User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 29
  2. Negative: 10 out of 29

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 14, 2020
    10
    if you do play this, do the world a favour and don't rate it because it'd be like a person with no taste buds rating classy cuisine.
  2. Sep 13, 2020
    7
    Updating this review after 20 hours spent with this game.

    Visuals, sound and music are all great. No issues there. AI currently is atrociously bad. I am not sure if this because it is difficult get AI work in this type of game or what, but currently it almost ruined the campaign and and operations mode for me. The biggest promise of this game is in multiplayer, but options are
    Updating this review after 20 hours spent with this game.

    Visuals, sound and music are all great. No issues there.

    AI currently is atrociously bad. I am not sure if this because it is difficult get AI work in this type of game or what, but currently it almost ruined the campaign and and operations mode for me.

    The biggest promise of this game is in multiplayer, but options are limited for that. A multiplayer operations mode could be huge fora game like this.

    There are many questionable gameplay decisions. Like why are there so many debuff and buff abilities? Abilities that merely change the numbers are not really exciting as opposed to new cool abilities with their own unique animations. Also, game forcibly teleporting characters to 'safe zones' seems like a workaround around a technical problem, rather than something that should make gameplay better.

    Saboteur and lay-mechanic classes are not as exciting as the other three fighter classes.

    This could become a great game with more content, multiplayer operations mode, and some more work on the gameplay side of things.
    Expand
  3. Sep 9, 2020
    9
    As a 25 year vet of the tabletop version, and being my favorite GW/Warhammer TT game i can confidently say this is a faithful and fairly good representation of the underhive. OK, the visuals, whilst maby not being the awe-inspiring 4K 240Hz RTX enabled thing that some have come to expect of games these days... IMHO the look of Underhive Wars is fantastic and captures the aesthetic of theAs a 25 year vet of the tabletop version, and being my favorite GW/Warhammer TT game i can confidently say this is a faithful and fairly good representation of the underhive. OK, the visuals, whilst maby not being the awe-inspiring 4K 240Hz RTX enabled thing that some have come to expect of games these days... IMHO the look of Underhive Wars is fantastic and captures the aesthetic of the GW IP. The Campaign mode is somewhat linear, but i think some are missing the point in that Necromunda is all about gang creation, curation and campaign opponent play.

    Sure there is an AI but the general strategic chops of most AI's leaves a lot to be desired. Playing against another person, pitting strategies and skills against another gang is exactly what the TT version of Necromunda is all about. The construction of a gang, the narrative that you want to build with that gang is the real joy of the game. Who gets what skill, do you build around a single strategy and what happens when the whole thing goes 'Pete Tong!'

    The game is supposed to be about 'regular' grunts with pretty basic weapons beating seven shades of stuff out of each other. We're not Space Marines, and so crazy powerful weapons are not supposed to be common, things are supposed to break/explode in you're face... some gangers are supposed to be useless... that's part of the charm. There is nothing quite so satisfying when you roll that 6 and do something very unlikely with a character that isn't supposed to be able to do that... those are the things that you remember for years.

    And in that, the game does a great job of taking the TT version of Necromunda and translating this into a digital format. I get a really good sense of the rules, the narrative and the overall feeling. Apart from some of the obvious rule changes they clearly had to make for the transition, the game (to me) feels exactly like a Table Top experience... Fantastic IMHO!

    So far I've put about 10 hours into the game and I've had no crashes, no graphical glitches and very few other issues

    Being totally honest, yes there are some down sides...
    - The AI is a little dumb in places, or makes some strategically questionable decisions
    - Some of the TT rules don't seem to have translated - pinning tests near edges of walkways and blaze tests for flamer weapons
    - The inability to upgrade characters throughout the story mode... seeing as you're playing all of them, i don't see why it would be an issue.
    - Lack of ALL the ORIGINAL gangs... We do need the Cawdor, Van Saar and Delaque as a minimum... but i also want to see the Outland (Redemption, Scavvies, Ash Wastes, Sump sea, Spyrers, Underhive Monsters etc). And also the new things recently added such as the Corpse Grinders, Genestealer Cults, Chaos Cults etc. The 30+ year IP is HUGE!

    Overall, these are small nit picks against a pretty solid game that should have a lot of life in it... if you enjoy that sort of thing.

    For me the best thing is that i can now play Necromunda with my Gaming Group, but do it digitally... this is a big thing. And when i can't, there is always the AI to beat down!

