User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 322 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 40 out of 322

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 5, 2019
    3
    This game looked interesting and is fun to play. The graphics are also really good and nice to look at. I like the subtle touch of footprints in the snow.

    Now, the problem that I have with the game is that the story isn't very good and the writing doesn't help. The writing constantly talks about the old world and the characters in the game, even the enemies, make assumptions that aren't
    This game looked interesting and is fun to play. The graphics are also really good and nice to look at. I like the subtle touch of footprints in the snow.

    Now, the problem that I have with the game is that the story isn't very good and the writing doesn't help. The writing constantly talks about the old world and the characters in the game, even the enemies, make assumptions that aren't funny to me or world building. It seems illogical that no one knows why people went into buildings to learn. I couldn't figure out what the point is to the game or where the story was heading. It was really boring. For example, a person at the very beginning of the game joins your group for no reason...It doesn't even seem like the characters really talk to each other in cutscenes which is sad for anyone like me who like games with a story.

    I found the game to be rather difficult and there wasn't anywhere to level or farm for money. Once you get all the scrap in a level, that's all you're going to get. Also, there's no way to level higher than the enemies. The only way to beat a level is to fully go stealth and that's boring and it doesn't work all the time. If you don't kill one of the enemies in one turn, everyone else in the level gets alerted and runs toward you no matter how far they are which is nonsensical.

    I didn't like the repetitive enemies and I didn't like the repetitive skill trees. The skill trees were pretty much all the same except for each character having 1 or 2 unique skills. Everything in the store cost so much that one cannot possibly buy everything. You are really fighting a losing battle right at the start. And, you really need those health kits.

    Anyways, I was playing on easy and I found it to be difficult. I felt the game was wasting my time so I had to stop playing it. I really don't think the developers really cared about the story. If the story can't push me to play the game then I'm not going to play at all.
    Expand
  2. Apr 20, 2020
    0
    Mutant Year Zero: Road to Eden started out interesting. I originally started playing it on Very Hard (suggested experience) using the cover system, but I soon figured out ... this is not the way you can beat the game. Medikits are VERY scarce in the beginning and with enemies easily bringing your characters to under 20% HP in one attack that doesn't work out.
    After watching someone on
    Mutant Year Zero: Road to Eden started out interesting. I originally started playing it on Very Hard (suggested experience) using the cover system, but I soon figured out ... this is not the way you can beat the game. Medikits are VERY scarce in the beginning and with enemies easily bringing your characters to under 20% HP in one attack that doesn't work out.
    After watching someone on YouTube playing it ... where he showed off how to first pick the patrolling enemies, sneaking in and then ambushing those basically killing them in one round and/or crowd control them so they have no chance in even getting one attack off ... that's how i played.

    Which brings me to around 10 hours playtime, might be more as the game doesn't record that stat. I got the 4th Group Member ... but i am bored by the game already.
    The whole game revolves around you running around in the stages, trying to find scraps, chests with items, patrolling enemies and scouting where stationary enemies stand. Once you have a oversight of the situation, you then can cook up a plan how to deal with it.

    This means that 95% of the time you play you sneak around with your flashlight off, where you can hide and let enemies walk right past you ... they won't see you hiding ... just to move your 3 characters into a favorable position and then try to ambush them, making silent weapons the hot thing and non-silent weapons trash. And if your plan doesn't work out you reload.
    This is just not that fun for even the paltry 15 hours this game is long.

    I prefer games like Warsong/Langrisser, Shining Force, Tactics Ogre, Final Fantasy Tactics, Silent Storm, Fallout Tactics, Xcom ... where the *main* gameplay lies within the strategy of the *combat* ... and not so much in searching the big areas for items and opportunities to Ambush.
    Expand
  3. Aug 19, 2019
    9
    I didn´t expect the game to be this good! Thank you Devs!

    Just 10 minutes into the game and I was totally emerged in the world. The maps sparkle with love for detail, the dark mood of the postapocalyptic world draw one in, the characters have depth and have interesting (different) skilltrees and the tactical gameplay is awesome and very good balanced. Even the cut scenes, which merely
    I didn´t expect the game to be this good! Thank you Devs!

    Just 10 minutes into the game and I was totally emerged in the world. The maps sparkle with love for detail, the dark mood of the postapocalyptic world draw one in, the characters have depth and have interesting (different) skilltrees and the tactical gameplay is awesome and very good balanced.
    Even the cut scenes, which merely consist of pictures and a narrator are good (yeah, I know, difficult to believe).
    The only thing I can criticize is the sparse trading system. A shop (with totally overpriced items), with a meagre selection of goods and no selling option.... half my inventory are smoke grenades.....
    Expand
  4. Sep 17, 2019
    9
    Support the Game !! It's good Game.
    Random text random text
    Random text random text
  5. Jun 10, 2019
    10
    this game is really epic lovely masterpiece and even needs more attention..
  6. Sep 13, 2019
    8
    It is like xcom turn+based strategy rpg but unlike xcom It is actually interesting and entertaining.
    Voice acting is superb atmosphere is strong graphics are pretty good exploration aspect is well built
    Things I don't like are 1)It rewards stealth players all hell breaks loose If you go loud. 2)Lvl designs& enemies are not really balanced game starts by showing the players If area is
    It is like xcom turn+based strategy rpg but unlike xcom It is actually interesting and entertaining.
    Voice acting is superb atmosphere is strong graphics are pretty good exploration aspect is well built

    Things I don't like are 1)It rewards stealth players all hell breaks loose If you go loud.
    2)Lvl designs& enemies are not really balanced game starts by showing the players If area is too high lvl you should run away and go to other places which suit your level but simply not a good design even when you know which groups to kill or run away from what area you should go to in the map.

    If you want to know how many hours the game takes to finish I would say definetly more than 10 hours depending on difficulty&how much you explore the zones.
    Expand
  7. Oct 13, 2019
    10
    One of the best atmospheric turn based games I've ever seen. Would like to see more, and hope the next one is more epic. Maybe open world like fallout. Nice to play a game like this with a descent story.
  8. Dec 5, 2018
    9
    Great game to get your tactical turn based fix with a bit of stealth and exploration thrown in. I loved the art style and creature design. The voice acting and script wasn't exactly top shelf but immersive enough not to be distracting. Loved the mutation (skill) tree but a little variation across characters would have been better. Loot was good if somewhat limited ..getting the thirdGreat game to get your tactical turn based fix with a bit of stealth and exploration thrown in. I loved the art style and creature design. The voice acting and script wasn't exactly top shelf but immersive enough not to be distracting. Loved the mutation (skill) tree but a little variation across characters would have been better. Loot was good if somewhat limited ..getting the third version of the same weapon after a really hard fight was a bit disheartening.Story moved the game forward even if it was a bit cookie cutter.

