User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1258 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ThomasH
    Dec 25, 2009
    10
    Amazing steal for 5 bucks off steam, I still would pay 20 for it. Was totally worth it, lots of action, the close action, the climbing, it was all amazing. The story was interesting aswell. I love the envirmoent the most, it was bright, sunny, very clean, if you're a Portal fan and a assassins creed fan, and you haven't played this, Then you are MISSING out! PhsyX is great for Amazing steal for 5 bucks off steam, I still would pay 20 for it. Was totally worth it, lots of action, the close action, the climbing, it was all amazing. The story was interesting aswell. I love the envirmoent the most, it was bright, sunny, very clean, if you're a Portal fan and a assassins creed fan, and you haven't played this, Then you are MISSING out! PhsyX is great for nvidia users, I had ATI tho... but still.. it was worth it. I wish i had a Nvidia card tho to take advanage of the PhsyX Expand
  2. ComradeSv
    Mar 16, 2009
    10
    A perfect game! Awesome graphics (and FPS), cool setting with a design I never seen before in any other game, nice theme music and a average storyline. I was simply unable to stop playing this game till I seen last lane of titles. Sadly it took only one day, but still - game is awesome. Sadly no MP or user-friendly SDK to create own levels. As for online trials - there is alot of cheaters there.
  3. MarkO
    Feb 5, 2010
    10
    Don't be misled by the bad controls and the frustration; it is true that it takes awhile to get use to the game. But really, I never found myself stuck in any one place for more than a few minutes; it really isn't hard to pull most of the stunts. It just takes practice and some patience, which is nothing wrong in my opinion. Other than that, this game is simply gorgeous and you Don't be misled by the bad controls and the frustration; it is true that it takes awhile to get use to the game. But really, I never found myself stuck in any one place for more than a few minutes; it really isn't hard to pull most of the stunts. It just takes practice and some patience, which is nothing wrong in my opinion. Other than that, this game is simply gorgeous and you really feel engaged(I have never felt so immersed in a videogame before). It feels as if you are really running on top of those rooftops and the runner's actions are smooth and graceful. Every movement feels totally credible and authentic, which engages the player even more. I also love how you don't have to rely on weapons to progress through the game (as a note, the weapon mechanics really aren't that bad as others say; I found aiming and disarming foes pretty simple. It just takes some normal practice. . .) This game reminds me alot of the old-school platform games but with an arcade feel to it. If you really miss those good-old Japanese/anime games, then you really need to give this one a try; you'll feel as if you're back on your original playstation. The story is also great; the cartoon cutscenes totally match the anime feel, and I found the plot to be pretty profound and complex even though the game is rather short. But, if you really pay attention to the story, it really has some sense and interest to it, and it evokes some human compassion (unlike most games today which concentrate on pure human bloodshed). My only criticism really comes with the end. I found it a bit too adrupt, even though it's very touching. Others would criticize that the game is too short. True, the game is "short", but it's really not a flaw. If you really want to explore every nook and cranny in the game, you can probably squeeze 20-30 hours. Most ppl will play it for 10 hours which I think is great, because at one point, you need to finish playing the game, so why not earlier than later? Most people have other things to do in their lives, and so, I would rather play a game that is short and profound than one that is long and empty (*cough* Oblivion) What matters is the quality, and this game is all about that. Mirror's Edge is really underrated and underappreciated. It has some potentially annoying flaws, but really, it's all forgiveable. Now, go make all your roof-jumping fantasies come true and try the game. Expand
  4. Daniel
    Dec 2, 2009
    10
    A wonderful interface and compelling gameplay! I have to say, this one suprised me! Quit reading the reviews and GET IT!
  5. MOLTOX
    Dec 3, 2009
    10
    It is a FPS like no other. Well maybe more like a fast paced first person action game since hand to hand or gun combat is rare. You are encouraged to find your path away from trouble by running through roof tops and the sensation is very intense as of course you try to avoid falling. No other game in memory has ever provided this type of experience in gaming. Heights are believable and It is a FPS like no other. Well maybe more like a fast paced first person action game since hand to hand or gun combat is rare. You are encouraged to find your path away from trouble by running through roof tops and the sensation is very intense as of course you try to avoid falling. No other game in memory has ever provided this type of experience in gaming. Heights are believable and add a lot of suspense. Running through roof tops while being chased gives you a feeling like no other game to this day has. Graphics are great and te game runs very well. Looking forward to a sequel! Expand
  6. JimC.
    Jan 24, 2009
    10
    Fast, fresh, intense, action packed, impressive, made with lotsa love. Its not perfect, but I give it a 10 nonetheless because it gave me a real fresh gameplay. The idea, the design, the protagonists blend into something that has got a identity of its own. I can't help myself I just love faith and I DO wanna see part 2 and 3. Thanks DICE!
  7. DaveN
    Oct 5, 2009
    10
    I took the chance on a mere £12 on Steam and I have to say, this is one of THE best games I've played in at least a year. Exhilerating. I literally sweat (through my palms mostly!) when I play this game.. The graphics are breathtaking, the animations beautiful. The music is perfect. I haven't completed it yet, but I'm loving every minute. Well done developers.
  8. PatrickL.
    Feb 23, 2009
    10
    Mirror's Edge, WOW. Amazed at the vivid colors with incredible Physx. The background music score kept up to the game along with the ambiant sounds of a busy city. Too bad it was not longer but maybe that is a good thing now that I am out of beer and cold pizza :P. One of my all time favorite games. Oh and FYI, I didn't even try to use the guns till 3/4 of the way through the Mirror's Edge, WOW. Amazed at the vivid colors with incredible Physx. The background music score kept up to the game along with the ambiant sounds of a busy city. Too bad it was not longer but maybe that is a good thing now that I am out of beer and cold pizza :P. One of my all time favorite games. Oh and FYI, I didn't even try to use the guns till 3/4 of the way through the game because the hand to hand combat was so perfect. And when I did, I think the audio echo of the guns in the city was stunning. After that it was all about getting the LMG. :) Reminded me of HEAT. Another fun game by the genius at DICE. Thanks again. Expand
  9. SidK
    May 10, 2009
    10
    Simply amazing gameplay. Its original, fun and extremely polished. After playing it, its evident that the levels are designed after a lot of thought and play testing. I love the visual style and the graphics fidelity. The first person perspective is done very well.
  10. DavidB
    Jul 8, 2009
    10
    Loved every minute of it, if anyone were to ask me a year ago if you could make a great game with NO UI i would have said bullshit. After playing this thou i have to say the only game better then this is portal.
  11. AxelDoyle
    Jan 17, 2009
    10
    I loved this game for its originality and new way to look at graphics. The game focuses more on the gameplay of fast running and less on all out shooting. On the Xbox 360 you are even rewarded for not killing everything you see. Overall i love this game and its artstyle. Just wish they would have made the cutscenes......good looking...
  12. Gotter
    Jan 19, 2009
    10
    An ultimate and epic game. Finally a triple A game you will want to play again and again. It's the first game I know where simple movement is the greatest joy of all features. Forget Assasins Creed with only limited ways to control your character. This time you can do whatever you want the way you like to play it. Sure the length of the game is not ideal but on the other hand it couldAn ultimate and epic game. Finally a triple A game you will want to play again and again. It's the first game I know where simple movement is the greatest joy of all features. Forget Assasins Creed with only limited ways to control your character. This time you can do whatever you want the way you like to play it. Sure the length of the game is not ideal but on the other hand it could easily fall to stereotype if it would have been any longer. It's a shame that such a wonderful game is beeing sold so lousily. I don't want to have any more copies of Call of Duty until the rest of my life. This is a kind of project that causes the evolution of gaming. DICE I salute you. Expand
  13. Tan
    Dec 24, 2009
    10
    Tom G pretty much summed up everything i wanted to say about this game. It was very much a puzzle game and probably should have been advertised as one. Also complimenting the beautifully rendered realism still with an artistic flair, was the plot of the game which I thought was pretty good. This is an amazing game that I would recommended to anyone with a fairly good computer, as I have Tom G pretty much summed up everything i wanted to say about this game. It was very much a puzzle game and probably should have been advertised as one. Also complimenting the beautifully rendered realism still with an artistic flair, was the plot of the game which I thought was pretty good. This is an amazing game that I would recommended to anyone with a fairly good computer, as I have heard some complaints that that game stops to load to often, although this has never happened to me. The concept of the game is also so unique as most mainstream games are all fps's. Lastly, This game was most certainly a steal for $5.00 on steam, and like others would have paid more if I knew how great it was. Soo...BUY IT! Expand
  14. AlexG
    Dec 4, 2009
    10
    This is a really different FPS...very cool. The jumping gameplay is awesome, the graphics are amazing. I enjoyed it a lot.
  15. Sep 1, 2012
    10
    This is such a great game with superb production values! Got tons of action and excitement. keeps you wanting to push on until the end.. Not a very long game, which is how i like it...

    Music: great (trancey techno, ambient, space, etc).. loved it Controls: excellent... takes a short while to get used to it.. also got a good tutorial level world design: excellent .. looks like a
    This is such a great game with superb production values! Got tons of action and excitement. keeps you wanting to push on until the end.. Not a very long game, which is how i like it...

