do more harm to them than anything.
    Expand
  7. Mar 28, 2021
    1
    Pay2Win Garbage by Perfect World & Cryptic Studios: This game embodies everything wrong with the AAA gaming space in 2021
  8. Apr 6, 2021
    0
    Horrible optimization, no sense of real progress, no interesting story, just pieces from the MTG Universe thrown together with a added Battlepass and Cashshop. Pretty **** tbh
  9. Mar 25, 2021
    0
    Just literally a mobile phone with a pay 4 everything system. Think about all the payment systems in videogames, done it? Magic Legends have them all.

    If you like gambling and love to spend money this is your... game?
  10. Mar 24, 2021
    0
    More micropayment than content.

    When I saw that there was a TWO HUNDRED DOLLAR micropayment tier, I realized this game was going to be trash. It didn't take playing it for very long to realize just how true that was. Where do they get off thinking that an action RPG should be worth spending $200 on? And that's just for currency. Presumably they'll want to you keep buying more.
    More micropayment than content.

    When I saw that there was a TWO HUNDRED DOLLAR micropayment tier, I realized this game was going to be trash. It didn't take playing it for very long to realize just how true that was.

    Where do they get off thinking that an action RPG should be worth spending $200 on? And that's just for currency. Presumably they'll want to you keep buying more.

    This smacks of a mobile cash grab, and not a real PC game. Get over yourselves, Cryptic. The fact that one of your classes is only available via LUCK from a lootbox says everything. Time and time again, sellouts.
    Expand
  11. Mar 27, 2021
    0
    Aggressively bad. This game is a generic top-down "looter" type game, ALA Diablo, but without any of the charm. The Magic branding takes the form of various spell cards your character uses and the "mana" and world and character designs, but the game plays nothing like Magic: The Gathering; rather, it is a generic looter game, except there isn't even good loot. It is a MMO for some reason,Aggressively bad. This game is a generic top-down "looter" type game, ALA Diablo, but without any of the charm. The Magic branding takes the form of various spell cards your character uses and the "mana" and world and character designs, but the game plays nothing like Magic: The Gathering; rather, it is a generic looter game, except there isn't even good loot. It is a MMO for some reason, even though only a few bits even care about there being other players around - most of the story content is single player, with the odd "multiplayer" level where other players basically do their own thing, rather than everyone fighting together against a raid boss or something.

    Even at the low, low price of free, it is still too much.
    Expand
  12. Mar 26, 2021
    2
    The idea of a magic the gathering universe video game is pretty cool. However for a PC game this feels like a bad mobile game solely designed to get you to pay for stuff. It is beta so any technical issues i ran across i give a free pass but the only way for this game to turn around is a complete redesign of play design. imagine diablo without the loot drops and instead of pickingThe idea of a magic the gathering universe video game is pretty cool. However for a PC game this feels like a bad mobile game solely designed to get you to pay for stuff. It is beta so any technical issues i ran across i give a free pass but the only way for this game to turn around is a complete redesign of play design. imagine diablo without the loot drops and instead of picking abilities you only get 2 and then they randomly change after each use so there is no planning or skill just spamming abilities till you get good one or one you want. Expand
  13. Mar 26, 2021
    1
    All aspects of the game are terrible
    Bugs, optimisation, visual effects, user interface, control scheme, character's appearances, microtransactions...
  14. Mar 25, 2021
    1
    An affront to the Magic the Gathering name. The game barely plays and they've released it under the guise of being in "beta", but has a fully fleshed out pay-to-win store. Honestly, it looks like they spent more time developing the store than any other aspects of this game.

    I knew this was going to be bad, but I wanted to think these companies learned from their previous mistakes. It
    An affront to the Magic the Gathering name. The game barely plays and they've released it under the guise of being in "beta", but has a fully fleshed out pay-to-win store. Honestly, it looks like they spent more time developing the store than any other aspects of this game.

    I knew this was going to be bad, but I wanted to think these companies learned from their previous mistakes.

    It looks awful, it plays awful, it's vapid, the AI is truly [...] ugh. It's just a sea of complaints with this travesty masquerading as a game. You look at it and think a child made their first mobile game.

    Save yourself the heartache — walk away and never look back.
    Expand
  15. Mar 26, 2021
    0
    This is shell of game, it have only one good idea the decks as a skill the other "ideas" are buggy laziness and it show the 0 care of Hasbro in putting the magic franchise in a Chinese cash grab. my standard were low but this set a new new low in the levels of Diablo immortals the big companies learn nothing in not using beloved franchise to create cheap product, i don't know how brainlessThis is shell of game, it have only one good idea the decks as a skill the other "ideas" are buggy laziness and it show the 0 care of Hasbro in putting the magic franchise in a Chinese cash grab. my standard were low but this set a new new low in the levels of Diablo immortals the big companies learn nothing in not using beloved franchise to create cheap product, i don't know how brainless are the Hasbro executive thinking than this gonna help the franchise, the "beta" have a store in day one, the game gonna be dead to the end of the year is shell with only one good idea. Expand
  16. Mar 26, 2021
    1
    This is a terrible ARPG. For over a decade I've clamored for an MMO set in the Magic universe. Now this sounded like it should have been cool. Create a mage, travel the multiverse, see all these cool settings Wizards created in Magic. If this is what you're looking for, don't bother.

    First, the voice acting is cringe. It was bad enough that I wanted to quit immediately, but I pushed on
    This is a terrible ARPG. For over a decade I've clamored for an MMO set in the Magic universe. Now this sounded like it should have been cool. Create a mage, travel the multiverse, see all these cool settings Wizards created in Magic. If this is what you're looking for, don't bother.

