Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. CD-Action
    Jan 10, 2020
    80
    It’s a festival of good and interesting ideas that were drowned in boring grind, features borrowed from Forza Horizon, and reggaeton. [01/2020, p.60]
  2. Nov 8, 2019
    80
    Need for Speed Heat is a mosaic of existing ideas but it is easily the most impressive Need for Speed game in years.
  3. Dec 21, 2019
    79
    Although the story makes no impression, Palm City feels lifeless and the police are sometimes frustratingly powerful, there is a lot of fun to be gained from this game, which offers more than many of the previous parts.
  4. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Jan 14, 2020
    77
    Lots of side-activities, barebones story and music that’s very unsuitable for driving – Heat is basically Payback without some of the latter’s shortcomings. [Issue#242, p.40]
  5. Nov 29, 2019
    75
    A fully enjoyable game with many features that help keep the game from getting stale or boring.
  6. Nov 15, 2019
    75
    Thrilling night races make Heat the best Need for Speed in years, even if I want to batter every one of its racers.
  7. Nov 13, 2019
    75
    It's time for a revolution. Need for Speed: Heat is definitely the best game in the current-gen series, but that's nothing to brag about. This actually should have been the first NFS for the 8th generation of consoles - then, perhaps, we would still have remembered it as something special. But at this point, the game basically just goes through the motions. Not great, not terrible.
  8. Nov 11, 2019
    75
    Quotation forthcoming.
  9. Nov 27, 2019
    70
    Saying this is the best Need for Speed games in years may not mean much when some of its recent predecessors were just decent, but Need for Speed Heat is a return to its roots for better or worse, and is still fun to play even if there are better racers out there.
  10. Nov 25, 2019
    70
    A playful driving model, plentiful tuning options, a career without microtransactions and an open city changing its whole identity with each dawn and each sunset. The sins of the past are gone, but the game is still way too similar to what you already know.
  11. Nov 12, 2019
    70
    Need for Speed: Heat is far from the tire-fire I expected though given its unceremonious release. I’m having a good time with it, in a mindless sort of way. I’ve disabled the far-too-limited soundtrack and gritted my teeth through the story moments, but the race layouts are solid and I’m enjoying throwing my usual ‘69 Charger around turns and barreling down rain-soaked highways. Forza Horizon continues to be the better series, but this is the closest Need for Speed has been to parity since probably 2012.
  12. Nov 11, 2019
    70
    In the run-up to the test I actually had some concerns about the quality of Need for Speed: Heat. Its direct predecessors from Ghost Games didn't really convince me and also the game play event about a month ago left me with mixed feelings. But the finished game has become surprisingly entertaining. Sure, once again the story is not worth mentioning, the controls reminds of old arcade games and in terms of driving physics and damage model the makers didn't take realism quite so seriously. But if you don't mind that, or if you are looking for exactly that, you'll really enjoy Heat. Otherwise, the title offers everything a car's heart desires: extensive tuning options, action-packed chases and thrilling races - and all this in top graphics.
  13. Nov 11, 2019
    70
    If NFS Heat won't be able to convince with its overly easy gameplay, as well as an almost indestructible vehicle capable of shattering everything, others will be satisfied with the simple pleasure of repeated slide-downs and the sensation of speed, ignoring the simplistic side of the game. The graphics could have been better, but the rendering is quite pleasant, especially in motion. There is a whole range of vehicles and a neat soundtrack as well as extensive customization, all without loot boxes. The two sides of the game, day and night, have been successfully implemented and alternate nicely, especially since it's possible to play with the police in urban races once again.
  14. Nov 15, 2019
    65
    A cherry on top of the cake that is 25 years of Need for Sped, or yet another 'what could have been'? Need for Speed Heat has the potential te be everything that anyone can ever ask from a Need for Speed-title, yet it makes several strange choices that do not benefit the game. Racing is fun as always, the story is poor and customizing cars makes up for a lot. But a title that celebrates 25 years of Need for Speed? No, not by a long shot.
  15. Nov 13, 2019
    65
    While we enjoy the return of the car customization, Need For Speed: Heat lacks personality to keep the gamer hooked with it's soulless city, and the need to grind a lot for cash.
  16. Nov 8, 2019
    65
    Need for Speed: Heat is a decent racing game but it has a serious balancing problems in the police chasing segments.
  17. Nov 8, 2019
    55
    This Need for Speed has everything it needs to please the players, especially those looking for an heir to Most Wanted. But Heat lacks of driving sensations, of a proper physic management, and has plenty of balance problems, making the game more frustrating than fun.
  18. 50
    Need For Speed Heat tries hard to be a game for car people with over one hundred vehicles and deep customization features. However, it alienates the genre's biggest fans with an overused storyline, over-the-top arcade physics, and a lack of wheel support.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. From the first bundle of hours, it’s pretty clear it’s not deserving of a whopping £55. [First few hours impressions]
User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 360 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Nov 13, 2019
    4
    I will be honest, I really wanted to like the game, but I don't. There's some fun to be had here, that's for sure. I will leave a couple ofI will be honest, I really wanted to like the game, but I don't. There's some fun to be had here, that's for sure. I will leave a couple of personal pros and cons down below and the problems I had with the game:
    Pros:
    -The map is pretty much on point, Palm City looks and feels alright.
    -Customization is nice
    -Car sound customization is awesome
    -Very aggressive cops is a big big plus in my book
    -The Night section of the game is really nice, and the "take it all or loose it" feels really rewarding.
    -No microtransactions, at least as of now (I didn't want to have to mention this, because this should not be in fully priced games in the first place)
    Cons:
    -Graphically, the game does not stand out whatsoever (some really bad anti aliasing implementation, texture loading with delay, texture quality seems off too. Played it in 1080p - Ultra settings)
    -A very forgettable story and a very short one
    -A LOT of bugs, at least at the time of writing this review (game crashed 4 times in a single playthrough, the second time it did, it bricked my PC and had to restart it; car flipped over and refused to respawn, stayed like that for 15 seconds until I got busted because of it; a lot of other little bugs that kept bugging me, but I won't write all of them here)
    - Connectivity issues
    -Remained stuck in a loading screen multiple times and had to restart the game (my friend that was playing with me had the same issue at the same time)
    -Day time feels really bland
    - The soundtrack is utterly awful (at least for my personal taste)
    A lot of issues I mentioned above can be easily patched, no doubt about it. The series seems to be going in the right direction, but I just ended up not having so much fun with it.
    This was my personal opinion about it, nothing else.
    A solid 4/10 from me. Hope this helps someone.
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 8, 2019
    10
    Its a very good Need for Speed so far. I love the settings and gameplay. The plot is ok - but not more. it not so **** like NFS 2015 orIts a very good Need for Speed so far. I love the settings and gameplay. The plot is ok - but not more. it not so **** like NFS 2015 or Payback! The World is beautiful but ..a bit empty. Weathereffects are outstanding. Heat does have its problems - but nothing that can't be fixed with a patch. Performance is very good with High Framerate. I love it so far! Full Review »
  3. Nov 8, 2019
    10
    It is really good and is becoming one of my loved nfs games. Hope it stays that way.