    Music: great (trancey techno, ambient, space, etc).. loved it
    Controls: excellent... takes a short while to get used to it.. also got a good tutorial level
    world design: excellent .. looks like a pretty massive world..
    combat: excellent.. not too difficult, not too easy
    graphics: excellent.. however some sections had excessive colour saturation... story: pretty good, although I didn't follow the plot very well (probably me.. i confuse easily)

    definite must-buy...
    Expand
  16. Oct 4, 2010
    10
    Wow what a fun game to play! I loved having the feeling of running between buildings and being able to do things that only happen in our dreams. I loved the controls, I just modified the controls to fit my style of play and there was no problems. It is a very graphically beautiful. The action in the game is fun because you can disarm your enemies which is alot of fun to do. There is aWow what a fun game to play! I loved having the feeling of running between buildings and being able to do things that only happen in our dreams. I loved the controls, I just modified the controls to fit my style of play and there was no problems. It is a very graphically beautiful. The action in the game is fun because you can disarm your enemies which is alot of fun to do. There is a slow-mo part of the characters abilities were she can slow time down to be able to see movements of the enemies to be able to disarm them. The story was alot of fun to follow and the cut scenes looked like you were watching a good looking cartoon. This game is a thinking game and you have a couple of routes you can go to overcome particular parts of the game. When you fall off of a building you really do have that sensation that you are falling so it is pretty nerve racking to fall. If you time the jump wrong and barley miss the ledge to grab onto it then its a scary feeling. I really appreciated the "Hint" button that they incorporated into the game, it really helps you to stay on track and not get lost. The guns in the game are intense and fun to shoot after you steal them from an enemy. This game was a blast to play, just make sure when you play it that you aren't afraid of heights because you will get the vertigo feeling. This is a great game, well worth the money. If you love living on the edge this is the game for you! Expand
  17. Nov 18, 2015
    10
    Can't even run the game after installing on Steam!

    Why is it that I have no problem running The Witcher 3 but can't even get Mirror's Edge to start?!

    PC gaming at its worst!

    Steam, give me my refund!
  18. Dec 6, 2010
    10
    I race up five flights of stairs and break open the door to the roof with a single kick. Once my eyes adjust to the brightness, I hurdle a few solar power generators, dodging machine gun fire from the helicopter hovering nearby.

    I need to lose altitude fast, so I leap off the side of the building, my arms and legs pumping furiously as I gaze down at the tiny cars a dozen stories below.
    I race up five flights of stairs and break open the door to the roof with a single kick. Once my eyes adjust to the brightness, I hurdle a few solar power generators, dodging machine gun fire from the helicopter hovering nearby.

    I need to lose altitude fast, so I leap off the side of the building, my arms and legs pumping furiously as I gaze down at the tiny cars a dozen stories below. When I land on the roof of a nearby building, I tuck and roll to absorb the impact. The helicopter targets me again as I notice that thereâ
    Expand
  19. Feb 2, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love this game ,but i have window´s7 as PC system and i want play on my computer. I hope that the game is later updated for windows7. Sry for my English =( Expand
  20. Mar 9, 2011
    10
    My favourate game. if u r looking 4 a game with a gr8 story then i can't recommend a better rpg, very good and definiately 11/10 its so good i luv the music and ithere is so much variety
  21. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    Oh God, am I actually writing a review for this game? I would never be able to do it justice, unfortunately. This is undoubtedly one of the coolest game of all time. Of. All. Time. One of the best qualities this game has it shares with Half-Life 2. That is, the fact that the entirety of the game is an adrenaline rush. From beginning to end (if you play on the hardest difficulty :D)Oh God, am I actually writing a review for this game? I would never be able to do it justice, unfortunately. This is undoubtedly one of the coolest game of all time. Of. All. Time. One of the best qualities this game has it shares with Half-Life 2. That is, the fact that the entirety of the game is an adrenaline rush. From beginning to end (if you play on the hardest difficulty :D) you are filled with either exhilaration or vertigo. I would never have conceived of doing a parkour platformer in first person, yet here we are. (Although everybody else was already here since, once again, I am years late in my review :) ) And EA Dice did an incredible job at it. The graphical style is clean, colorful, and easy to navigate visually. The control mechanics are fluid on PC (something that never seems to be true with a console port). And the story is good, while the voice acting is top notch. ( I also loved the cutscenes with their slight anime/graphic novel style). Every month or so I keep coming back to this game, remembering and reliving it with delight. Expand
  22. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    Incredible game, only problem is the length and longevity of the game... The campaign is what 5-6hrs? Then you can rerun the maps for better times/scores. I wish it was longer, but, since its been like three years since it came out, now I'm more hoping for a sequel.
  23. Sep 18, 2011
    10
    I picked this up for 5USD on a Steam special. This game is exhilarating. I actually feel exhausted after 2 hours of gameplay. I moved in my chair so much and tensed my muscles constantly. I have never felt so scared falling in a game before. The graphics are spectacular, the sound and music are spot on and the gameplay is so well choreographed. It is worth the full price and I am sorry II picked this up for 5USD on a Steam special. This game is exhilarating. I actually feel exhausted after 2 hours of gameplay. I moved in my chair so much and tensed my muscles constantly. I have never felt so scared falling in a game before. The graphics are spectacular, the sound and music are spot on and the gameplay is so well choreographed. It is worth the full price and I am sorry I never bought it earlier. I would love to see a v2 with fully textured environments. Go and get it! Expand
  24. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    Best graphics engine and physics effects, it beats the Cryengine.
    For 10 â
  25. Aug 2, 2011
    10
    I may be easily entertained, but I absolutely loved this game. It has beautiful graphics, it's easy to control, and the music makes it an even more enjoyable experience. I am definitely glad I bought it. The only thing that sucks is that the game is somewhat short, but I still found myself playing it over and over again. :)
  26. Aug 11, 2016
    10
    Mirror`s Edge have fun gameplay, great graphic style and design. But first, is a rare example of innovative game with original idea that is finished successfuly and smoothly. I want more games like this, more with unique art style and gameplay and atmosphere. So for that 2 points more
  27. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    By far one of the most amazing games I've played. Admittedly, it was quite a bit short, but perhaps that's just myself yearning for more time to play it. The graphics are drop-dead gorgeous and run ridiculously quickly even on the highest setting. Someone should pay those coders a ton of money, then have them teach those dudes down at Bethesda how to write efficient code. That's right, IBy far one of the most amazing games I've played. Admittedly, it was quite a bit short, but perhaps that's just myself yearning for more time to play it. The graphics are drop-dead gorgeous and run ridiculously quickly even on the highest setting. Someone should pay those coders a ton of money, then have them teach those dudes down at Bethesda how to write efficient code. That's right, I went there. Expand
  28. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    This game brings tears of joy to my eyes. The visuals. The music. The story, though a bit short and narrow, is very good. I want more. S The controls are somewhat difficult to master, but once you play the game for a little while you'll be bouncing all over everything like a real Parkour expert. I didn't expect it to be easy to master .. Anyone who complains about difficulty is aThis game brings tears of joy to my eyes. The visuals. The music. The story, though a bit short and narrow, is very good. I want more. S The controls are somewhat difficult to master, but once you play the game for a little while you'll be bouncing all over everything like a real Parkour expert. I didn't expect it to be easy to master .. Anyone who complains about difficulty is a little to used to having everything handed to them for mashing buttons. The only controls I can complain about are the reverse direction wall hike ledge grabs and the vertical pipe to vertical pipe leaps. This is one of my favorite games and always will be. adly, the evil that is EA will never allow a sequel, as they don't want to release games that won't sell less than 5 million copies. Expand
  29. Dec 18, 2011
    10
    It's Time to put those guns and swords away.and start thinking fast on your toes and learning to beat feet. Mirror's Edge , an awesome first-person adventure with crisp beautiful graphics. but the story is waaaay to short but for me that's the only flaw I have seen in this game.
  30. Dec 22, 2012
    10
    There's now no reason why future FPS games should not include this level of freedom of movement and physical abilities. The execution of parkour style movement and abilities is not gimmicky, but very well simulated. This game has the polish without forsaking the game play.

    Tip: Right click picks up a gun on the ground...didn't figure that out until way later. I realized that the game
    There's now no reason why future FPS games should not include this level of freedom of movement and physical abilities. The execution of parkour style movement and abilities is not gimmicky, but very well simulated. This game has the polish without forsaking the game play.

