Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 53 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 53
  2. Negative: 1 out of 53
  1. Feb 14, 2019
    95
    Gorgeous, vast, hugely atmospheric and full of undefeated soul. A Molotov cocktail of emotional narrative and explosive thrills, this is 2019's first serious Game of the Year contender.
  2. Feb 13, 2019
    95
    Metro Exodus is without a doubt a fantastic single-player story-driven shooter. An experience that lives up to its ambition and promise, offering challenge and surprise in equal measure.
  3. Feb 13, 2019
    93
    Metro Exodus is a masterful execution of a dying breed of video game: the measured, finely tuned, linear single player action game. From start to finish it’s an amazing thrill ride that rarely takes a moment to catch its breath and it lacks the bloated filler that plague so many other games these days. Instead, Metro Exodus is all meat from head to toe and it’s well worth the time.
  4. Feb 13, 2019
    92
    It is not always perfect, but overall we are facing the best story driven FPS in recent years, crafted with love, much more freedom but still impressive in its narrative, graphical and playable level of detail.
  5. Mar 6, 2019
    90
    Metro Exodus abandons the cramped corridors of the Moscow subway for wide-open expanses of Russian countryside, but Artyom's journey is still as bleak as ever—and as janky, though that should come as no surprise.
  6. Mar 4, 2019
    90
    Quite simply, Metro Exodus is the perfect way to round off this trilogy, and a testament to the powerful evolution that a gaming franchise can make. The open world offers a whole new perspective from which to enjoy Artom's tale. Whilst there are some niggly issues with AI, and maybe an overuse of bespoke animations, the fact remains that it is hard to think of a better example of how to design a single-player survival adventure. Visually stunning and packed with audio detail, this is something that should be experienced by any PC gamer.
  7. Feb 25, 2019
    90
    In my opinion Exodus is quite easily the best Metro game ever made — with the combination of huge explorable areas, each with unique post-apocalyptic charm, and a wonderful tactility, expressed in the way you interact with the world and in the crafting system. The story, though at first seems somewhat silly, adapts, just as the characters following the narrative do. Metro in the past for me felt like it was never reaching its true potential, too much like a corridor shooter but never really a *true* survival game. But with this installment, the series has truly spread it’s wings. Metro shmetro, I hope they never go back.
  8. Feb 18, 2019
    90
    It's a S.T.A.L.K.E.R.-type game done right — a perfect combination of a desolate world, polished gameplay, top-notch visuals and a thrilling story.
  9. Feb 13, 2019
    90
    Metro Exodus is a departure from the cookie-cutter shooters, focusing on a gripping single-player narrative and a more cautious pace than the adrenaline fueled, multiplayer-focused titles bloating the genre. Every character is fully fleshed out, the stealth and survival mechanics are a delight for careful, completionist gamers, and the setting is as varied and detailed a post-apocalyptic playground as you’re going to find.
  10. Feb 13, 2019
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.
  11. Feb 13, 2019
    90
    Metro Exodus is an incredibly atmospheric, engaging and compelling shooter that places an onus on the player to think on their feet, thanks to stringent limitations on ammo, supplies and the resources required to make more.
  12. Feb 13, 2019
    90
    A first-person survival shooter that's as engrossing as it is unnerving, Metro Exodus tells a powerfully human story in a world that's equal parts style and substance.
  13. Feb 13, 2019
    90
    Metro Exodus is a masterpiece. Only the silence of the main character is a major problem. The game has breathtaking artistic direction and visual quality. The staging is exceptional, it allows one to drawn in abyss deep characters. It is tough to imagine a better adaptation for the novel of Glukhoovsky.
  14. Feb 13, 2019
    88
    Metro: Exodus is a good example of how a series can left behind some of its core ideas and still deliver a well-defined experience for the players that played the previous games. With great pace and outstanding atmospheric details, 4A Games latest production will fill the nuclear gap left by the previous leader of the post apocalyptic genre.
  15. Feb 16, 2019
    87
    Metro Exodus makes great progress in terms of open-world and battle system. And of course, it offers an outstandingly thrilling story just like its prequels.
