Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 13 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2755 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Soviet invasion of Afghanistan has brought a new edge to the Cold War, and in 1984, a one-eyed man with a prosthetic arm appears in the country. Those who know him call him Snake; the legendary mercenary who was once swept from the stage of history and left in a coma by American privateThe Soviet invasion of Afghanistan has brought a new edge to the Cold War, and in 1984, a one-eyed man with a prosthetic arm appears in the country. Those who know him call him Snake; the legendary mercenary who was once swept from the stage of history and left in a coma by American private intelligence network Cipher. Snake is accompanied by Ocelot, an old friend who saved him from attack when he finally awoke.

    Now, Snake's former partner Kazuhira Miller is being held by the Soviet forces in Afghanistan. Snake must undertake a solo mission to rescue Miller and prove to the world that the legendary mercenary is not dead and gone. That first step will lead to a path of vengeance against the very Cipher that slaughtered so many of Snake's men, and to a battle that will embroil the whole world...

    What started in Ground Zeroes must finish with "V".
    Expand

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
E3 2014: Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain Director's Cut Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Sep 8, 2015
    100
    I can’t believe the amount of content squeezed into this beautiful created masterpiece.
  2. Sep 12, 2015
    100
    Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain is the best playing entry in the series, and while it’s not going to wrap up the entire story in a neat little bow, it’s a technical marvel that works beautifully as a playground for espionage.
  3. Sep 17, 2015
    100
    Metal Gear Solid V is the best playing game in the series by a long shot. You choose where and how to do missions, and if sneaking isn't your thing that's fine too. The base-building is a good addition, and ties into the story and world superbly. The story is a slow burn, but goes out with a bang.
  4. Sep 3, 2015
    92
    MGS5 is an enormous open-world adventure, a monster of a game that can entertain for months.
  5. PC PowerPlay
    Sep 30, 2015
    90
    It might not be the best Metal Gear Solid game ever released, but it's certainly the bravest and most interesting. [Oct 2015, p.53]
  6. Sep 16, 2015
    90
    Flawed in many, many ways, but none of those ways impact a glorious, emergent, open-world experience.
  7. Oct 8, 2015
    77
    Metal Gear Solid V is amazing at times, and I enjoyed playing it, but there are so many embarrassing blunders and contradictions. Rich tactical gameplay vs an almost dead world. Fun HQ management and interesting characters vs an unfinished narrative and boring side quests. In some regards, this is a huge step back from previous Metal Gear games.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 61 out of 365
  1. Feb 9, 2018
    10
    Pro. awesome game play and creativity bring the game to the top level.

    Con. He broke with Konami leading to second half of the game
    Pro. awesome game play and creativity bring the game to the top level.

    Con. He broke with Konami leading to second half of the game recycling the same content. In my opinion is fine
    Expand
  2. Nov 9, 2015
    10
    Amazing Game, not the best MG, but a really good Game. The new patches are awesome. I was so exicted and finally its out. Story is OK,Amazing Game, not the best MG, but a really good Game. The new patches are awesome. I was so exicted and finally its out. Story is OK, Graphics are awesome, Gameplay is 10/10 and the weapon arsenal is amazing. The Mutliplayer is cool too, makes a lot of fun. The only critic is that the multiplayer uses P2P. So, sometimes the game closed if the Host leaves the Game, but its not a big problem. It's a good game. 10/10. Hope to see more, hope that kojima or s.o.e will make a new MG in the next years, it would be really cool Expand
  3. Sep 1, 2015
    10
    I can say without a doubt that MGSV is the GOTY,maybe fallout4 can beat it.
    They missions are fun and well designed.Open world gameplay fit
    I can say without a doubt that MGSV is the GOTY,maybe fallout4 can beat it.
    They missions are fun and well designed.Open world gameplay fit well with MGS style.
    The cutscenes are epic as **** the characters are deep and interesting.Troy baker done a damn voice job again,Mother base let you keep your own crew to develop weapon or go on missions.The enemy AI is pretty smart.They know how to find you and eliminate you.There is so much fun messing around in the battlefield and mother base.The whole game is just addictive that will makes you don't want to leave you computer for weeks.
    Still exploring the game,but in my scale this game is already the best game I played this year,even better than Witcher3(I cannot believe).
    Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2015
    8
    I have not played the previoius MGS games and didn't have that much expectations. However, at first I was pleasantly surprised of how well theI have not played the previoius MGS games and didn't have that much expectations. However, at first I was pleasantly surprised of how well the game ran on my laptop and how sweet everything looked. The story was a bit strange for me (perhaps because of my limited history in the MGS universe) but still got me hooked. Gameplay involves lots of sneaking around and you are pretty free in regards to how you attack different objectives. Unfortunately after around 10-15 missions I discovered that it is pretty much rinse and repeat - almost the same structure/missions over and over again. Still a great game but not a 10 in my book. Expand
  5. Sep 18, 2015
    7
    Now to preface the whole review - I have never played any MGS game. I just saw stellar reviews and bought the game on impulse. I do not regretNow to preface the whole review - I have never played any MGS game. I just saw stellar reviews and bought the game on impulse. I do not regret the buy, but I have to say that my expectations definitely were not met. Also to note - I have around 25 hours clocked in the game, so I cannot really comment on late-game stuff. But I think I can still reasonably evaluate the game experience

    + Graphics, scenery and everything is top notch.
    + Combat system and movement is a little bit clunky, but it is not terrible
    + The story I actually do not mind that much. There are some weird things going on, but I get the gist of it. You were once glorious private army leader who fell hard due to some powerful enemies, you are now trying to rebuild and have your vengeance along the way. All in all I think the starting story sequence in the hospital was well done and a really well done
    + Base management is a plus. It fits with the whole rebuilding theme and I like it. I think it is done as well as it could given it is a console port

    Now unfortunately we get to the first and big minus: sandbox mode. At least for me it is very repetitive and boring. Sneak into the guard post/base/village, put everyone to sleep by tranquilizer/takedowns, chute everybody and everything out and rinse/repeat. I am not that far into the game and I cleared all the villages/guard posts several times over. I know where the guards are, I know the layout of everything by heart. Now you get something new every now and then (blow up some tanks and such), but it is not enough.