    First, the voice acting is cringe. It was bad enough that I wanted to quit immediately, but I pushed on because I love Magic. Then came the tutorial on how combat works and I could immediately tell, this is a game that nobody asked for. Just because the property it's based off is a card game does not mean you have to try incorporating a bad card hybrid battle system into the game. It doesn't make any sense in an ARPG so it shouldn't be here and I'm sure there was some intern saying the same thing that they ignored.

    Let's pretend you get past the awful voice acting/writing and the combat system. This is an ARPG that doesn't, I repeat, does not drop loot. As I'm sure we're all well aware, that's the basic gameplay loop of an ARPG. Without loot, I have no idea what this game is trying to be.

    Get past that and the monetization of the game will suck your soul away. Again, just because it's based off a card game doesn't mean we need to mimic the boosters and the insanely slim chance of finding the one thing you're looking for. This isn't a TCG/CCG. The monetization in this game is an embarrassment. I thought we all realized loot boxes are terrible and gamers are fed up with them. What? 5 years ago? Apparently these devs never got the memo.

    As a huge Magic fan over the last 20+ years, I have nothing good to say about this game. If nothing I have said will deter you, by all means try it. It is 'free' after all. I was really hoping for more.
    Expand
  17. Mar 25, 2021
    0
    This is a complete garbage. It is unbelievable, that in 2021 you can make an ARP, that is vastly inferior compared to something, that came out years ago. Crappy combat, ugly graphics which runs like trash, weak classes, and non existent story. You should avoid this at all cost. Don't even want to mention the ridiculous microtransactions in this.
  18. Mar 27, 2021
    0
    Worst ARPG I have ever played, basically the campaign and story are the "endgame content" but easier.
    - there is no endgame
    - poor equipment system and design - very shallow stats page, (i the only thing I could find were some infos about leveling upgrades) - very little depth to customizing, once you get most of your spells, thats kinda it ... the rest doesn't have much impact. -
    Worst ARPG I have ever played, basically the campaign and story are the "endgame content" but easier.
    - there is no endgame
    - poor equipment system and design
    - very shallow stats page, (i the only thing I could find were some infos about leveling upgrades)
    - very little depth to customizing, once you get most of your spells, thats kinda it ... the rest doesn't have much impact.
    - there is no loot (you grind some currencies and some meh equipment upgrades )
    - there is no fps (worst optimized game I have ever played, (25 avg fps on 1060 / i5 6500)
    - developers manipulate the "player driven economy"
    - some missions and events locked to a timer no mater how much you try to make them you still have to wait for timer to run it's course
    - horrible map ui and unresponsive
    - clunkiest combat in an ARPG
    - crashed 3 times during story missions which are then reset even
    - invisible barriers
    - horrible movement skills (if your class has them) - for example geomancer has a 1 second cast delay before jumping 3 meters forward
    - skills need often to be pressed 2nd or 3rd time to register.

    And dont let me start with the monetization

    ABSOLUTE **** rushed game, holy fk cant believe I had the patience to endure playing trough this steaming piece of ****
    Expand
  19. Mar 25, 2021
    0
    Forget complaining about the ridiculous microtransactions, this game is just absolute dogs**t.

    Absolute braindead gameplay, skills are mostly homogenous nukes, card draw/deck building greatly overhyped, as everything just kills everything around you. Could have been a cool concept if anything felt like it impacted gameplay differently than the random nuke you cast before. Just walking
    Forget complaining about the ridiculous microtransactions, this game is just absolute dogs**t.

    Absolute braindead gameplay, skills are mostly homogenous nukes, card draw/deck building greatly overhyped, as everything just kills everything around you. Could have been a cool concept if anything felt like it impacted gameplay differently than the random nuke you cast before. Just walking around screen and spamming auto attack is enough to clear the wet noodle AI from the screen anyway.

    Worst party system in an ARPG ever. Trading looks like it will be terrible.

    Quests and dialogue that make Everquest fetch quests look riveting by comparison. Quite possibly the worst ARPG ever made. WOTC should have canned this before it saw the light of day, but hasbro wants them license $$$. If you're a fan on magic don't spend on this, just stick with Arena/MTGO. If you want to play a decent ARPG try Path of Exile. First experience with Cryptic games, will never touch another title they produce. What a joke.
    Expand
  20. Mar 27, 2021
    0
    I really am not sure I have anything positive to say about the game. It's an afterthought, vapid and the monetization seems to be the only functioning piece of the game. As where certain areas look to be like they've had a ton of attention, then others... Developed in a day or two maybe? I do recommend trying to play it, get past the first area and try to play through the black mana world.I really am not sure I have anything positive to say about the game. It's an afterthought, vapid and the monetization seems to be the only functioning piece of the game. As where certain areas look to be like they've had a ton of attention, then others... Developed in a day or two maybe? I do recommend trying to play it, get past the first area and try to play through the black mana world. You'll soon understand. Face value it looks great, open beta sure. But don't tell me you have a full premium battle pass service when you can't get the content together. Expand
  21. Mar 28, 2021
    1
    Its horrible game. If you play Melee class you can use WASD to move. Otherwise movement is like in Diablo 3 (click with mouse). You have 4 Skills to use, which are RANDOM out of 12 Skills - whoever thought this is a cool idea - pls never ever try to develop a game again - ty. There are NO EU Servers so you have super high lag. FPS is super bad - I am with 1070 GTX and 1080p and have onIts horrible game. If you play Melee class you can use WASD to move. Otherwise movement is like in Diablo 3 (click with mouse). You have 4 Skills to use, which are RANDOM out of 12 Skills - whoever thought this is a cool idea - pls never ever try to develop a game again - ty. There are NO EU Servers so you have super high lag. FPS is super bad - I am with 1070 GTX and 1080p and have on lowest settings 20-30 FPS xD like.... wtf is going on.