    Tip: Right click picks up a gun on the ground...didn't figure that out until way later. I realized that the game intended for you to know this.
    Expand
  31. Jan 30, 2012
    10
    Великолепнейшая игра. Я отдыхал глазами, играя в неё.Великолепнейшая игра. Я отдыхал глазами, играя в неё. Изумительная чёткость, чистота цвета, атмосферность. Игра просто наслаждение. Она однозначно в моей тройке комп. игр всех времён. Expand
  32. Jul 22, 2012
    10
    Sehr Geilers Run-Game ! :DDDDDD
  33. Dec 20, 2012
    10
    (not my final review:) As a racing game, Mirror's Edge is incredible. Any second you gain, any shortcut you find, any improvement over past runs you make feel very rewarding. And Mirror's Edge is, indeed, a racing game!!! It is a game that you're supposed to play over and over, through speed runs, time trials or even new playthroughs, to become the fastest runner you can be. You don't play(not my final review:) As a racing game, Mirror's Edge is incredible. Any second you gain, any shortcut you find, any improvement over past runs you make feel very rewarding. And Mirror's Edge is, indeed, a racing game!!! It is a game that you're supposed to play over and over, through speed runs, time trials or even new playthroughs, to become the fastest runner you can be. You don't play it for the story, you don't play it for exploration, you don't play it as a casual game, you play it to beat it in less time than in your previous playthrough. Keeping momentum for as long as possible is difficult, and you won't be able to do it on your first play through (which will involve a lot of trial and error), but once you know where to go you can focus on it and then you're on for one amazing and unforgettable experience. Give it a shot!!! People complain that shooting and fighting is clunky - I agree with that, but this is not a game where you should stop to fight or shoot, you are a runner and you should keep running. Expand
  34. Oct 2, 2012
    10
    Amazing graphics capabilities on the PC. I was amazed by how beautiful they managed to make the game look and feel. Being in a city landscape, you also don't really see many jagged edges on game objects, such as buildings with the proper hardware, in other words, the game engine runs very smoothly. In some instances I was caught at the edge of my seat trying to flee from the scene, or getAmazing graphics capabilities on the PC. I was amazed by how beautiful they managed to make the game look and feel. Being in a city landscape, you also don't really see many jagged edges on game objects, such as buildings with the proper hardware, in other words, the game engine runs very smoothly. In some instances I was caught at the edge of my seat trying to flee from the scene, or get out alive. The mechanics of the game are also very well balanced. The only down side to this game, is that the characters didn't have a huge amount of depth, nor did the main story's reasoning. The relationship between the main character and her sister was felt, but other characters didin't have the same kind of outward depth to them. The storyline was purposely setup so that the gamer jumps into the story what feels like half way into the main story line. I really hope we get an part two of this game to elaboate. Expand
  35. Jul 3, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. EPIC GRAPHICS FOR 2008!! AND ALSO CURRENTLY! I just loved the game and the graphics when I play! There is almost no kind of error or lack of something. It is simply magnificent, the game. Much love to do Mirror's Edge 2 in the future. But as I say, is incredibly EPIC GAME! Expand
  36. Oct 13, 2013
    10
    This game... This game was the only game that's ever fully sucked me in. Ever.
    No other game made me emotionally invested into a game, thought about it past "This is a game."
    ... I think that this kind of city is what the current administration in the US wants... But not what the People want.
    Like Faith said. "Good doesn't always mean right."
  37. Jun 10, 2015
    10
    This game features amazing soundtrack, gorgeous visuals, and great parkour mechanics.

    But it suffers from mild story. Faith, the main protagonist, must clear her sister's name for murder she was framed of. And that's about it. The in between animated cutscenes are great, but that's the only context you will get out of the game's story. Voice actings are excellent, though. This game
    This game features amazing soundtrack, gorgeous visuals, and great parkour mechanics.

    But it suffers from mild story. Faith, the main protagonist, must clear her sister's name for murder she was framed of. And that's about it. The in between animated cutscenes are great, but that's the only context you will get out of the game's story. Voice actings are excellent, though.

    This game also has gauge direction of where to go. There is a button to auto look at where you are suppose to go, but how you are suppose to go there can be really unclear sometimes.
    Expand
  38. May 27, 2014
    10
    Having sped my way across the rooftops trying my best to keep the momentum going in this outstanding and underrated game I think to myself "Why won't more people play games like this?" This game is stylish with great music and setting.
  39. Dec 4, 2018
    10
    A truly incredible, pulse pounding adventure through a beautiful yet dangerous futuristic city. Mirror's Edge has a compelling gripping story that'll have you wanting to know more and loving the characters with each chapter. The parkour is unique and pulse pounding every level and encounter is unique and memorable. A cult classic that'll last throughout the years it still holds up andA truly incredible, pulse pounding adventure through a beautiful yet dangerous futuristic city. Mirror's Edge has a compelling gripping story that'll have you wanting to know more and loving the characters with each chapter. The parkour is unique and pulse pounding every level and encounter is unique and memorable. A cult classic that'll last throughout the years it still holds up and looks good by today! Expand
  40. Nov 12, 2014
    10
    This game really is amazing. Music in the game is superb, the atmosphere, everything. I think it is actually for sure is one of the best games played by me.
  41. Jul 24, 2018
    10
    This is such an awesome game, one of my favourites from the PS3/360 generation. Mirror's edge, when it came out, was unlike anything i had ever experienced before. The innovative game mechanics and a unique design are this games strongest selling points. The story is fairly short but intruiging and fun to play through. I've completed the story multiple times on both Xbox and PC. Each timeThis is such an awesome game, one of my favourites from the PS3/360 generation. Mirror's edge, when it came out, was unlike anything i had ever experienced before. The innovative game mechanics and a unique design are this games strongest selling points. The story is fairly short but intruiging and fun to play through. I've completed the story multiple times on both Xbox and PC. Each time i take a new approach to the levels.

    A complete 10 year anniversary remaster by Dice is what this game deserves.
    Expand
  42. Mar 1, 2018
    10
    Mirror’s Edge hat die perfekte Balance zwischen ruhigen, leicht puzzlehaften und adrenalinpumpenden Passagen. Für mich hat Mirror's Edge das beste Movementsystem das ich je erleben durfte in einem Spiel, egal ob Ego- oder Third-Person-Sicht. Mirror’s Edge spielt bekanntlich in der Egoperspektive. Wer hat gesagt, dass Jump-and-Runs nicht in der Egosicht funktionieren würden? Mirror's EdgeMirror’s Edge hat die perfekte Balance zwischen ruhigen, leicht puzzlehaften und adrenalinpumpenden Passagen. Für mich hat Mirror's Edge das beste Movementsystem das ich je erleben durfte in einem Spiel, egal ob Ego- oder Third-Person-Sicht. Mirror’s Edge spielt bekanntlich in der Egoperspektive. Wer hat gesagt, dass Jump-and-Runs nicht in der Egosicht funktionieren würden? Mirror's Edge beweist eindrucksvoll das Gegenteil und hat einen Meilenstein gesetzt. Gegen Mirror's Edge stinkt JEDES Third-Person-Jump-and-Run meilenweit ab. Mirror's Edge hat die Latte sehr hochgelegt. Das fängt an den perfekt eingefangenen Bewegungen mittels Motion-Capture-Verfahren, einem sehr guten Händchen für Pacing und eine Steuerung die ohne jeglichen Balast oder Behelfsmechaniken auskommt. Mirror's Edge ist zu hundert Prozent direktes Gameplay!

    Intuitiv, flüssig, schnell, immersiv. Es gibt keine Automatismen und genau deswegen fühlt sich das Bewegen und Meistern so belohnend an.

    Leider haben nicht viele Spiele diese Art der Fortbewegung in Videospielen nicht mehr Spieleentwickler aufgenommen. Aber… es gibt einige Spiele die sich der Steuerung und Fortbewegung ala Mirror’s Edge bedienen. Beispielsweise Dying Light – was es aber eher mittelmäßig umsetzt – schon viel besser wird der Geist Mirror’s Edge (zumindest was die geile Art der Fortbewegung angeht) von „Die young“ umgesetzt.

    Mirror’s Edge ist ein kompaktes Erlebnis. Linear, aber nicht zu linear (es gibt stets alternative Wege) und ohne eine Sekunde Leerlauf.

    Der Nachfolger allerdings ist in vielerlei Hinsicht eine Enttäuschung.
    Expand
  43. Jun 7, 2016
    10
    Great everything pretty much with music, action and other stuff the only gripe I really have is the Combat and the story which is lacking at most but still 10/10
  44. Jun 7, 2016
    10
    Maybe this is one of my favorite games of all time. The gameplay is awesome, the visuals are very good, the story... regular, but still being an unforgettable experience. Well done DICE and EA!
  45. Jan 20, 2018
    10
    this game has everything for a action adventure fan
    great graphics, great game play, good story although bad ending yet its really make care about the
    character and the world around me
    with amazing set pieces it really blow my mind
    so i do recommend this game.
  46. Feb 4, 2019
    10
    Yes, it is not perfect - despite being perfect. It has flaws while being flawless. For example there are one or two scrip sequences that would have been far more impressive if they refrained from them and just continued the gameplay. It takes away control and diminishes the emotional impact or immersion we get. For example the situation where Faith hugs her sister. Why this had to be aYes, it is not perfect - despite being perfect. It has flaws while being flawless. For example there are one or two scrip sequences that would have been far more impressive if they refrained from them and just continued the gameplay. It takes away control and diminishes the emotional impact or immersion we get. For example the situation where Faith hugs her sister. Why this had to be a script sequence? What if we as being Faith walking into the room ourself, like we do the whole game anyway, we see her and walk inside the room and step up to her ourself. No script, no cutscene. Yes its not always possible without cutscenes or script sequences and it honors them they almost completely refrained using them, but they did use some.

    The game itself raised new standards regarding first person movement, animations and also pacing. Mirror's Edge is the pioneer of first person parkour games. The next evolution of jump and run games. The pioneer and still unmatched.

