Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Jul 10, 2020
    90
    Mutazione is a feel-good narrative adventure that will remind you of the importance of love and family, though with minimal gameplay to master, the experience will appeal mainly to those looking for a poignant, character-driven story.
  2. 90
    It’s an awe-inspiring, calming setting brought to life with exquisite animation. Frankly, it’s perfect escapism. You’ll never want to leave.
  3. Oct 12, 2019
    83
    Mutazione is a great game to unwind. I brings us a beautiful world to discover, and offers us the opportunity to enjoy this virtual universe and live unique stories.
  4. Oct 14, 2019
    80
    Finishing Mutazione feels like the end of a holiday with some incredible new friends that you really don't want to forget. The gameplay might be extremely undertone but the experience is far too wonderful.
  5. Oct 8, 2019
    80
    Mutazione is an atypical title in the medium, dedicated to those interested exclusively in the narrative experience who seek other ways of interpreting the medium.
  6. Oct 21, 2019
    75
    A beautifully made narrative adventure that focused on the dialogues between the neighbors. There is also a mystery to be solved.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Oct 7, 2019
    Mutazione isn’t a game to beat, it’s a game to play. We too often separate the idea of productive tasks from acts like drinking tea with a friend or trying to grow some flowers. But everything we do, if done mindfully, can be helpful for our own growth if we’re walking the right path. Everyone is their own garden, and Mutazione may make you a little more willing to plant the right kind of seeds for happiness.
  2. But the community itself is the important bit. The characters aren’t voiced, but they feel like they are. The text bubbles are sometimes animated, sometimes shaking with trepidation, sometimes small like a whisper, sometimes big with anger. And each character speaks accompanied by a sound. Miu, who becomes a close friend, is a lithe, cat-like creature with pointed teeth, and she sounds like the delicate plucking of violin strings. Jell-A, a sentient fungoid growth, is the town’s subterranean scientist, and his voice is squishy, but with a side of liquid dripping and bubbling in a glass flask. It’s excellent work.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 21
  2. Negative: 5 out of 21
  1. Sep 29, 2020
    4
    Y A W N

    this is so incredibly boring. i thought it'd be chill. main character and NPC's are just so unlikeable. like most creatures
    Y A W N

    this is so incredibly boring. i thought it'd be chill.

    main character and NPC's are just so unlikeable.

    like most creatures living there have asperegers. especially your main character.

    it should be forbbiden for any character to respond with UMMM...kay? but here it happens all the time with so many characters just having annoying personalities.

    10/10 would rather make out with pewdiepie

    sum interesting ideas that aren't fully expolored init. LOL the nerve of THIS to compare itself with night in the woods, COME ON, a self proclaimed soap-opera? OH U WISH
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 1, 2020
    10
    This game. Oh boy this game, I don't really write reviews at all, but after playing through this game i felt like i just had to. All in all IThis game. Oh boy this game, I don't really write reviews at all, but after playing through this game i felt like i just had to. All in all I would give this game a 10/10 purely on the art direction, it is just stunningly gorgeous. Absolutely breathtaking environments, fluid animations, its just a treat to look at. The game play is nothing that amazing, it is basically just a visual novel but you have a great mechanic in the gardens of the game which are so relaxing and fun. I wont go to deep into the story but dear lord is it good. Its presented with writing as good if not better than any game ive ever played. Overall id give this game a 15/10 if i could, But please take some time and play this game you will not be disappointed.. Full Review »
  3. Mar 30, 2020
    10
    I loved this game from the soundtrack to the characters, art style and story. This game really helped me find something to do while under theI loved this game from the soundtrack to the characters, art style and story. This game really helped me find something to do while under the coronavirus lockdown. Full Review »