Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Jan 19, 2020
    85
    With Iceborne Capcom not only opens a new everfrost hunting area, but improves the game overall.
  2. Jan 7, 2020
    90
    Just like the original release of Monster Hunter World on PC, the game feels right with unlocked framerates and gorgeous graphics.
  3. 90
    This is a game that does not give up its secrets easily, but offers players a wealth of options to succeed - with enough perseverance.
  4. Jan 7, 2020
    93
    The PC version, provided one has fairly powerful hardware, benefits from increased fluidity and a greater level of detail compared to the console counterparts: those who have waited for the arrival of this edition can therefore breathe a sigh of relief.
  5. Jan 7, 2020
    90
    If you want to play Monster Hunter World: Iceborne at its prettiest, be warned that you need a beefy PC. With every graphical option set at max and at 4K resolution, my poor RTX 2070 struggles to provide a consistent 30fps experience. That is, unless I enable DLSS, which improves performance considerably. In the end, however, I’ve settled at 1440p, which still provides the eye candy but allows me to play at a pretty much constant 60fps.
  6. GameStar
    Jan 8, 2020
    90
    Iceborne challenges veterans with new monsters, mechanics and a detailed endgame area, newbies will enjoy themselves as well.
  7. Jan 8, 2020
    100
    The Iceborne expansion has finally come to Monster Hunter World for PC gamers, bringing a huge roster of new beasties to best and a ton of quality of life improvements. Was it worth the wait? You bet your bottom zenny it was.
  8. Jan 7, 2020
    90
    Monster Hunter World: Iceborne adds loads of impressive monsters and tons of quality-of-life improvements to an already incredible game...The only major mark against it is that the PC version of Iceborne is still lagging behind its console counterparts in terms of updates and post-launch content, much of which builds on the already top-notch host of monsters and quality-of-life adjustments Iceborne brought at release. But that content will make its way to PC eventually, and (regretably) waiting patiently to play with all of those cool new toys will be something veteran PC players like myself are used to already.
  9. 80
    An essential purchase for any Monster Hunter fan, that also happens to be one of Capcom’s best ever PC ports.
  10. Jan 7, 2020
    87
    The port was well done, and there's almost nothing to complain about. It's not a big surprise, but Monster Hunter World: Iceborne is a fantastic expansion finally available on PC, which should provide you with a much better gaming experience than the console versions, as long as you have an SSD-equipped machine that's up to the task. For a game that sometimes overly encourages you to go back and forth between zones, this is no small feat. If you liked the basic MHW, you'll love Iceborne. If you're new to the game, this is a good opportunity to test the license, as it now includes a massive amount of content.
  11. Jan 7, 2020
    87
    A solid port, that gains a lot from it's new platform and might grow exponentially faster thanks to the modding community. Pity the balancing updates aren't there yet, but they'll come in a few weeks, and the new monsters with them.
  12. Jan 7, 2020
    82
    Fails to explore its themes but still delivers the series' most potent monster hunting yet.
  13. Jan 7, 2020
    80
    Iceborne adds a lot to the game and should keep players busy for a long time. The performance will hopefully improve and the price tag is high, but there's a lot more Monster Hunter to see with this expansion. Plus, you basically have no choice but to buy this if you're already deeply invested.
  14. Jan 7, 2020
    80
    Iceborne is a little bit more of everything that makes Monster Hunter so enjoyable. The pace drags at times, but that's easy to forgive amid dozens of hours of cool new monsters to slay.
  15. Jan 7, 2020
    80
    Monster Hunter World's PC offering is in a much better place than it was initially, and even then it was never a slouch.
  16. Jan 7, 2020
    100
    Monster Hunter World: Iceborne is a perfect expansion and worth every penny. The new content is substantial, but the sheer amount of improvements, extensions to existing ideas and game changing additions offered up alongside the new area and monsters makes it so easy to recommend. If you enjoyed Monster Hunter:World, you should buy Monster Hunter World: Iceborne today.
  17. Jan 13, 2020
    90
    As Xbox One and PS4 players already knows, Monster Hunter World Iceborne is an almost perfect expansion, with numerous new monster and new gameplay features, confirming the care of Capcom for its creature. There’s only a few technical problems with the PC version: lot percentage of CPU usage and some lost savegames, but not in our experience.
  18. Jan 12, 2020
    60
    Iceborne is absolutely a worthy addition to Monster Hunter World, but the PC version still needs some touching up. This is definitely a "your mileage will vary" situation, so proceed with caution if you just can't wait for patches.
  19. Jan 10, 2020
    100
    PC players have been rewarded for their patience; Monster Hunter World Iceborne on PC is the definitive version of one of the best games of the last decade.
  20. Jan 14, 2020
    100
    You’ll not only be entertained by Monster Hunter World: Iceborne for hours, but you will be in awe of its complex systems, and how they align so well to create an unforgettable expansion to an already fantastic game.
  21. Jan 7, 2020
    90
    Iceborne already proved itself to be a spectacular expansion, but the PC release is even better with improved keyboard/mouse controls, up to 4K 60fps, and much more.
  22. Jan 7, 2020
    90
    Monster Hunter World Iceborne is an expansion by the book. There is tons of new content, including exciting new monsters, weapon and armor sets. The Clutch Claw and new attacks add to the gameplay and are really needed for the challenging Master Rank quests. On PC the new areas look even better, including support for widescreen. We still recommend however to avoid mouse and keyboard. If Capcom can keep this quality up, the franchise has a bright future ahead.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Iceborne is an essential expansion for a game that is paradoxically both enormous and niche. [RPS Bestest Bests]
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 31
  2. Negative: 9 out of 31
  1. Jan 11, 2020
    0
    Horrible performance even in old areas of the game.
    people lost their saves.
    The DLC is cooking CPUs.
  2. Jan 11, 2020
    0
    Sometimes I wonder if the developers even try the game they're making. 100% CPU-usage, controller delay and movement that get stuck and yourSometimes I wonder if the developers even try the game they're making. 100% CPU-usage, controller delay and movement that get stuck and your character will spin in a circle for 2 seconds.

    The delay is even more obvious when trying to quit the game.

    - Press start for the menu, wait 2 seconds for it to pop up.
    - Click left to reach the system sub-menu, wait 2 seconds.
    - Press up to reach the quit game option, wait 2 seconds.
    - Press X to quit, wait 2 seconds.
    - Are you sure you want to quit? YES, wait 2 seconds.

    So I decided to play without the DLC for now. Guess what. This garbage effect the base game aswell. Well done Capcom, I won't ever buy a game on release from this joke of a company. The base game had the EXACT problems on release, did they learn nothing?

    It's such a shame on an otherwise good game.
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 13, 2020
    0
    Well done on this one. My first 0 and the reason is rather simple... the damn game does not work as of me writing this. Made my pc crash toWell done on this one. My first 0 and the reason is rather simple... the damn game does not work as of me writing this. Made my pc crash to the point that windows had to repair itself.
    3 crashes in a short amount of time. Third time the charm to even get into the Iceborn area and be able to move around. Crashed during fights, crashed walking around, crashed when npc spoke.
    When this is fixed I am sure that this dlc will be 10/10, but right now it is a 0 because I can´t even play it without it attempting to murder my pc.
    The current state of this game is unacceptable, releasing a game that deletes save files, cooks cpu, has memory leek, crashes gpu, and the list goes on. Ya, anyways this is not acceptable and needs to be fixed asap.
    Full Review »