    Running, Vaulting, Climbing, Jumping, Finding a way. Running. Perfect!
    Expand
  47. Jun 7, 2020
    10
    6/7/2020
    Just ended this game took me 3 days before my review I wanted to say that how the heck this game was a 2008 game this game in gameplay felt like 2050 game cause of super realistic gfx I never expect that even in lowest settings thx Ea for optimization and also why the heck steam didn't mention its a sci-fi game
    Mirror edge is a parkour scifi-ristic game city about 2030 years
    6/7/2020
    Just ended this game took me 3 days before my review I wanted to say that how the heck this game was a 2008 game this game in gameplay felt like 2050 game cause of super realistic gfx I never expect that even in lowest settings thx Ea for optimization and also why the heck steam didn't mention its a sci-fi game

    Mirror edge is a parkour scifi-ristic game city about 2030 years in somewhere this game is all about "Faith"(main charecter) So the story was good she is a runner awesome city skyline sometime you can use weapon kicking those enemy ah nice awesome nice theme song 10/10 as a sci-fi fan especially the gfx XD
    Expand
  48. Jul 22, 2019
    10
    El auténtico y único Mirror's Edge, ya que Catalyst es basura y no hay ningún signo de que vaya a haber ningún otro Mirror's Edge.
    He jugado cientos de juegos, pero este juego es una de las pocas obras maestras que siempre recordaré y recomendaré a todo el mundo, al mismo nivel que la saga Portal o Half Life 2.
  49. Jun 21, 2020
    10
    Game of my top 10 list. Best parkour game ever made with solid mechanics and big impact. Fascinating graphics even after 11 years, amazing level design.
  50. Apr 22, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Pro: + Super Steuerung
    + Wirklich tolle Grafik (hab mich mega wohl gefühlt im Game
    + Tolle Story
    + Ich liebe die Faith Figur
    + Coole Kampfmoves (was ich toll finde das Faith auch Waffen benutzen kann und sie von den Feinden stehlen kann
    + Tolle Klamotten von der HauptProtagonistin
    + Schöne Hintergrund Musik die man immer in Erinnerung behält.
    + Viel Spannung und Action
    + Sehr unterhaltsam
    + Die deutsche Stimme passt perfekt zur Faith Figur

