Metal Gear Survive Image
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
1.2

Overwhelming dislike- based on 265 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Metal Gear Survive picks up from the ending of METAL GEAR SOLID V: GROUND ZEROES, to an alternate timeline caused by unexplained wormholes forming in the sky.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Metal Gear Survive - Official Single Player Gameplay Commentary Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 16
  2. Negative: 4 out of 16
  1. Mar 5, 2018
    70
    For all the fervent hatred of Konami that forms the current gaming-hate-bandwagon of choice, based on its own merits, Metal Gear Survive isn’t a terrible game. It’s not a great one for sure, and certainly not near the pedigree we expect from a Metal Gear product, but it’s a serviceable enough survival game that benefits greatly from layering in a few of The Phantom Pain’s systems. It won’t scratch that same itch of sneaky badassery that has made Snake a household name, and it’s almost certainly not worth the full $40 / £35 asking price, but there’s definitely fun to be had here even if it doesn’t come close to troubling the series’ heights.
  2. Apr 3, 2018
    64
    The concept of Metal Gear Survive works, but some annoying mechanics and the soullessness diminish the fun.
  3. Mar 1, 2018
    60
    The single player, oddly, is the best part of Metal Gear Survive. I say “oddly” because it’s billed as a co-op game primarily. But the online multiplayer is just sort of “Horde Mode”, and we’ve all done that again and again for a decade now.
  4. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Sep 13, 2018
    60
    Survive rather than a full-featured Metal Gear reminds of a fanfiction, which wants to honour the series. Unfortunately, it gets repetitive very quickly and certainly does not take the right example from its predecessors. [Issue#284]
  5. Mar 5, 2018
    55
    All of the issues that I’ve outlined with Metal Gear Survive essentially boil down to one thing: the vast majority of the game feels boring. It takes quite a long time for certain aspects of the game to stop feeling tedious, and its very easy to feel discouraged from playing altogether as it takes so long for the game to feel like its actually going somewhere. If you can be bothered to sit through hours of hunting, completing repetitive missions and accumulating skill points at a painfully slow rate, you’ll eventually feel comfortable enough to focus on the crazy story. If exploration and survival is your cup of tea, this one may be for you. If not, this is not worth your time.
  6. CD-Action
    May 16, 2018
    40
    Metal Gear Survive’s underlying concept is not bad and the game has a couple of good moments, but I can’t recommend it to anyone. It’s best to steer clear of it. [04/2018, p.54]
  7. Mar 29, 2018
    39
    Using The Phantom Pain’s engine, its models, animations and other assets, Metal Gear Survive looks like a shoddy fan modification.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 48
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 48
  3. Negative: 41 out of 48
  1. Feb 22, 2018
    10
    It's a Metal Gear spin-off, and it's surprisingly good from my experiences up to this point. If you are into a somewhat demanding survivalIt's a Metal Gear spin-off, and it's surprisingly good from my experiences up to this point. If you are into a somewhat demanding survival experience with a Metal Gear base to it, this is for you. It's a fun game on it's own. Will that change the fact many have a vendetta against the game? Nah. Fun co-op though, too. Expand
  2. Apr 6, 2018
    8
    Well well well. I wish Konami did not send Kojima away, I wish they respected his progress and what he has done for the gaming world. I wishWell well well. I wish Konami did not send Kojima away, I wish they respected his progress and what he has done for the gaming world. I wish they supported him all the way. Metal Gear series is his biggest achievement everyone admired and now here we are playing Metal Gear survive with such heavy feelings. All things aside if you play this game just to have a different experience you might enjoy it a lot like me. If you are a working person who doesn't have a lot of time to kill a single monster for hours(like monster hunter), and if you are a person who like survival horror games, both online co-op and single player campaign is really upbeat and fun, and if you are looking for a new hype just for $39 instead of $59, I totally recommend this game. Fox engine used in this game is amazing, killing zombies with variety of ways feels awesome, game mechanics work perfect and feels like you are actually hitting/stabbing the zombie literally. Yes it is repetitive, yes first few hours is really hard to survive, yes it has flaws such as having very few kind of enemies, yes having an extra save slot shouldn't cost that much game points, yes online co-op needs to have more new maps, and the off game screen interfaces(crafting items screen, healing yourself) are not easy to navigate. But in the end I play this game everyday for half an hour or so, sometimes co-op sometimes continuing the story and it still entertains me a lot since I got it a month ago. Expand
  3. Mar 11, 2018
    1
    Poor voice acting, weakly developed characters. Zombie sprites look kind of silly with red glowing crystal. resources are spread too thin.Poor voice acting, weakly developed characters. Zombie sprites look kind of silly with red glowing crystal. resources are spread too thin. lots of farming, poor tutorials and not worth the price. missing substance. The game doesn't go full screen on my ultra wide monitor either (MGS5 did) Expand
  4. Sep 22, 2018
    0
    {PL} "metal gear survive? More like metal gear is trying to survive"
    Metal gear survive to połączenie dwóch niepasujących do siebie rzeczy
    {PL} "metal gear survive? More like metal gear is trying to survive"
    Metal gear survive to połączenie dwóch niepasujących do siebie rzeczy Serii metal gear i zombie gra miała potencjał ale wyszła super źle. Cytuja mibarka "spalić" Metal gear bez kojimy to jak superman bez supermana. 0/10 ~ Debiuu
    Expand
  5. Mar 29, 2018
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 30$ and you need to pay 10 more for a f==king save slot.Konami , you suck since Kojima left Expand
  6. Feb 23, 2018
    0
    All I can say about this "videogame" is that you'll have to pay another 10$ if you want to create 2 simultaneous characters, so you're payingAll I can say about this "videogame" is that you'll have to pay another 10$ if you want to create 2 simultaneous characters, so you're paying for the game to acces your HDD. GG. Expand
  7. Feb 23, 2018
    0
    Played the beta and little under 2 hrs of the released game.
    It is extremely lazy. The map is just about identical to MGS V with tons of
    Played the beta and little under 2 hrs of the released game.
    It is extremely lazy. The map is just about identical to MGS V with tons of reused assets and extremely boring, stupid zombies(seriously they have some of the worst AI I've seen).

    I didn't really expect much more than this, but I expected just about nothing and was still let down further. MGS is dead.
    Expand

See all 48 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2018 Videogame Preview: PC Games

    2018 Videogame Preview: PC Games Image
    Published: January 22, 2018
    Find details on 40 of the most-anticipated PC games scheduled for release in 2018.