    Otherwise loved it for what it is... can't wait for the sequel/ expansion (finished it in three sittings ).
    Expand
  9. Jan 28, 2019
    10
    I love this game! The graphic style really speaks to me and sets the mood.
    I haven´t been this excited about a strategic game with story since Front Mission 3 and Final Fantasy Tactics. This game is worth every penny and something for all RPG- and strategy lovers! =)
  10. Dec 4, 2018
    10
    Summary: Glad I played this game! Its a great introduction to turn based strategy , a genre I easily dissregarded, telling myself I couldnt get involved with characters, back story and especially combat in such a game. But Im glad I tried MYZ and I stand corrected. The art style, dialog and exploration (although minor) kept me engaged and I feel there is something special about this gameSummary: Glad I played this game! Its a great introduction to turn based strategy , a genre I easily dissregarded, telling myself I couldnt get involved with characters, back story and especially combat in such a game. But Im glad I tried MYZ and I stand corrected. The art style, dialog and exploration (although minor) kept me engaged and I feel there is something special about this game in terms of athmosphere. You can see the effort and care put into it by developers and its a breath of fresh air among all the AAA titles that seemingly become more similar to eachother rather than taking some risk. The game also turns out to be quite challenging and I believe it will find its place among the less casual crowd.

    As for bugs I encountered a few, but nothing too dramatic and I believe some of the isssues are being addressed right now. If you are a turn based strategy sceptic like I was give this game a go, I dont think you will be dissapointed.
    Expand
  11. Jan 20, 2019
    10
    Super game, love the ending. Cool characters, fresh ideas. I love this game. Great story, music, art, everything is perfect.
  12. Dec 4, 2018
    9
    I spent a few hours with this last night, and am really enjoying it.
    It does what it says on the box. Realtime/turn-based combination, a post-apocalyptic XCOM’ish adventure with scavenging and story. It sounds like it’s trying to do a lot, but it keeps things small. Start with only two characters. You thought XCOM:EU had squished numbers? MYZ is similar, and the simplicity of it makes it
    I spent a few hours with this last night, and am really enjoying it.
    It does what it says on the box. Realtime/turn-based combination, a post-apocalyptic XCOM’ish adventure with scavenging and story. It sounds like it’s trying to do a lot, but it keeps things small. Start with only two characters. You thought XCOM:EU had squished numbers? MYZ is similar, and the simplicity of it makes it start very accessible.

    MYZ’s got oodles of atmosphere. And the controls and UI ‘just work’, doing what they’re meant to and being pretty intuitive. There’s no excessive hurdles around saving/loading. Save when you want. Load when you want. Save-scum if you want. (Haven’t tried it to see if the same action can get different results yet, just loaded after a tactical error to avoid wasting a medkit.) Brief loading screens between zones.

    Roam the overworld in a ‘How to Survive’ style isometric-view real-time exploration game, and enter turn-based combat mode whenever you want,
    similar to Fallouts 1-2. Collect glowy junk piles which require some exploration, sneak in the real-time mode to avoid circles of detection displayed around enemies, engage if you’ve scouted the area enough and think you know what you’re dealing with and can handle it. Go back to base to buy gear, add mods to your weapons, upgrade them, and collect missions, go back out again to complete the mission. I have yet to investigate if there’s any respawning to allow for farming – just following the story at the moment, because it’s simple but compelling enough.

    Voice acting isn’t the best, but it’s not terrible, either. Graphics, performance, environments, story, design… it’s all sitting squarely in the ‘pretty good’ range of quality. Not trying to do too much and succeeding is a refreshing thing from an AA title, instead of being very ambitious and failing (Elex et al).

    Looking forward to putting more hours into this. At its low price point, I've already got my money's worth.
    Expand
  13. Dec 4, 2018
    9
    Great turn based game with awesome humor. Only negative is that its a little short, but I'm sure the devs will work on that.

    Do you like Xcom? Then you will enjoy this.
  14. Dec 13, 2018
    8
    This game is SHORT. Maybe 20 hours at most. It ends just as it is getting started.
  15. Feb 7, 2019
    10
    Very nice strategy and tactics game. I hope well be Mutant year zero 2.
    10/10
  16. Dec 17, 2018
    9
    Good game so far. Compared to XCOM2 it doesnt have randomly generated levels so replay value would be reduced but therefore the levels are lovely designed but small, they are interconnected via fast traveling. And also unlike XCOM2 there is no difficulty adjustment of the enemys strength against your party. So once you get to the ark and get your first assignment to investigate for theGood game so far. Compared to XCOM2 it doesnt have randomly generated levels so replay value would be reduced but therefore the levels are lovely designed but small, they are interconnected via fast traveling. And also unlike XCOM2 there is no difficulty adjustment of the enemys strength against your party. So once you get to the ark and get your first assignment to investigate for the ingeneer you wont be able to proceed at certain places unless you backtrack and kill weaker enemys to level up. I recommend this game. Expand
  17. Dec 4, 2018
    10
    Great game! love the DUX, Game of the Year potential. Didnt think i would like turn based combat but they have managed to make it in a way that is just pure awesomeness.
  18. Dec 5, 2018
    10
    this is the new fallout and has the potential to be the future Fallout 2, any negative review is from people who don't know how to play this game. also, it is not an AAA title and that's good so.
  19. Mar 3, 2019
    3
    Let's start positives: game looks nice and it has lots of humour in it. That's all.

    Then to the negatives: Gameplay is horrendous. I love turn based games in general but this game failed so hard at the gameplay. The introduction of stealth was nice idea, but in reality it made the game boring AF. There are barely any combats in this game. All you do is walk your 3 man executioner
    Let's start positives: game looks nice and it has lots of humour in it. That's all.

