Magic: The Gathering Arena Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
3.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 168 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: You know the name. Now download and get ready for the most colossal crossover card set in Magic: The Gathering's history. Unlock powerful decks, earn rewards by playing, and jump into action for players of all skill levels.

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Magic: The Gathering - Throne Of Eldraine Official Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Feb 28, 2020
    100
    An excellent and faithful conversion of the iconic card game into a very welcoming computer free-to-play form. This is a hit. [Issue#300]
  2. Oct 8, 2019
    90
    The easy way to play and know about one of the greatest card games in history. Magic Arena takes the best from Magic: The Gathering and put in a nice and exemplar F2P experience.
  3. Nov 8, 2019
    90
    Magic Arena is easily the most accessible and user-friendly version of the classic strategy card game. As the platform grows, makes improvements, and adds additional sets over time, it is sure to continue to be one of the main ways that gamers experience Magic: The Gathering at both the casual and competitive levels.
  4. Sep 26, 2019
    85
    Magic: The Gathering Arena is an absolutely brilliant recreation of Magic only held back by Wizards of the Coast's monetization strategy and some unfinished business. With more of an open mind toward new modes of play (plus ways to keep your old cards relevant) and a better client, this could be the definitive way to play the best card game in the world for the foreseeable future.
  5. Oct 10, 2019
    80
    You can’t beat the feeling of playing Magic with cardboard in your hands. Still, Arena presents a slick realisation in digital form, and one that should suit both old hands and newcomers.
  6. Oct 6, 2019
    80
    Magic: The Gathering Arena is the perfect digital version of the real Magic with all the pros and the cons. It's complex, very deep and extremely addictive but it requires to spend a lot of real money to be competitive.
  7. Oct 10, 2019
    70
    MTG Arena is not yet perfect and it's probably why it is not essential to every player. It remains a very valuable help and will evolve anyway to become an essential card game developing its esport side. If you have not played it yet, do not hesitate to download it for knowledge, and if you are practicing Magic, you will play it one day or another.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 108
  2. Negative: 88 out of 108
  1. Jul 8, 2021
    10
    This is a fun free-to play game. I get that there's micro-transection to get cards pretty fast. But crafting makes it easier to get the cardsThis is a fun free-to play game. I get that there's micro-transection to get cards pretty fast. But crafting makes it easier to get the cards pretty fast so you won't feel forced to just buy, atleast it wasn't for me.

    Plus although I don't like micro-transection all that much I feel like in a card game it's easier to handle for me, cause it's better than buying new sequel to a card game and start collecting all over again, right? And sure you can get cards in real life instead but keep in mind there are no craft in real life so getting those deck in real life will be expansive plus not everyone has many friends to play with either.

    I saw some of the negative reviews and those are what I think about them. Also let me say I would like this game even more if it didn't had micro toward cards, but I still put it high up cause crafting won't make your hard work feel like a waste for pay to win players cause crafting is easy to begin with, and it's still better than buying new sequels everytime that's not free.

    And maybe I'm just lucky but I didn't found much bugs either. I do have a bit of a control problem whenever it asks me to discard a card but that's for Mobile, PC version is ok.

    That being said those negative reviews are old so maybe it was correct for some of them like the bugs at one point in the past but it certainly isn't like that for me now though. I wouldn't called it 10 but just putting it 10 here to make up for all those past negative atleast a tiny bit.
    Expand
  2. Aug 6, 2019
    8
    Great game. A lot of new stuff implementing, many interesting thing to achieve and play, works even on low end pc. I dont understand why soGreat game. A lot of new stuff implementing, many interesting thing to achieve and play, works even on low end pc. I dont understand why so many negative feedback on this site. Maybe it is one person with multyaccounts just angry at great game? Expand
  3. Sep 9, 2020
    3
    The software is **** garbage. The only way to make the game play smoothly on lower end PCs is to lower the resolution to the point that theThe software is **** garbage. The only way to make the game play smoothly on lower end PCs is to lower the resolution to the point that the text becomes unreadable. The reconnect feature doesn't work, it will pop up a message with the options to "reconnect" or "log out" and it can't be dismissed, even if the connection is back and you can clearly see your opponent playing in the background, so the only way to get rid of the message is to hit reconnect, which will disconnect you from the match and not even kick you to the home screen but instead basically restart the program and then take a long-ass time reconnecting you. In this time, the game will have skipped over your turn and not even have used your timeouts.
    Animations can't be disabled which makes the game run even worse. Sometimes the game gets stuck loading the home screen after a match, forcing me to alt-f4 and restart in order to get a new game.
    The game will also randomly reset to max resolution causing freezing and bad performance.

