Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. Jul 19, 2022
    100
    There’s so much to do and Sunbreak offers you even more ways to do it with the new flexibility found in its updated combat features and absurd amount of new content that will easily take you hundreds of hours to get through. So whether you’re this is your first time in the Monster Hunter universe, or you’ve been playing since the very first one, I strongly advise you to get out there and enjoy this amazing game, as the best actually managed to get better! There has absolutely never been a better time to get into it. I hope to see you on the hunt!
  2. Jul 12, 2022
    100
    With a rock-solid foundation and a roadmap of promising post-launch additions on the horizon, Sunbreak is quite simply an excellent Monster Hunter expansion.
  3. Jul 7, 2022
    100
    Overall, Monster Hunter Rise: Sunbreak is just more of what you already know and love from the game. It provides further functionality to existing weapons and some new monsters but makes sure not to change too much. For me, it took about 16 hours to complete the main questline of Sunbreak, but as usual, there are easily hundreds of hours to pump out of the content if you want to. Just don’t buy it until you’ve finished Rise’s main story.
  4. Jun 29, 2022
    100
    Sunbreak is an essential expansion for any Monster Hunter fan, and – paired with Rise – may well be the best entry point for anyone eager to learn more about this fascinating series, too.
  5. Jun 29, 2022
    100
    Whether you're hunting solo or with friends, Monster Hunter Rise: Sunbreak is an absolute joy to blast through.
  6. Jun 29, 2022
    100
    Monster Hunter Rise: Sunbreak enhances and improves Monster Hunter Rise in every way. The monsters are more challenging, the music is a lot better, and the postgame is actually good for more than a few hunts. The new mechanics add even more depth for those looking to dig deeper into each weapon. Even if Capcom didn't do a single title update, this would still be absolutely essential for every Monster Hunter Rise owner. It is that good, and I can't wait to put hundreds of hours into it over the next year.
  7. Jun 29, 2022
    95
    Monster Hunter Rise: Sunbreak is a triumph. Combined with the base game, it offers an ideal onboarding for newcomers and plenty of challenge for series veterans. It’s tougher than a Barroth, but offers the most rewarding action-RPG experience of 2022 so far.
  8. Aug 9, 2022
    90
    Sunbreak expansion is everything you could hope from Monster Hunter and more. Newly (and mostly welcomed) addition of Monsters are both scary and fun to fight and those 14 weapons felts so fresh somehow. You can go into Super Saiyan mode or can have self inflicted wounds for boosted damage output. This time Capcom has gone nuts and all the players will be mindblown with overflowing content and new ways to play their beloved game. Monster Hunter Sunbreak is a delicious treat for fans of the series and a real “rise” of the bar for the genre.
  9. Jul 13, 2022
    90
    Monster Hunter Rise: Sunbreak can really only get better from here. Like Rise, it provides a solid foundation for whatever direction future content updates or installments of the series go next.
  10. Jul 13, 2022
    90
    For new players, Monster Hunter Rise is potentially the best place to start, with Sunbreak adding even more to the package. It’s the icing to the already wonderful cake of the base game, and the new features give returning players more ways to approach the hunts. There’s a layer of accessibility that makes this entry continue to be friendly to new users, but veterans might wish for the higher difficulty found in World or 4 Ultimate. On the other hand, if you just want to fight cool new monsters with friends and explore vivid landscapes, Sunbreak is an incredible experience.
  11. Jul 8, 2022
    90
    Monster Hunter Rise: Sunbreak reached even closer to the franchises's core with new monsters, their patterns and overall action. Although there is little novelty, it is a DLC that has been satisfactorily expanded the original for fans of the series. I am not saying there are no shortcomings, but the game provides so much fun that you don't have to worry about them.
  12. Jul 6, 2022
    90
    In spite of any criticisms, however, it is undeniable that Sunbreak is an exceedingly excellent expansion. At their best, the battles with such incredible creatures are really the sort of win by the skin of your teeth affairs that provide such magic and excitement. Sunbreak also props up ideas that were introduced in the base game, feeling like it's actually enriching what's already there. If you've never played Monster Hunter or have always been scared to dive in, you are truly missing out — a sentiment I cannot overemphasize. The particular intricacy of the mechanics and how they all meld into something unique is really quite unlike anything I've experienced.
  13. Jul 4, 2022
    90
    Monster Hunter Rise: Sunbreak is an amazing—albeit, questionably expensive add on.
  14. Jul 1, 2022
    90
    It doesn’t take away from the fact that for those up to task, Monster Hunter Rise: Sunbreak delivers. You could say it’s just more of the same but that would be doing this expansion a disservice. Like Monster Hunter World’s Iceborne expansion before it, this is essentially a full game served up as DLC. With its generous number of gameplay improvements and hunting opportunities, it’s an absolute must-have for series veterans. And while it’s still not the most accessible game on the whole, it’s undoubtedly the best starting point for aspiring hunters.
