Metro 2033 Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1992 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in the shattered subway of a post apocalyptic Moscow, Metro 2033 is a story of intensive underground survival where the fate of mankind rests in your hands. In 2013 the world was devastated by an apocalyptic event, annihilating almost all mankind and turning the earth’s surface into aSet in the shattered subway of a post apocalyptic Moscow, Metro 2033 is a story of intensive underground survival where the fate of mankind rests in your hands. In 2013 the world was devastated by an apocalyptic event, annihilating almost all mankind and turning the earth’s surface into a poisonous wasteland. A handful of survivors took refuge in the depths of the Moscow underground, and human civilization entered a new Dark Age. The year is 2033. An entire generation has been born and raised underground, and their besieged Metro Station-Cities struggle for survival, with each other, and the mutant horrors that await outside. You are Artyom, born in the last days before the fire, but raised Underground. Having never ventured beyond your Metro Station-City limits, one fateful event sparks a desperate mission to the heart of the Metro system, to warn the remnants of mankind of a terrible impending threat. Your journey takes you from the forgotten catacombs beneath the subway to the desolate wastelands above, where your actions will determine the fate of mankind. [THQ] Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Metro 2033 - Xbox LIVE Sale Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Regardless of how the story ends the experience itself is worth the price of admission.
  2. Despite those nitpicks and a couple frustrating late-game sections, Metro 2033's greatest success is the consistency of its pacing. You're constantly encountering new factions, discovering interesting new locations, or being tasked to do something you haven't done before.
  3. Metro 2033 is like the eastern European Half-Life – a must for fans of post-apocalyptic settings, narrative shooters, survival horror, or any combination thereof.
  4. In reality, this a good game, with a good storyline, excellent graphics, great moments in the artistic level, and an excellent environment.
  5. Metro 2033 is a dark journey saturated with an enthralling atmosphere that will reward intrepid adventurers.
  6. Metro 2033 has a lot going for it, but it has a cruel streak that I both dread and admire. It kept me playing to find out what happened next, but it was always a tug-of-war between my curiosity about the plot and my desire to keep getting brutalized by unforgiving game design.
  7. 58
    Metro 2033's A.I. is terribly stupid and there's not enough variety in the weapons; yet despite all that it's still a compelling game to play.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 351
  1. PabloN
    Mar 24, 2010
    10
    Easily one of the best games of the year. HORRIBLY under-rated! A 58 from 1UP? Because of some minor issues..... This game is the most Easily one of the best games of the year. HORRIBLY under-rated! A 58 from 1UP? Because of some minor issues..... This game is the most atmospheric and immersive shooter I have ever played. Maybe the most atmospheric game, period. This is like another Bioshock or actually more like Half-Life 2 to me, I could see myself playing through this game multiple times. It is a masterpiece really, it is a game about atmosphere and story and I personally found no issues with the ballistics. Shooting was fun, the game is challenging, and has a very, very good story (based of the book of the same name.) Best graphics of any game released. Yes, better than Crysis, in it's full glory with DX11 it looks spectacular. The game just has this authentic, realistic feeling and the graphics just add a whole nother layer onto the game. I REALLY felt like I was there in this world, extremely compelling. Must play! 10/10 Will be a cult-hit, possible the most under-rated game of the year. Expand
  2. Feb 9, 2012
    10
    I think this is one of the best story lines that I've ever played. At first the graphics seemed to be really rough on my video card. The gameI think this is one of the best story lines that I've ever played. At first the graphics seemed to be really rough on my video card. The game just doesn't run smooth on my video card on some cut scenes. However, i cannot take away the fact that the graphics are just astonishing. There is so much detail in every mission, not to mention the character detail is outstanding. Now it is time to explain the bad parts of the game. First of all, the AI is incredibly difficult on any difficulty higher than "normal". I played on "Ranger Easy" the first few chapters. I found it very dissapointing the AI could fire 3 rounds into my cover and once i killed them, they only had 1-5 bullets. I later switched to easy because of the difficulties of completing one of the missions and found the game to still be a bit challenging, but easy enough to entertain me. I did not like the fact that the AI on harder difficulties could fire "Through my cover". I also found it amusing that i could empty a mag point blank into a bot and them get right back up and hit me with a few bullets to end my mission. That problem could be changed by lowering the difficulty though. The one thing that made me really upset to see is the ending to such a great story line go up in flames. This had to have been the worst ending a game could have. I cannot ruin it for people without the game, but it is rather disappointing. I'll also add that the levels are completely linear. Now, this is not a big issue because the game still sucked you right in. I hardly even noticed. I wish they could have added many more rooms/lockers that you could check for collectibles and pick-ups for. This is me critiquing, so it is a rather harsh review. To sum this game up, it is one of the best games I've ever played. I got it for $4.99 on Steam Sale. It is $19.99 on Steam currently. I think it is definitely worth $19.99. If i might also add: To the people who gave it 1/10 for a rating, most of your explanations are utterly stupid and there should be no reason you are allowed to bring the score of this game down. I found the one that said "I paid $5 for this game and after 5 minutes i wanted my money back" very entertaining. Any gamer knows you cannot judge a game in the first 5 minutes, especially this one since it builds up rather slow. The one that mentioned that this game was obviously made for consoles and gave it one star. I agree, they did make it a console game, but they did a fantastic job turning it into a PC game. Expand
  3. PerusA.
    Apr 4, 2010
    9
    After 25 years of gaming this has to be one of 5 top FPS's I have ever played.Those complaining about the AI probably need to stick with After 25 years of gaming this has to be one of 5 top FPS's I have ever played.Those complaining about the AI probably need to stick with Multiplayer.I found all areas of the game facinating.Especially if you play all the stealth scenarios as combat.Turn it on harcore and try that for a while with no silenced weapons or knives.Love the graphics,since I play everything at 1024by 768 I couldn't care less about how smooth the water looks.Love the story and the tight spaces,makes the game really creepy at times.I would compare this one to the original F.E.A.R. in ambience.Had a blast and going to play through a few more times to experiment with weapon sets.Kudo to the dev's. Expand
  4. Dec 5, 2014
    8
    Love and Hate would be best summary to describe this game.