    Till now there was a class locked behind paywall - they changed it I think because player feedback was so negative. I can tell you this game will be offline in a few months. Its so horrible and cluncy and just a pay 2 win cashcow. Dont even THINK ABOUT SPENDING any money for this. The only people giving good reviews and agrueing FOR the game (e.g. in Discord) are the ones who have already spend money and silently regret it xD

    This is no ARPG. This is a mess! Even worse then most mobile games.
    Expand
  22. Mar 28, 2021
    0
    As a long-time mtg fan, I'm horribly disappointed, so much opportunity to make something cool and original instead it seems like the focus was on monetization and everything else was an afterthought. Feels like a cheesy mobile game, here's a wild idea how about focus on making an awesome game with a unique and interesting experience, and the money and player base will flock to it.
  23. Mar 26, 2021
    8
    Good concept,execution lacks a little,hope for improvements soon,promising game
  24. Mar 26, 2021
    8
    Fantastic game. Yeh, there are problems but solvable. The campaign wasn't exciting for me, but oh boy after that I am having a blast during co-op missions.

    So much fun discovering new cards as you play. It started rough but now I am having a great time. Glad I gave this game more time and crossing my fingers for a quick fix. Devs working hard and patching the game every day, as it's
    Fantastic game. Yeh, there are problems but solvable. The campaign wasn't exciting for me, but oh boy after that I am having a blast during co-op missions.

    So much fun discovering new cards as you play. It started rough but now I am having a great time. Glad I gave this game more time and crossing my fingers for a quick fix. Devs working hard and patching the game every day, as it's still beta.

    Defeintelly recommended!
    Expand
  25. Mar 25, 2021
    8
    I quite like the gameplay of Magic: Legends. It has a unique feel to it, and I don't find managing my hand of spells to be cumbersome, making combat feel exciting & uncertain, as I don't know what I will draw next, or if it will be exactly what I need at that moment. I love the areas in the game, they are all quite pretty. However, in order to visit additional zones, you must firstI quite like the gameplay of Magic: Legends. It has a unique feel to it, and I don't find managing my hand of spells to be cumbersome, making combat feel exciting & uncertain, as I don't know what I will draw next, or if it will be exactly what I need at that moment. I love the areas in the game, they are all quite pretty. However, in order to visit additional zones, you must first complete the story for the first in-game area, Tazeem, which felt like a bit of a slog at first.

    As for things that need work, though, the packs are among the first. You can buy them with Zen (in-game currency bought with either money or Aether, one of many in-game currencies), to have an undisclosed chance to obtain a unique class. You could also buy the class with Gold, which almost everything drops quite frequently, albeit for between 4 & 12 million, making this a non-option. Thankfully, though, I am quite enjoying my class choice (which can be changed after unlocking a secondary class ~20 hours in), so I do not feel pressured to attempt to unlock this class (which, mechanically, isn't better than the other classes, they have all been balanced quite nicely from what I have seen).

    Additionally, performance is quite an issue in this game, with the shadows seemingly having the largest impact on performance. However, upon turning these off (by typing "/shadows 0" in the in-game chat) & lowering the gamma to give the appearance of darker areas, I am now getting ~100 fps, up from ~30.

    Other than the undisclosed chance to obtain items from packs, their exorbitant gold price, and the performance impact from shadows (as mentioned above, these can be disabled), I am honestly quite enjoying this game, and look forward to seeing what they do with it in the future.
    Expand
  26. Apr 4, 2021
    9
    Honest Review of a level 100 + player :
    - Game concept is awesome , but yet needs to be developed so there would be purpose for all the farming we do .
    - It is an enjoyable F2P game , you just have to stay in game and farm a lot , nothing more is needed , but don't forget to support devs buying some packs would be a good thing . Its a F2P game so dont expect it will make you a SuperMan
    Honest Review of a level 100 + player :
    - Game concept is awesome , but yet needs to be developed so there would be purpose for all the farming we do .
    - It is an enjoyable F2P game , you just have to stay in game and farm a lot , nothing more is needed , but don't forget to support devs buying some packs would be a good thing . Its a F2P game so dont expect it will make you a SuperMan in game , anyone could be as equal if you farm in game.
    -There is Resource cap so that you wont sit in the game 24/7 ,.

    CONS:
    - It is a Beta game , so some lag issues and details on equipment and certain area are low .
    - And your skill buttons(1,2,3,4) won't register immediately , you have to press 2 or 3 times.
    - Exit game it will take time to exit .
    - In pc if you press Alt+Tab or If you change display from Fullscreen to other options it will crash.
    - There is no game voice chat for multiplayers to use, it may come in future.