    Now I have to say that I am a little bit spoiled by having over 100 hours of Witcher 3 played. But the comparisons are not misplaced. While witcher lacks basebuilding concept, it gets everything else right. The world is large but also alive. You get separate story-lines that do not feel repetitive. You get a change in scenery (caves, open world, city streets even water) - in MGS it is same old.

    I am in a state where I still thing MGS is a good game but I now play it in bursts - log in, do one or two missions for hour or so, get fed up with doing same stuff, log out and go play other games. The game is not compelling for me, it lacks the element where you are curious what is over there or where this quest leads.

    If there is any comparison, I would say MGS V feels like FPS version of "Mount and Blade", only without Mods that freshen the game up and with less compelling combat (at least for me).

    PS:

    - Also a minor point, what the hell is this business with the crate? I can totally eat floating girl-ghost appearing from nowhere and hurling large boulders around with her mind. I can enjoy indestructible guy set on fire going around and killing everyone or packs of some cyber soldiers pursuing me in Afghanistan. I can even eat sending T-72s on a parachute to stratosphere while listening to Phil Collings from my walkman. But I refuse to go around in hidden in a crate lunging attacks on unsuspecting russian soldiers. It totally breaks my suspension of disbelief (fortunatelly I don't have to use it).
    Expand
  6. Oct 21, 2017
    6
    Hideo Kojima always made the game worthy of attention, games that were truly art. We've learned that he can't do a checkpoint or base. MetalHideo Kojima always made the game worthy of attention, games that were truly art. We've learned that he can't do a checkpoint or base. Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain was waiting. The more she appeared not only on the console from Sony. The prequel Ground Zeroes gave a good seed. We've been getting a typical representative games for srubaniya money on the popularity of the franchise. Our expectations, scandal Kojima with Konami resulted in an overestimation of both users and the press.

    Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain begins with a beautiful prologue. Hideo kojima is directing great videos. All the movies in the game is executed perfectly. After the prologue the expectations of the user on top, but then starts grindilka long hours in 100 (it at whom as). After a brilliant prologue and maybe the first mission to rescue Miller, begins an aimless romp in the sandbox. Many pointless and uninteresting additional missions diluted the plot. But the story missions sometimes are neither setting nor plot development. Rollers we all will indulge rarely. Buying this game you agree not to plot an adventure, not to play the movie with long rollers, and at long romp in the open world. The situation worsens more and that this open world (Afghanistan and Africa) completely empty and completely hostile. There is nothing but empty spaces and enemy bases.

    The game is really good. This is the best of STEL action in an open world! You have many opportunities to perform tasks. It is a pity that if you go through the game quietly, the arsenate will be only a tranquiliser gun. The lethal Arsenal of weapons is very extensive. Various gadgets are also set. With them, the game becomes infinitely replayable sandbox. Also, you have 4 partners: horse, cute dog, dog, d-walker, and sexy sniper Quiet. Each of the companions useful in their own way: with the horse's help you'll overcome the game miles, the dog will mark enemies and kill them, d-walker is generally a mini tank, a Quiet is to eliminate targets from afar.

    Those who will play Phantom Pain for the sake of the plot and stunning commercials will be disappointed. This game is about gameplay. Despite the fact that the story missions in the game a lot (50 pieces), but most can be written in extra, since there won't be anything interesting. They themselves do a few story missions are really good and are accompanied by stunning videos. But those missions are few (not more than 15, I think). Most of the story details we learn by listening to tapes, which is too much.

    In addition to performing the repetitive missions in the open world, we will equip our database (from people to animals). It's not very exciting, and extremely repetativly process.

    Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain, unfortunately, does not deserve all these great ratings and positive reviews. This is the best prohodnyak. Go and forget. If you want to re-again, you would have to do all of these monotonous effects, to get to the plot. The game is like this not because of Kojima. It is already clear that Konami just welded on the famous brand. Kojima can understand. It is impossible to force to make a good creative product. And the story he had to suck from a finger, so at least something was. However, Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain remains the best stealth action game in an open world. If you want to perform monotonous missions and play with the local sandbox, the game for you. Once the game you need to enjoy rare clips and great replayability sandbox.
    Expand
  7. Feb 26, 2016
    0
    This is the worst game I bought . Too bad the money spent. Strongly recommend to buy , especially if you have not played before, in thisThis is the worst game I bought . Too bad the money spent. Strongly recommend to buy , especially if you have not played before, in this series of games. Expand

See all 365 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2015

    The Best Videogames of 2015 Image
    Published: December 21, 2015
    We reveal the best and worst games for each platform in 2015.
  2. The 20 Best PC Games of 2015

    The 20 Best PC Games of 2015 Image
    Published: December 21, 2015
    We reveal the 20 highest-scoring computer games released in 2015.