    Then to the negatives: Gameplay is horrendous. I love turn based games in general but this game failed so hard at the gameplay. The introduction of stealth was nice idea, but in reality it made the game boring AF. There are barely any combats in this game. All you do is walk your 3 man executioner line(potentially actually hiding or using high ground against tougher enemies) initiate combat and shoot for stealth kill. Rinse and repeat that every single area for 95% of enemies in the game. For the boss or some special case you will stun the enemy and kill them within 2 turns. It was okay for first couple areas till you realize that is all the game has to offer in terms of gameplay.
    Game was balanced completely around the stealth kills. Normal weapons might as well not even exist if you play on hardest difficulty. The hit chance was made too simple 25/50/75/100 % chance so you can always get that 100% which took even the slightest of excitement away. This game had a lot of potential but their piss poor balancing is what killed it to me. Incredibly monotonous experience to play. The game gives about 15h playtime if you scrounge every area fully, really not worth the price. I'd wait till it's on sale if you for some reason want to buy it regardless, it's worth about 5-10 dollars in current state.
    Expand
  20. Dec 4, 2018
    10
    f... yeahh ! Now we need huge open world online !!
    MUTANT YEAR ZERO: ROAD TO EDEN 10/10
  21. Dec 6, 2018
    6
    Have played this game for 10 hours, great characters, great sound, and jokes. Not too many skills in the skill tree, hope developers can add additional, zones are also not so big. The game similar to XCOM. Stealth regime is nice. Is necessary to reload the weapon.
    Nothing innovative or special, just pass through the game.
  22. Dec 5, 2018
    5
    In a word: Disappointing

    Pro's Wonderful art style and soundtrack Great characters Witty writing Polished proven formula for combat Effective fusion of stealth mechanics with turn based strategy Cons Underwhelming progression system Limited skill trees/upgrades Limited replayabilty Short Mechanically baron Minimum settings/options Suffers from a lack of ambition Wait
    In a word: Disappointing

    Pro's
    Wonderful art style and soundtrack
    Great characters
    Witty writing
    Polished proven formula for combat
    Effective fusion of stealth mechanics with turn based strategy

    Cons
    Underwhelming progression system
    Limited skill trees/upgrades
    Limited replayabilty
    Short
    Mechanically baron
    Minimum settings/options
    Suffers from a lack of ambition

    Wait for sale
    It’s a cool little title, but I can’t in good faith recommend a game that I literally dove to the computer to refund, before it was too late.
    Expand
  23. Dec 5, 2018
    8
    The problem with Games like Xcom & Wasteland2 and now MYZ
    is they get boring faster then the usual game..
    *Wasteland2 made it up with LORE. as the writers and creators were involved with original Fallout or something like that....

    **FACT~ if combat isn't 'fun then it better make the rewards uber aka compensate...

    kudos soooo far guys!!!!
  24. Dec 6, 2018
    10
    Best tactical turnbased shooter so far.
    Would really be a bonus if they had coop play like Divinity Sin but as a single player game this gets 10/10
  25. Dec 5, 2018
    8
    As has been mentioned by many this is a great quirky take on squad turn based combat, very similar to XCOM, wasteland 2, Divinity Origonal Sin. That being said if you enjoy that type of game I highly recommend Mutant Year Zero.

    Overall it is a very challenging game, that runs well and looks fantastic with atmosphere to match. However all is not perfect in Eden. The RPG aspect of
    As has been mentioned by many this is a great quirky take on squad turn based combat, very similar to XCOM, wasteland 2, Divinity Origonal Sin. That being said if you enjoy that type of game I highly recommend Mutant Year Zero.

    Overall it is a very challenging game, that runs well and looks fantastic with atmosphere to match. However all is not perfect in Eden. The RPG aspect of character building is somewhat superficial, with skills overlapping between characters - replay wise, there won't be much variety. The base aspect is also very superficial, this could have been fleshed out in a lot greater detail. The lack of / cost of med packs, in harder difficulties you are constantly running around with half health (or maybe me the player is crap?). Lastly, stealth is also superficial, and combat is repetitive, you stealth, kill individual guards silently, then take on the main group. This is the approach you must take for every battle - very little variety in this aspect.

    If this game even had some more polished but rudimentary elements of RPG's it would be absolutely amazing, however the focus is on turn based combat and it does it very well. Highly recommend for turned based combat buffs, and I'll be purchasing any DLC that may appear.
    Expand
  26. Dec 6, 2018
    8
    A very good RPG/tactical game and there are not many of them in the X-com genre. The world is a fascinating place, full of details. The cara design is great. As for gameplay, it deserves a few patches, to meet players more demanding than me.
    I look forward to learning more about this universe and its history...
  27. Dec 9, 2018
    10
    It's hardcore one with linear gameplay. It was a miracle, that I Finished it for 15 hrs (2nd lvl of difficulty).
    Nostalgic wind of Fallout/Wasteland, Gorky 17 and of course, X-Com series.

    NOT FOR CASUAL GAMERS LIKE YOU!!!
  28. Jul 8, 2019
    10
    Absolute gem of a game. It's a shame there aren't more people experiencing it. From the voice acting to the story to the gameplay. Fantastic. It's your normal turn based/XCOM type combat, but with some welcome twists. Utterly accessible with many variables and difficulty levels.

    Can't say enough about this game...
  29. Dec 5, 2018
    10
    This game is wonderful! I like it from beginning to end. I hope there will be DLC with continue of story or next mutant 2)
  30. Dec 5, 2018
    10
    In simple words ,An amazing game that have merged the turn based system with real time system successfully. if you are a fan of XCOM 2 or Shadow tactics then i shall recommend this game for you .just play it like a pro.
  31. Jan 15, 2019
    10
    The environments in this game are simply stunning. The attention to detail is just mind blowing. From the Swedish dance music in the bar to the road signs in the grass, every part is just beautiful. Yes, it is short, but so were most of the campaigns in the pen-and-paper RPG. extra points for capturing the feel of the original pen-and-paper RPG.
  32. Jan 16, 2019
    10
    I love this game. Great mix of XCOM, Fallout. Story, music, art - everything is perfect.
  33. Dec 4, 2018
    10
    Instant in love whit the game. Cool story and cool characters and epic game play.
  34. May 14, 2019
    10
    For an "indy" game I could believe how incredibly gorgeous the graphics were.

    Totally intuitive controls - except, I wish I could swap gear and party members more easily. To get limited gear you have to "unload" one character, swap them out and then load the other. That said, very good system. Good plot. Amazing voice acting. Slightly short, but great start. If they keep it
    For an "indy" game I could believe how incredibly gorgeous the graphics were.

    Totally intuitive controls - except, I wish I could swap gear and party members more easily. To get limited gear you have to "unload" one character, swap them out and then load the other. That said, very good system.