    Now we just need some expansions for the rest of the IP
    Expand
  4. Sep 9, 2020
    3
    Necromunda frustrates me. There are glimpses there of what might have been, what perhaps could be, with the style of the 40k universe done well and the core combat mechanics being very serviceable as well as instantly recognisable to those who played this developer's' Mordheim.

    Yet it's not that tense game about firefights and knife fights in the underhive of Necromunda. Instead it
    Necromunda frustrates me. There are glimpses there of what might have been, what perhaps could be, with the style of the 40k universe done well and the core combat mechanics being very serviceable as well as instantly recognisable to those who played this developer's' Mordheim.

    Yet it's not that tense game about firefights and knife fights in the underhive of Necromunda. Instead it bleeds out any affection you first feel with some poor design decisions and way too many bugs to be acceptable for release.

    The standout poor design decision was to go with a system where the player could quite possibly be watching the AI play the game for 75% of any particular mission. With the best will in the world, then insisting the player watch the AI play the game through a fixed third person camera which glitches may not have been a good idea either. Especially with an AI as likely to find a wall to walk into as it is to perform exceptionally well in navigating the terrain. It becomes a draining experience where you build resentment at having your time wasted to watch the AI play itself.

    As of now, this is hard to recommend. Post-release patching may go a long way to lifting this game up to the heights of mediocrity for single players. Multiplayer has been having technical issues every time I've tried it so I can't comment on whether the experience is any better watching 3 strangers rather than the AI.
    Expand
  5. Sep 9, 2020
    8
    I have seen a lot of talk about this game recently. People keep trashing the campaign, but they fail to understand that the developer stated from the beginning that the campaign is actually a glorified tutorial with some story fluff.

    To give this some context, Necromunda has A LOT of skills, abilites, mechanics and weaponry. More than any other turn based strategy game i have ever seen.
    I have seen a lot of talk about this game recently. People keep trashing the campaign, but they fail to understand that the developer stated from the beginning that the campaign is actually a glorified tutorial with some story fluff.

    To give this some context, Necromunda has A LOT of skills, abilites, mechanics and weaponry. More than any other turn based strategy game i have ever seen. As you work through the campaign, the story bounces between 3 different gangs. Every time you play one of the gangs you see the same gang members but at higher level than the last time you played them. They are basically auto levelled for you as you progress. The reason this is important is because even at chapter 11 out of 15, i was still learning about new abilities and mechanics. People who casually play this game for a few hours will judge it while having no clue about its depth. Its the most tactical turn based strategy game around. Of that i have no doubt.

    Beyond that, graphics are really good. The maps are particularly detailed and lovingly crafted. They capture the feel of Necromunda perfectly. Their verticality is also unprecedented and while this could lead to confusion, the mapping tool is the best i have ever seen. It clearly shows everything and you can strip away layers at will to expose details in the more built up parts.

    Customisation and variation is also incredibly vast. You can change many parts about each gang member while also having an astounding amount of weaponry and abilities to choose from. Whoever put together the mechanics for this game and how all the abilities work with each other deserves a medal.

    I haven't really played the sandbox mode where you create your own gang and this is intended to be the main game mode. I want to complete the story first as it unlocks some extra fluff for the gang creation.

    However i already appreciate how good the game is without even starting that yet!

    As for negatives, well the AI sometimes makes questionable choices but its NOWHERE near as bad as some people make out. I think it is also countered by the fact the AI sometimes pulls things out you would never realise as a human so it balances.

    The pacing can be slow at times but that is the nature of the game. Each character is far more in depth than other turn based strategy titles and so there is more emphasis on small numbers but more control.

    Some of the campaign missions are a bit tricky too as they reveal objectives after the fact, so if you made certain decisions earlier in the mission it may cause you to fail in the long run and each mission can take a while so it can be frustrating. Word of advice: don't plant any explosives until everything else is done as it starts a countdown of turns.

    All in all, a great turn based strategy title in its own right with some genuinely fresh mechanics over the rest of the genre. Marred by some pacing and missions objective issues.

    If you are a Necromunda fan as well, the review is a 9 and you will love it. Just give it a chance.
    Expand
  6. Sep 10, 2020
    0
    AI is utterly broken, the Story Mode, which you have to complete to get certain customization options is subject to game erasing bugs, and the game randomly corrupts saves, destroying gangs you've spent hours carefully growing.