    While the graphics were very advanced for the release date, the story felt very
    Love and Hate would be best summary to describe this game.

    While the graphics were very advanced for the release date, the story felt very excellent and unnerving at times, until you got deeper in the game and realized that when you got near the end you didn't have enough bullets or health to reach the next check point, which was very frustrating and massive mistake from the developer.
    All in all Gameplay and Graphics deserve to give the gave an 8.5 not quite a 9.
    Expand
  5. Jul 7, 2013
    8
    Story The story is based on the russian best-seller Metro 2033 (you might see that book in the game's decors), and from what i read ofStory The story is based on the russian best-seller Metro 2033 (you might see that book in the game's decors), and from what i read of resumes, it's a kinda good adaptation of it.

    Also, the story is not like some stories where it's "we killed the monsters, they were 150 and we 5 but it's ok, nobody died", already at the start there are guys who die as example when Artyom starts his travel, they're 4 in the trolley, only 3 will reach the destination. And we see many characters and each of them having a certain personnality, something you don't always see in games.

    Gameplay You play the game as another FPS, with guns, knive, etc... But that's not all, you also have some interactive moments where you need to press fast a key to do some actions for example, mostly saving yourself. Said like this, it looks a bit like the other FPS, but it's not. It's not always easy to survive in the future You always need Gas Masks on you if you go to the surface or in radioactive areas, munitions are something you'll lack (especially in Ranger difficulties) if you don't aim for heads, you hesitate between using normal bullets or military ones, more efficace but used as money in the metro, you should always look for munitions or mask filters on corpses or secret caches. But thanksfully, you're not often alone, there are characters that helps you and fight with you in battle. Also, it's not only killing others, as there are different ways to finish some missions, such as remaining in shadows. For the Difficulty, it's not too easy but not that hard (except in Ranger Hardcore ^^") and the two ranger difficulties Ranger Easy and Ranger Hardcore offer a new way to play the game Forget your green weapon's viewfinder in the middle of the screen and ATH, forget the abundant munitions and gas filters, and good luck with what remains ;)
    But there's a little problem about the Gameplay, when you have finished the game, except trying again in Ranger difficulties, you don't have anything to do, as there's no multiplayer or cooperative mode, what could have been really nice, surviving with one or more friends against the mutants and bad guys.

    Graphics The graphics are really impressive. No problem with that imo. With those graphics, it's kinda like if you were in the game, especially when you play with a 1920*1080 screen and graphics options to the maximum (and that you overload your computer power like this).
    Just, be sure that your PC is decent before playing it or reduce a bit the graphics options.

    Conclusion :

    A cheap game with really nice graphics with a nice story and a good difficulty. Also, it includes a good way to play the game differently and that's really nice (even if it's hard).
    The only problem is the lack of a Cooperation/Multiplayer mode.
    So, a good game that i recommend you to buy.

    Rating 4/5
    Expand
  6. Jun 8, 2022
    7
    Metro 2033 is an atmospheric treat that is unfortunately plagued with technical issues and embarrassingly poor sound designs.
  7. Feb 15, 2020
    0
    Trash visuals, last gen level of graphics, horrible character models and textures. Heck, MGS4 from 2008 on PS3 looks and plays better thanTrash visuals, last gen level of graphics, horrible character models and textures. Heck, MGS4 from 2008 on PS3 looks and plays better than this game. Combat is clunky as hell. This game isn't tough. It's just frustrating due to the deliberately horrible checkpointing which pushes you back to the start of the level after each death, long load times and congested environments which makes each encounter unfair for the player.

    If this game had proper frequent checkpointing and no stamina system then it would be not difficult at all. These games only have artificial difficulty. Actual challenging games have smart enemy A.I.
    Those games are challenging but still fair not like this.

    There is no story either and no "lore" does not count as story. Remove all the cutscenes and dialogue from Mass Effect and just leave the lore there and then tell me what the story actually is and not just your "interpretation" of it. It's a game with a bunch of levels, where you kill monsters with no explanation for anything even after the ending. It's the most archaic type of mainstream game I have seen this generation.
    Expand

See all 351 User Reviews

Trailers