    Overall its beta which means under development , so you can expect it to be better and the game concept and so many things in the game are awesome and cool , people expect too much from F2P game same as i did when i started playing bugs and lags and FPS issues ,.. those things can be made better in future . Its an awesome game , Don't forget to give it a try and give your support to a F2P game by buying packs ..
    Expand
  27. Apr 17, 2021
    9
    First the "misleading review bomb $25 per toon slot" HELLO YOU LYING PONY FACE DOG! 1 that's right 1, toon CAN UNLOCK ALL SKILLS IN GAME! No need for a second slot also IT IS FREE! Free character, free content. free endgame no dlc/expansions Free game. Now I know every hate filled game reviewer that gives games 0 that are free and use cash shops, here is a nickels worth of free advice. DoFirst the "misleading review bomb $25 per toon slot" HELLO YOU LYING PONY FACE DOG! 1 that's right 1, toon CAN UNLOCK ALL SKILLS IN GAME! No need for a second slot also IT IS FREE! Free character, free content. free endgame no dlc/expansions Free game. Now I know every hate filled game reviewer that gives games 0 that are free and use cash shops, here is a nickels worth of free advice. Do not buy anything. But no you're right designing, building, developing, art, coders, and years of work mean nothing. You are special and everything should be free and HUMANS TIME, ENERGY AND HARD WORK count for the ZERO you gave this review. Crisp, bright, colorful graphics with tons of diverse locations/biomes. Skills, ow the sweet beautiful never ending collection of powers and summons 300+ I believe. Skills explode across the screen with intense animations, even playing solo its pure eye candy goodness add a friend crazy beautiful mayhem like fireworks. Now I love the random skill switching because unlike Diablo POE (mind you I love them also) you dont get those 60 hours later blues of the brain dead 8 key combo you've executed 8,394 times straight. Now the "misleading review bomb $25 per toon slot" HELLO YOU LYING PONY FACE DOG! 1 that's right 1, toon CAN UNLOCK ALL SKILLS IN GAME! No need for a second slot also IT IS FREE! Free character, free content. free endgame no dlc/expansions Free game. Now I know every hate filled game reviewer that gives games 0 that are free and use cash shops, here is a nickels worth of free advice. Do not buy anything. But no you're right designing, building, developing, art, coders, and years of work mean nothing. You are special and everything should be free and HUMANS TIME, ENERGY AND HARD WORK count for the ZERO you gave this review. Expand
  28. Apr 2, 2021
    1
    it's such a bad game. totally zero performance even on powerful computers.
    The game is ugly, it has very few options to create a character, where from the very beginning we play not OUR character, but SOMETHING...crypticstudios never make games again!
  29. Apr 3, 2021
    8
    I am firmly convinced the review bombing this is receiving is solely due to the dislike people have for in-game shops, especially in a beta game. I can't disagree with that aspect, but that is not a fair review of the game itself.

    TL;DR - The game is off to an extremely solid start with solid ARPG and MTG mechanics working well together. The character progression is intriguing and the
    I am firmly convinced the review bombing this is receiving is solely due to the dislike people have for in-game shops, especially in a beta game. I can't disagree with that aspect, but that is not a fair review of the game itself.

    TL;DR - The game is off to an extremely solid start with solid ARPG and MTG mechanics working well together. The character progression is intriguing and the direction of the story is non-linear. The review bombs do not give this game the immense credit it deserves, possibly because of the overall hatred of in-game stores (particularly in beta games). If you enjoy the loot/leveling dungeon grind of ARPG's and the land-color/deckbuilding systems of MTG, you will be right at home.

    This game is an example of a beta for a game with amazing potential. After getting into the meat of the game and the intricacies of the mechanics, it remains extremely connected to both basic ARPG elements and MTG mechanics. The deck-building is great and the rotating spells is a fresh new take on ARPG's. Gone are the days of spamming the same 2-3 abilities while you run endlessly through extremely repetitive maps. Card draw is strong in M:L just like it is in MTG. Mana distribution and regeneration also play a huge role. Finding card and color combinations that will work well with each other and with your class abilities is as much of an enjoyment in this game as it is in MTG.

    The upgrading of your character is multi-faceted. You can upgrade your equipment, relics, and cards, and unlocking cards and equipment can be done through crafting, grinding, OR purchasing. The store is there, but it's not in your face and after playing through two complete worlds, the game has not directed me to the store a single time. If you want to spend money, the option is there, just like in every single free-to-play game that has any hopes of generating revenue. There are some truly free games out there, but good and completely free rarely go hand in hand.

    My chief complaints come in the subject of fluidity of movement and customization/options. For mouse and keyboard players, the right click is hard coded into rotating the camera. This is not even an option you can currently turn off or remap. There is an option for WASD movement, but it just doesn't feel right in an ARPG. When moving through narrow walkways, the movement and camera can get a little jumpy. There are some graphics issues from time to time (minimap blinking, random slowed fps), but these are things that are present in most beta games and usually resolved before release.
    Expand
  30. Jun 25, 2021
    2
    This game is sad. It is another try from Wizard of the Coast to create a game from one of his very popular IP and try to make cash out of it using a system that is known to have the potential for it (Like diablo).
    Like every single game, they asked a Dev Team to do so, they didn't provide enough money and time for them to make something that is good. Simply look at D&D Dark Alliance also.
    This game is sad. It is another try from Wizard of the Coast to create a game from one of his very popular IP and try to make cash out of it using a system that is known to have the potential for it (Like diablo).
    Like every single game, they asked a Dev Team to do so, they didn't provide enough money and time for them to make something that is good. Simply look at D&D Dark Alliance also.

    Baldur's Gate 3 have been lucky because they have the Divinity Original Sin engine that has 50% of the base game done and they were able to have a successful Early Access. But an Early acces of 2 years just show how bad Wizard of the Coast are at respecting the development process to have a successful game.

