Mordheim: City of the Damned Image
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 92 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in the Warhammer world's decimated Empire city, Mordheim: City of the Damned is a turn-based tactical game where you lead warbands into bloody and lethal skirmishes. The game blends RPG elements, fast-paced tactical combat and intricate unit customization in a time wrought by chaos andSet in the Warhammer world's decimated Empire city, Mordheim: City of the Damned is a turn-based tactical game where you lead warbands into bloody and lethal skirmishes. The game blends RPG elements, fast-paced tactical combat and intricate unit customization in a time wrought by chaos and rivalry where only the strongest survive. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Mordheim: City of the Damned - Early Access Phase 3 Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Dec 23, 2015
    85
    If you’re a fan of Warhammer, and you long for a tactical strategy game that captivates you for hours and never forgets a mistake, Mordheim is for you.
  2. Dec 3, 2015
    81
    Mordheim is a lot of fun, despite its rough corners, if you are patient and willing to live with harsh consequences.
  3. Jan 4, 2016
    80
    Mordheim: City of the Damned can be both punishing and rewarding, and it all depends on whether or not you are willing to accept a somewhat brutal challenge.
  4. Dec 18, 2015
    79
    Mordheim: City of the Damned is a turn-based tactical game with very deep battle and team management mechanics. Although it's much more difficult than average, its tutorial is explanatory enough even for the inexperienced player. Some imbalance issues prevent it from being a really great game.
  5. Dec 22, 2016
    70
    Overall, Mordheim: City of the Damned is compelling for strategy fanatics who enjoy a challenge, but doesn't offer much else to other players. Even with the setting of Warhammer behind it, limiting things to a single city with a handful of factions can make things feel small and repetitive. The gameplay is fairly deep, but the steep learning curve will potentially turn off a lot of players.
  6. Dec 3, 2015
    70
    This first try is an interesting one, but it's far from being a perfect shot. Mordheim : City of the Damned doesn't lack any depth, that's for sure. But the very hard first missions and the disastrous interface make it a game we can recommend only to the fans.
  7. Dec 14, 2015
    50
    Mordheim: City of the Damned had the potential to be an interesting and challenging game. The progression system is deep and filled with interesting choices and options, and the Warhammer Fantasy Universe provides sturdy groundwork to create your own tale on top of. But the gameplay is monotonous, the technical issues are annoying and the game is among the most frustrating I’ve played in some time.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 40
  2. Negative: 14 out of 40
  1. Jan 19, 2016
    10
    One of the best games in 2015, been playing it for 75 hours now and cant stop myself spending more hours everyday. Missions are quite hard andOne of the best games in 2015, been playing it for 75 hours now and cant stop myself spending more hours everyday. Missions are quite hard and main storyline needs some expanding however the focus is on character creation and improvement so you dont need a story to do so. Expand
  2. Nov 24, 2015
    10
    Mordheim is a punishing (hardcore) RPG turn-based strategy game set in Warhammer Fantasy universe.

    Basically you select a faction, create a
    Mordheim is a punishing (hardcore) RPG turn-based strategy game set in Warhammer Fantasy universe.

    Basically you select a faction, create a Warband, customize it (hire soldiers, give them weapons & armors, allocate stats & skill points) and fight skirmishes against the AI or players.
    Shall you emerge victorious from a fight, you'll earn xp, gold & loot, slowly leveling up your Warband; however if a soldier falls in battle, he may become permanently injured (or even die).

    The game has a small learning curve (thankfully tutorials greatly help), but once you learn the ropes, it becomes really fun & immersive!

    Be warned though, you will become emotionally attached to your Warband, curse at your monitor when your captain/favorite hero gets ambushed & knocked to the ground, and celebrate with joy when you overcome the enemy and see him rout!

    While I acknowledge this game may not be for everyone (again its a turn based strategy game), personally I am having a blast!

    Lastly its worth mentioning that the developers are very close to the community, constantly listening to players feedback, interacting on forum, patching, and balancing.

