Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 729 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Metal Gear Solid Rising makes its way to the PC and features Raiden as a playable character.
  • Developer: PlatinumGames
  • Genre(s): Action, Action Adventure, Shooter, General, Modern, Third-Person, Tactical, Modern
  • # of players: No Online Multiplayer
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Rating: M
  • More Details and Credits »

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance - Suit Overview Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Enhanced graphics and controls, customizable Zangeki settings, packed with full DLC support, Rising's PC version is the true definition of lightning bolt action.
  2. Jan 13, 2014
    90
    Exactly as entertaining as you’d expect from a collaboration between two of Japan’s most talented developers, and a relatively good – if extremely belated – PC port.
  3. Jan 15, 2014
    85
    Revengeance isn’t a perfect game but it sure is a fun one, and it made the jump to PC with ease.
  4. Jan 20, 2014
    80
    Despite the flaws and interruptions of the story and presentation, Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance is a superior title.
  5. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Apr 7, 2014
    80
    Raiden reaps what the action filled gameplay sows and if it wasn't for the clunky camera and lackluster plot, there would be nothing to complain about. [Issue #239]
  6. Feb 3, 2014
    80
    With hands of good craftsmen a great basis turns into gold, literally. Well, at least if you render homage to frantic fighting games, or to Kojima's obscure opuses. You see, you'll get the best of both.
  7. Jan 30, 2014
    72
    This story-driven combo-slasher is with approximately 5 hours very short, including cut-scenes, which take up more than 2 hours and tend to interrupt gameplay constantly. Combo mechanics are satisfying, the story is not worth mentioning. Lots of senseless violence, the game takes itself way too serious. Merely a port from consoles, mouse controls are awful and the graphics do not meet modern standards.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 119
  2. Negative: 18 out of 119
  1. Jan 9, 2014
    10
    This game was awesome especially for the price. I wont go too far into it but i really enjoyed it. Fun game play, great graphics, andThis game was awesome especially for the price. I wont go too far into it but i really enjoyed it. Fun game play, great graphics, and something different than all the other games I've been playing lately. 23 bucks for this gem? I'm all over it. Expand
  2. Mar 3, 2014
    10
    The PC port is one of the best I've seen, with fully customizable zangeki options and amazing graphics. The only thing that bothered me wasThe PC port is one of the best I've seen, with fully customizable zangeki options and amazing graphics. The only thing that bothered me was the camera which is sometimes pulled in too close to Raiden. Expand
  3. Jan 31, 2014
    10
    It was better than expected. Loved playing ninja robot. Now hoping that future series will also debut on pc also or even the old ones. GameIt was better than expected. Loved playing ninja robot. Now hoping that future series will also debut on pc also or even the old ones. Game length is bit short though. Expand
  4. Mar 30, 2014
    8
    If you enjoy hack and slash type games and would like a game based around Raiden then Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance is a game you should get.If you enjoy hack and slash type games and would like a game based around Raiden then Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance is a game you should get. Graphically it's impressive on PC and personally I use a wired Xbox 360 controller so I haven't had any issues with controlling Raiden at all. Expand
  5. Jan 15, 2014
    8
    Para os usuários de PC que possuem poucas ofertas de jogos no estilo Hack 'n Slash está aí um ótimo título. O jogo é muito bom, com umaPara os usuários de PC que possuem poucas ofertas de jogos no estilo Hack 'n Slash está aí um ótimo título. O jogo é muito bom, com uma jogabilidade excelente. Nada de muito complicado. Uma boa variedade de ataques e combos. Os combates são muito bons, com uma variedade boa de inimigos com táticas diferentes para derrotar cada um.

    Os gráficos do jogo são bons, ainda mais se levado em consideração que o jogo foi feito para console e daí lançado no PC (geralmente quando isso ocorre os gráficos não ficam bons no PC). No meu caso não houve quedas bruscas de FPS, rodando a 60 FPS na resolução em Full HD (1080p) e com a configuração no máximo. Os filtros presentes no jogo são bons, com um bom antialising, a filtragem de textura deixa o jogo ainda mais bonito e com boas sombras durante o jogo.

    A história do jogo também é interessante, confesso que não muito empolgante, mas inda sim boa. A história ocorre de forma linear, e à medida que avançamos na histórias novos elementos vão aparecendo explicando um pouco das coisas.

    No entanto o jogo não é tudo maravilha, e umas das coisas que mais atrapalha são os combates, na verdade a frequência dos combates, que chega a enjoar um pouco.

    Por fim, levando em consideração o preço do jogo, é um ótimo custo benefício. Vale a pena ter esse jogo e recomendo ele para os usuários de PC.
    Expand
  6. Jul 15, 2016
    7
    There is no 2K or 4K resolution. The S rank of VR missions mostly depends on your luck not your skills. It is no doubt that I like the bloodyThere is no 2K or 4K resolution. The S rank of VR missions mostly depends on your luck not your skills. It is no doubt that I like the bloody palace from DMC than this. Here 're the questions. Expand
  7. Jun 8, 2016
    0
    Don't buy this game. Controls sucks long time, scenario is boring, too much cut-scenes, fighting is boring, graphics are not so good, music isDon't buy this game. Controls sucks long time, scenario is boring, too much cut-scenes, fighting is boring, graphics are not so good, music is boring, generally it is a mix up of dmc, with prince of persia, written by a 10 years old boy. Sure it is a Japanese hack n slash, but from the worst ever. Expand

See all 119 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013 Image
    Published: January 15, 2013
    Take a look at nearly four dozen of the coming year's most-anticipated games, from returning favorites such as BioShock Infinite and Grand Theft Auto V to new titles like The Last of Us and Watch Dogs.