    Ein sehhhhr sehr cooles Spiel mit zum Glück Happy End!!!! Gibt nichts zu meckern. Ich habs schon mehrmals durchgespielt und würde es immer wieder gerne tun.
    Ich kann mich noch erinnern das ich mir erst gedacht habe....das das Spiel nur ums laufen ging....aber es war nicht so. Das Geld war zum Glück nicht umsonst. Ich habs keine Sekunde bereut und werde es auch niemals.
    > 10/10 *
    Expand
  51. Jun 4, 2020
    10
    Whoever the hell gives this game bad score has the **** taste. Go play Fortnite if you don't like this masterpiece Fortnite is a appropriate game for you and your age also your maturity. Sad for you that i have a good game taste haha.
  52. MikeM
    Apr 2, 2009
    9
    Amazing and cutting Edge game.. and new with some new thinking.. I can only Recommend this game if you have a Good Graphic card and you like to die a few time in a row.. i think its Great because of its amazing Graphics and new way of thinking when it comes to gameplay. the story is Great too and i hope to see more of them (there will as EA have comfirmed a 2 and 3) i give 9 as the game Amazing and cutting Edge game.. and new with some new thinking.. I can only Recommend this game if you have a Good Graphic card and you like to die a few time in a row.. i think its Great because of its amazing Graphics and new way of thinking when it comes to gameplay. the story is Great too and i hope to see more of them (there will as EA have comfirmed a 2 and 3) i give 9 as the game is abit too short and the Fight system isn't the best. Expand
  53. Ihmemies
    Jan 20, 2009
    9
    One of the most stylished and flawlessly working games I've ever seen on PC. Pity so many people nitpick about irrelevant issues like you're shown where you must go (you can DISABLE the hints from game settings!) or how ugly/emo/uncool/whatever Faith is... They don't know what they are missing, and it's a pity we won't see more greatness like Mirror's Edge, One of the most stylished and flawlessly working games I've ever seen on PC. Pity so many people nitpick about irrelevant issues like you're shown where you must go (you can DISABLE the hints from game settings!) or how ugly/emo/uncool/whatever Faith is... They don't know what they are missing, and it's a pity we won't see more greatness like Mirror's Edge, since the sales have been a disaster because people really seem to want more Maddens and NHL upgrades instead of inventive new games like Mirror's Edge and Dead Space. Expand
  54. JoeD
    Jan 15, 2009
    9
    A truly original game, Mirror's Edge isn't for everyone. It is not a run and gun, and in fact it is not a shooter at all. Rather, it's a first person platformer. I played it first on the XBox, and absolutely fell in love with the running, the puzzles, and the art style, but always felt the controls a bit sluggish. This PC version fixes that, and more, with better visuals, A truly original game, Mirror's Edge isn't for everyone. It is not a run and gun, and in fact it is not a shooter at all. Rather, it's a first person platformer. I played it first on the XBox, and absolutely fell in love with the running, the puzzles, and the art style, but always felt the controls a bit sluggish. This PC version fixes that, and more, with better visuals, accurate K&M controls, and the same elements that made the console version great. Despite what GameSpy said, this is not a shoddy port. Sure, the interface is unchanged from the console version, so that suffers a bit, and sure it's locked to the 16:9 aspect ratio, but it seems well optimized, and I haven't seen any of the tearing issues they talked about. Performance: 45-60fps V-sync normal, 30 when things get busy, 1920x1200, 2x AA, Highest graphics and textures, and PhysX enabled on Core2Due e8500, 4GB 800Mhz, SLI GeForce 9600GTs, Audigy 2, Windows 7 beta and Vista Some people, including me, have had problems with no sound on the cutscenes, especially in Windows 7. Install Creative Alchemy if you have a creative card, and add Mirror's Edge with sub folder "Binaries". Fixes that! Highly recommended! Expand
  55. ZacharyH
    Jan 17, 2009
    9
    A fantastic addition to EA's already amazing stock of stellar games. Mirror's Edge moves quickly, and as the blurb says, there is a real flow to the game. The free running main character Faith zips through the urban landscape in truly spectacular fashion. I have only one complaint: the time for a first complete play-through was between three and four hours. When I saw the end A fantastic addition to EA's already amazing stock of stellar games. Mirror's Edge moves quickly, and as the blurb says, there is a real flow to the game. The free running main character Faith zips through the urban landscape in truly spectacular fashion. I have only one complaint: the time for a first complete play-through was between three and four hours. When I saw the end credits I thought to myself, "This is it?!" The game ended before I could even really snag the interface completely. But other than the length, I had zero issues. I felt so into the character, and every move felt like it should in real life, right down to the way Faith swung over railings. The first-person aspect of the game worried me when I saw it at first, but EA really did a good job on making the visuals feel like you were viewing them right through your own eyes. And unlike many other first-person games, you can look down and see yourself. The fantastic story really completes the experience, and lets you immerse yourself in the game. If only it hadn't ended so soon. Expand
  56. r08in
    Jan 18, 2009
    9
    My First game of 2009 is Mirror's Edge. First i started playing the story mode. Its a very new kind of game play. After playing for some time i tried the time challenge mode. Man really telling it sucks you in. You can challenge your self and also other who are online. If you are best then your score is displayed in Leader Board. But one thing that there is no replays. Yes if Replays My First game of 2009 is Mirror's Edge. First i started playing the story mode. Its a very new kind of game play. After playing for some time i tried the time challenge mode. Man really telling it sucks you in. You can challenge your self and also other who are online. If you are best then your score is displayed in Leader Board. But one thing that there is no replays. Yes if Replays are there then the player can see how he completed the race, may be with different camera angles like third person view or bird's view. Rest of the thing the game is very good if players need to try some thing new. AMAZING. Expand
  57. KevinZ
    Dec 5, 2009
    9
    I wasn't expecting much from this game, but it surprised to me to be sure. A very fun, exciting, and original 6-hour experience. Though short, at $20 (or less on sale) this game is well worth it. The game has breathtaking visuals and the feeling of stringing together a bunch of parkour moves is exhilarating. I actually enjoyed the combat, since I understood that it wasn't meant I wasn't expecting much from this game, but it surprised to me to be sure. A very fun, exciting, and original 6-hour experience. Though short, at $20 (or less on sale) this game is well worth it. The game has breathtaking visuals and the feeling of stringing together a bunch of parkour moves is exhilarating. I actually enjoyed the combat, since I understood that it wasn't meant to be like a regular FPS, though I actually did find the guns fun to use, though their use was limited. Disarming an enemy could be a bit finicky, but wasn't a game-breaker. Hopefully in the sequel they will provide even more breathtaking environments, as well as a greater variety of parkour and melee combat moves. Expand
  58. turreo
    Jan 31, 2009
    9
    Amazing game. It really makes you feel like living in it. Getting hit by the train just scares the shit out of you! Also the idea of the game is unique and very creative. And unlike GTA IV my computer could handle it perfectly with full graphics on, which absolutely amazed me, one of the greatest graphics on a game so far. It's also very addictive. Finally a superb game from EA. And Amazing game. It really makes you feel like living in it. Getting hit by the train just scares the shit out of you! Also the idea of the game is unique and very creative. And unlike GTA IV my computer could handle it perfectly with full graphics on, which absolutely amazed me, one of the greatest graphics on a game so far. It's also very addictive. Finally a superb game from EA. And the fact that you don't carry your gun all the time with you was also something new, and i loved it. But the areas are very limited and there's no blood, which made it feel like it was made for younger audience. Expand
  59. ChristopherS
    Feb 1, 2009
    9
    OMG, This game is the GREATEST! I really enjoy the visceral nature of running and jumping. Successfully making a jump at high speed then continuing without losing momentum is incredibly satisfying. The only things I don't really like are 1) some of the jumping puzzles are too hard and 2) console style, checkpoint-type saving. #2 is particularly annoying in light of number 1. I want OMG, This game is the GREATEST! I really enjoy the visceral nature of running and jumping. Successfully making a jump at high speed then continuing without losing momentum is incredibly satisfying. The only things I don't really like are 1) some of the jumping puzzles are too hard and 2) console style, checkpoint-type saving. #2 is particularly annoying in light of number 1. I want to be able to save anywhere, anytime. Stupid consoles . . . . . At any rate, this game is a lot of fun. The story isn't the greatest, but it's good enough that you'll feel like you have a reason to play the game -- not that wanting to play the game would require much -- the gameplay is mostly fantastic! Expand
  60. GabrielR
    Mar 12, 2009
    9
    Although being fairly short, this game delivers some intense fast pacing action. The scenario is very vivid with bright contrasting colors, which gives a great touch! I love how this game looks. The controls are easy to learn and when you get the hang of it you will be fullfilled to make some fast combos. The story is also quite nice, and the comic style of the cutscenes is also a plus. Although being fairly short, this game delivers some intense fast pacing action. The scenario is very vivid with bright contrasting colors, which gives a great touch! I love how this game looks. The controls are easy to learn and when you get the hang of it you will be fullfilled to make some fast combos. The story is also quite nice, and the comic style of the cutscenes is also a plus. The main character has some charisma. I hope to see more of Mirror's Edge in the future. Expand
  61. ChrisN
    May 9, 2009
    9
    Very different from you normal games these days. I was impressed with the quality of the scenery. This is a good something different game.
  62. EmilianC.
    Jan 14, 2009
    9
    This is a must have. Althought the game has a few problems, it is one of the best games I have played. I have the pc version of the game and with a preaty good computer so the graphics are amazing. The gameplay is near perfect and the FPS platform style realy got my atention. The controlls are easy to understand. The only reason a gave it a nine and not a ten is because it is too short, This is a must have. Althought the game has a few problems, it is one of the best games I have played. I have the pc version of the game and with a preaty good computer so the graphics are amazing. The gameplay is near perfect and the FPS platform style realy got my atention. The controlls are easy to understand. The only reason a gave it a nine and not a ten is because it is too short, and the story has room for inprovment. Even though it's short, the time trials will keep you playing for hours more. The bigest problem is that some players simply won't like the game style. I happen to love the way everything connects but some will find it to hard and will not have fun playing through the levels. If this game seems like something for you, get it. you won't regret it. But it seems like a game that will just get you frustrated, then rent it. Expand
  63. Benjamin
    Jan 19, 2009
    9
    Fantastic game!
    I must say that i was a bit sceptic at first while i tried it at Xbox360 cause the controls really sucks, but playing on a computer the games becomes what its supposed to be, a fantastic game which gives you a rush and a good story that wants you to keep playing.
  64. PhilT.
    Jan 19, 2009
    9
    A great innovative title. The immersion was fantastic, the graphics are interesting and different and the style is great, and the gameplay was, for the most part, great. A big part of my initial frustration with this game, though, was that learning curve was pretty steep. It took me about three or four hours of play to really grasp the movement and combat. However, once I learned I began A great innovative title. The immersion was fantastic, the graphics are interesting and different and the style is great, and the gameplay was, for the most part, great. A big part of my initial frustration with this game, though, was that learning curve was pretty steep. It took me about three or four hours of play to really grasp the movement and combat. However, once I learned I began to have so much fun. It is incredibly satisfying to run through an entire level without pausing or to take down four SWAT officers easily and swiftly. I do have a few minor quibbles in addition to the learning curve: one, I agree that the flash-style cutscenes were a mistake. It breaks the immersion and I think the graphics engine could have handled cutscenes easily. Two, I had multiple problems with the game not registering my grabs onto ledges or pipes...I don't know what I am doing wrong, but when Faith is right next to a pipe and leans over towards it, jumps, literally clips through the pipe but STILL manages to miss it, and falls to her death I became extremely frustrated. All in all I say this game was a success. There are frustrations to be sure but I wish more developers put out interesting, immersive titles such as this one. I want to reiterate what others have said and state that this game is definitely not for everyone, but if you are willing to spend a bit of time learning then I think you will be very, very happy. I am very glad I bought it and I really hope they put out more. Expand
  65. TomG
    Dec 13, 2009
    9
    This game really exceeded my expectations. It was a crazy steal at $5. I would've paid $20 or more if I'd known it was so good. No console port problems. Outstanding graphics - very stylized, atmospheric, and with meticulous attention to detail. PhysX provides nice detail that helps breathe life into the city. The sound design was flawless. I encountered no glitches, except for This game really exceeded my expectations. It was a crazy steal at $5. I would've paid $20 or more if I'd known it was so good. No console port problems. Outstanding graphics - very stylized, atmospheric, and with meticulous attention to detail. PhysX provides nice detail that helps breathe life into the city. The sound design was flawless. I encountered no glitches, except for getting stuck in one place I wasn't supposed to jump through. The relatively short length was good for me, as I have a lot of games to get through these days. I was reminded of Portal at times. This is primarily a puzzle game, but the combat that's in there is pretty satisfying too. Some parts were a bit frustrating but once I learned to look sideways during a wallrun I was all set. The story wasn't anything epic but honestly it was better than stories from many other otherwise good games, and it was illustrated nicely and it fit with the rest of the game. I enjoyed this game a lot more than the Half-Life 2 episodes that took more time and money. Can't wait for Mirror's Edge 2 on the PC! Expand
  66. bztang
    Dec 17, 2009
    9
    Great game, especially for getting it for only $5 on Steam, much much better than I expected. Pros: -Beautiful atmosphere, artwork and graphics -unique gameplay makes you think using a fully three-dimensional perspective and using wall-runs as another element -pretty decent story and neat animated cutscenes -chases are great and well paced -I actually liked the music, it was different and Great game, especially for getting it for only $5 on Steam, much much better than I expected. Pros: -Beautiful atmosphere, artwork and graphics -unique gameplay makes you think using a fully three-dimensional perspective and using wall-runs as another element -pretty decent story and neat animated cutscenes -chases are great and well paced -I actually liked the music, it was different and somewhat memorable -Can't wait for the sequel! Cons: -Some parts are slightly frustrating -weapons are not quite the caliber of that of a standard FPS, and I only learned that you could pick up dropped weapons halfway through the game lol Expand
  67. HunterWolf
    Jan 22, 2009
    9
    A very thrilling and well made game ( and excellent port if you are playing on PC ), it takes the traditional FPS formula and throws it out of the window then replaces it with innovative ideas and smart presentation.

    The Good things: -------------------- -Frantic acrobatic maneuvers and free running ( it feels so good when you overcome a number of obstacles in a row and doing it from
    A very thrilling and well made game ( and excellent port if you are playing on PC ), it takes the traditional FPS formula and throws it out of the window then replaces it with innovative ideas and smart presentation.

    The Good things:
    --------------------
    -Frantic acrobatic maneuvers and free running ( it feels so good when you overcome a number of obstacles in a row and doing it from the first person perspective makes it even more exciting )

    -Game Mechanics ( Runner vision, slow-mo and Disarming moves all add to the game and integrate seamlessly into the experience enhancing it )
    -Graphics ( Top notch, it feels very unique specially with the smart use of bold basic colors, and being able to see your feet and body while running and jumping does make it feel more immersive, also the cut scenes while done in a different style are nice and stylish )
    The Bad:
    ------------
    -Weapons ( handling the guns is a little cranky but it is forgivable since you rarely have to use guns and of course Faith isn't trained on using them )
    -It's quite short .. damn it .. i want more XD