    My score: 9.5/10 as a few aspects could be improved (such as the ability to deploy your troops directly from the map), but overall the game delivers a solid Warband management experience and is very enjoyable!
    Expand
  3. Nov 25, 2015
    10
    Mordheim is a fantastic, faithful translation of the cult classic tabletop game. Be warned, though, casual gamer: this is no Candy Crush SagaMordheim is a fantastic, faithful translation of the cult classic tabletop game. Be warned, though, casual gamer: this is no Candy Crush Saga for the gaming faint-of-heart. Mordheim is hugely challenging and occasionally heartbreaking, and there's no "changing the difficulty setting" or prescient saves here to spare you from all of the nail-biting and mouse-smashing you'll experience as you continue to dig in to the campaign. No other turn-based strategy game has ever left me on the edge of my seat the way Mordheim has.

    The graphics and sound are serviceable, but there are no movie-quality cutscenes here, no incredibly beautiful art to dazzle the eye. Mordheim is true to the Warhammer universe, which is "A Grim World of Perilous Adventure". While other players may knock the game down a peg for this, I enjoy a game based solely on the mechanics of the gameplay, and in this, the development team absolutely aced it.

    Kudos on a job well done. Hopefully, my nails will grow back at some point.
    Expand
  4. Nov 25, 2015
    8
    Really enjoyed this one, has that good old school board game vibe about it that I like. Combined with the gritty setting makes it a winner.Really enjoyed this one, has that good old school board game vibe about it that I like. Combined with the gritty setting makes it a winner. Fun if difficult but its difficulty is refreshing in this day and age. Expand
  5. May 19, 2016
    6
    Mordheim plays like a solid alpha build. It brings the in-depth progression, loot, and character development that was essential to the tableMordheim plays like a solid alpha build. It brings the in-depth progression, loot, and character development that was essential to the table top game. However, there are a slew of design choices that really rob the game of its full potentially. The first and most glaring issue is the bizarre movement system, which is an odd hybrid of free movement and turn/action based. This leads to a lot of awkward moments where you have trouble with context-sensitive commands, where you're trying to squeeze your second warrior past a friendly to get them into combat. I really feel like a hex or square based system like XCOM or Wasteland would have resulted in a vastly superior game experience. The combat is simple and doesn't take advantage of the streamlined gameplay that a computer game should allow when compared with the table top game. The graphics are somewhat disappointing even on the top settings and I would have preferred a more Warhammer stylized look that would suit the game's graphics. Bum-rushing the enemy in a group is unfortunately still the best approach, and the objectives feel very secondary to the battle, this is only made more problematic considering there are still only four factions.

    I really feel like an XCOM style combat system would have made the game much faster and less glitchy, and would have allowed more variety in combat tactics.
    Expand
  6. FGM
    Jul 8, 2017
    4
    I love Warhammer Universe, I love strategy games, I love tactical games, I love RPG games, I hate this game. P.S. Steam or Gamesworkshop hadI love Warhammer Universe, I love strategy games, I love tactical games, I love RPG games, I hate this game. P.S. Steam or Gamesworkshop had to hire an army of trolls to write positive reviews.

    Pros: Setting, Varied Itemization, customization and progression.

    Cons: Console Design, Console Design, Console Design, game is a turn based MOBA, slow paced, awkward camera controls and game turn progression, game is fairly easy, AI is slow and silly.
    Collapse
  7. May 25, 2017
    0
    It pains me to review this game so low. It doesn't help that most of the positive scores come from single review plant accounts.

    I love
    It pains me to review this game so low. It doesn't help that most of the positive scores come from single review plant accounts.

    I love Warhammer, and the system this uses, what it's based on is fun. But this is a terrible implementation. There's no strategy, the enemy is more powerful than you, and walks straight at you. You can beat them to death with a little positioning, but by virtue of raw power, they'll take someone with them.

    It's mindless, and a strategy came, more than anything, should NOT be mindless. It's also clunky to navigate, the camera is... unhelpful, and the UI... passable.

    It COULD be good, instead it's lazy. Its score would be lower if more people actually bought the game.
    Expand

See all 40 User Reviews