    Good plot.

    Amazing voice acting.

    Slightly short, but great start. If they keep it up, I can't wait for a sequel.

    Corny but HILARIOUS.

    Suggestion: Zoom please :)
    Expand
  35. Dec 5, 2018
    8
    I'll write a proper review, once I've completed the game. It's a shame that so many people are hating on it. purely because it runs on Denuvo. I don't think that's a very fair thing to criticize a game for.
  36. Dec 4, 2018
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love the humor and everything in this game. Only negative is that its a little too short. Expand
  37. Dec 9, 2018
    3
    Very nice setting, nice graphics, it will be a decent "X-COM meets Fallout" if not for the fact that the game does not explains anything to you. It just throws you out there without any secondary quests, without guidance in a very heavy RPG experience and very, very difficult. Sorry, but two lines of a voice line is not enough to explain anything.

    I just end up desmotivated, without
    Very nice setting, nice graphics, it will be a decent "X-COM meets Fallout" if not for the fact that the game does not explains anything to you. It just throws you out there without any secondary quests, without guidance in a very heavy RPG experience and very, very difficult. Sorry, but two lines of a voice line is not enough to explain anything.

    I just end up desmotivated, without understanding what the hell I'm doing in a middle of a combat. Who are this guys? Why they hate me so much again? Why the dogs don't attack them, only me? Why people are doing what they are doing, why I'm hearing stuff in my head... Also, character development. There's the whinny duck, the whinny pig and the whinny girl. They all seem as unmotivated as me for doing their quest. I don't understand why they are friends, why they are doing what they are doing...

    Difficult turn combat and stealth focus is nice, at the begginng, but I need some stuff, some dialogue some LORE to keep going. And a RPG without enough LORE or story development... It's not RPG at all. It's just a hardcore stealth and turn combat, which is not even that hardcore once you learned how to kill people in stealth.

    At least it's free with XBOX game pass, I guess, so if you have the console you can try it out and see for yourself, but... I'm going back to Wasteland 2, much, much better that this.
    Expand
  38. Jan 23, 2019
    4
    1) Has DRM junk called Denuvo 2) Cannot skip splash screens before the title screen 3) Graphic options are shockingly minimal feels like a console port 4) Story becomes disappointing after the middle half of the game and overall the game is short 5) Current version has a serious bug when a character is getting out of hiding, and when the player switches to the next character too quickly1) Has DRM junk called Denuvo 2) Cannot skip splash screens before the title screen 3) Graphic options are shockingly minimal feels like a console port 4) Story becomes disappointing after the middle half of the game and overall the game is short 5) Current version has a serious bug when a character is getting out of hiding, and when the player switches to the next character too quickly after that: the former character gets stuck, becomes unavailable to selection 4) RNG is precomputed meaning you will always get the same outcome for the same action at a given point and place. It is quite pricey in comparison to other games, for what little it has to offer. Expand
  39. Mar 4, 2020
    4
    If you like this type of game then it's apparently really good!
    I don't.. I hate turn based combat. It looks good, game-play is good, the story isn't bad (or at least the first bit, i didn't get that far). But turn based fights... aarrgh!
  40. May 26, 2019
    4
    Literally a short boring pathetic xcom-like game. Story was boring, dialogues were confusing, characters dull. Another global warming agenda, stupid girl character who acts like it's another wolfenstein chapter.
  41. May 26, 2019
    3
    "Another one bites the Dux!" Dux is the duck character in the game, and yes, that's the level of humor in this game. This was said before me that the game is nothing new, nothing innovative, but at least the graphics are nice and the humor is good. Well, that's true except the humor part. So, we have a game which has nice graphics. Otherwise it feels just as a lot of games these days: very"Another one bites the Dux!" Dux is the duck character in the game, and yes, that's the level of humor in this game. This was said before me that the game is nothing new, nothing innovative, but at least the graphics are nice and the humor is good. Well, that's true except the humor part. So, we have a game which has nice graphics. Otherwise it feels just as a lot of games these days: very much unfinished. Also feels like the developers had a lot of good ideas, but they only had 4 people to actually materialize it.

    The idea was probably that "let's make a game which feels like S.T.A.L.K.E.R. and Fallout 1-2-3 mixed together with funny animal characters", but unfortunately they left out the most important RPG elements and the huge maps to discover and we have a very lineal story, a story what we heard before. Settlement in the apocalyptic word, ghouls etc. BTW I was so sure that the main settlement won't be actually made, it's just basically a place where you can talk to npc's and you can't even explore or move or anything. Booo. I don't even want to waste more time writing about this game.
    Expand
  42. Jun 9, 2019
    9
    exceptional game! one of the biggest surprises this year. went in not expecting much but came out a huge fan. if you like xcom you'll love this.
  43. Jun 25, 2019
    6
    simplistic yet efficient. many fail to offer this much.
    writing is decent, story is mediocre, gameplay is decent, world building is decent.
    an ok activity
  44. Jun 29, 2020
    8
    8/10 and the curent user score is 7.8 as of this writing. So I completely agree with that.

    Mutant year zero is a GOOD game. It`s not "great" it`s just good all-round in my honest opinion. PRO's: *combat *rpg elements *graphics *sound/voice acting/music and SFX *interessting and keeps you hooked Cons: *Story. Though it starts of very intrueging and promosing...it falls a
    8/10 and the curent user score is 7.8 as of this writing. So I completely agree with that.

    Mutant year zero is a GOOD game. It`s not "great" it`s just good all-round in my honest opinion.

    PRO's:
    *combat
    *rpg elements
    *graphics
    *sound/voice acting/music and SFX
    *interessting and keeps you hooked

    Cons:
    *Story. Though it starts of very intrueging and promosing...it falls a bit short in the end.
    *combat. because, even though its is really good and you can really make some interessting choices when it comes to combat...its also very "limited" I have to say.
    You can`t choose to go in all guns-blazing if you so desire...this is simply not how yu`re suppose to play.
    My biggest gripe with this game would be is that even though it feels somewhat open and free...youè really just following down a pre determined path. Is this a bad thing per se? No. but, it does mean that the game is not truly RPG/RNG and really just a handheld story telling.

    Not sure what else to say...I did finish it in a couple of days (meaning I played it without playing anything else in between) so I was hooked. I enjoyed it. Would I play it again though? probably not.

