Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 993 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Metal Gear Solid Rising makes its way to the PC and features Raiden as a playable character.

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance - Suit Overview Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Enhanced graphics and controls, customizable Zangeki settings, packed with full DLC support, Rising's PC version is the true definition of lightning bolt action.
  2. Jan 13, 2014
    90
    Exactly as entertaining as you’d expect from a collaboration between two of Japan’s most talented developers, and a relatively good – if extremely belated – PC port.
  3. Jan 15, 2014
    85
    Revengeance isn’t a perfect game but it sure is a fun one, and it made the jump to PC with ease.
  4. Jan 20, 2014
    80
    Despite the flaws and interruptions of the story and presentation, Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance is a superior title.
  5. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Apr 7, 2014
    80
    Raiden reaps what the action filled gameplay sows and if it wasn't for the clunky camera and lackluster plot, there would be nothing to complain about. [Issue #239]
  6. Feb 3, 2014
    80
    With hands of good craftsmen a great basis turns into gold, literally. Well, at least if you render homage to frantic fighting games, or to Kojima's obscure opuses. You see, you'll get the best of both.
  7. Jan 30, 2014
    72
    This story-driven combo-slasher is with approximately 5 hours very short, including cut-scenes, which take up more than 2 hours and tend to interrupt gameplay constantly. Combo mechanics are satisfying, the story is not worth mentioning. Lots of senseless violence, the game takes itself way too serious. Merely a port from consoles, mouse controls are awful and the graphics do not meet modern standards.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 195
  1. Jan 1, 2015
    10
    If you are looking for a metal gear solid experience this is the wrong place. Instead you are put in the shoes of Jack the Ripper before MetalIf you are looking for a metal gear solid experience this is the wrong place. Instead you are put in the shoes of Jack the Ripper before Metal Gear Solid 4 I believe. But it was still fun to fight bosses, take names, make a list and check it twist. The action is over the top and it is so fun. I never dropped my jaw in a action scene via video game but i was doing it over and over in this game. Could use some help with a few minor glitches but so worth the buy. Expand
  2. Jun 12, 2022
    10
    Really nice game quality for the price. The game soundtrack just drives me crazy . Absolutely the best five hours in my life!
  3. Jan 9, 2014
    10
    This game was awesome especially for the price. I wont go too far into it but i really enjoyed it. Fun game play, great graphics, andThis game was awesome especially for the price. I wont go too far into it but i really enjoyed it. Fun game play, great graphics, and something different than all the other games I've been playing lately. 23 bucks for this gem? I'm all over it. Expand
  4. Jul 3, 2014
    9
    This is simply a great game.

    Difficult is just right. Your skills and gadgets are far from overpowered to make things boring. The
    This is simply a great game.

    Difficult is just right. Your skills and gadgets are far from overpowered to make things boring. The combinations of different enemies and almost non-repeated environments also keep things quite fresh.

    The blade mode is sooo good. I thought I would get numb to that within a few tries, but turned out it has so many other factors and additions (spam-cutting is often not the best scenario in terms of outcome) that keep it interesting, not to mention the raw psychological pleasure of grinding your enemies into pieces. Kill mode/ killing cut scenes are also creative and just plain cool.

    Every boss fight is memorable. Not only did the dev think up so many different moves for each boss, but they just nailed the brief interactions between Raiden and each boss so precisely (with great lines and main character development) that evoked different emotions when fighting different boss. It tries to do the "you're not just battling, but battling with ideas" thing which is dangerous since it's beaten to death. But they still managed to pull off new and interesting ideas in the process, of which I think proudly upheld the great track record of the MGS series.

    In addition, it contains a lot of Japanese elements (environments/ character persona/ humor) which sneak in as a pleasant break from the hack and slash.

    Cons: Camera is sometimes bad, but not too much of a problem. The unnaturalness of blade mode lining is worse in comparison, on top of some spooky interactions between the character and terrain.
    Expand
  5. Feb 5, 2022
    8
    I remember playing Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance when I was younger but I wasn't good at it and I couldn't play it properly.
    Few years later,
    I remember playing Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance when I was younger but I wasn't good at it and I couldn't play it properly.
    Few years later, after hearing about all the ridiculous memes on the internet, I was interested in giving it another try, however, I felt like the game lived off from its memes and not because it's actually a good game.
    After playing it though, I can definitely say that Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance is a really enjoyable Hack 'n' Slash game! The camera is awkward at times but the combat system is very fun and it has some cool mechanics.
    The highlight of Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance isn't the gameplay though, it's the bosses; they're just epic!
    Also, the music is awesome and the visuals hold up well, even though the environments look uninteresting for the most part.
    Unfortunately, the narrative is not on par with the rest of the game in my opinion. Thankfully, the characters are likable and the dialogue is funny at times, but the story is quite bad overall and very short; it could've been longer.

    Pros:
    + Great gameplay
    + Interesting mechanics
    + Amazing bosses
    + Fantastic music
    + Charming characters

    Cons:
    - Camera issues
    - Bland environments
    - Weak & short story

    Narrative: 3/10
    Gameplay: 8/10
    Characters: 6/10
    Music: 9/10
    Graphics/Audio: 6/10

    Final Rating: 8/10
    - Great -
    Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance is a very enjoyable Hack 'n' Slash game that aged well.

    Do I recommend it?:
    It's worth playing this game solely for the memes but I'd recommend it mostly to fans of the genre because the narrative is lacking.
    Expand
  6. Feb 1, 2014
    7
    Have you ever wanted to chop up a giant robot with your sword?

    Well, that will have to wait until you've taken its health down to a preset
    Have you ever wanted to chop up a giant robot with your sword?

    Well, that will have to wait until you've taken its health down to a preset amount. After that you can deliver two or three cuts and the affected body part is destroyed for good. Every other cut after that is more or less for your own sadistic enjoyment.

    Revengeance is all about wanting to do something outrageous and being consistently slapped on the wrist. You can't do great damage until you have blocked, dodged and jumped your way through a preset sequence of attacks from the enemy that will severely hurt you unless you block/dodge/jump. And if you've been a good dog you'll be allowed to engage in the iconic Blade Mode™. For a few seconds.

    Of course, that only applies to bosses. Slicing through the lesser enemies is quite easy. Slicing a VIP in two before you have the chance to cut off the Oh So Important Left Hand™ is quite easy too. Can't cut that hand off a corpse, obviously.

    Quite an enjoyable grindfest that keeps reminding you that you are merely a cyborg, not an Enemy Cyborg™
    Expand
  7. Jun 8, 2016
    0
    Don't buy this game. Controls sucks long time, scenario is boring, too much cut-scenes, fighting is boring, graphics are not so good, music isDon't buy this game. Controls sucks long time, scenario is boring, too much cut-scenes, fighting is boring, graphics are not so good, music is boring, generally it is a mix up of dmc, with prince of persia, written by a 10 years old boy. Sure it is a Japanese hack n slash, but from the worst ever. Expand

See all 195 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013 Image
    Published: January 15, 2013
    Take a look at nearly four dozen of the coming year's most-anticipated games, from returning favorites such as BioShock Infinite and Grand Theft Auto V to new titles like The Last of Us and Watch Dogs.