    As for the gameplay side of things, I'll spend a week grinding enough gold to play best-of-three draft, which is the only format I really enjoy only to get disconnected out of a winning position and basically waste the 10.000 gold entry fee.

    If you are a newcomer to Magic, maybe you will enjoy your time, but If you are a paper player don't bother with this game, it's just suffering for the sake of it.
    Expand
  4. Oct 25, 2021
    0
    Such **** that I want to puke. The only thing that is interesting in this game is to collect a collection and **** off from the greed ofSuch **** that I want to puke. The only thing that is interesting in this game is to collect a collection and **** off from the greed of developers. You would at least improve the service, and not introduce another donation. Expand
  5. Mar 6, 2020
    0
    I think the issues with land draws go far beyond what we used to think. Mulligans used to fix the issue, but now you can mulligan down to 3I think the issues with land draws go far beyond what we used to think. Mulligans used to fix the issue, but now you can mulligan down to 3 cards before you'll actually get viable mana.
    There was a user who actually covered over a million games in a study and despite what gaslighting fanboys say, the issues with the draws are well outside normal variance.
    Despite the fact that the reddit thread for that game is the most viewed and most discussed, it's rated lower than other reddit threads about the game due to Google coordinating with WOTC (which isn't abnormal for most large companies to work with Google and adsense to create favorable search results).

    The bigger issue is that the discussions around this game come down to people who spend WAY too much money on this game telling everyone else that they're crazy. Beyond ironic.
    The playerbase is so incredibly toxic online, it's probably better to ignore the majority that keep buying because it's an addiction and not a hobby for them.

    The core issues with the game are still yet to be resolved. It's unoptimized for older hardware, the client loses connections to the server all the time, the actual game itself is cripplingly unfun if you actually want a fair experience, and there's no way to really enjoy yourself in a de-stress, single player scenario. Primarily due to the fact that they want you to keep grinding losses until you finally break and spend more money on the game. I don't get the absolute autistic devotion to Wizards of The Coast since it's pretty clear that their goal isn't a well-made game, it's to get as much cash out of addicted gamers as they can.

    According to the Metacritic ratings, I'd say it sounds like the majority or normies aren't happy either.

    Corporate shills gonna shill fam.

    I hope that someone reports WOTC to the BBB or the FTC, I don't know how much it would do, but at the very least some audits done in discovery could be made public that would really blow the lid on how messed up they are.
    Expand
  6. Jun 12, 2019
    0
    There is little redeeming about the game, the shuffler is basically non-functional, one game you might draw seven lands in a row, the next youThere is little redeeming about the game, the shuffler is basically non-functional, one game you might draw seven lands in a row, the next you will only draw two mana and never pick up a land again. You better hope you don't win too many games in a row because then you will be matched against players who know how to work their decks against the game's algorithm. A good deck in Arena is not a good deck in the physical game, I have played a deck for 20+ games with four of a certain card and never once drew that card either in my opening hand or throughout the course of the game, where other players will draw four of the same card either in their opening hand or near the top of their deck. People will play this game for a short time until they get wise to the algorithmic nonsense and then uninstall and go play a real game. Trust me.

    Go to your local card shop on draft night and get your Magic kick there, it's more fun than this silly nonsense.
    Expand
  7. Apr 18, 2020
    0
    Basic pay to win design but that is not the worst part. The game has a horrible internet connectivity issues. You can only play on a wiredBasic pay to win design but that is not the worst part. The game has a horrible internet connectivity issues. You can only play on a wired connection even if you have high speed wifi. Their game pass is only good for a couple months but if you buy it a few days before a new card set drops then it become unusable and you need to pay again, no joke. I was also charged a foreign transaction fee from my bank and their customer service told me to just delete my account if I was not satisfied, how is that helpful?

    NO OTHER ONLINE GAME HAS SUCH WIDESPREAD CONNECTIVITY ISSUES.
    Expand

See all 108 User Reviews