    Wizard of the Coast doesn't have gamers in their management. It is Stakeholders that hope to make quick cash on successful IP like Magic the Gathering and D&D. A shame to the community.
    Expand
  31. Apr 16, 2021
    5
    BLUF: Nearly instantly forgettable ARPG, with cringe inducing voice acting, zero story engagement, but a good solid MtG feel. Overall, there doesn't feel like any driving force behind your magical foray into the planes, and the arpg loot gameplay loop will leave you cold.

    Engine / Graphics: 7/10 The Cryptic engine is getting old, but is put to decent use, here, with WASD movement
    BLUF: Nearly instantly forgettable ARPG, with cringe inducing voice acting, zero story engagement, but a good solid MtG feel. Overall, there doesn't feel like any driving force behind your magical foray into the planes, and the arpg loot gameplay loop will leave you cold.

    Engine / Graphics: 7/10
    The Cryptic engine is getting old, but is put to decent use, here, with WASD movement control, and decent area graphics. If you've played Neverwinter, the controls will immediately feel familiar. On my old i7-7800 and 1080ti, I was easily keeping 60-90 fps at 1080p, but far less near 2 or 4k. I have heard that some areas' speed are controlled by netcode, and bandwidth, so I am unable to limit-test that on my Fiber. Unless in a co-op zone with 30 summons, I was nearly always near 60fps.

    Music and World Sounds: 6/10
    Sound was instantly as forgettable as the game is overall. Not bad, not amazing. Nothing stands out, but neither does anything annoy, except the "ping" sound, which was terrible, and recently patched to sound less grating. You won't feel like you HEAR the scuttling of your spider horde... but neither do you want to immediately tear down your speakers.

    Story and Voice acting: 2/10
    ...... sigh. Such a waste of an IP tie-in.
    Each area has its own individual "story arc" except the intro that rolls into the story arc for the green woods area. Each of these is beyond forgettable, boring, trite, and worst, fully voiced by actors that ... give negative impact to the scene. You are pushed around linearly through some basic grade school writing on each plane, with thankfully the ability to skip scenes, and voice. Some "call outs" from NPCs are so comically overacted to the point of annoyance, or ridiculousness that you'll want to mute voices.
    The awful story is simply bad, but you can at least skip it all to get to more meh ARPG gameplay... however...
    Whomever directed and/or QA'd the voice acting should be fired. Just... fired. and Blacklisted. No one should be subject to this level of ... unforgivable lack of imagination and care.

    Gameplay: ARPG engine and actual abilities, 6/10,
    The classes consist of an at-will attack, and 2 static cooldowns, while you can choose your 12 card deck building, but you only draw 4 spells at a time, and in random order, so 1-4, or your buttons can be any spell. Subjectively, I enjoyed some of the game mechanics at their lowest level, although most felt that they lacked weight behind them. Deck building seemed to be where the choices shined, but it was locked behind groan worthy story, and worse-than forgettable characters. You'll be locked into your first class for a good 26+ hours, and its default deck for perhaps 10 hours, so chose wisely. After which your one character CAN do it all, but due to loot limitations, you'll find it's best to focus.

    Gameplay part 2: Loot and game-play loop: 1/10
    Why do we even get games designed this shoddily? Who released this TRASH, and thought, "Damn I'm proud of this." This is NOT a diablo-like where you'll pick up a purple or orange that's the perfect fit for you, and you open your backpack with JOY to inspect your newfound treasure. This is a F2P that shoves a poorly designed cash-shop-gate slowdown-mechanic into your power-spike desire. All the loot except new cards are trash drops, which you meld into a heap of power to upgrade a meh item once. Instead of the tried and beloved way of pre-fix and post-fix random generated loot, Magic: Legends has standardized loot, so that many copies of an item are required to upgrade the power of each single static item. Also, cards and card "shards" are random drops, requiring many shards to power up your abilities. So many recent F2Ps get their Loot and Gameplay loops exactly wrong in an effort to funnel cash shop transactions. People will WILLINGLY spend on good games, and trying to force them into it generally leaves them dropping ZEROs on your game on a review site. This game gets loot, and the primary gameplay loop... exactly and totally wrong. You will hate this part of the game.

    Quests and Online Play - 7/10
    The game is "Always online," as it's designed as a semi-open, many-multiplayer, zone-based Diablo-like. Netcode wasn't awful, and despite a few hiccups, most 3 man instances were fine, if wholly repetitive. I did come across one static bug where I couldn't interact with an item to move forwards in a story quest. World chat is worse than WoW barrens, or twitch streams, so do yourself a favor and use the command
    /channelleave zone
    as soon as you're in an open area. This resets each time you plainswalk.
    Zone chat was completely broken for a while in week 1, and that felt as if it were for the best.