  15. Jun 29, 2022
    90
    In the end it is difficult to judge an extension on Monster Hunter since it is not yet in final version. Several updates are already planned for the coming months with additions of monsters, quests and special events. In the state Monster Hunter Sunbreak sublimates everything that has been proposed by Rise without revolutionizing the formula. We regret the absence of a mode equivalent to the Fief of Iceborn for players wanting to persist at the end of the game, but it is clear that the extension proposed by Capcom is solid, rather well stocked and very clean technically, whether on Nintendo Switch or PC. A must for fans of the genre and a title not to be missed this summer.
  16. Jun 29, 2022
    90
    As you try to discover the true artifice of this situation, solving the mystery looming over Elgado is just part of what Monster Hunter Rise: Sunbreak entails for your adventure. Whether a newcomer or a veteran, you’ll find the classic feeling that hunting brings every time, and every monster represents a thrilling challenge in what it is Monster Hunter at its finest.
  17. Jun 29, 2022
    90
    Whereas Rise left me wholly disappointed the more I looked back on the game, it feels like the few issues that I have with Sunbreak are likely to be improved upon as the expansion continues to receive updates – and it’s not like the current state of the game is bad by any stretch of the imagination. I could nitpick about how it adds less monsters to Rise than Iceborne did to World, but that feels unfair when you look at what else the expansion brings to the table, as well as what’s ahead. That’s not to say that I’m judging Sunbreak for what it can be, but rather as some reassurance for anyone that might be heading into the expansion feeling a bit underwhelmed by what’s been shown. Sunbreak is already one of the best expansions that the series has had, and it’s only going to rise up that list from here.
  18. Jun 29, 2022
    90
    Yes, Sunbreak is indeed the Iceborn of Monster Hunter Rise. Capcom strikes again a great blow with this DLC as substantial as qualitative. Once again, it is practically a new game that is presented here and players who will embark on the full adventure with this DLC will have a lot to do. If we understand that Rise has seen its development greatly slowed down by the health situation, since well caught up by the content offered in the meantime, Sunbreak does not suffer from this shortcoming. The game is rich in content, in a relatively varied proposal and in a challenge, admittedly slow for the most annoyed of us, but which will eventually show its face towards the End-Game. Moreover, Sunbreak has a care brought in its form as probably never before, the cinematics are beautiful, the new armors are almost all hit, the characters are all endearing and what to say about this epic OST! We'll criticize the appearance of the new bestiary, drowned in the overdose of the previous monsters.
  19. Jun 29, 2022
    90
    Sunbreak represents the very best of Monster Hunter Rise, recontextualizing the base game through its clever integration of the old and the new. It won’t convert die-hard fans that bounced off of Rise, but for those that loved the changes to the Monster Hunter formula, Sunbreak represents a new high water mark for the series and is an absolute no-brainer for anyone looking to dive back in.
  20. Jun 29, 2022
    90
    After spending over 60 hours with the new expansion, I can say that it’s one of my favorite game expansions in recent history. If you are a fan of Monster Hunter Rise, then you should consider playing the new content. I have enjoyed my time with Sunbreak and can’t wait to continue my adventures with my friends, taking on new challenges, and reaping the rewards. All right, hunters; we’ll see you in the field.
  21. Jun 29, 2022
    90
    Monster Hunter Rise: Sunbreak is a pretty entertaining expansion. Adds many hours of gameplay, new abilities and fighting styles. It is an aesthetically beautiful expansion, which keeps us quite impressed throughout its run.
  22. Jun 29, 2022
    90
    Monster Hunter provides a rush and a challenge few games can match, and those pair well with a heavy build customization system and a sky-high skill ceiling. In short, Monster Hunter Rise Sunbreak is good. It’s very good and worth every penny of its asking price several times over.
  23. Jun 29, 2022
    90
    Monster Hunter Rise: Sunbreak is a nigh on perfect expansion, bringing meaningful gameplay change, charming new cast members, and most importantly, more monsters to hunt. It is, for those in the know, absolutely unmissable.
  24. Jun 29, 2022
    90
    With its huge number of new and returning monsters, new gameplay mechanics, and great refinements to the formula, Monster Hunter Rise: Sunbreak is the massive expansion that the latest entry in the series deserved to get. While the jump from High Rank to Master Rank doesn't feel as big as it was in previous entries in the series, Sunbreak does so many things well that most of the hunters traveling to Elgado and the Citadel will hardly be bothered by it.
  25. Jun 29, 2022
    90
    After sinking my teeth into this game for over 100 hours, I confidently say that not only has Monster Hunter Rise: Sunbreak fixed all my problems with the original base game, it is now one of my new favorite games in the whole Monster Hunter series.