    Worth 30-40$ Play it once. And enjoy it.
    Expand
  45. Mar 10, 2019
    8
    Favorite Thing: It has a great XCom vibe with some exploration thrown in.
    Least Favorite Thing: The mutations are pretty boring. I was excited to get wings until I found out it could only be used during battle and you couldn't really use it for any cool building scaling.
    Date Completed: 2019-03-03 Playtime: ~ 13h Enjoyment: 8/10 Recommendation: Oh yes. It will fill an XCom shaped
    Favorite Thing: It has a great XCom vibe with some exploration thrown in.
    Least Favorite Thing: The mutations are pretty boring. I was excited to get wings until I found out it could only be used during battle and you couldn't really use it for any cool building scaling.

    Date Completed: 2019-03-03
    Playtime: ~ 13h
    Enjoyment: 8/10
    Recommendation: Oh yes. It will fill an XCom shaped whole in your heart.
    Expand
  46. Sep 5, 2020
    1
    Really promising Gamma World-type game ruined by impossible difficulty and broken controls. Enemies consistently outrange you and are virtually omniscient. They can also shoot characters who have no line of fire to those same enemies. Ally bleeding out? Too bad, the control to heal them is broken. Couldn't even make it to the Ark..what a joke.
  47. Aug 4, 2021
    8
    Gameplay : 8
    Graphics : 8
    Story : 8
    Sound : 9
    **********************************************************************************
    Overall : 8
  48. Aug 16, 2021
    7
    Mutant Year Zero: Road to Eden is only nice when you play by its rules, which ultimately make everything feel a little bit too restrictive.
  49. Mar 7, 2020
    8
    MYZ is a real gem. Not as tactical as something like XCOM, but it makes up for it with two big things:

    1. You can pick off enemy patrols to reduce their strength, before you go loud and fight the remaining forces. Either way you enter turn based combat, but a successful stealth kill doesn't alert the remaining forces. So it's like solving two puzzles: how to pick off as many enemies as
    MYZ is a real gem. Not as tactical as something like XCOM, but it makes up for it with two big things:

    1. You can pick off enemy patrols to reduce their strength, before you go loud and fight the remaining forces. Either way you enter turn based combat, but a successful stealth kill doesn't alert the remaining forces. So it's like solving two puzzles: how to pick off as many enemies as possible in stealth, then figuring out how to take out the main force.
    2. Captivating setting and memorable cast of characters. I would love to see a full-on MYZ RPG one day.
    Expand
  50. Dec 28, 2018
    9
    At first after playing first maybe 5 hours I wanted to give this game a 7, because you are forced to use stealth so the game becomes repetitive. Also you may silently kill one enemy quite close to another enemy. Corpses or remains of medibots blown sky-high don't alert patrolling enemies walking over the remains. That part was not very good for me, but it was Ok.

    But after some more
    At first after playing first maybe 5 hours I wanted to give this game a 7, because you are forced to use stealth so the game becomes repetitive. Also you may silently kill one enemy quite close to another enemy. Corpses or remains of medibots blown sky-high don't alert patrolling enemies walking over the remains. That part was not very good for me, but it was Ok.

    But after some more hours more possibilities appeared in the form of other playable characters, so I could snipe away enemies with 100% critical chance or mind control enemies. That gave me heaps of fun.

    The graphics, music and story are good, too. So, I've finished the game, and I recommend it. It's a solid 9/10.
    Expand
  51. May 1, 2019
    9
    An amazing game that came out of nowhere. If this game has a sequel it can become a franchise that can rival XCOM.
  52. Jun 4, 2019
    8
    If you have played Xcom(hereafter referred to as x), here are some points to consider:

    How does it feel like x? - Turn based tactics with action points for shooting, moving and using special abilities - Destructive environment - Can earn xp to introduce new skills for characters - Can have different squad members How does it NOT feel like x? - Instead of aliens, we have
    If you have played Xcom(hereafter referred to as x), here are some points to consider:

    How does it feel like x?
    - Turn based tactics with action points for shooting, moving and using special abilities
    - Destructive environment
    - Can earn xp to introduce new skills for characters
    - Can have different squad members

    How does it NOT feel like x?
    - Instead of aliens, we have mutants(and you play as them)
    - Distinct squad personalities
    - Sort of an rpg mechanic where you can explore areas to collect loot and find lore. Nice touch.
    - No base building
    - There is quite a big emphasis on sneaking and taking out enemies before triggering the full on engage mechanism.

    Thus far I have enjoyed it a lot. Great atmosphere and a world with characters I am interested in(which is better here than in x).
    Expand
  53. Apr 23, 2019
    8
    Good, hope in a sequel with more contents.
    I didn't know the pen and paper RPG of the same name and this pc game inspire me to try the pen e paper version. I liked the sci-fi jokes and references, Dux and Bormin are fun protagonists and post-holocaust has large potential in video games (and other media like books-films-tv series)
    Good Visual with weapons, and armour that change
    Good, hope in a sequel with more contents.
    I didn't know the pen and paper RPG of the same name and this pc game inspire me to try the pen e paper version. I liked the sci-fi jokes and references, Dux and Bormin are fun protagonists and post-holocaust has large potential in video games (and other media like books-films-tv series)
    Good Visual with weapons, and armour that change character appearance when used.
    It's a light strategy game and not a rpg... is similar to a simple and shorter version of Fallout Tactics and it'isnt something full of contents like Wastelands RPG or Fallout rpg or Atom RPG .
    It isn't also a game like X-com bacause it has only his isometric grid combat but here the is no base bulding, no research, no economy.
    I would like a little more:
    1) More objects, more guns, more mutant powers, more enemy...for example bad guyz are almost the same form level 1 to level 50; or there is only one store with very limited (and a little boring) stuff to buy-
    2) a respec button
    3) some random generated areas and loot to add variation and replayability during battles-
    4) some more dialogues, some choiches to make during story progression and a little more fmv to explore Mutant year zero lore and story.
    5) a little more balance (or playtesting) on some mutant power ...some of them are rarely useful and some are a little bugged.