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    A must buy ^_^
    Expand
  68. brandonn
    Dec 12, 2009
    9
    This is an incredible, original, and amazingly fun game to play. Played in the first person perspective but not an FPS it's really a platformer at heart. One of my favorite parts of the game are the chases and they are very expertly paced throughout the game enough so that your excitement is always pretty high but not frustratingly so it gives you time to enjoy the striking visuals. This is an incredible, original, and amazingly fun game to play. Played in the first person perspective but not an FPS it's really a platformer at heart. One of my favorite parts of the game are the chases and they are very expertly paced throughout the game enough so that your excitement is always pretty high but not frustratingly so it gives you time to enjoy the striking visuals. My least favorite part of the game is the story which says a lot about the game because even that was not strictly "bad". I loved how they spread flavor throughout the world that gave you more information about the space you were working in, it's just that at the end I was left wishing that there was something a little better. All in all this was a superb game and with it being priced around 20 dollars now there should be nothing stopping you from giving it a try. Expand
  69. Sep 14, 2010
    9
    Fluent keyboard/mouse control scheme and innovative gameplay are just a few among the many things that make it great! To those who blame the control, either you're not a PC gamer or you always use gamepad to play PC games. The pace is flawlessly done except for its short length. Sure it's got a very decent sense of motion but in the 1st playthrough, due to being unfamiliar with the path,Fluent keyboard/mouse control scheme and innovative gameplay are just a few among the many things that make it great! To those who blame the control, either you're not a PC gamer or you always use gamepad to play PC games. The pace is flawlessly done except for its short length. Sure it's got a very decent sense of motion but in the 1st playthrough, due to being unfamiliar with the path, you can't fully enjoy the fast-paced running; so a second playthrough would be the best. Expand
  70. Feb 23, 2011
    9
    All PC Hardware related issues aside. the game itself is very immersive, but the pacing is a bit sloppy. one moment you are running around avoiding obstacles,then that same moment you have no clue where to go and come to a complete stop..and the game's "runner vision" doesnt always help out there.
    but if your really clever,thats not going to be an issue.
    there are also some other bugs
    All PC Hardware related issues aside. the game itself is very immersive, but the pacing is a bit sloppy. one moment you are running around avoiding obstacles,then that same moment you have no clue where to go and come to a complete stop..and the game's "runner vision" doesnt always help out there.
    but if your really clever,thats not going to be an issue.
    there are also some other bugs like being locked into scope vision when using a sniper rifle and faith not always grabbing on ledges.
    although minor issues,can be really annoying and pulls you right out of the immersion.
    but thats really all the issues is have with this game.
    The Good things the game does,it does really well.
    like the graphics,never before i've seen realism and artistic graphics clash together like this.
    Music is very fitting most of the time too. and the running and jumping mechanics work well most of the time. the story is also integral to the events that unfold while you play, and is generally wel executed.
    all in all, its a enjoyable experience
    Expand
  71. Nov 12, 2010
    9
    I really enjoy games that take risks in an effort to provide the player with a new and different experience. Mirror's Edge did just that. The game offered a first person prospective adventure with a focus on agility and speed.

    Far too many "run and gun" FPS games lead us through a parking garage or a warehouse, all the while throwing waves of repetitive enemies at us. You kill them all
    I really enjoy games that take risks in an effort to provide the player with a new and different experience. Mirror's Edge did just that. The game offered a first person prospective adventure with a focus on agility and speed.

    Far too many "run and gun" FPS games lead us through a parking garage or a warehouse, all the while throwing waves of repetitive enemies at us. You kill them all (maybe with the aid of a well placed explosive barrel or two), and move on to the next area. Stealth games have also flooded the market, rewarding the player for silent take downs. Mirror's Edge takes both gaming staples, combines them, adds some acrobatics, and puts the emphasis on speed instead of killing.

    In Mirror's Edge you play the role of a Runner; an urban courier who delivers packages by sprinting across city blocks and jumping from roof top to roof top. The game mechanics allow you to scale walls (by timing your jumps), fall great distances (as long as you are precise with your roll when you land), and use obstacles to help increase your momentum. You can stop to fight enemies along the way, but you're not a one man army, and can be killed with only a few shots. The game rewards you for finding safer and faster routes through an area rather than trying to take the enemy out head on.

    The controls give the player a sense that there isn't anywhere in the environment that is unreachable. The first time you build up enough speed to chain a roll into wall run and jump to hurdle over a railing, all without stopping, you'll really understand the strength of this game. The fluidity of movement is unmatched by anything else in the FPS market. Add to that a gorgeous environment, extremely well done sound, and a great story and you've got a game that is impossible to forget. At about five hours for the campaign Mirror's Edge doesn't drone on long enough for the parkour elements to wear thin, but it seem a little short. Price accordingly.
    Expand
  72. Jul 17, 2011
    9
    I re-visited my review after playing it again. It's actually better and less frustrating at times once you're more experienced with the gameplay (especially during fights). The other flaws are the same though: too simple story, too short play time, too linear and the game still feels too much like some kind of demo, have too wait for the real thing when and if Mirror's Edge 2 comes out.I re-visited my review after playing it again. It's actually better and less frustrating at times once you're more experienced with the gameplay (especially during fights). The other flaws are the same though: too simple story, too short play time, too linear and the game still feels too much like some kind of demo, have too wait for the real thing when and if Mirror's Edge 2 comes out. Other than that, graphics and graphic designs are still pleasant. It's also very original, unique and well achieved gameplay (watch the gameplay video for proof). I would especially recommend this game if you've always wanted an FPS version of Tomb Raider or Assassin's Creed. Expand
  73. Sep 13, 2013
    9
    One of the most unique and intriguing games I have played in my lifetime. I truly think that the critics have underscored with this one. I am so looking forward to the sequal!
  74. Apr 5, 2011
    9
    As many have stated, a refreshing take on the FPS genre. I played through this game fairly quickly, but it's intensity is matched by its polished finish and graphical style. The detail of some of the levels is truly impressive. The story could have been fleshed out more, without a doubt, but even then it does not detract from the fun to be had. Upon finishing Mirror's edge, I had anAs many have stated, a refreshing take on the FPS genre. I played through this game fairly quickly, but it's intensity is matched by its polished finish and graphical style. The detail of some of the levels is truly impressive. The story could have been fleshed out more, without a doubt, but even then it does not detract from the fun to be had. Upon finishing Mirror's edge, I had an incredible sense of accomplishment and a desire for more. Whenever I have this sensation, I know I just finished a truly memorable game. If you are looking for something different and enjoy FPS games, give this title serious consideration. Expand
  75. May 9, 2012
    9
    Picked this up for a steal during a Steam sale a little while ago, and I'm really impressed - much better than I'd imagined. The controls are great, the gameplay is innovative, and the aesthetic is the most distinctive I've seen in a first person game in a very long time. As others have mentioned, it's also an incredibly tense game, and the thrilling sense of being pursued as you runPicked this up for a steal during a Steam sale a little while ago, and I'm really impressed - much better than I'd imagined. The controls are great, the gameplay is innovative, and the aesthetic is the most distinctive I've seen in a first person game in a very long time. As others have mentioned, it's also an incredibly tense game, and the thrilling sense of being pursued as you run across rooftops, vault obstacles and climb pipes is superb. I'd happily have paid full retail for this game and if the rumoured sequel ever comes, I'll be jumping on it the second it's released. Expand
  76. Jun 11, 2011
    9
    A very original game, the concept is never done before. Controls are mapped very well for PC. the story mode is somewhat short. Combat is surprisingly well designed. the adrenaline kicks in during the levels that you are being chased. the 9 score is because of the one level that required climbing a tall building that is under construction because it lacked any motivation. also some of theA very original game, the concept is never done before. Controls are mapped very well for PC. the story mode is somewhat short. Combat is surprisingly well designed. the adrenaline kicks in during the levels that you are being chased. the 9 score is because of the one level that required climbing a tall building that is under construction because it lacked any motivation. also some of the jumps are hard to figure out so i ended up looking them up on youtube Expand
  77. Oct 7, 2011
    9
    I truly enjoyed the game, one of the best I've played so far. A player needs to master controls but after that it goes smoothly. Thank you for this gem!
  78. May 5, 2012
    9
    Although this game was made for the consoles, the PC version is superior in every way. Higher FoV, better framerates, higher resolution, more detailed textures with minimal pop-in, more vivid colours (which are an a big part of this game's artistic style), PhysX, better lighting and shadows and of course, anti-aliasing which, certainly the console versions were lacking but really needed toAlthough this game was made for the consoles, the PC version is superior in every way. Higher FoV, better framerates, higher resolution, more detailed textures with minimal pop-in, more vivid colours (which are an a big part of this game's artistic style), PhysX, better lighting and shadows and of course, anti-aliasing which, certainly the console versions were lacking but really needed to smooth out those rough edges. The controls are also far superior and more fluent. Having played it on console, I couldn't imagine how it could be better on PC but the default button layout is absolutely perfect, and the precision of the mouse and sensitivity adjustments give you much greater control- very useful for trying to get good times in time trials. Great job DICE! Expand
  79. Dec 31, 2011
    9
    This game is awsome! some say its all the same and repedative which ya it is, but not many games change all the time throughout except those "RPG" types that have upgrades and whatnot which this isnt about. The story is ok but the gameplay is excellent for pc which some disagree (obviously not pc gamers who can adapt to certain controls) if you think the pc controls are difficult or oddlyThis game is awsome! some say its all the same and repedative which ya it is, but not many games change all the time throughout except those "RPG" types that have upgrades and whatnot which this isnt about. The story is ok but the gameplay is excellent for pc which some disagree (obviously not pc gamers who can adapt to certain controls) if you think the pc controls are difficult or oddly placed, no offence, but stick to your console system. The graphics are good, the music is good (not really music but more a theme of trying to get away). This game is just fun, especially for the price, its kinda like a first person prince of persia or assassins creed, but mainly focuses on the climbing and running aspect. The combat is minimal but there are times you have to take down a few soldiers which i found fun since its all about timing and trying to get them 1 on 1. Great game and i reccomend it to anyone who likes these kinda games, spend a minute and look at a youtube gameplay video to see if its for you. Expand
  80. Dec 2, 2011
    9
    Mirror's Edge is by far one of the most innovative, exciting, aesthetically outstanding games I have ever played in my 10+ years as a PC gamer. It effortlessly tears you away from reality and throws you into its world. The exciting, feminine story-line and gorgeous colour palette is something which I have not experienced before in a game on any platform, and is a refreshing escape from theMirror's Edge is by far one of the most innovative, exciting, aesthetically outstanding games I have ever played in my 10+ years as a PC gamer. It effortlessly tears you away from reality and throws you into its world. The exciting, feminine story-line and gorgeous colour palette is something which I have not experienced before in a game on any platform, and is a refreshing escape from the "kill anything that moves" shooters of today.

