Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Aug 3, 2020
    90
    Maid of Sker doesn’t have terribly complex gameplay, but it’s a tightly-made game that succeeds in more than enough areas to make it worth checking out. The Sker hotel is haunting, filled with detail and character that makes it a joy to explore. The choral soundtrack is absolutely beautiful, befitting both the game’s plot and atmosphere. Horror fans have been absolutely spoiled with high quality games over the last few years, and genre fans would do well to add Maid of Sker to their list of must-plays.
  2. Sep 12, 2020
    80
    Maid of Sker is a very beautiful and interesting adventure with horror elements, which suffers from unkillable opponents and several strange design solutions. The sound and graphics create an incredible atmosphere that should please all fans of the genre.
  3. Aug 17, 2020
    80
    Maid of Sker had a few jump scares here and there, but it was the tension and curiosity of the unknown that kept me invested in moving forward. After the first hour or so of my playthrough, it stopped being quite as scary, and had me hooked into the narrative, struggling to piece together what was real. Like the beautifully haunting siren’s song that persists throughout Maid of Sker, I was lulled into a trance, needing to see Thomas’s journey through to the end. There are few games that have captured my attention as much as Maid of Sker, and I think for any fan of the horror genre, especially those that love to explore, it would be an absolute disservice not to give this game a try if not for the story alone.
  4. Aug 10, 2020
    80
    Maid of Sker has a feel all its own to it. It's not a mind-blowing game, but everything seemed to go together very well by the time it ended. The game is actually one of few games this year that I would replay to experience again. It sort of chugs along at the beginning but once things start to unravel, it's hard to put down. The game has many files that were actually interesting to read - it seems strange to commend a game for its files, but too many other survival horrors have files that don't contribute much to the main plot and feel useless to read. If you're a fan of survival horror, definitely give Maid of Sker a try. It's one of the better survival horrors that I have played this year so far.
  5. Jul 28, 2020
    80
    Maid of Sker proves an enjoyable survival horror to play in one breath, paying particular attention to the care with which the story was developed. The presence of two different finals also highlights the intent to take it a step further, although it concerns only one choice during the final beats of the game. The fans of the genre will certainly appreciate it. Make sure you give it a chance.
  6. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Oct 21, 2020
    78
    The story is the most important part of Maid of Sker, and it’s good. It doesn’t follow the original narrative word-for-word, but stays faithful to it. A good game for a Lovecraft fan. [Issue#248, p.41]
  7. Aug 29, 2020
    75
    Maid of Sker, despite its faults revolving mainly around AI, is a survival horror to be saluted.
  8. Jul 28, 2020
    75
    Maid of Sker proves there's more to Wales Interactive than many might realise. Their tense horror shines a new light on Welsh folklore while also delivering fantastic audio design and a few effective scares, though it's not without a lobby full of flaws.
  9. Jul 28, 2020
    73
    Maid of Sker comes with all the features of a good survival-horror game, such as a well-designed eerie location, a great atmosphere, an engaging story, fearsome enemies, well-implemented 3D audio and the right amount of scares, but it does not try to break from the mold of the Resident Evil formula in any significant way. The lack of any real innovation may put off some, but if expectations are kept in check, Maid of Sker can provide a few hours of enjoyable horror fun.
  10. Jul 28, 2020
    70
    A good horror movie for fans of the genre.
  11. Jul 28, 2020
    70
    Maid of Sker is a great addition to the survival horror genre and offers a wonderfully intimate and local threat that takes its influences from Welsh folktales. Eschewing the combat and weaponry of many entries into the genre, its gameplay loop of sneaking and hiding proves compelling and successfully manages to keep you feeling in danger at all times. When you add in some excellent sound design and atmosphere you have a Victorian horror that deserves a rousing reception. There may not be a welcome in these valleys but this is one vacation that genre fans should have no reservations about taking.