    It's no where near as bad as most of these reviews. However, it's also not even "good" by any means. As it's F2P, might as well give it a go. Do be warned, It's unlikely to be worth your time.
    Expand
  32. Apr 17, 2021
    2
    This game is very bad. It is easier to say what they do right then what they do wrong. For example, there is a tutorial. However it is very basic, unskippable, involves a lot of walking, and more unskippable dialogue than combat. Combat is as basic as it gets, and is boring, uninteresting, and clunky. Most of the game is walking around, with no movement skills, and large empty areas. ThereThis game is very bad. It is easier to say what they do right then what they do wrong. For example, there is a tutorial. However it is very basic, unskippable, involves a lot of walking, and more unskippable dialogue than combat. Combat is as basic as it gets, and is boring, uninteresting, and clunky. Most of the game is walking around, with no movement skills, and large empty areas. There is nothing to explore, just large empty areas. Drops appear to be meaningless and while there are levels they also appear to be meaningless. I could go on and on, but honestly it would take me longer to write up what is bad with the game, if I wanted to be thorough, than the amount of time I spent playing. Literally nothing is done properly, form the MTG theme implantation, to voice acting, to questing, to combat, etc...Oh, and they call it a "beta" while having an in game real money store store, and their fundamental game design is utter trash. It is a pretty obvious cash grab, and I would recommend playing warcraft 3 reforged instead, because if your standards are low enough to enjoy this, you would probably enjoy that more. Expand
  33. Apr 18, 2021
    2
    The good that's here is unoriginal and shared with almost every other action RPG. The bad is unforgiveable for a property this big. A clunky user interface, fixed angle camera you keep moving out of the way, a mouse cursor that gets lost all the time in garish but uninformative effects. The launcher is alpha-level junk, the main game interface feels incomplete, graphics are bland andThe good that's here is unoriginal and shared with almost every other action RPG. The bad is unforgiveable for a property this big. A clunky user interface, fixed angle camera you keep moving out of the way, a mouse cursor that gets lost all the time in garish but uninformative effects. The launcher is alpha-level junk, the main game interface feels incomplete, graphics are bland and poorly lit. There's very little feedback on what is happening and the action feels random and out of your hands. The game feels like it's an endless series of character introductions, with nothing but 'next'-clicking for the player. Play Diablo, Torchlight, Path of Exile, or any other action RPG, or replay them - don't waste your time on this. Some points for a view nice effects here and there. Expand
  34. May 28, 2021
    2
    Action RPG version of MTG? What else could a fan ask for? The gameplay was alright. But the characters and classes did not feel distinct. The story line doesn't build up any love or hate for any characters. Everyone is forgettable. The missions are forgettable and rushed. Inlcuding the grind that we would have to do every day anyways as part of missions on the planets we visit was justAction RPG version of MTG? What else could a fan ask for? The gameplay was alright. But the characters and classes did not feel distinct. The story line doesn't build up any love or hate for any characters. Everyone is forgettable. The missions are forgettable and rushed. Inlcuding the grind that we would have to do every day anyways as part of missions on the planets we visit was just lazy. In short: This game was designed from the ground up to be the perfect gacha game with all the mechanisms to maximize profit. It hits every single point that gacha game needs to make the big bucks: repeatable grindy missions, loot boxes, multiple layers of currency, bad items thats not worth your time to buy as a comparison so people spend money on something, increasing rewards for logins and dailies, and many other mechanisms. If it wasn't for nostalgia I wouldn't even give this game a 2/10 though. Its the perfect gacha game alright, on paper. Expand
  35. Jun 3, 2021
    5
    The core idea is dinamyte to me. A Deck-building ARP mix. I expected that because of the deck-building-random element, the fights gonna be much more interesting and fluid, then rotating the same 5-10 spells from your hotbar as usually. I have some hope that in time this game gonna evolve for the better, but in its current state there are mostly just cons. I played for a week, had some fun,The core idea is dinamyte to me. A Deck-building ARP mix. I expected that because of the deck-building-random element, the fights gonna be much more interesting and fluid, then rotating the same 5-10 spells from your hotbar as usually. I have some hope that in time this game gonna evolve for the better, but in its current state there are mostly just cons. I played for a week, had some fun, had some hope that after the main story the game opens up to some new cool exciting features, but sadly nothing, at all.

    Pros:
    - really great core idea, with great potential
    - there are some enjoyable combos, and the core mechanics are fun enought to keep you interested for a while ( 1 week for me)
    - maps and quest are fine, open-world events are all right, and there is some variety in task and challenges in dungeons that can be appritiated

    Cons:
    - the deck is 12 cards and your hand is 4 card. this is a joke. Most of the games have larger hotbars then this deck. This amount should at least be doubled (24-30 with allowing maybe 2 copies of the same card) to feel like bit of a deck building imo.
    - as a deck-building theme I expected large amount of cards with high variety of combos and tricks to play with. But there are only a small amount and boring one dimensional spells, and summons.
    - the summors are f*kin annoying: I played alone most of the time but when I got teamed up with 1-2 ppl in a dungeon, there is just freakin chaos with all the f*kin summons cause you can't tell them apart from the enemy.
    - no endgame. You can repeat the same dungeons with some difficulty modifiers, and I can imagine myself enjoy that IF there would be more interesting cards or stuff to aquire, but not really.

    Verdict:
    - Just leave it for now. Give the devs a couple of month maybe they can polish some ( a lot ) of the aspects currently not working too well.
    Expand
  36. Apr 6, 2021
    6
    The idea for the game is great, but execution poor.
    Giving great communication with players and already fixing worst performance problems I would give this game a shot, just mind there is plenty of work ahead.
    Pros: - Great MTG lore, story kept me interested (not breathtaking though) - Fast quick matchmakings for farmings, you can solo if you want as well - innovative card system,
    The idea for the game is great, but execution poor.
    Giving great communication with players and already fixing worst performance problems I would give this game a shot, just mind there is plenty of work ahead.
    Pros:
    - Great MTG lore, story kept me interested (not breathtaking though)
    - Fast quick matchmakings for farmings, you can solo if you want as well
    - innovative card system, leveling improvement, you can trade unwanted skill pages with other players
    - can stay fully f2p, no need to buy anything (don't listen to assassins moans, you will get him for completing FREE battle pass, no need to pay), you can exchange in game currency for premium like in Guild Wars 2
    - Developing your own realm
    - You can have all classes unlocked on single character and keep progressing
    Cons:
    - Poor visuals, annoyable repetitive cutscenes, mediocre graphics for 2021
    - Pointless equipment system (to be revamped imo)
    - PC Controls is huge disaster (devs probably don't own a PC) - must fix
    - Low content (I would wish for some tower defense mode, assaults, raids with 8+ players, pvp battlegrounds, etc - the possibilities here are unlimited, fingers crossed devs will make a great job here!)
    Expand
  37. Mar 28, 2021
    4
    My expectations going into this game were already low, knowing it over arching publisher was Perfect World but I decided it was still worth checking out.