    I would like to think that, if EA's tyranny and hostile presence in the gaming industry was for anything, it was for the development of Mirror's Edge. I would give this absolute masterpiece a 10 if it weren't for the shooting parts which seemed forced onto the developers by out-of-touch executives. The odd handgun is fine but there really is no need for a SAW in a game like this. At least the player is handicapped when using the larger weapons.

    Things which should be taken into account if DICE were to improve upon a sequel or prequel - Less emphasis on guns than there already is, and an open city to go wherever you wanted would turn this from a stunning masterpiece to a ground breaking masterpiece.

    Well done DICE, this is a game amongst games.
    Expand
  81. Sep 27, 2019
    9
    best parkoer freestlye game after tony hawx to date. story is good. graphcs simplcty but amazing looking. it have chance to beat assassins creed climbg if mr 2 was contune to more freestlye and better looging game.
  82. Jan 9, 2012
    9
    This was a joy to play and I had to force myself to stop playing. Great animation and movement. The parkour is very well choreographed as is the fighting although some leaps are beyond human possibility. The storyline is very original and intriguing to add the extra heat to the game. Characterisation is good as well. What makes Mirror's Edge stand out is how it is an enjoyable game and itThis was a joy to play and I had to force myself to stop playing. Great animation and movement. The parkour is very well choreographed as is the fighting although some leaps are beyond human possibility. The storyline is very original and intriguing to add the extra heat to the game. Characterisation is good as well. What makes Mirror's Edge stand out is how it is an enjoyable game and it doesn't involve gore and heavy violence. The game's graphics are beautiful if not a little bit too shiny and perfect. Overall this a must play and all audiences will like it. Expand
  83. Oct 30, 2012
    9
    While learning the ropes may be frustrating, Mirror's Edge is a very satisfying experience when it's all said and done. It challenges your gamer mettle. The feeling of overcoming those challenges is very rewarding. The game even manages to go out on a heartwarming note despite its ho-hum cliched dystopian setting. The complaints of length are accurate but we all know that while the valueWhile learning the ropes may be frustrating, Mirror's Edge is a very satisfying experience when it's all said and done. It challenges your gamer mettle. The feeling of overcoming those challenges is very rewarding. The game even manages to go out on a heartwarming note despite its ho-hum cliched dystopian setting. The complaints of length are accurate but we all know that while the value of most games is measured in time and how many gameplay hours you squeeze out of them, few others transcend that and are instead measured by the quality of the experience. Mirror's Edge is one such game. Expand
  84. Apr 3, 2012
    9
    Surprisingly, this is probably my favorite FPS(If it can truly be called that. I prefer "Arcade Parkour") game. Beautiful graphics(For the most part), great parkour, and good controls. I might get some flack for that last praise, but on keyboard & mouse I adapted to the controls very quick and found them easy to use as time went on. The story is rather short, predictable, and notSurprisingly, this is probably my favorite FPS(If it can truly be called that. I prefer "Arcade Parkour") game. Beautiful graphics(For the most part), great parkour, and good controls. I might get some flack for that last praise, but on keyboard & mouse I adapted to the controls very quick and found them easy to use as time went on. The story is rather short, predictable, and not compelling. The numerous deaths caused by Faith deciding not to grab that pipe or ledge can be annoying, and the last level can be murder when you lack an easy way to get a weapon. Still, it's one of the best games I've played in a while, and I'm looking forward to a Mirror's Edge 2. Just imagine if they used BF 3's engine on ME 2... Expand
  85. Mar 1, 2015
    9
    -Snip-
    ...............................................................................................................................................
  86. Sep 10, 2013
    9
    I've really enjoyed this game so far. It's very different than most other stuff out there. The combat is pathetic, the guns look and feel horrible, but the running and platforming is really good.

    Don't try to play the game like a shooter, it's almost like a rhythm game with how silky smooth it feels to hit every jump perfectly.
  87. Aug 15, 2012
    9
    This is the most innovative game I've played in quite some time. Unlike most most games in the First Person prespective, Mirror's Edge allows and encourages out of the box solutions to the challenges the game presents. My only complaint is that the main campaign is somewhat short (about 9 hours if you're a fast learner).

    That said I'm eagerly awaiting any news of a sequel, if EA doesn't
    This is the most innovative game I've played in quite some time. Unlike most most games in the First Person prespective, Mirror's Edge allows and encourages out of the box solutions to the challenges the game presents. My only complaint is that the main campaign is somewhat short (about 9 hours if you're a fast learner).

    That said I'm eagerly awaiting any news of a sequel, if EA doesn't saddle it with an Origin requirement I'd be a buyer on day one.
    Expand
  88. Feb 23, 2013
    9
    An amazing game.
    It was rather underrated in many places, but honestly, I belive this game is one of the most original and fun games I've yet to play.
    The story is very interesting, the world is beautiful and colourful, the soundtrack is wonderful and the gameplay is very fun and refreshing.
    Problem is it was too short for me :P
  89. Aug 1, 2013
    9
    this game is epic it is amazing in every aspect i had fun from the beginning to the end while playing this game the visuals and the art style are amazing the game play is fun amazing and fluid the only thing i could say that it was bad about this game is that combat with soldiers can be frustrating sometimes and that it is short but it is a great game and new experience that everythis game is epic it is amazing in every aspect i had fun from the beginning to the end while playing this game the visuals and the art style are amazing the game play is fun amazing and fluid the only thing i could say that it was bad about this game is that combat with soldiers can be frustrating sometimes and that it is short but it is a great game and new experience that every one should definitely try Expand
  90. Jun 9, 2013
    9
    Easily one of the greatest games I've ever played. I'll try to leave any plot points out of this one so I can avoid putting any spoilers.

    In terms of visuals, Mirror's Edge was definitely appealing. The unique colour scheme and shaders are what made the game really stand out in this respect. Everything looks bright and futuristic and the atmosphere is absolutely breath-taking. On
    Easily one of the greatest games I've ever played. I'll try to leave any plot points out of this one so I can avoid putting any spoilers.

    In terms of visuals, Mirror's Edge was definitely appealing. The unique colour scheme and shaders are what made the game really stand out in this respect. Everything looks bright and futuristic and the atmosphere is absolutely breath-taking. On outdoor levels there's always a huge cityscape to be seen with the utmost attention paid to every detail. The models were reasonably well-detailed and the textures were on the same level. The addition of the PhysX engine was a nice touch, but it seemed to only add to the cosmetics of the game, little gimmicks; outside of broken glass and ragdoll physics being dramatically improved.

    In terms of gameplay, what is there not to like? It's incredibly refreshing and innovative. Never have I played a game that pulls off free-running so well. If it wasn't the first to do it, it's certainly the best to date. The mechanics are simply perfect and only rarely has there been a mistep in what I intended Faith, the protagonist, to do and the action performed, but that's understandable in certain situations where many obstacles are being traversed quickly. The sheer amount of free-running techniques implimented in the game is astounding and more often than not, they're performed in a way that makes her seem human, rather than posess super-human strength; you can feel her straining to perform some of the moves, but a few others, like wall-running she seems to perform without much effort at all and she can run on the wall for an awfully long time. It is expected though since some of these moves have to be exaggerated in order for them to be useful within the game. The minimalist HUD was a nice touch to add immersion and realism to the game, only adding the center reticle to prevent the player from gettin motion sickness as well as to indicate that your "Reaction Time" is ready, this being a slow-motion feature in the game which is handy when in a tight spot.

    The controls are incredibly simple and intuitive. It is a unique control scheme and yet I found this game to be one of the easiest I have ever had to pick up and play. Within half an hour, the controls should feel like second-nature.

    The environments are built perfectly to allow you to move from one obstacle to the next without having to awkwardly stop and it's unlikely you'll find yourself lost as they usually point you in the right direction in a subtle manner. There is a reasonable variety in levels and nothing is ever recycled as far as I can tell. There are indoor and outdoor levels, sewers, rooftops, sections on city streets, and inside of buildings with levels seamlessly progressing to new environments within the same level.

    Levels are broken up by cutscenes done in an interesting 2D/3D animation style that play during loading times. These are the points where you'll have the majority of the plot explained to you including the backstory of the game and what happens between levels. Though not incredibly original, it is effective and gets the story across well without being forced and quite frankly, it's a lot better than staring at a loading bar.

    The voice acting is done incredibly well, no lack of emotion and they sound very convincing. The voices also matched the characters well.