  12. Sep 29, 2020
    68
    A walking simulation song of cosmic horror at first, Maid of Sker has a story that loves to mix EA Poe and HP Lovecraft styles, a place with its own persona, and a great first part where the darkness and sounds effects keeps you in tension. It is a shame that the stealth mechanic and checkpoint system ruins the potential of a game where the bad guys don’t look scary at all.
  13. CD-Action
    Oct 15, 2020
    65
    Maid of Sker was at its best when I was navigating dark corridors unsure of what awaits me around the corner, while unsettling noises of the dreary hotel literally gave me goosebumps. Unfortunately, skillfully built atmosphere evaporated immediately whenever I met one of bland enemies and had to engage in a lame game of cat and mouse that quickly becomes a chore. [10/2020, p.72]
  14. Jul 28, 2020
    65
    Maid of Sker ends up excelling in its atmosphere, as it absolutely nails the feeling of tension during the more competent stealth sections. While it doesn’t move the genre in any direction, this is a horror experience that will make for a fun evening for genre lovers, but it might lose you with its narrative.
  15. Jul 28, 2020
    64
    Maid of Sker is a competent horror adventure where the player explores a well-designed 19th-century hotel. But its clumsy stealth, forgettable puzzles, and lukewarm scares prevent it from hitting the high notes.
  16. Edge Magazine
    Aug 13, 2020
    50
    Ultimately, though, the derivative puzzling and repetitive grid of traversing Sker House at an absolutely snail's pace makes Maid of Sker more like a crawling simulation than a game that truly makes our skin crawl. [Issue#349, p.104]
  17. Jul 29, 2020
    40
    Maid of Sker has very strong visuals and the hotel itself is well designed. But everything else, from its gameplay systems to its progression and foes, is so weak and ill-considered that I can't imagine most people enjoying what little it has to offer.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Maid Of Sker is more frightening when it’s not trying to scare you. The story, the atmosphere and the music are well-crafted enough that they would almost be enough on their own, but its obsession with chucking monsters at you ends up destroying a lot of that good will. Perhaps, in looking sideways at Capcom’s desk, Maid Of Sker copied even the answers it didn’t need.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 32
  2. Negative: 4 out of 32
  1. Aug 22, 2020
    6
    I recommend this game. If you like Outlast or Home Sweet Home Episode 1 or Araya or First Amnesia probably you will like it. MAID OF SKER isI recommend this game. If you like Outlast or Home Sweet Home Episode 1 or Araya or First Amnesia probably you will like it. MAID OF SKER is not super scary but tense. NICE GAMEPLAY - quite a lot and decently exploration + key items, solving puzzles to move on and possible backtracking - open world. Enemies are good for me, walking and chasing you in different ways, it seems like a random event (I love hotel, gardens).
    FINE STORY, GOOD MUSIC and GRAPHICS - so dark but adds a dark atmosphere.
    Normal mode - 8/10, Hard mode 9/10.

    3/10 - MAID OF SKER after updates (1.01, 1.02 - positive, 1.03)
    "The main culprit in the incident" is update 1.01 and the changes made there.
    - Normal & Hard modes v1.01 are funny compared to the previous version.
    - Update 1.03 - Adjusted player noise levels - I'm afraid here too.

    On Hard mode - 100% of the game and I got one hit from the enemy and I had 12 health bottles in my inventory. Generally the games got "disgustingly easier" Enemies/AI/Detection it's a joke.
    It's like Normal is no longer Normal and Hard is not Hard.
    Only the inscriptions in the difficulty level selection field remain.

    The rest of the fixes are positive (1.01, 1.02, 1.03)
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 6, 2020
    8
    Gostei muito da mecânica na situação do silêncio e uma novidade pôde colocar a mão na boca esperando sair uma nova série desse jogo.
  3. Aug 5, 2020
    10
    One of the best horror games ever! An interesting, extraordinary story, magnificent music, excellent graphics, frightening enemies.