    Maybe if this game had been made with mods possible, it might have been salvageable, but modding is locked by design.
  7. Sep 9, 2020
    0
    I really wanted this to be good, but it's horrible in its current state. There is a somewhat ok game in there, but the straight up broken AI, bugs, technical issues and some severe gameplay issues like the fact that you have to wait for and watch every single AI enemy make their moves just completely sucks the fun out of this game. Mordheim had its fair share of problems, but under allI really wanted this to be good, but it's horrible in its current state. There is a somewhat ok game in there, but the straight up broken AI, bugs, technical issues and some severe gameplay issues like the fact that you have to wait for and watch every single AI enemy make their moves just completely sucks the fun out of this game. Mordheim had its fair share of problems, but under all those was a decent enough game, all these problems are still here and worse with Necromunda with a bunch of new ones added on top.

    All in all a huge disappointment.
    Expand
  8. Jul 17, 2021
    6
    There aren't many good Warhammer games, but this could have been one of them with more time in the oven. In the end, it falls short in most areas and just becomes yet another average Warhammer game.

    One of the biggest issues with the game is the performance, whilst it ran at a high frame rate, it was plagued by constant stuttering, this is a game issue and is well documented, it is
    There aren't many good Warhammer games, but this could have been one of them with more time in the oven. In the end, it falls short in most areas and just becomes yet another average Warhammer game.

    One of the biggest issues with the game is the performance, whilst it ran at a high frame rate, it was plagued by constant stuttering, this is a game issue and is well documented, it is caused by enemies spawning into the map, which happens all the time. It completely ruined the feel of the game.

    Other issues include very poor AI, limited enemy types, poor visibility (enemies blend into the map far too much), lack of weapons, lack of currency during the campaign so you can't upgrade yourself, dog or weapons even halfway by the end of the game, endlessly spawning enemies, both the male and female voice actors weren't great, the story was fragmented into 12 missions, it didn't feel cohesive.

    Gameplay-wise it was OK, even bordering on fun at times, once you get a few extra tools like the grappling hook the gunplay is actually decent and it was one of the highlights of the game, just don't expect Doom level combat, which the game tries hard to emulate, but never manages to get close.

    Overall it's an OK shooter, with a weak story, and quite a few bugs and performance issues. I would personally wait until it's patched before buying it.
    Expand
  9. Jun 10, 2021
    9
    A good meat shooter in a familiar setting.
    Good music, good shooting, only WAAAGH is missing ^^
  10. Feb 20, 2021
    3
    Only reason why this game deserves a 3/10, is the visuals and sounds - even then, the visuals are ONLY really good with Reshade on!
    Everything else is just bad - the AI is still terrible (even after now 4 major patches to try and fix it) and what worse is the devs are not listening to the community...
    At this point I have little hope of them fixing the game... adding consequenses to not
    Only reason why this game deserves a 3/10, is the visuals and sounds - even then, the visuals are ONLY really good with Reshade on!
    Everything else is just bad - the AI is still terrible (even after now 4 major patches to try and fix it) and what worse is the devs are not listening to the community...
    At this point I have little hope of them fixing the game... adding consequenses to not making your house requests, making injuries more frequent.... or fixing the ai not picking up objectives turn 1 crippling themselves.

    I'll look at the game again when the next patch hits... but damn..

    Check out my overview of the Cawdor gang here:
    https://youtu.be/vm-zgT-7mTg

    Cawdor Gameplay and latest patch opinions here:
    https://youtu.be/IyaWs4v-XSg
    Expand
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 9
  2. Negative: 3 out of 9
  1. Oct 21, 2020
    50
    Necromunda: Underhive Wars is potentially a splendidly entertaining tactical game with lot of depth and atmosphere but, at the moment, it is marred by a plethora of technical issues that make it a chore to play.
  2. 60
    Building off of the XCOM style of strategy, you get to decide how you move and act or react as you’re fighting it out. While the strategy can be fun, it’s all a bit sluggish, and that can make each fight feel as though it takes an eternity. On top of that, it’s visually just a bit early 2000s, with the colour brown seemingly being the inspiration for everything. It’s not a bad game, but it’s not a good one really either.
  3. Sep 10, 2020
    60
    Necromunda: Underhive Wars works and that's just about all that it does. The frustrating lack of color and speed does not do it any favors.