Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 53 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 53
  2. Negative: 1 out of 53
  1. 30
    Metro Exodus is a mishmash of borrowed ideas that falls short of creating a worthy sequel, while holding tight to the previous mistakes of the series.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Feb 13, 2019
    If you've ever posted on a comment thread about the good ol' days of offline first-person shooters, this is a must-buy. For anyone else, this mostly polished FPS will likely confirm your Eurojank bias—whichever way that bias goes.
  2. Feb 18, 2019
    The result is a game that, while achingly beautiful to look at, seems to be creaking at the seams. Bigger levels don’t mean richer or more interesting ones, and the expansion results in a game that feels more empty, rather than one that feels more epic in scope. The grass is always greener, and this exodus to the surface proves it. Let us go back underground already.
  3. Feb 20, 2019
    It cares. It cares so much. It cares about its detailed environments and mechanics, even when they misfire. It cares about its characters, even though there are too many of them. It cares about its central message of understanding, rather than vilifying, each faction you come into conflict with, even though this message is attached to a ho-hum plot.
  4. Feb 14, 2019
    There have always been shades of gray in the Metro franchise, but until now the darker shades dominated its emotional and moral landscapes. Metro Exodus is more of an overcast spring afternoon. On my journey aboard the Aurora, I encounter pockets of humanity that have already lost hope. But on this train, beside my friends and family, there’s still hope yet.
  5. Regardless of its limitations, Exodus still deserves its place among its underground comrades. In many ways it’s better, and I’m very glad they didn’t just repeat the same subterranean journey again. And yet, for the studio, this installment might also turn out to be a fabulous curse. Because if there are any further shooters set in the Metroverse, they’ll won’t be able to return to a life of tunnel vision. Not when we’ve seen Metro is capable of so much more.
  6. Feb 16, 2019
    It saddens me to say that I had no fun whatsoever playing Metro Exodus, and as a Metro fan who was seriously looking forward to this, it breaks my heart...I've not had a single moment of fun here.
  7. Feb 13, 2019
    A brilliant sequel that wrestles control away a little too often.
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 3022 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Feb 15, 2019
    10
    first good point it's on Epic Games so more rewarding for the devs
    AMAZING graphics
    great story
    definitely recommend may be the game of the year
  2. Feb 15, 2019
    4
    Metro: Exodus is a story driven shooter that has lost what made previous Metro games unique and now feels like a generic semi-open worldMetro: Exodus is a story driven shooter that has lost what made previous Metro games unique and now feels like a generic semi-open world shooter. Sure, the previous Metro games were linear shooters, but they put you in tight, claustrophobic quarters that had a certain atmosphere to them that Exodus can't seem to match in it's more expansive settings. The story is OK, but generally doesn't feel up to par with other metro games; as noted above, the atmosphere that made previous entrants feel special is missing. Exodus feels poorly optimized for PC but generally runs well on my admittedly beefy gaming PC, however, I've already encountered a game breaking save file bug that's forced me to restart from square one. I also feel like it's worth noting the only reason I have the game is because I pre-ordered it on Steam before it was pulled, If I hadn't already payed for the game I wouldn't be playing it because I don't want to support the fragmentation of the PC market with timed exclusives and I simply can't support the way Deep Silver is doing business with Epic Games.

    tl;dr: Overall, while not a bad game, it's not worth the current $50/$60 price tag. You would be far better served waiting for it to come back to steam and pick it up with it's DLC on a steep discount if you're a PC gamer. I would also suggest waiting or abstaining if you can to send a message to Deep Silver that the PC market won't stand for the sort of behavior that gets a pass in the console gaming world, there are plenty of games out from other publishers that respect their customers.
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 15, 2019
    3
    I really want to like this game. I loved Last Light, but I feel like this game is ultimately a step down for me. The game runs terribly, evenI really want to like this game. I loved Last Light, but I feel like this game is ultimately a step down for me. The game runs terribly, even on a decent rig, and in the amount of time i've played, i've encountered several game breaking bugs. I don't even care about the epic store, but the state this game launched in is terrible! Full Review »