    But other than that It's a fine game (if you find it on sales..because it's a short game with limited replayability)
    Expand
  54. Aug 26, 2019
    6
    It is pretty and the combat is fun at first. However, it descends into a boring lengthy slog with not much combat or power variety. Sure, you have to be very careful picking off units silently. Sure, you have to account for the increasing bullet sponginess of even trash enemies as the game progresses. These things make the game difficult but not in a good way. I had plenty negativeIt is pretty and the combat is fun at first. However, it descends into a boring lengthy slog with not much combat or power variety. Sure, you have to be very careful picking off units silently. Sure, you have to account for the increasing bullet sponginess of even trash enemies as the game progresses. These things make the game difficult but not in a good way. I had plenty negative of things to say about XCOM games but at least the environments did not get old. Here, the whole overgrown wasteland thing wears thin pretty quickly. There is also very little environmental interaction possible. The combat is of course in better shape than the fallout games from 20+ years ago but it does get very boring.

    The lack of meaningful choices or even interaction with NPC further make this a chore to play about half-way through. This should either have been a proper RPG or a short and sweet shooter (maybe half the length?). There's nothing stopping a game from being both but it's better to get one thing right than two things wrong.
    Expand
  55. Jun 13, 2019
    6
    Buenos gráficos y ambientación, llevo varias horas jugando; sin embargo, siento que le falta mucho en armas, habilidades, enemigos e historia. Falta mucho de lo que hace a un buen RPG, se queda muy corto lo que lo hace a mi parecer algo tedioso. Mucho potencial, solo se necesitó pulir y meter contenido.
  56. Aug 14, 2019
    9
    The game is awesome. At first I was shocked by graphic, that grass is wonderful. But literally the game turned out hard for me, i haven't seen this a long time ago. Can't even easy run at normal difficulty. Yeah i am a dumb. Love this game really
  57. Mar 25, 2020
    9
    Игра очень прикольная. Стратегия на высшем уровне. Я ее еще не допрошел, но в ближайшем будущем обязательно допройду.
  58. Jan 25, 2019
    8
    Great :
    - The backgrounds are fun to explore
    - The soundtrack is A-MA-ZING - It's an very original take on a less original genre Bad : - Too short - Too linear - No replaybility - Main story kinda childish/predictable after 1/3 of the game - Combat became way too reduncdant and boring at a moment Verdict : Wait for sales. It's a kinda a very big demo of what may have been a
    Great :
    - The backgrounds are fun to explore
    - The soundtrack is A-MA-ZING
    - It's an very original take on a less original genre
    Bad :
    - Too short
    - Too linear
    - No replaybility
    - Main story kinda childish/predictable after 1/3 of the game
    - Combat became way too reduncdant and boring at a moment

    Verdict :
    Wait for sales. It's a kinda a very big demo of what may have been a huge open-world game.
    Expand
  59. Jan 19, 2019
    8
    This game is just beautiful. The art, the music and the story are all mixed perfectly together. I've played a lot of XCOM and I must say that some elements need work. I would've liked to see more weapons and customisation of the characters though. If you like turn based strategy games, this is a must-play!
  60. Jan 27, 2021
    10
    Jogo incrivel.
    Peguei de graça na epic games.
    Adoro game de RPG tatico e esse é um dos melhores.
    Personagens incriveis e historia interessante.
  61. Dec 11, 2019
    7
    Nothing special, but I liked it. The game is a little short, as for me. I love this genre, it’s a pity that worthless games rarely come out.
  62. Feb 19, 2020
    6
    good game, but I hate games where you have to repeat the same place over and over to be able to advance in the game. to progress to level 20 I had to repeat 3 times all locations.
  63. Jun 26, 2020
    5
    - Cool game for spending some time but game play variety is too low. Each maps like a box you need to move to next box. I wish map areas would be more bigger than small boxes. Also ARK is only an image where you need to click to open another image screen. This kind of a game play things are providing very dull experience.
    - It's too cheap made game behind nice character designs and
    - Cool game for spending some time but game play variety is too low. Each maps like a box you need to move to next box. I wish map areas would be more bigger than small boxes. Also ARK is only an image where you need to click to open another image screen. This kind of a game play things are providing very dull experience.
    - It's too cheap made game behind nice character designs and cinematic intro. Oh man, this game could be much better. Sorry but My points will be moderate for this game.
    Expand
  64. Jan 19, 2020
    8
    It is a pretty good game with an XCOM-like styled fighting, interesting story and characters. I can recommend this game to all who like this kind of things. Others might, perhaps, find it boring, but yet i recommend you to give it a try.
  65. Mar 19, 2020
    10
    Other than the Divinity Original Sin games, this may be my favorite CRPG of all time. Great graphics, voice overs, and XCOM style tactical combat makes this game really fun to play. My game CRPG game of the year for year for 2018. If you're a fan of CRPGs, buy this game!
  66. Jul 24, 2020
    8
    ITALIAN:
    Gioco davvero interessante, gli manca pochissimo per essere perfetto.
    Ora analizzo il gioco per punti. AUDIO E GRAFICA: Graficamente il gioco è unico, estremamente curato nei modelli, nelle luci e nell'atmosfera. Ci sono giochi superiori ovviamente, ma lo stile secondo me è più importante della pura qualità. L'audio invece alterna un doppiaggio eccellente (solo inglese) e
    ITALIAN:
    Gioco davvero interessante, gli manca pochissimo per essere perfetto.
    Ora analizzo il gioco per punti.

    AUDIO E GRAFICA:
    Graficamente il gioco è unico, estremamente curato nei modelli, nelle luci e nell'atmosfera. Ci sono giochi superiori ovviamente, ma lo stile secondo me è più importante della pura qualità.

    L'audio invece alterna un doppiaggio eccellente (solo inglese) e buoni suoni ad una colonna sonora poco incisiva, che vista la tipologia di gioco avrebbe potuto riempire i momenti senza dialoghi e i combattimenti.

    Infine la telecamera è piuttosto lontana e non può essere regolata in altezza (mentre si può ruotare per guardare intorno). Nonostante ciò è gestita davvero bene, gli oggetti che oscurano la vista diventano trasparenti e a volte i personaggi diventano visibili in trasparenza.

    GAMEPLAY:
    Il gioco alterna fasi di azione con visuale dall'alto a fasi strategiche a turni.

    Nel primo caso controlleremo un personaggio a scelta tra della nostra squadra (composta al massimo da 3 personaggi, più 2 "in panchina"), con cui potremo muoverci liberamente tra gli ambienti, interagire con oggetti, dare ordini alla squadra e nasconderci dietro coperture. Questa fase, oltre a permetterci di raccogliere risorse, serve per posizionare la squadra nel modo migliore per intraprendere le battaglie.