    Summary : The introduction to this game was nothing short of a glitchy, ear plugging, eye rolling waste of time (I reserve the glitchy part due to the current beta form). Nothing about it makes you think, "this is it, I've stood into
    My expectations going into this game were already low, knowing it over arching publisher was Perfect World but I decided it was still worth checking out.

    Summary : The introduction to this game was nothing short of a glitchy, ear plugging, eye rolling waste of time (I reserve the glitchy part due to the current beta form). Nothing about it makes you think, "this is it, I've stood into the world of magic" and everything just falls over like a wet cake. RPG's have definitely evolved over the years, but it seems cryptic studios wanted to keep the "4 main cardinal" movement system, which plays like a stiff 90's joystick and before you say "beta" or "its not optimized", this is intentional. As I slammed my way into the game with literally 1 handed ease, I started looking through tabs and menu's and to no surprise It's endless currency's and the smell of pay to win was like a fog veiling over the innovative design of deck building ARPG.

    One thing that I find attractive about MMO's or any open world gameplay, is it's ability to place you in a world with beautiful giant map to show you all its potentials... but it seems in Magic, it's a 2 bit borderlands map with 0 detail.

    Innovation : 5
    Gameplay : 4
    Immersion : 2
    Overall 4.
    Expand
  38. Mar 28, 2021
    2
    Visuals>> = 7 Good enough for me.

    Voice acting = 0 horrid, like seriously just hire me and I can do better. WAY better. Content = 2 Depressingly little first week of mediocre level playing and I'm near cap on my Blue and only have the fire plane to run through now. Loot: = 2 I mean there is gear but good luck trying to make sense of it. Overly wordy descriptions like "Increases
    Visuals>> = 7 Good enough for me.

    Voice acting = 0 horrid, like seriously just hire me and I can do better. WAY better.

    Content = 2 Depressingly little first week of mediocre level playing and I'm near cap on my Blue and only have the fire plane to run through now.

    Loot: = 2 I mean there is gear but good luck trying to make sense of it. Overly wordy descriptions like "Increases the potency of blue mana sorceries by X... like wtf just say (+X% Blue Sorcery Power) and the fact they don't have an actual statistics panel means you have to add it all up in your head to know what you're actually getting. Most loot is just like gold ( you will need tens of thousands of it) mana (you will need thousands of it) or spell pages (drop for random spells you own used to level them up you will need hundreds of these per spell).

    World: = 1 For being in a setting that transcends multiple planes of existence very small and dull. There is 0 reason to do anything but make a mad dash for whatever objective you have going on as there is no loot in the world that is not gained mostly through clearing zone events.

    Questing = 1 It exists but its like college kid made cell phone app level questing.

    QoL = 0 Everything from how the UI layout to completely missing info panels and screens it's just a jumbled mess of "what am I doing?".

    The Game so far.

    Each plane (5 total) has only 1 story arch to run through. Do yourself a favor and run around unlocking all the Teleporter points before undergoing these quest lines. Then simply TP to quest objectives to complete them all. Each step of the quests are generally "go talk to so and so", "do X number of zone events", "Kill X number of specified mob", then fight a boss in a tiny dungeon which you pretty much just sprint through.

    all "side quests" are zone events that are as follows
    -Random Event: Kill X baddies > Click Y objects > kill event boss. Same thing for every event
    -Protect or Reclaim a Mana pillar: Kill baddies > kill boss > click pillar
    -Zone Bosses: As you complete events a meter fills up, full meter = boss spawn, go solo the boss for lackluster loot and a shiny coin you can ... well... break down for mats... for something... idk what yet.
    -Rare spawns: Go hunt a rare enemy and frag him, pretty glitchy as they randomly poof or just don't show up.

    I have some hope for it simply because f2p games such as Warframe and PoE have made it and made it big. But this is a rough ass beta atm.
    Expand
  39. PCK
    Apr 5, 2021
    1
    It's a good concept: an ARPG with flexible customization of skills, classes, abilities, and the MTG intellectual property. It's fun enough for now, and I've put in enough time to be 176 planeswalker level with 1067 loadout score. But it's a bad implementation.

    The caps are very low to the point where it will take more than a week to get to progress your realm after level 5. It's a bad
    It's a good concept: an ARPG with flexible customization of skills, classes, abilities, and the MTG intellectual property. It's fun enough for now, and I've put in enough time to be 176 planeswalker level with 1067 loadout score. But it's a bad implementation.

    The caps are very low to the point where it will take more than a week to get to progress your realm after level 5. It's a bad UI/UX experience; you can't even bind mouse buttons, and the group monitor is so awkwardly placed to name a couple things. Mechanics aren't explained well despite a 1-2 hour tutorial, and you're left to Google things or just give up. The patches show they care about stopping the fun of grinding (Vault, Greenwarden, no more Aether rushing). They seem to focus on looks and graphics over function, so your spell effects hide enemy hazards that can kill you quickly on higher difficulties.