  16. Feb 15, 2019
    86
    Metro Exodus is a more than worthy successor to Last Light, successfully introducing open levels to break up the more linear sequences, while also retaining the unique look, feel and incredible atmosphere that made the previous games so memorable.
  17. Feb 14, 2019
    86
    Metro Exodus is the best game in the series and one of the best shooters you'll be able to play this year. We have never seen such an atmosphere. They are so many and so different... Just overwhelming. A last an epic ride with Metro's soul, even in the new spaces. It only fails in the AI and in certain aspects of the open world, which is empty and simple.
  18. Feb 22, 2019
    85
    The conclusion to Artyom’s journey has the best gameplay and most compelling story of the series, on top of incredible visual and audio presentation. It retains the series’ simplistic stealth system and falters with control, writing and dialogue issues, but even so, Metro Exodus is an odyssey worth undertaking.
  19. Feb 17, 2019
    85
    Metro Exodus falls easily into the "rough around the edges" category. Yet all of its issues are worth dealing with to experience the incredible amount of effort that goes into its world building. It does such an effective job of evoking fear and anxiety just while walking around. The shortcomings sometimes feel as though Metro Exodus is reaching beyond its own capabilities, but that same ambition is also what ultimately makes it such a powerful journey.
  20. Feb 14, 2019
    85
    4A Games have rekindled my love for the world that was left behind. A post-apocalyptic journey out of darkness with a uniquely eastern European accent. Equally gorgeous and grotesque Metro Exodus is sure to please newcomers and the returning faithful alike. I just wish the road was a little smoother and with fewer bugs skittering about.
  21. Feb 14, 2019
    85
    Metro: Exodus requires patience during the long cut-scenes and way too extensive dialogues, but it's worth it. The new Metro offers unique, superb gameplay full of amazing locations and a magnificent atmosphere. Don't wait for Half-Life 3 - in my opinion, you can get the same amount of fun today.
  22. Feb 13, 2019
    85
    Metro Exodus represents an evolution for the series and yet remains faithful to its roots and tells another great story to remember.
  23. Feb 13, 2019
    85
    Oot only an excellent shooter, characterized by a unique and inimitable gunplay, but it is also one of the last bastions of FPS dedicated to single player, still able to put the player at the center of the narrative.
  24. Feb 13, 2019
    85
    While its transition to a semi-open-world structure may make for a radical change from what fans may expect from the series’ third installment, Metro Exodus expands on what has made the series so unique from anything else with a compelling mix of action, stealth, survival, and horror. Much like how the Aurora has brought Artyom and his companions to new, uncharted territories, Metro Exodus is bringing the series into a new direction that seems to have so many possibilities.
  25. Feb 13, 2019
    85
    Despite it’s freeroam concept and daylight environments, Metro Exodus is a truly dark videogame and a worthy addition to the Metro series.
  26. Feb 13, 2019
    85
    Metro Exodus brings its survival horror to the surface without sacrificing any of the series’ signature tension.
  27. Feb 13, 2019
    85
    Metro Exodus takes a different approach than previous installments in the Metro-franchise. The game feels more like STALKER and that's a good thing. The only question is how much of the old Metro-soul remains. A great experience, but a different Metro.
  28. Feb 13, 2019
    84
    Exodus is the most complete entry of the franchise. It’s imperfectly perfect, mature and has a fantastic narrative that keeps us engaged from beginning to end.
  29. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Apr 4, 2019
    80
    Metro Exodus is a funny, visually stunning shooter with a diverse environment and opponents and a great atmosphere. [Issue#293]
  30. Mar 4, 2019
    80
    As a sequel, Metro Exodus pulls ahead of the rest of the franchise in a big way by leaving the very metro itself behind. Aesthetically, the place is a joy to explore from beginning to end, and there’s enough variation to keep things feeling fresh. Dig down deep and it’s another Metro with a new skin, but it’s a damned good one of those all the same.
  31. Feb 25, 2019
    80
    Metro Exodus is, in spite of its new surface setting, quite capable of creating a truly dense atmosphere. The story is both strange and simple at the same time, and it will play games with your very humanity. But beware: Exodus is perhaps too similar to its predecessors.