    Una volta innescato il conflitto il gioco diventa a turni, con i nostri personaggi che a ciclo avranno a disposizione 2 mosse a scelta tra movimento, fuoco, utilizzo di abilità, etc.
    Una volta completato il turno con tutti i nostri personaggi toccherà al nemico e poi di nuovo a noi, fino a quanto non avremo sconfitto tutti i nemici allertati (supponendo di non morire noi, cosa non da escludere vista la difficoltà in certe parti).

    In battaglia è molto importante lo stealth, con le armi silenziate che permettono di iniziare battaglie tra la nostra squadra e un solo nemico, che una volta sconfitto ci riporterà alla fase a movimento libero. Spesso eliminare un nemico alla volta è la soluzione migliore. Da notare come i nemici abbiano un'area abbastanza ridotta, forse troppo, in cui si accorgono della nostra presenza e che questa risulta circolare (di solito nei giochi è conica per indicare il campo visivo).

    Ho trovato un po' troppo semplificato il sistema di precisione delle armi (limitato a 0%, 25%, 50%, 75% o 100% di successo del colpo, a volte in maniera irrealistica e troppo fiscale), che dipende dalla portata della nostra arma, dall'eventuale posizione rialzata di uno dei due soldati interessati ma soprattutto dall'utilizzo di coperture.
    Queste infatti se parziali riducono del 50% la precisione di tiro, se complete invece la riducono del 75%. Il sistema però è un po' troppo fiscale, rendendo praticamente impossibili dei colpi che risulterebbero semplici osservando la scena.

    Per quanto riguarda la mappa, il gioco risulta composto da tante macro-aree accessibili liberamente sia muovendosi a piedi che con il movimento rapido, tutte abbastanza riconoscibili ma omogenee.
    Una di queste è "l'Arca", ovvero la base di partenza delle nostre spedizioni. Questa non è una mappa vera e propria, ma quasi una sorta di menù animato, in quanto non potremo muoverci ma solo cliccare sui negozi e sulle attività in cui vogliamo entrare. Forse è un metodo un po' approssimativo, visto che i punti di interesse qui presenti sono solo 4, e permettono di parlare con il capo della città, comprare equipaggiamento (molto costoso), personalizzare le armi e sbloccare abilità.

    Infine vorrei parlare dei personaggi. Ognuno ha abilità specializzazioni diverse (che si possono imparare salendo di livello), anche se alcune abilità si sovrappongono rendendo la scelta migliore dei personaggi meno importante (eccetto in rari casi). Inoltre nonostante alcune abilità apparentemente siano forti mi sono ridotto ad usare sempre le stesse perchè le situazioni di combattimento non sono estremamente varie.

    STORIA:
    La trama del gioco è abbastanza semplice ma piacevole e con alcuni colpi di scena (soprattutto nel finale), anche se in parte prevedibili. Molto bello invece lo stile narrativo, allo stesso tempo serio e ironico sia nei dialoghi tra i nostri personaggi che nei nomi degli oggetti che si trovano in giro (gli oggetti degli "Antichi" vengono fraintesi e assumono nomi divertenti).

    In conclusione il gioco risulta molto piacevole sotto tutti i punti di vista, ha dei difetti ma su cui si riesce tranquillamente a passare sopra a meno che non si sia degli esperti di giochi di strategia.
    La durata è di circa 20 ore, che dipende anche dall'abilità del giocatore e dal tempo dedicato all'esplorazione (utile ma non fondamentale). Sono inoltre presenti un paio di DLC che però non ho giocato.

    VOTO: 8.5/10
    Expand
  67. Jun 23, 2020
    8
    *I can't believe i was skipping on turn based combat games (likes of xcom to be more specific)*. It all started when i watched the trailer for the game expecting it was some 3rd person shooter, it looked fun nonetheless but it turns out to be a strategy turn-based game, still i decided to give it a try. Man just how much fun this game was.
    Few minutes in the game and it all ready sucked
    *I can't believe i was skipping on turn based combat games (likes of xcom to be more specific)*. It all started when i watched the trailer for the game expecting it was some 3rd person shooter, it looked fun nonetheless but it turns out to be a strategy turn-based game, still i decided to give it a try. Man just how much fun this game was.
    Few minutes in the game and it all ready sucked me into it's world. The game features as stated above strategy turn-based combat combined with stealth which was in my opinion an interesting thing. I loved this post apocalyptic world, the story, the graphics, the atmosphere, the dialogue and jokes, different characters to play as. However the game felt short - if my memory serves me right - i was able to finish it in 15hours or so.
    Mutant year Zero has succeeded in introducing me to strategy turn-based combat and i will be looking to try these type of games in the future.
    I would rate this game 8/10
    Expand
  68. Jul 16, 2020
    2
    Un juego que tiene ideas buenas pero son ejecutadas de la peor manera posible. Los dos personajes principales tienen una dinámica graciosa al igual que algunas notas que encontramos en el mundo desolado, pero en general la experiencia es aburrida y MUY DIFÍCIL. Es injustamente difícil. Al principio no tienes botiquines casi y todos los enemigos que aniquilan en uno o dos golpes. LaUn juego que tiene ideas buenas pero son ejecutadas de la peor manera posible. Los dos personajes principales tienen una dinámica graciosa al igual que algunas notas que encontramos en el mundo desolado, pero en general la experiencia es aburrida y MUY DIFÍCIL. Es injustamente difícil. Al principio no tienes botiquines casi y todos los enemigos que aniquilan en uno o dos golpes. La progresión es inexistente, sientes que no progresas por mucho que juegues ya que hay 10 enemigos que te machacan sin despeinarse. El sistema de sigilo es interesante pero acaba siendo aburrido y tedioso, ya que te da una falsa sensación de libertad cuando no tienes más remedio que acabar con los enemigos uno a uno si quieres progresar.

