Mother Russia Bleeds Image
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 91 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Mother Russia Bleeds is an ultra-violent co-op brawler overflowing with an unmistakable style and unforgettably brutal action for up to four players at once. Set in an alternate U.S.S.R, the story centers on a desperate crew of imprisoned street fighters that must overcome an oppressiveMother Russia Bleeds is an ultra-violent co-op brawler overflowing with an unmistakable style and unforgettably brutal action for up to four players at once. Set in an alternate U.S.S.R, the story centers on a desperate crew of imprisoned street fighters that must overcome an oppressive criminal authority and crippling drug addictions through any means necessary. Battle solo or alongside friends locally and online in an exceptional story mode campaign or harden your resolve in a multitude of formidable challenge and versus modes. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Mother Russia Bleeds - Launch Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 42
  2. Negative: 1 out of 42
  1. Sep 5, 2016
    90
    A debauchery-fueled beat ‘em up with plenty of ways to cripple your enemies, its excessive violence never overshadows the smart and intuitive combat.
  2. 80
    Mother Russia Bleeds is a great homage to the beat'em ups that ruled the arcades in the Eighties. Excessive, vulgar, ultraviolent, it offers a fun yet deep gameplay, improved by an inspired art direction and a good soundtrack. An excessive difficulty towards the end and some technical flaws prevent the game from becoming a masterpiece, but if you love the genre, you can't miss it.
  3. Sep 27, 2016
    80
    All-round successful beat’em up. Gameplay mechanics work great both in single and multiplayer. In addition, the style of the game is brought to perfection and the result is a flawless atmosphere.
  4. Sep 5, 2016
    70
    It introduces wrinkles that make each level feel fresh. And it weaves complex themes into its gameplay in ways that, although not subtle, are nuanced. Mother Russia Bleeds knows how to upset many expectations of the genre--I just wish it wasn't always trying to shock me.
  5. Oct 12, 2016
    70
    Mother Russia Bleeds reaches its entertainment goals. Even though there are some issues in its gameplay that affect the game negatively, we find ourselves with a great beat ‘em up videogame.
  6. Sep 13, 2016
    62
    The most flattering description I can offer Mother Russia Bleeds is that of an enjoyably formulaic brawler, but the ferocity of its execution was refined enough to get lodged in my head. I can’t quite work it out: it exists like a ringing in my ears that has no obvious source. Or, rather, it’s a third-gen VHS copy of its influences, a quavery deja vu of a violent brawler both familiar and unsettling.
  7. Oct 4, 2016
    40
    Even the co-op, local-only, fails to save the game from tedium. It’s a shame; aesthetically and mechanically there could’ve been something here, but there just weren’t enough ideas put in play to make Mother Russia Bleeds into anything special. Coupled with the often frustrating collision detection and the woefully poor friendly AI, Mother Russia Bleeds ends up as little more than a tedious, forgettable drudge.

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 22
  2. Negative: 5 out of 22
  1. Sep 11, 2016
    10
    Don't consider russian's **** Mother Russia Bleeds is the legacy of streets of rage.
    Artistic direction is perfect.
    Gameplay is violent as i
    Don't consider russian's **** Mother Russia Bleeds is the legacy of streets of rage.
    Artistic direction is perfect.
    Gameplay is violent as i expected.
    Big replay value with the arena mode.
    A great beat them up.
    Expand
  2. Sep 11, 2016
    10
    huge huge huge, Mother Russia Bleeds is awesome !!!
    This beat them up is what i'm looking for 20 years.
    Clever, stylish, bloody. Arena mode
    huge huge huge, Mother Russia Bleeds is awesome !!!
    This beat them up is what i'm looking for 20 years.
    Clever, stylish, bloody.
    Arena mode is perfect.
    Thanks to the cartel.
    Expand
  3. Jun 27, 2018
    10
    I dont get negative reviews. Its class of its own - there is no other beatem up on the market as good as this one. Highly enjoyable, highlyI dont get negative reviews. Its class of its own - there is no other beatem up on the market as good as this one. Highly enjoyable, highly recommended (if Youre adult, not for childrens).

    P.S. Russophobic? Dont make me laugh, Youre overreacting.
    Besides Russia is a bit strange country, dont You think? Check russian driving compilation. Check what police does to car drivers in Russia - exactly what You do in this game - beat the crap out of drivers :) Type Russia in Youtube and check all the videos. Your nation seems to be drunk and violent, You all are responsible that we get this impression, not by a video game which is plain fun. Not to mention what Ruskis do for instance in Ukraine - blame Yourself instead of blaming others.
    Expand
  4. Sep 13, 2016
    10
    An Excellent game! This includes about 34 rage quits and I still came back for more. I got more enjoyment out of this than I have the lastAn Excellent game! This includes about 34 rage quits and I still came back for more. I got more enjoyment out of this than I have the last year of gaming. Expand
  5. Sep 6, 2016
    9
    This game is a near-perfect, lasciviously-brutal beat-'em-up experience. You could call it Street of Rage painted with a layer of HotlineThis game is a near-perfect, lasciviously-brutal beat-'em-up experience. You could call it Street of Rage painted with a layer of Hotline Miami and liberally smeared with Soviet-era filth, but even that is doing the game a disservice. From the stylistical visuals to the intoxicating soundtrack by Fixions, from the satisfying crunch of smashing a mobster's skull to paste to the blissful crack of fire spewing from the barrel of a bloodstained AK-47, this game is an experience to be savored. The controls are tight and responsive, and the combat is light enough to easily learn while still deep enough to keep you on your toes to the very end. Enemies are varied, not only in appearance but in behavior and preferred manner of attack, forcing you to constantly adapt to changing situations, especially when stage hazards present themselves.

    There's nothing else to say. Get this game now, товарищ.
    Expand
  6. May 2, 2017
    7
    This game got a good story behind it and I loved the animations, but damn this is a pretty hard game. You need a good keyboard and deft fingerThis game got a good story behind it and I loved the animations, but damn this is a pretty hard game. You need a good keyboard and deft finger movements to time a move at right time. Expand
  7. Sep 8, 2016
    0
    unplayable with a keyboard....can't redefine controls properly.you can rebind them,except you can't rebind the move keys to the cursorunplayable with a keyboard....can't redefine controls properly.you can rebind them,except you can't rebind the move keys to the cursor keys...what's the sense in that?
    the old MAME has better customization than this....
    Expand

See all 22 User Reviews