  32. Feb 16, 2019
    80
    Metro Exodus is best when it follows the classic Metro formula, painting the world with tension as you dive deeper into the darkness of the world. While the game does suffer with a bit of an identity crisis at times, at the end of it all, the tension and fear that is peppered throughout more than makes the journey worth the trouble as players get their first look at a much bigger world and the dangers that lie within it.
  33. Feb 15, 2019
    80
    It is at its best tends to be when you are on your own, exploring a beautifully drawn post-nuclear wilderness or creeping through the dark, lighter in hand. That Metro Exodus can do both with equally aplomb is arguably its greatest strength.
  34. Feb 15, 2019
    80
    Unfortunately, the open world segments, one of the biggest additions in Exodus, have the constant feel of fillers, devoid of any noteworthy substance. It is an aspect of the game that could benefit of significant overhaul or scrapped altogether in a potential (and very welcome) sequel. On the other hand, the shooting is extremely satisfying and the more linear levels that come from the main missions bring the high-quality design, variety and claustrophobic feeling that fans of the series come to expect. All in all it is a Metro experience albeit with some… fat that could be trimmed.
  35. Feb 13, 2019
    80
    In general, Metro: Exodus feels like a big investment, but one that pays great dividends. It’s challenging, but like most challenging games the struggle makes success that much sweeter. It requires close attention to detail, but every second you spend learning about the world makes the hours to come that much more fascinating.
  36. Feb 13, 2019
    80
    Metro Exodus is an absolutely solid, all-around experience. Although the change from indoor to outdoor scenery is striking at first, it allows the gameplay to breathe and feel different from previous titles. The signature makeshift guns are paired well with the new crafting ability, and their lack of stopping power makes firefights meaningful and stealth sections tense. There are still issues here and there, and the presentation could be tighter, but this is a worthy sequel to a game that has earned its cult status throughout the years.
  37. Feb 13, 2019
    80
    Although far from perfect, Metro Exodus provides a breathtaking game experience across a post-nuclear apocalyptic world.
  38. Feb 13, 2019
    80
    Metro Exodus definitely has its flaws and the new gameplay formula still requires a bit of rework. Nonetheless, the game offers a unique shooter experience as well as a satisfying conclusion to Artyom’s journey.
  39. Feb 13, 2019
    80
    Pulling its inspirations from across videogames, this radioactive romp is the strongest in the series, and one of the best post-apocalyptic games ever made.
  40. Feb 13, 2019
    80
    Metro Exodus is everything I wish the Fallout series would be. It’s a serious story that takes you on an epic journey across a continent and makes you feel like what you’re doing actually matters. It lasts just long enough (around 25-30 hours) to really blow it out of the park and leave you wanting more. 4A Games did a great job on Metro Exodus, but a few glitches (particularly in the audio department) keep it from being a true masterpiece.
  41. Feb 13, 2019
    80
    Metro Exodus isn’t the perfect game we wish we had. It features poor AI and some technical issues which display a lack of polish. But the game is beautiful, well paced and offers many memorable moments. A good new entry in the saga.
  42. Feb 13, 2019
    80
    As Metro broadens its horizons, it loses some of the series' focus. But Exodus makes up for it with thrilling encounters and a crew you'll want to follow to the ends of the earth.
  43. Feb 13, 2019
    80
    As Exodus’ story draws to a close and the pace picks up, the world becomes narrower and more directed, and a final chapter takes players to the most dangerous Metro location yet. Here Exodus exposes you to the full horror of the apocalypse, as the experience takes on a surreal, otherworldly quality. It’s an excellent conclusion – haunting, frightening, and desperately sad. Yet even in this dead and desolate place, faint embers of hope still linger.
  44. Feb 13, 2019
    80
    Metro Exodus is an appropriate evolution of the series, leaving some of the linear restrictions behind and branching out into a more open-ended direction without losing sight of the importance of the story.
  45. Feb 13, 2019
    80
    Metro Exodus is a good first person shooter, one of a kind we don't see very often on the market. It has a couple of flaws, the AI above all, but it's the perfect conclusion of Artyom's odyssey.