    Es un juego decepcionante, totalmente lineal donde no tienes opciones reales en el combate y donde la progresión es inexistente. Y por si fuera poco, es aburrido. Y yo he intentado que me gustara este juego, pero es imposible. No se lo recomiendo a nadie más allá de ver en la primera hora de juego algunas mecánicas diferentes. Y la optimización del juego es de risa
    Expand
  69. Jan 14, 2021
    10
    Вообще никогда не понимал пошаговые тактическые игра, и начиная в нее играть была к ней какае-то предвзятость с моей сторонны, но она просто перевернула мой взгляд на TRPG, сколько сил и матов я потратил на эту игру, но после прохождения боев получаешь такой кайф, от того что план твой выполнялся.Вообще никогда не понимал пошаговые тактическые игра, и начиная в нее играть была к ней какае-то предвзятость с моей сторонны, но она просто перевернула мой взгляд на TRPG, сколько сил и матов я потратил на эту игру, но после прохождения боев получаешь такой кайф, от того что план твой выполнялся.
  70. Aug 22, 2020
    10
    Najlepsza postapokaliptyczna gra w jaką grałem. Ciekawa historia, piękna grafika. Klimat wszędzie!
  71. Oct 20, 2020
    3
    love turn-based games like this. found this after loving wasteland 3. the advancement and leveling system seems to be very broken and even medium difficulty levels - where I find myself going back to previous areas with no real guide to see if I can find anything else or pick up a level in order to make current enemies beatable. Wanted to like it... did like it... until I got into it.
  72. Nov 18, 2020
    7
    Karakterleri ve hikayesi ilgi çekici ama öyle aman aman değil. İzometrik bakış açılı turn based oyunlara giriş oyunum. Bazı açılardan sevdim ama çok daha iyi olabilirmiş.
  73. Dec 14, 2020
    8
    As a huge fan of Turn-Base Tactical Games, I can vouch for this game as one of the most funniest and most challenging games you'll ever play.

    I enjoyed every little bit of it and I warmly recommend it to anybody who's into this type of games or want to try it. Story: 7/10 - It didn't leave a mark, but was unique in its sense. Gameplay: 8/10 - Doesn't beat XCOM and it does copy
    As a huge fan of Turn-Base Tactical Games, I can vouch for this game as one of the most funniest and most challenging games you'll ever play.

    I enjoyed every little bit of it and I warmly recommend it to anybody who's into this type of games or want to try it.

    Story: 7/10 - It didn't leave a mark, but was unique in its sense.
    Gameplay: 8/10 - Doesn't beat XCOM and it does copy mainly all the abilities in the game, yet remains unique and fun at the same time.
    Visuals: 9/10 - Looks great and has not many requirements when it comes to your GPU.
    Playtime: 30-45 hours (depends on how much you want to get your achievements done).

    Overall verdict: 8/10

    Give it a try, it's worth your money and time.
    Expand
  74. Oct 3, 2021
    9
    I am honestly stunned at just how much fun this game turned out to be. Still, as wonderful as the game is: there are a couple of niggling little issues that almost all just cannot be solved and might give some people a little trouble if not alerted beforehand.
    First off in the Cannot Be Helped Category is the graphics. They're stunning. Honestly. They don't just look good for a budget
    I am honestly stunned at just how much fun this game turned out to be. Still, as wonderful as the game is: there are a couple of niggling little issues that almost all just cannot be solved and might give some people a little trouble if not alerted beforehand.
    First off in the Cannot Be Helped Category is the graphics. They're stunning. Honestly. They don't just look good for a budget title-- they just look good, period.
    Unfortunately, I think that this has and will cause a few problems with folks who take a look at the visuals and start judging this game based on the AAA-like graphics. Problem there is that this isn't a AAA game.
    So, yeah, like other indie titles, it has a linear plot and a shorter length. But again: it's an indie game. They just did not have the budget to make dozens of branching plots and/or hundreds of hours of content.
    Still, that being said, I prefer shorter titles anyway because, I won't lie: I'm getting just a little annoyed at games that overstay their welcome by dozens of hours. So, to me? It being a shorter title is a plus.
    Also another possible issue some folks might have is that, while this is a tactical turn based game it's not exactly a *normal* tactical turn based game. This game is soooo not XCOM. It's actually more like a turn based Hitman. You *have* to sneak around and pick off your enemies one by one.
    Rest assured that, yeah, I almost ditched this game before I realized that too because I kept rushing in and getting killed.
    BUT. Once I *did* realize that I needed to be stealthy and sneaky, I started *really* having fun with this admittedly unique take on the tactical genera. So, yes, know that going in and, you *will* have fun: trust.
    Now. That being said, there IS one issue with this game that cost it that last point for me which is: sometimes the AI gets a little stuck.
    It doesn't happen often and, it's hardly game breaking but, in the Switch version at least, once in awhile, a patrolling enemy will just stop patrolling until you jump to another zone and come back. I honestly don't know what causes it but, it happened to me a couple of times. Again, just changing zones and changing back cleared it up just fine but, for whatever reason, it happened.
    Sadly, I cannot report on the other versions of the game but, I thought that I would mention it, in case it happens in those as well because it *does* make it difficult to pick off the patrolling enemies if they stop patrolling. Again, I think that's due to the title's budget but that tiny lack of polish also helped it lose a point.
    Other than that though, the game is really, really fun. It's a *very* unique take as well. It's a unique take on tactical combat and it's a unique take on post-apocalyptic settings and I am honestly sad that we will probably never see anything close to it again. This game is, in my opinion, a prime example of what indie games can and should always be: unique and fun titles that sneakily worm their way into your favorites list to stand side-by-side with the big budget titles.
    I will not lie: I only picked this game up on a lark because it was dirt cheap and had fully intended to trade it in but having *played* it, it's a keeper that-- linear plot or not, I *know* I'm going to come back to again and again-- and replaying titles is something I honestly do *not* do often.
    In this case, it's because while I honestly wish they could make more, the odds for these kinds of titles are just never good so, I guess I'll just have to settle on playing this one over and over again. I really hope the developers do well because they really made a banger despite the odds they had to have beaten to get this out.
    Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 57 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. Mar 5, 2019
    85
    Mutant Year Zero is a turn based strategy role playing adventure set in a world after the nuclear war. It captures the player with its main characters, world building, good sense of humor and an unforgiving combat. It has its flaws in the form of replayability, and lack of skill depth, but the overall impressions are very positive. Recommended even for the people that are not too much into this genre, and for those who are, it’s a no brainer.
  2. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Feb 8, 2019
    62
    You have to spend hours crawling around, looking for lone enemies that you can gang up on and take out without raising the alarm – because there’s no way you’ll be able to fight everyone at the same time. To put it bluntly – it’s not fun, and Mutant doesn’t have anything else to offer. [Issue#235, p.46]
  3. CD-Action
    Feb 6, 2019
    70
    Due to quick levelling up and relatively small map Mutant Year Zero feels smaller than it actually is, but still don’t expect more than 12-15 hours of moderately engaging gameplay that unfortunately slows down towards the end. [01/2019, p.80]