Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Oct 24, 2019
    100
    I have never encountered a more beautiful, entrancing and sublime gaming experience.
  2. 90
    Manifold Garden isn’t a particularly challenging puzzle experience, but it’s an awe-inspiring and memorable one. I can’t recommend it enough.
  3. Oct 29, 2019
    90
    As I stood in the impossible world of the Manifold Garden, I felt tested and worthy. Its puzzles are incredibly satisfying and offer a very clever blend of step-by-step knowledge-building with increasingly challenging solutions. The environments are awe-inspiring in their endless repetition, but repetition isn't a trait reflected in the game's challenges. There is always something new, or a new way to look at something old, as you traverse through the infinite horizon. Manifold Garden is a feast for the eyes and the mind, so long as you can wrap both around what it has to offer.
  4. Oct 23, 2019
    86
    Manifold Garden its a game about changing: from the changing-gravity mechanic to the high variety of gameplay, the game design defines an interesting first person puzzle game with a lot of exploration in Escher-style. A good game that sometimes just suffers a bit of emptiness due to the lack of narrative aims, but a must-have for all puzzle lovers.
  5. Oct 28, 2019
    85
    A serene gravity flipping puzzler with impossible structures to wrap your head around.
  6. Oct 25, 2019
    85
    A brilliant exploration and puzzle adventure that shines for its minimalist but amazing audiovisuals.
  7. Oct 23, 2019
    85
    Manifold Garden has a lot going for it, but above all else, it's simply pleasant – to look at, to listen to, and to play. It's the kind of game you can revisit every couple of years and be confident it'll hold up.
  8. Nov 14, 2019
    80
    I can absolutely recommend the game, but for all the good things it does, one which would be even stronger if you weren't taken out of the experience a little too often. I wanted to achieve true transcendence but the limitations the game places on you too often stop it from reaching its full potential. I have a feeling you’ll still want to experience it, though, and don’t be surprised if you make everyone around you do the same.
  9. Nov 6, 2019
    80
    Manifold Garden is an incredibly stylish first-person puzzler, like walking through the architectural drawings of a pandimensional designer. Some of the individual rooms are a little too sterile for their own good but these are always followed up with incredible views that stretch out forever in geometrically pleasing patterns of infinite repetition. The tendrils of darkness overrunning the garden are a passive threat at their worst, leaving you free to explore and experiment, flipping the world around to see it from a new perspective. The garden may have seen better days but chasing away the darkness is just the excuse needed to take it all in, solving its mysteries and coming to grips with a creation that only follows the rules of 3D space when it feels like it.
  10. Oct 31, 2019
    80
    Manifold Garden is a nice and pleasant title, especially to play it off and on and avoid saturation.
  11. Oct 30, 2019
    80
    At its best moments, Manifold Garden is just as good as Portal and The Witness. And while the puzzle game gradually loses some of its power, the infinite, impossible and awesome levels continue to amaze.
  12. Oct 25, 2019
    80
    A quiet and metaphysical voyage in a geometrical world full of puzzles.Deeply inspired by M. C. Escher’s art and by Portal’s gameplaystyle, Manifold Garden offers a balanced challenge enriched by the artistic touch of the author William Chyr.
  13. Oct 23, 2019
    75
    Manifold Garden is very original, and not only gameplay-wise but also when it comes to its art and arquitectural design. However, we feel like its design needs some work to bring it up there with the greatest puzzle games.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Oct 30, 2019
    Mesmerising and thrilling, this is a puzzle game for the ages. [Eurogamer Essential]
  2. Oct 25, 2019
    After seven years in development, Manifold Garden is a surreal masterpiece.
  3. Most of all, Manifold Garden makes me break out in a cold sweat. I cannot help but imagine myself, trapped in an endless kaleidoscope. Running through corridor after identical corridor. Walking out of a room and finding myself on a pyramid of steps without end. Just running around the same strange building, and only seeing more of that building. Forever. I cannot imagine a worse horror. Argh. Good puzzles, though.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Oct 23, 2019
    10
    A beautiful and unique game. You explore Escher-like worlds that defy logic. Fall through crazy architecture infinitely, and solve puzzlesA beautiful and unique game. You explore Escher-like worlds that defy logic. Fall through crazy architecture infinitely, and solve puzzles by shifting gravity. Levels that loop back on themselves and into other levels. Very unique, great atmosphere. Some puzzles are a bit tough but overall it isn't a punishing game. Full Review »
  2. Nov 7, 2019
    8
    Thank you William.
    We live in a world where we have to quantify an artistic vision and give it marks out of ten which in this instance is
    Thank you William.
    We live in a world where we have to quantify an artistic vision and give it marks out of ten which in this instance is totally unfair. If you are any way interested at all in a game that challenges how we perceive our four dimensional space time continuum on a two dimensional screen, then this is the one for you.
    This is however also a puzzle game, and it is in this that I am marking it an 8/10.
    Like Manifold Garden itself this is a game of multiple planes:
    There are some beautiful eureka moments that is characteristic of all excellent puzzle games, but on the flip side, some puzzles leave a sense of having to grind out a solution. There is a freedom to explore any surface, and to fall freely through "space" without fear of death, and to arrive back where you started from, but on the flip side the infinite regression of the World within Manifold Gardens is also restrictive and repetitive. There is a magical beautiful side to the game, but on the flip side it is all hard edges and loneliness. At its best, the game is uplifting rewarding and visually stunning, at its worst it's a puzzle game in search of a puzzle.
    Ultimately, you have to bow in deep respect and awe at the completeness of this immersive complex World, to drink in its majesty and get lost in its mysteries.
    Highly recommended.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 6, 2019
    10
    Such an amazingly mind-bending and awe-inspiring game. At around 3-4 hours for the first playthrough it doesn't overstay its welcome, and forSuch an amazingly mind-bending and awe-inspiring game. At around 3-4 hours for the first playthrough it doesn't overstay its welcome, and for people wanting to discover all of the secrets there's also enough content to at least double that time. Also, be prepared to say "woah" a lot. Full Review »