  46. Feb 13, 2019
    78
    An incredible trip through a stunning post-apocalyptic world, let down by some uninspiring FPS combat.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Feb 13, 2019
    If you've ever posted on a comment thread about the good ol' days of offline first-person shooters, this is a must-buy. For anyone else, this mostly polished FPS will likely confirm your Eurojank bias—whichever way that bias goes.
  2. Feb 18, 2019
    The result is a game that, while achingly beautiful to look at, seems to be creaking at the seams. Bigger levels don’t mean richer or more interesting ones, and the expansion results in a game that feels more empty, rather than one that feels more epic in scope. The grass is always greener, and this exodus to the surface proves it. Let us go back underground already.
  3. Feb 20, 2019
    It cares. It cares so much. It cares about its detailed environments and mechanics, even when they misfire. It cares about its characters, even though there are too many of them. It cares about its central message of understanding, rather than vilifying, each faction you come into conflict with, even though this message is attached to a ho-hum plot.
  4. Feb 14, 2019
    There have always been shades of gray in the Metro franchise, but until now the darker shades dominated its emotional and moral landscapes. Metro Exodus is more of an overcast spring afternoon. On my journey aboard the Aurora, I encounter pockets of humanity that have already lost hope. But on this train, beside my friends and family, there’s still hope yet.
  5. Regardless of its limitations, Exodus still deserves its place among its underground comrades. In many ways it’s better, and I’m very glad they didn’t just repeat the same subterranean journey again. And yet, for the studio, this installment might also turn out to be a fabulous curse. Because if there are any further shooters set in the Metroverse, they’ll won’t be able to return to a life of tunnel vision. Not when we’ve seen Metro is capable of so much more.
  6. Feb 16, 2019
    It saddens me to say that I had no fun whatsoever playing Metro Exodus, and as a Metro fan who was seriously looking forward to this, it breaks my heart...I've not had a single moment of fun here.
  7. Feb 13, 2019
    A brilliant sequel that wrestles control away a little too often.
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2994 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Feb 15, 2019
    10
    first good point it's on Epic Games so more rewarding for the devs
    AMAZING graphics
    great story
    definitely recommend may be the game of the year
  2. Feb 15, 2019
    4
    Metro: Exodus is a story driven shooter that has lost what made previous Metro games unique and now feels like a generic semi-open worldMetro: Exodus is a story driven shooter that has lost what made previous Metro games unique and now feels like a generic semi-open world shooter. Sure, the previous Metro games were linear shooters, but they put you in tight, claustrophobic quarters that had a certain atmosphere to them that Exodus can't seem to match in it's more expansive settings. The story is OK, but generally doesn't feel up to par with other metro games; as noted above, the atmosphere that made previous entrants feel special is missing. Exodus feels poorly optimized for PC but generally runs well on my admittedly beefy gaming PC, however, I've already encountered a game breaking save file bug that's forced me to restart from square one. I also feel like it's worth noting the only reason I have the game is because I pre-ordered it on Steam before it was pulled, If I hadn't already payed for the game I wouldn't be playing it because I don't want to support the fragmentation of the PC market with timed exclusives and I simply can't support the way Deep Silver is doing business with Epic Games.

    tl;dr: Overall, while not a bad game, it's not worth the current $50/$60 price tag. You would be far better served waiting for it to come back to steam and pick it up with it's DLC on a steep discount if you're a PC gamer. I would also suggest waiting or abstaining if you can to send a message to Deep Silver that the PC market won't stand for the sort of behavior that gets a pass in the console gaming world, there are plenty of games out from other publishers that respect their customers.
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 15, 2019
    3
    I really want to like this game. I loved Last Light, but I feel like this game is ultimately a step down for me. The game runs terribly, evenI really want to like this game. I loved Last Light, but I feel like this game is ultimately a step down for me. The game runs terribly, even on a decent rig, and in the amount of time i've played, i've encountered several game breaking bugs. I don't even care about the epic store, but the state this game launched in is terrible! Full Review »