    The only reason I give this game any shorter than a 10/10 is simply the plot and completion time. The plot was good, but nothing great and it felt a bit too shallow. There just wasn't enough substance there for it to really be perfect. But, the game did have great plot twists and kept it interesting enough to make me want to find out what happens next.

    They did a good job making me empathize with Faith in making the audience feel the emotions coming off of her. She didn't feel too generic and did have a personality of her own and it's always nice to see a female protagonist.

    Overall, it is definitely a must-buy and is pulled off perfectly in everyway I could imagine, only falling short in terms of plot depth and time it takes to complete. I find the game quite replayable simply because the gameplay is just that fun, so it adds some extra hours in that respect. They left it open for a sequel and I hope they follow the "more, but better" philosophy in the next one: longer game, better plot, but still the same core and gameplay.
    Expand
  91. Jul 3, 2013
    9
    MIght as well have given it 10..., my only qualms with it is that it's too damn short and after you master all the moves you may as well complete the game in an hour an half. Other than that it's a perfect synthesis of story, atmosphere, gameplay, graphics, music, sound design and what not. Superb.
  92. Jul 30, 2014
    9
    I was pleasantly surprised by the game. More pirated version twice passed, then STEAM bought also twice passed) So I really liked the game. Unambiguously worth taking.

    pros: -The graphics are gorgeous while, but even now the picture looks very cheerfully -Gameplay so awesome -Sound so good. What else to say about the sound I want, in general it is not a shooter, but the weapons can
    I was pleasantly surprised by the game. More pirated version twice passed, then STEAM bought also twice passed) So I really liked the game. Unambiguously worth taking.

    pros:
    -The graphics are gorgeous while, but even now the picture looks very cheerfully
    -Gameplay so awesome
    -Sound so good. What else to say about the sound I want, in general it is not a shooter, but the weapons can sometimes pick up (although you can complete the game without killing anyone-that's also a plus), so that's a real sense that these weapons, cannons roar, be healthy, ears lays) returns sickly, and of flame from the muzzle chic "traced")
    -Manage. Nothing superfluous and confusing. Play comfortably
    -The setting. I do not know how to say, but the game feels a certain freshness, even the "liveliness". Around the world really live.

    cons:
    -You could say that the game is short, a couple of days passes.
    -Present online table of records, but she firmly ruined cheaters
    Expand
  93. Sep 30, 2013
    9
    When I first learned about Mirror’s Edge, its basic premise of a first-ever first-person 3D parkour game, that you can outrun your enemies rather than outgun them, caught my attention immediately. Because in Mirror’s Edge, just as in many other games, you are set against an army of faceless, nameless, and merciless drones who are “just doing their jobs and following orders”. But in ME youWhen I first learned about Mirror’s Edge, its basic premise of a first-ever first-person 3D parkour game, that you can outrun your enemies rather than outgun them, caught my attention immediately. Because in Mirror’s Edge, just as in many other games, you are set against an army of faceless, nameless, and merciless drones who are “just doing their jobs and following orders”. But in ME you don't play as a dogged, cynical, serial killer ready to mow down everyone in their path, you play as Faith Connors, a young female runner with sharp wits and some sense of morality about her. I find it much cooler to disarm or knock down some of the policemen in order to flee the rest of them, rather than killing them in dozens.

    When I started playing, I was impressed by the clean-cut visuals and architecture of the City, which captured the futuristic dystopia flawlessly. The main part of the gameplay is running around parkour-style. While playing in first person, you can see your arms and legs and there’s a real sense of momentum, weight, and gravity. It is very rewarding to chain up multiple acrobatic moves to dash through the environment and over various obstacles quickly and seemingly effortlessly.

    Few words about sound; the voice acting is done very professionally for main characters and the psy-trance soundtrack provided by Solar Fields fits the gameplay just perfectly.

    Not everything in the game is this stellar though. The story campaign is quite short and kind of sloppy, with cut scenes done in cartoonish flash animation. The campaign is also a little too heavy on gunfight towards the end and overall does not carry a lot of replay value. I still mostly liked it but it must be said it is probably the weakest part of the game.

    But there’s the trial mode; you can race through various tracks in campaign maps with no enemies around, just against the time. Shaving off seconds and figuring out new paths from checkpoint to checkpoint for faster run-throughs kept me entertained for many hours after beating the game.

    In conclusion, I applaud the developers for taking the risk with this mostly uncharted game design territory and wish them best of luck with their new Mirror’s Edge game, which was announced in June 2013.
    Expand
  94. Jan 1, 2014
    9
    If you like running and jumping from building to building this is the perfect game for you. The gameplay is good, with good graphics. A must have game!
  95. Jan 9, 2014
    9
    Fun, addicting, and overall great in nearly every aspect. I loved the beautiful graphics, soundtrack (I couldn't stop singing Still Alive!) and detailed sound effects and first-person view. Once, a critic said the game was "poetry in motion." He's right. Everything I like about the game is nothing compared to the experience no gamer before 2009 ever had. It was the feeling of rhythm andFun, addicting, and overall great in nearly every aspect. I loved the beautiful graphics, soundtrack (I couldn't stop singing Still Alive!) and detailed sound effects and first-person view. Once, a critic said the game was "poetry in motion." He's right. Everything I like about the game is nothing compared to the experience no gamer before 2009 ever had. It was the feeling of rhythm and joy. However, I do concern the blurry textures in the game sometimes, creepy character models, bad combat, short and complex story, and ruthless gun aim (why is it SO PRECISE!?)

    But overall, I just love this. Worth the price. Any reviews with a rating lower than this should be ignored. If you don't have this game and you are a game addict, it's sad you don't have it. Seriously, this game has got to be played.
    Expand
  96. Dec 13, 2015
    9
    Scenario is quite bad, looks like from low-budget TV show, but gameplay and universe make it up. You definitely feel the dynamic of Faith's movements and you are often forced to take decisions very fast thus feeling of parkour is awesome. Cyberprep design is great and combination with soundtrack make you really feel that utopian atmosphere in the city.
  97. Sep 2, 2014
    9
    Mirror's Edge is a master piece, it's game different from every game that i have played before, is soundtrack is amazing and it's playability is very precise and easy to catch.
    the levels and the entire design of the game remind me of science fiction movies.
    maybe the weakest part of the game is it story and it's poor use of the characters. still it's an awesome game, and a strongly
    Mirror's Edge is a master piece, it's game different from every game that i have played before, is soundtrack is amazing and it's playability is very precise and easy to catch.
    the levels and the entire design of the game remind me of science fiction movies.
    maybe the weakest part of the game is it story and it's poor use of the characters.
    still it's an awesome game, and a strongly recommend that every gamer.
    Expand
  98. Feb 2, 2015
    9
    A unique story, nice graphics and GREAT gameplay!

    Storyline I never expected this story to be so much fun. You are a free running package deliverer being chased for information. The story is dynamic and fun, nothing like a regular game. You unravel a mystery that is haunting your character through the game. I really got dragged into the story, into the character and her emotions.
    A unique story, nice graphics and GREAT gameplay!

    Storyline
    I never expected this story to be so much fun.
    You are a free running package deliverer being chased for information.

    The story is dynamic and fun, nothing like a regular game. You unravel a mystery that is haunting your character through the game.
    I really got dragged into the story, into the character and her emotions.

    Gameplay
    If you like free running, this is the game for you. I'd recommend this with mouse and keyboard, for it requires some fast response and turning.

    Although the par-course often is very clear, it can be very challenging (especially if you try to get the maximum score). You sometimes have to puzzle, sometimes you have to rush and sometimes you can go through on an easy pace.

    Graphics & Audio
    The graphics are great, it gives you a great feeling when running or falling really fast. Tutorial graphics and the red "help" flashes are very clear and implemented very well.

    This game gives you a great feeling overall, with audio matching the running and fighting.
    Creating tense moments when you are being chased and staying relaxed when you are just running around.

    Conclusion
    Overall this is a great game to play.
    I recommend this game because of it's great story and gameplay.
    The replay value is ok, if you are an achievement whore and want to get the fastest time on every map :).

    9/10 points!
    Expand
  99. Aug 15, 2016
    9
    This is one of the best EA Games. Graphics is very beatiful for 2009, awesome parkour, storyline is interesting, gameplay is funny and big city, you can fight with security and standard people. Game is very interesting and funny, I think this is one of the best game of 2008. Amazing Game, very good.
  100. Nov 11, 2017
    9
    Wonderful and unforgettable game. Nice graphics and gameplay. Bright and colorful city. But story is...not enough for me, I wants more. But in 2009 this game looked awesome, so 9/10 from me.
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. Mastering the game's in-body platforming is an urgent thrill, beaten down less violently here under the auspices of our old friends keyboard and mouse, and stands out from the homogenised interfaces of modern first-person and platform games.
  2. The beautiful visuals look even better on the PC and the controls are smart and responsive. There are some flaws, though, in particular the short play time, some stiff level design and the overall potential for frustration. But if you manage to go with the flow, you will find Mirror's Edge to be a thrilling and unique gaming experience.
  3. 85
    While its elegant controls, visuals and audio weave a dreamlike tapestry that its animated cut-scenes do their best to eat away at, the whole is an experience you'd be remiss to let fly by if you missed it on consoles.