    There are a lot of easy quality of life changes they could implement to give us more flexibility and relieve some of these inconveniences. Cryptic seems to want to improve and complete this, so I hope it gets better. But for now, it's pretty negative for me.
    Expand
  40. Apr 1, 2021
    2
    I really desperately wanted this game to be good, but it's just a failure on nearly every level. Some issues are theoretically fixable, such as the game's horrible performance, and total dearth of content. It's also possible that they could fix how lousy-feeling and unresponsive the summoned creatures feel. Everything in the game is completely obfuscated; numbers are unexplained,I really desperately wanted this game to be good, but it's just a failure on nearly every level. Some issues are theoretically fixable, such as the game's horrible performance, and total dearth of content. It's also possible that they could fix how lousy-feeling and unresponsive the summoned creatures feel. Everything in the game is completely obfuscated; numbers are unexplained, borderline meaningless, or actively misleading. These are fixable issues, but they're also the type of issue that's present in just every area of the game.

    Many other issues, however, would require total overhauls of major aspects of the game's basic concept. The combat system, which is based on using abilities drawn at random from the player's deck, is ultimately extremely unsatisfying. In theory, it could require the player to adapt to different circumstances depending on what they draw, but in practice it's an exercise in frustration if you're trying to actually build around card synergies. The game's progression system is built around mindlessly grinding for currency that's time-gated in order to pay for upgrades that rise in cost exponentially while the player's ability to earn currency remains relatively flat.

    The game's monetization is bizarre; on one hand, it's monetized extremely aggressively, with dumping in money being the fastest route to a lot of things, but at the same time no amount of money allows players to circumvent certain currency limits. This creates a bizarre dynamic where a casual player might feel like the pay-to-win aspects are constantly being thrown in their face, while a player investing a lot of money can feel bottlenecked.

    The game makes okay use of the Magic IP. The environments and creatures are recognizable, and the game uses a mix of new and established characters. I assume that there are licensing reasons that the game doesn't take advantage of Magic's existing supply of beautiful artwork, but the new art that the game does use feels more or less in line with the general aesthetics of Magic. (Although many spells have images that are too similar to each other, something that's a problem given that the spell system means that spells constantly change what buttons they are mapped to.) The plot is clearly incomplete at the moment, bordering on being a placeholder, so I don't really hold the fact that there's not much plot against the game.
    Expand
  41. Apr 10, 2021
    0
    Pretty terrible all the way around. Game is nearly instantly forgettable from an art/story perspective. Abilities have essentially no uniqueness to them - it's all particle sparkle effects and some mediocre damage. The problem with the "Random hand" idea is that it basically reduces the game to the lowest possible denomination - There's no space to make cool abilities or combos becausePretty terrible all the way around. Game is nearly instantly forgettable from an art/story perspective. Abilities have essentially no uniqueness to them - it's all particle sparkle effects and some mediocre damage. The problem with the "Random hand" idea is that it basically reduces the game to the lowest possible denomination - There's no space to make cool abilities or combos because abilities come up randomly, and have to be used for another to cycle in. Top it off with summons not actually working (AI/Pathing/Attacks/Movement are all glitched to the point where you're mostly just better off using straight damage abilities).

    Bad game loop combined with a company that has a horrible record for pay to win games, this is a hard "absolutely not worth your time" from me.

    Really sad too - I wanted an rpg based around summoning units, and this felt like it would be the perfect fit (not to mention I generally like the MTG lore). Instead it's a forgettable trash pile.
    Expand
  42. Apr 14, 2021
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Your truly fight on this game is going to be against not falling asleep, there are so many wrong things that makes you wonder how is it possible this game made it so far to the point of a beta. The list is long, just a few things:
    - the world and the overall maps are flat as .....!"·$$.
    - graphics from 2013.
    - the art of the cards are horrible.
    - the suppose skill rotation is pontless, you just click whatever pops in.
    - unable to make parties to explore the world cause there is no world to explore.
    - you are just able to group up with other players just to make silly "dungeons".
    - most of the combat will be populated with tons of creatures that you can not distinguish which ones are the enemies.
    - somehere and somehow you can collect "gear" to wear, but its impact is meaningless wether its visual or to improve your abilities.
    - The mobs AI is the simplest thing you will ever find.
    in summary, it is pretty much like Torchlight 2, but I would say Torchlight 2 is even better
    Expand
  43. May 25, 2021
    0
    Bait-and-switch development track followed by counter-intuitive controls and locked camera. Couldn't be bothered to finish initial fight. Huge disappointment. Unfixable...garbage
  44. Jun 23, 2021
    0
    Look, i dont care if its BETA, game is total trash, that unskippable movie at the start so boring made me want to drink acid.
    as always, when i start a game i go to settings, set it on ULTRA, check if fullscreen and the resolution, this game has less fps than any other game ive ever played on, so many fps drops, lag spikes and ****, and i even tried on lowest settings, its literally
    Look, i dont care if its BETA, game is total trash, that unskippable movie at the start so boring made me want to drink acid.
    as always, when i start a game i go to settings, set it on ULTRA, check if fullscreen and the resolution, this game has less fps than any other game ive ever played on, so many fps drops, lag spikes and ****, and i even tried on lowest settings, its literally unplayable, unoptimised, and really, it actually makes no sense a game like that
    just why...
    anyway graphics are, well ill say only this: they also made neverwinter
    Expand