Magicka 2 Image
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 103 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Magicka 2 brings the spellcasting system, irreverent humor, and relationship-testing friendly fire into an all-new adventure with up to 4-player co-op for the PlayStation 4 and PC.

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
E3 2014: Magicka 2 Trailer at Sony Press Conference
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 37
  2. Negative: 1 out of 37
  1. May 28, 2015
    86
    Magicka 2 doesn't mess much with the formula of the first title. If the hours you spent traipsing through Midgård before grew tedious, the sequel may not wield enough magic to hold your attention. However, if you dropped the first game quickly due to the plethora of game breaking launch bugs, or missed this gem of series altogether, it is more than worth your time for an excellently priced $15.
  2. May 26, 2015
    80
    Much like its predecessor, Magicka 2 is a flawed game whose faults generally contribute to its charm. There’s something wonderfully engaging about a game that knows exactly what it is, doesn’t try to be anything more, and succeeds on nearly all fronts.
  3. Pelit (Finland)
    Sep 1, 2015
    80
    Magicka 2 is like its predecessor, in good and bad alike. Feels like Magicka 1.7, not 2.0. [Aug 2015]
  4. May 26, 2015
    70
    Magicka 2 is Magicka refined - the same wizard-killing simulator co-op fans love with the fixes and improvements players craved. While it doesn't break new ground or surpass the original, it's a blast to play with friends.
  5. Edge Magazine
    Jul 17, 2015
    70
    Only intermittently better than its predecessor, if still every bit as frenetic. [Aug 2015, p.120]
  6. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Aug 21, 2015
    61
    Game’s derivativeness doesn’t diminish despite developer’s diligence: the humor is noticeably stale, and game situations lack variety. There’s just no progress in the series, which in itself is a step backwards. [Sept 2015, p.83]
  7. Jun 9, 2015
    40
    It lies somewhere between a fully formed game in which would-be wizards learn to chain elements into powerful spells and a low-rent improv show, in which everybody just makes things up as they go.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 20
  2. Negative: 6 out of 20
  1. Jul 4, 2015
    10
    10 to balance the negatives, but it still is an awesome game. I wish I knew about Magicka 1, I've wanted a game like this forever. Please do10 to balance the negatives, but it still is an awesome game. I wish I knew about Magicka 1, I've wanted a game like this forever. Please do yourself a favor and give this a go if you're as wizard mad as me. Takes practice to get good since there are so many combinations and then still remembering them in battle takes time, but wow, very very cool experience. Expand
  2. Nov 6, 2018
    10
    Who should, and why should you, purchase this game? Easily one of the most fun, and unique, games out there. It's lively fun, does not takeWho should, and why should you, purchase this game? Easily one of the most fun, and unique, games out there. It's lively fun, does not take itself overly seriously - but delivers a world you can escape in - it's challenging for gamers and casual players alike. If you have a library like mine of hundreds of games, this is a MUST PURCHASE. It does not have the replay value of games like shoot-em-ups, but it is worth the admission of a movie ticket - because you'll get more satisfaction and a lot more hours out of it than the best movies you've seen. If you can only afford 1 or 2 games and play all year, I would feel sorry that you're missing out, as the game play here is unique and FUN FUN FUN - something that many games miss out on as they just slightly modify well-known genres. This game is a GENRE almost all on its own. If you thought Naruto spell casting was awesome - this game is the logical version of it with regards to powers! To all whom have played the first and complained - I do not understand your complaints other than you played the other too recently and had false expectations. I absolutely LOVED the first one as well for many of the same reasons - and I found this one unique and fun by itself. If you thought Terminator 2 was supposed to resemble Terminator 1, or T3 the other 2, you are fooling yourself. Each is a unique experience and should be taken as such - you will gain the full experience and pleasure of it then, just as the very intelligent game developers intended. Before Magicka 1 I was working on a 3d version in CryEngine for power combinations like naruto and these.. I never got it launched, and I am more than happy that someone approximated what I wanted to do and in a top-down fashion. I have nothing bad to say as this is the top 1% of fun games available --- hands down. Expand
  3. Jun 24, 2015
    9
    Good game !Good game !
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    **** DOTA 2 !!!!!!!!!!
    Expand
  4. Jun 1, 2015
    7
    The game feels very much like Magicka 1. That is not a bat thing, but one would expect something more than a new story from a sequel.The game feels very much like Magicka 1. That is not a bat thing, but one would expect something more than a new story from a sequel.

    Luckily enough, the humor keeps you interested, the action never stops and you feel rather powerful if you already have tricks and habits from Magicka 1 which pretty much are still available.

    It's a good game, it's bound to lead to many fun hours, but it still feels more like an add-on than a new game.
    Expand
  5. May 29, 2015
    6
    If you don't intend to play this through purely in multiplayer with a gamepad steer clear of it completely.

    Being a huge fan of the
    If you don't intend to play this through purely in multiplayer with a gamepad steer clear of it completely.

    Being a huge fan of the original Magicka with over 90 hours logged I had a certain expectation of quality. I have almost completed the game though I can tell that the changes made to the combat really ruined what made the original such a unique title. The new casting system is reliant on a gamepad and has cut out a huge amount of spell combinations.

    Magicka 2's casting system just seems really plain compared to the original, from what I gather they wanted to balance out the casting system by removing overpowered spells to make it more focused around identifying the weaknesses of particular enemies though now the combat feels incredibly slow paced and boring.

    As of writing this I'm 2/3 through the game, the story mode is significantly shorter. Thankfully the writing still maintains the quality it had in Magicka, and the graphics have been updated, but the pacing of the game is just disappointing overall. I hope that the DLCs improve the game though I seriously doubt they will change the core mechanics of the game which they have really gutted.
    Expand
  6. CMX
    Jul 9, 2015
    4
    The game is just way worse than Magicka 1. The devs lost the cool crazyness and instead added things to balance the game out. I wouldThe game is just way worse than Magicka 1. The devs lost the cool crazyness and instead added things to balance the game out. I would understand if there was a sensible pvp but there is nothing. The game no longer allows you to spam spells - i'm a wizard for Vlad's sake. The original Magicka had crazy robes that made you absorb lightning, Tank, Crusader or even Tentacle robes. Here you have fireman's robes that give you +20% fire resistance but -20% something else. It's boring! Where are my cool weapons? Crossbows, Machine guns, Lightsabers? Nope, you again have your boring weapons that have boring small bonuses. The game is small there are way less levels and the levels are way less varied and crazy. I've been in Mexican hell and ancient dwarven ruins in Magicka 1 but here - forests and the castle from the previous game. There wasn't much more than that. The game is short has a few more mechanics (not too many though), has less than 30% the amount of magicks the previous one had and you are really limited by stupid things such as focus regeneration or spell nerfs. There is almost nothing that Magicka 1 didn't have but it's balanced which also means madly limited. I don't recommend buying it for more than the price of a Magicka 1 DLC. Some of them have more content than this game. Expand
  7. Jun 10, 2015
    0
    Clumky controls, over simplistic story, terrible gameplay experience, servers are always down... it's like a remake of Magicka 1, but worse.Clumky controls, over simplistic story, terrible gameplay experience, servers are always down... it's like a remake of Magicka 1, but worse. This game is bad and developers should feel bad. Expand

See all 20 User Reviews