  26. Jun 29, 2022
    89
    Monster Hunter Rise Sunbreak is more of the same for Rise fans, which is great, but the lack of truly 'new' stuff is disappointing.
  27. Jun 30, 2022
    88
    Monster Hunter Rise: Sunbreak is still fun and arguably the best co-op action role-playing game out there. But like the Monster Hunter: World, it is still not enough in terms of "sincere" game content. Predictably, it is enough to sustain the "hunters" for dozens or even hundreds of hours of grinding. Compared to its predecessor, however, the players are still obviously having less fun in the process. We will still go on grinding monsters and keep updating the gears, but this does not seem to be the fun of the Monster Hunter series. Today, the motivation to keep playing looks more like the IP of "Monster Hunter". And that is far from enough.
  28. Jul 17, 2022
    85
    Monster Hunter Rise: Sunbreak is undoubtedly the new standard in this huge franchise. A game full of content with just the right improvements to the base game.
  29. Jun 29, 2022
    85
    Don’t expect anything revolutionary. Sunbreak builds on a firm foundation and caters to those who conquered the base game. However, I see those who played tens of hours of Monster Hunter Rise feeling a bit weary when they boot up Sunbreak. Especially given its slow start.
  30. Jun 29, 2022
    85
    Monster Hunter Rise: Sunbreak is a great expansion to an already good game. You’ll appreciate all the changes and new features added, but it won’t give you a challenge until much later.
  31. Jul 15, 2022
    82
    Although I personally love Monster Hunter World just a little bit more, Rise is a thrilling and engrossing game. Sunbreak does what it needs to do. It adds some awesome new monsters, sweetens gameplay, and folds in a new way to hunt with NPCs. It takes a while to get to the really good stuff, but fans of Rise probably won’t mind. Thanks to the Master Rank quests and ultra-challenging hunts, Sunbreak pushes experienced players to take their already impressive skills to a whole new world.
  32. Aug 2, 2022
    80
    The Sunbreak expansion of Monster Hunter Rise is what fans have come to expect after Iceborne, in a good way. New monsters mean new challenges, and challenges they are indeed. Which have all been masterfully designed. To compensate, players get to craft new gear, but they also get some new moves to play with. Some are great throwbacks to the Monster Hunter games of yore, while others are a refreshing twist on an existing play styles. If only Capcom would finally work out cross saving.
  33. 80
    Monster Hunter Rise: Sunbreak is a great companion to even out the base game's experience. It never reaches the mountain highs of Iceborne, but jumping in for just a few hunts or basking in the grind has never been smoother.
  34. Jul 17, 2022
    80
    Sunbreak is exactly what it needs to be: modern and fluid enough to attract new players, and tough enough to keep veterans coming back. Stick with it, and you'll be rewarded for your effort. If you're seeking a quick, low-stakes fix of fun, however, you might want to look elsewhere.
  35. Jul 8, 2022
    80
    Rise's first expansion isn't a revelation for the series but adds to almost everything fun from the base game while adding some much-needed challenges.
  36. Jun 29, 2022
    80
    This expansion is essential more of the same, but that’s great – Sunbreak delivers impressive new monsters, many great fights and fresh environments as a welcome change.
  37. Jun 29, 2022
    80
    Monster Hunter Rise Sunbreak is a splendid expansion for a game that is already very fun and very rich in content. The new monsters are very powerful and the new fighting techniques increase the variety of choice during the encounters. If you liked the original, you will love this DLC.
  38. Jun 29, 2022
    80
    Monster Hunter Rise Sunbreak is the expansion we've been waiting for, with richer and more satisfying gameplay than ever, added content, and a seriously enhanced difficulty. Even if it introduces a new and very fun way to play single player, as well as various upgrades, it can be criticized for being too classic, and simply following the usual formula, as well as being too light in terms of content. The game also still suffers from the big disparity between the PC and the Switch in terms of graphic capabilities. But if you liked Rise, you'll love Sunbreak.
  39. Jun 29, 2022
    80
    Monster Hunter Rise Sunbreak is an excellent expansion that will please those Hunters desperate for something new, just make sure you’re prepared, or you’ll quickly be rather sick of the sight of a group of Palicos hauling your lifeless body up the road.
  40. Jun 29, 2022
    78
    I’ve had a great time with Sunbreak overall. The lack of new monsters plagues the early hours, but there’s plenty to love if you keep at it. The added flexibility of the Switch Skill Swap system is a freeing and fun expansion to combat for hardcore hunters and the new creatures in the Master Rank quests – when you get to them – breathe life into the experience. For someone already invested in Monster Hunter, there’s plenty to love in Sunbreak. Just don’t expect to see a lot of new content in the opening hours.
  41. Jun 29, 2022
    75
    While it’s not as immediately vocal about its changes and improvements, Monster Hunter Rise: Sunbreak still offers a great deal for fans of the Monster Hunter series.
  42. Jun 29, 2022
    70
    Monster Hunter Rise: Sunbreak is an enjoyable expansion full of cool new monsters but not many new ideas.
  43. Jun 29, 2022
    70
    It takes time to hit its stride and the omission of Rampage quests is puzzling, but there is some great new content here that is worth exploring, especially for those who enjoyed the base version of the game.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Jul 18, 2022
    Capcom delivers a mighty expansion with Monster Hunter Rise: Sunbreak, both in terms of content and actual experience. Combat has been heavily refined and the new art, animations and monsters are all beautiful minus the occasional lack of endgame loop material here and there. One thing is clear: even though it might never be as big as Iceborne, it's absurdly fun. [Recommended]
  2. Jun 29, 2022
    With so many good brawls in Sunbreak, it’s frustrating that it falls victim to one of the biggest villains in AAA video games: bloat. I’d much rather see Sunbreak offer a shorter campaign with more of a focus on new monsters, and give me the option to fight Master Rank versions of the original roster at my leisure. But instead, I spent the opening hours of the expansion bashing familiar foes, just so I could get to the good stuff. As such, playing Sunbreak feels a bit like unwrapping an exciting present covered in too much tape.
  3. So, I guess Sunbreak is maybe a little less grand than I expected? The new monsters are neat, as are the excellent follower quests, but as a whole Sunbreak feels a whole lot like Rise with a bunch of quality of life features thrown in. The true appeal, really, lies in that advanced difficulty. If you’re desperate for a challenge, to face off against monsters whose ferocity finally matches their stature, to use their bones for fancy new armour sets that celebrate those achievements, then Sunbreak is for you...Still, I liked Sunbreak a hell of a lot.
  4. Jun 29, 2022
    For long-time Monster Hunter players, it’s always worth picking up the expansions, especially in the case of Sunbreak. For those looking to get into Monster Hunter for the first time, treat Sunbreak like dessert: it’s there for you once you finish your meal. But whether you’ve been at the banquet for a long time or just getting your first plate, you can’t go wrong with Sunbreak, it’s a stellar addition to an already excellent experience.
User Score
4.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 80 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 80
  2. Negative: 42 out of 80
  1. Jul 2, 2022
    0
    Horrible G-Rank release. Somebody in production thought Monster Hunter was a story-centric game when NO ONE plays it for the story.

    Do not
    Horrible G-Rank release. Somebody in production thought Monster Hunter was a story-centric game when NO ONE plays it for the story.

    Do not buy, its not worth even 10 bucks. Its not worth your time.

    4 colored variants that feel the exact same as their original ones. No new weak points to change up the players strategies. The main base feels like it was supposed to have lot of other areas in it that are now just 'roped off' (literally roped off).

    The new monsters look like they belong in a knock-off MH clone.

    This is easily the WORST MH release to date. Every other G-Rank release had content in it. They just said have the same monsters do more damage and have more HP in the same maps, rehash the armor models from 'World', slap in 3 new monsters, and release the game.

    So if you want to play the same game as Rise all over again with nothing new, by all means go spend another 40 bucks.
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 13, 2022
    0
    Insanely disappointing there’s no cross-progression/cross-save with MHR on Switch. Such a huge missed opportunity
  3. Jul 5, 2022
    5
    PC版要比NS版的效果更优秀,当然BUG也更多,不赘述了。整体上讲本来这作就没有达到预期,所以真的不想做过多的评论了。本体我只打了300多小时,历代怪猎最低时长;DLC甚至已经凑不齐四人小队了,或许这就是新时代的怪猎吧。反正我是搞不懂现在这游戏的魅力,是可以showPC版要比NS版的效果更优秀,当然BUG也更多,不赘述了。整体上讲本来这作就没有达到预期,所以真的不想做过多的评论了。本体我只打了300多小时,历代怪猎最低时长;DLC甚至已经凑不齐四人小队了,或许这就是新时代的怪猎吧。反正我是搞不懂现在这游戏的魅力,是可以show off还是能怎么滴了?花里胡哨的玩鬼泣不好吗?卡普空的新思路我反正是跟不上,也搞不懂。年轻人喜欢玩什么我也是不了解。我只知道下一作怪猎不会预购了。作为玩家这就是我自己对卡普空这作怪猎的态度。快餐游戏什么的,这个时代已经足够多了。
    另外,我本体斗技场甚至全武器S了,居然游戏才打了300多小时。
    你猜我DLC还会不会去打斗技场全武器S?我只想退款好吗
    Full Review »